AAA Car Insurance Review

AAA car insurance is worth considering if you’re a member of the organization. Rates tend to be higher, but the company offers discounts and various member perks.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 20, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 20, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 20, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AAA

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A+ (Superior)

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • Multiple discounts
  • Bundling options
  • AAA member perks

Cons

  • Expensive rates
  • Below-average scores for customer service and the handling of claims
  • Not available in all states or areas

The Bottom Line

AAA may be a good choice for auto insurance coverage, especially if you appreciate the roadside assistance with the membership. However, auto insurance rates with the company are often significantly higher than rates with other providers. 

Before you make a final decision on coverage, you should compare auto insurance quotes from multiple providers to see who will offer you the coverage you want at the lowest price. 

  • You have to be a member of AAA to purchase auto insurance with the company
  • AAA’s auto insurance rates tend to be higher than the national average
  • AAA offers multiple discounts and bundling options to lower rates

Is AAA a Good Choice?

If you’re searching for car insurance, you may want to learn more about AAA auto insurance coverage. AAA car insurance offers coverage options in many U.S. states, and policyholders may be eligible to earn discounts on coverage.

Unfortunately, AAA insurance is not available in every state, and the company’s rates are often higher than average. Still, anyone considering car insurance coverage — especially those with a AAA membership — should consider getting AAA insurance quotes to see how much they would pay for coverage.

Does AAA have good ratings and reviews?

AAA has an A+ (Superior) financial strength rating with A.M. Best and a stable future outlook. The company also has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB). There are a few customer complaints on the BBB website, but most complaints have been resolved.

AAA policyholders tend to agree that the company’s customer service could use some improvement. Similarly, many customers state that the AAA claims handling process is a bit more complicated than it needs to be, and some claims take too long to be resolved.

Not all AAA customers will recommend the company to their friends and family. Additionally, around 54% of customers are not likely to renew their auto insurance policies with AAA. Therefore, you should consider customer reviews and comments concerning AAA auto insurance before you purchase a policy.

AAA Rates

How much is car insurance with AAA?

Auto insurance rates with AAA vary based on countless factors, such as:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Marital status
  • Car make and model
  • ZIP code
  • Credit score
  • Driving history
  • Coverage types 

Still, AAA auto insurance quotes typically indicate that a car insurance policy with AAA is often more expensive than a policy with other competitors. The table below shows the average full coverage rates of the top insurance companies as well as the national average.

Average Annual Full Coverage Rates for the Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$1,993
American Family$1,386
Farmers$1,674
GEICO$984
Liberty Mutual$2,120
Nationwide$1,445
Progressive$1,310
State Farm$1,091
Travelers$1,287
USAA$753
Average$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

You can expect, full coverage rates with AAA to be nearly 58% higher than the national average. And this trend is common in most AAA auto insurance rates.

The following table shows liability coverage rates, and AAA is often 56% higher than the national average.

Average Annual Minimum Coverage Rates for the Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$605
American Family$582
Farmers$674
GEICO$290
Liberty Mutual$771
Nationwide$588
Progressive$484
State Farm$408
Travelers$471
USAA$238
Average$541
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Similarly, people with poor credit scores are likely to pay rates around 76% higher than the national average. Individuals charged with a DUI could pay rates approximately 97% higher than the national average.

Unfortunately, nearly every category shows that AAA requires policyholders to pay rates that are significantly higher than other insurance providers:

  • Rates for teen drivers are around 20% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for young adult drivers are 55% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for adult drivers are 53% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for senior drivers are 58% higher than the national average.
  • Rates following a speeding ticket are 68% higher than the national average. 
  • Rates following a car accident are 57% higher than the national average.

The chart below shows AAA full coverage auto insurance rates for teenagers compared to the national average.

Comparitively, here are AAA's annual full coverage rates for 45-year-old drivers.

And here are how AAA's full coverage rates for senior drivers stack up against the national average.

If you’re considering purchasing an auto insurance policy with AAA, you should compare AAA car insurance quotes to quotes from other companies.

It’s unlikely you’ll find cheap car insurance with AAA, and comparing quotes will help you determine which company would work best for you and your family.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AAA Discounts Available

Does AAA offer car insurance discounts?

When you get AAA auto insurance quotes, you may want to learn how to lower your insurance costs. Luckily, AAA offers many different discount options to its members and policyholders. Some of the company’s most common discounts include:

  • Education discount
  • Occupation discount
  • Anti-theft device discount
  • Loyalty discount
  • Safe driver discount
  • Good student discount
  • New driver discount
  • Student away from home discount
  • Driver training course discount
  • Multiple-car discount
  • Multiple-policy discount
  • Paid-in-full discount
  • Automatic payment discount

Much like AAA’s coverage options, the company’s discounts vary from one state and location to the next. Again, you’ll need to speak with an AAA representative in your area to learn more about discounts you may be eligible for. 

Does AAA offer usage-based insurance discounts?

AAA uses the AAA Driver Program to monitor drivers’ specific habits on the road. 

Policyholders who enroll in the program may save up to 20% on their auto insurance policies by allowing the company to monitor their average speed, distracted driving habits, fatigue behind the wheel, braking habits, and other factors. 

AAA Coverage Options

What does AAA offer for car insurance coverage?

AAA offers several options for car insurance coverage. Exact options for coverages, benefits, and discounts vary based on where you live, but some of the most common options for AAA auto coverage include:

Individuals can purchase coverage that adds up to a full coverage policy — including liability, collision, and comprehensive insurance — through most AAA clubs. Still, you’ll need to speak with a representative of an AAA club in your area to ensure you know what options are available to you. 

AAA vs. Competitors

How much is car insurance with AAA?

Auto insurance rates with AAA vary based on countless factors, such as:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Marital status
  • Car make and model
  • ZIP code
  • Credit score
  • Driving history
  • Coverage types 

Still, AAA auto insurance quotes typically indicate that a car insurance policy with AAA is often more expensive than a policy with other competitors. The table below shows the average full coverage rates of the top insurance companies as well as the national average.

Average Annual Full Coverage Rates for the Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$1,993
American Family$1,386
Farmers$1,674
GEICO$984
Liberty Mutual$2,120
Nationwide$1,445
Progressive$1,310
State Farm$1,091
Travelers$1,287
USAA$753
Average$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

You can expect, full coverage rates with AAA to be nearly 58% higher than the national average. And this trend is common in most AAA auto insurance rates.

The following table shows liability coverage rates, and AAA is often 56% higher than the national average.

Average Annual Minimum Coverage Rates for the Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$605
American Family$582
Farmers$674
GEICO$290
Liberty Mutual$771
Nationwide$588
Progressive$484
State Farm$408
Travelers$471
USAA$238
Average$541
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Similarly, people with poor credit scores are likely to pay rates around 76% higher than the national average. Individuals charged with a DUI could pay rates approximately 97% higher than the national average.

Unfortunately, nearly every category shows that AAA requires policyholders to pay rates that are significantly higher than other insurance providers:

  • Rates for teen drivers are around 20% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for young adult drivers are 55% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for adult drivers are 53% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for senior drivers are 58% higher than the national average.
  • Rates following a speeding ticket are 68% higher than the national average. 
  • Rates following a car accident are 57% higher than the national average.

If you’re considering purchasing an auto insurance policy with AAA, you should compare AAA car insurance quotes to quotes from other companies. It’s unlikely you’ll find cheap car insurance with AAA, and comparing quotes will help you determine which company would work best for you and your family.

Frequently Asked Questions

What other types of insurance does AAA offer?

In addition to auto insurance, AAA offers:

  • Home insurance
  • Condo insurance
  • Renters insurance
  • Boat, RV, and motorcycle insurance
  • Flood insurance
  • Life insurance
  • Umbrella insurance
  • Educator’s insurance

AAA offers bundling discounts to policyholders who purchase multiple types of insurance.

How do I file a claim with AAA?

You will need to find the number for your local AAA club to file an official auto insurance claim.

How can I cancel a AAA policy?

You can call 1-877-387-8378 to cancel a policy. You will need to provide your policy number and request that payments be canceled immediately. AAA representatives may have additional questions you must answer before successfully canceling your policy. 

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for AAA

4.12 (2,930 reviews)
5
October 12, 2020

Yuhs

great

Great customer service! They met all of my needs and were very happy to help me. I was very satisfied.
5
May 4, 2020

EG_inthe_City

Great Experince

I have had my renters policy for almost 10 yrs. I got it once I moved into the city and was living in a 2 bedroom apartment. I pay under $25 a month for coverage on my rental apartment. Its a great price for full coverage. Easy to apply and renewal.
5
May 4, 2020

ryannnn

AAAA

It seems like a great service. They helped with calls very quick and were very willing to answer any questions
5
March 28, 2020

PotatoMan

Quick and Easy

I had to get renter's insurance for a new apartment I wanted to rent from. I called AAA and set up everything and it was quick and easy! I received my confirmation papers for the insurance within a week.
5
August 19, 2019

MaggieSue

Customer friendly

Great customer service! Fast response to inquiries. Multiple bill pay options. Flexible due dates. Easily add or change vehicle information.
5
August 1, 2019

Kath1250

Great for renters insurance!

I've enjoyed working with AAA for my renters insurance for just over ten years now. I've been a AAA member for over 20 years I knew they were reliable.
4
July 30, 2019

MEand5

Very Happy Customer.

We have had AAA for 5 years now, and have been through 1 auto accident (not at fault). They have been very kind and helpful through all of my questions and concerns.
5
July 28, 2019

MzschiegnerVO

They are the friendliest Insurance company ever

This company has a great policy to help others, thankfully when I wanted to buy the quote. They helped me figure out the workings of it
4
May 28, 2019

pjalive21

A Company that Cares

I have had AAA cover my apartment for a few years now and unfortunately I had a fire in my apartment that damages much of my personal items. AAA was amazing with reimbursing many of my items that were lost. I'm thankful for compassion the employees displayed with the loss.
5
April 10, 2019

Justinrsharkey

Renters Review

I had renters insurance through AAA for my apartment and the customer service was excellent and a good price. It took only a few minutes to get what I needed done. Overall really good place for renter's insurance.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption