GEICO Auto Insurance Reviews (2022)

GEICO auto insurance reviews are decidedly positive among its customers on its website. Nearly 80% of these GEICO insurance reviews contain five-star ratings, but customer reviews for GEICO tell a different story. GEICO claims reviews and customer satisfaction ratings are relatively high in a survey for J.D. power, but the auto insurance company has plenty of complaints elsewhere.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 7, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 7, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 7, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

GEICO

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$984

A.M. Best rating:

A++

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Today, GEICO has over 18 million active auto insurance policies, and it covers over 30 million vehicles.
  • It has a customer service line that is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, all year long.
  • The agents are very attentive.
  • GEICO’s auto insurance is highly affordable, and you save money by switching to GEICO.
  • GEICO handles auto claims quickly.

Cons

  • According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, GEICO receives a higher-than-average share of complaints.
  • GEICO did not fare that well in the 2021 J.D. Power study.

The Bottom Line

As you can see, GEICO’S website customer reviews are mostly positive. On the flip side, GEICO has suffered from declining customer satisfaction, as you can see in industry surveys and on numerous websites.

You can read our GEICO auto insurance review to learn more about the company. That page shows average rates and discounts plus a few comments from GEICO customers.

Hopefully, this primer about GEICO auto insurance reviews has helped your research into the company. And if you want to see rates from top auto insurance companies in your area, enter your ZIP code into our free tool below.

Are GEICO auto insurance reviews overwhelmingly positive or negative?

Today, GEICO has over 18 million active auto insurance policies, and it covers over 30 million vehicles. Also, it has a customer service line that is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, all year long.

Given that GEICO is a company with over $32 million in assets and an 8.5% share in the auto insurance market, you might be wondering if GEICO has good insurance reviews. Specifically, how good are GEICO’s auto insurance claims reviews?

We’ll discuss GEICO auto insurance reviews below, including data from leading industry sources. But if you want to see auto insurance rates from top companies in your area right now, enter your ZIP code into our free quote tool above.

Is GEICO a Good Choice?

How good are GEICO’s customer service ratings?

GEICO auto insurance has received mixed ratings over the last few years. Let’s examine customer service ratings from J.D. Power and the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

J.D. Power Survey

GEICO had a rather impressive showing in J.D. Power’s 2020 customer satisfaction survey. The company ranked first in the North, Central, Northwest, and Southwest regions. The latter was a tie with American Family.

On the other hand, GEICO did not fare that well in the 2021 J.D. Power study.

GEICO’s 2021 J.D. Power Survey Rankings

RegionRankingScore (out of 1,000)Regional Average
California4th out of 13828816
Central4th out of 13 (tied with Auto-Owners Insurance)845841
Florida6th out of 8823833
Mid-Atlantic5th out of 14835842
New England3rd out of 12841828
New York4th out of 8827830
North Central8th out of 17837839
Northwest5th out of 8821827
Southeast6th out of 16843847
Southwest5th out of 11829832
Texas6th out of 8832840
Get Your Rates Quote Now

The decrease in customer satisfaction snapped a four-year streak of improvement.

NAIC Rating

According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, GEICO receives a higher-than-average share of complaints.

GEICO’s NAIC Complaint Index (2018-2020)

Private Passenger Policies201820192020
Complaint Index1.041.021.32
Total Complaints386365311
Share of Complaints in U.S. Market2.08%2.18%2.89%
Annual Revenues$4,951,835,031$5,443,626,014$5,455,832,670
Share of Revenues in U.S. Market2.01%2.14%2.18%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Notes:

  1. The National Complaint Index is always at 1.00, so companies with a complaint index over 1.00 have more complaints than the average.
  2. You can determine a company’s National Complaint Index by dividing the share of complaints by its share of revenues for the year. We have rounded both figures to the nearest one hundredth after the decimal point for this table.
  3. By “revenues,” we refer to the regular payments policyholders make to the company for auto insurance coverage.

With that said, what do customers have to say about GEICO auto insurance?

How good are GEICO’s auto insurance reviews from actual customers?

What positive things do people have to say about GEICO auto insurance? Here are the four things that satisfied GEICO customers (those giving the auto insurance company five stars) often say:

  • The agents are very attentive.
  • GEICO’s auto insurance is highly affordable, and you save money by switching to GEICO.
  • GEICO handles auto claims quickly.
  • The company has fantastic customer service.

What negative things do people have to say about GEICO auto insurance? When examining GEICO auto insurance reviews from various sources, this is what users often allege:

  • It’s nearly impossible to reach an actual person.
  • GEICO sharply increased rates without informing customers.
  • The company takes a long time to fulfill claims, particularly for totaled cars.
  • GEICO will protect its drivers against third-party auto insurance claims, even when those drivers are at fault.
  • The company may change insurance coverages for policyholders when they need to file a collision or comprehensive auto insurance claim.

Below is a closer look at GEICO auto insurance reviews from a few sources, including GEICO’s website.

GEICO Insurance Reviews From the Better Business Bureau (BBB)

You cannot see GEICO’s customer reviews on the Better Business Bureau’s website. (Any links lead to a 404 page.) However, the BBB retains statistics for GEICO on a single page. For instance, it counts 602 customer reviews, and the average rating customers gave GEICO was 1.15 out of 5 stars.

The BBB closed 2,514 customer complaints in the past three years. Also, the BBB closed 754 complaints in the last 12 months.

GEICO Insurance Reviews From Yelp

By January 2022, GEICO garnered around 490 total reviews from Yelp users for various insurance products. The average score is 1.5 stars, and most of the recent reviews are one-star ratings.

Here’s an example of a five-star review for GEICO auto insurance: In September 2021, one Yelp user praised a GEICO auto claims adjuster who took over a customer’s case after the previous adjuster had been rude.

And here is an example of a one-star review for GEICO’s auto insurance: In December 2021, a user who had been a GEICO customer for well over 15 years said that they called the company’s claims department multiple times only for operators to put them on hold.

GEICO Website Reviews

From 13,000+ reviews on GEICO’s website, over 8,400 (close to 80%) have a five-star rating. As of early January 2022, the one-star ratings totaled less than 600.

One five-star review on GEICO’s website dated July 26, 2021, came from a person who had used GEICO auto insurance for three years. The user praised the company’s customer service and had a positive experience using GEICO’s Emergency Roadside Service.

On the flip side, a one-star review dated December 31, 2021, came from a GEICO customer of eight years. The person claimed that GEICO’s claims department made a clerical error and told them that they were liable for damages to their car.

GEICO Rates

GEICO offers car insurance at rates 25% lower than the national average. The cost of GEICO’s current plan, with full coverage including accidents and comprehensive as well as liability limits up to $500k for death/physical injury (and another $50K in property damage), comes out slightly above what many people pay. Before we look at GEICO-specific rates, here are the average annual full coverage auto insurance rates by state.

GEICO Minimum vs. Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates

State minimum insurance requirements vary, but in most states, you must have at least $100 worth of liability coverage before getting on the road. Some states also require personal injury protection (PIP), MedPay, or uninsured motorist policies to be carried as well.GEICO has the second-lowest minimum liability rates at $1,064 per year.

While liability coverage provides limited protection, full coverage car insurance is recommended for most drivers.
Full coverage insurance is the best choice for most drivers since it includes liability, collision, and comprehensive coverages. It may also include other coverage like personal injury protection.

GEICO Auto Insurance Rates by Age

Age is a big factor in determining auto insurance rates. The more experience you have behind the wheel, the lower your car insurance rates are likely to be. For example, teenage driver rates are among the highest due to lack of experience.

As drivers age, they are likely to see their rates begin to drop. Here's a comparison of rates from different car insurance companies for 45-year-old drivers.

When they enter their senior years, most insurance companies consider drivers to be at slightly higher risk.

How Driving History Affects GEICO Car Insurance Rates

Like age, your driving history can cause your car insurance rates to go up. Here's a comparison of rates for 45-year-old drivers with clean driving records vs. those with a ticket, at-fault accident, or DUI.

As you can see above, it pays to be a safe driver and keep your record clean.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Frequently Asked Questions

How can you leave a review for GEICO auto insurance?

In many cases, you need to either create an account to leave the review on a website or be a paying customer:

  • Only GEICO customers can leave reviews for the company’s auto insurance.
  • Yelp requires users to create an account to leave reviews on its website.
  • You would need to be a paying member to see or leave GEICO insurance reviews on Consumer Reports’ website.

Additionally, the BBB investigates complaints against various companies, so it needs to confirm that the complainant is a paying customer. The BBB will close complaints within 30 days, and those comments will be inaccessible to the public.

Of course, if you want to leave a review for GEICO on a website like this one, you need to be logged in via WordPress.

How can you file a complaint with the GEICO auto insurance company?

USA.gov has outlined four steps you can take when you need to file a complaint against a company:

  1. Collect any relevant documents.
  2. Contact the company that sold you the product.
  3. Contact any third parties if the seller doesn’t address or resolve your issue.
  4. Seek legal advice and assistance.

To the third point, your options are numerous, and they include the BBB, state insurance commissioners, and federal agencies.

Of course, the BBB is an excellent option, provided it accredits certain businesses. But, in many cases, the best avenue for filing a complaint with any auto insurance company is to contact your state’s insurance commissioner.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for GEICO

4.11 (19,116 reviews)
1
January 3, 2022

Volodymyr_Korolevych

Adjuster stopped responding

Cant get ahold of anyone. Always different people giving me different numbers. No resolution Mr [REDACTED NAME], claim adjuster stopped responding to my requests without any resolution. Also not picking up my phone
1
May 17, 2021

Sergei_K

Can't get rid of them

From my personal experience, GEICO is the best place if you want to be fooled. Once you open the door, you can't get rid of them. About a year ago I canceled my policy ceasing any dealings with Geico. I paid the premiums in full and closed my account. Throughout the year, I've been a happy StateFarm customer. Several weeks ago, Geico unilaterally opened my policy forcing me to pay premiums for the following 6 months. Understanding that it could b...
From my personal experience, GEICO is the best place if you want to be fooled. Once you open the door, you can't get rid of them. About a year ago I canceled my policy ceasing any dealings with Geico. I paid the premiums in full and closed my account. Throughout the year, I've been a happy StateFarm customer. Several weeks ago, Geico unilaterally opened my policy forcing me to pay premiums for the following 6 months. Understanding that it could be a mistake, I contacted them 3 times. I talked to 6 different people. All of them promised to help me. I wrote 2 emails attaching copies of my StateFarm Id's for the entire period (after Geico policy cancellation). It didn't cure the problem. Moreover, Geico retroactively and unilaterally (without my desire, knowledge, and consent) reopened the policy. Now, they force me to pay for the previous months (last year). Geico supervisor [REDACTED NAME] claims that he obtains sufficient evidence that I hadn't been insured after I officially broke with Geico in April-May 2020 = the company is right demanding me to pay for nothing. From my non-legal understanding, it's a fraud, He knowingly (I sent them StateFarm Id's for the entire period) mispresents the facts unlawfully demanding payment.
1
February 10, 2021

vscore16

BAIT AND SWITCH

They waited 60 days and then doubled my rate. they never notified me. When I looked it up they said it was due to the agent putting it in as a sports bus, and since I am using it for sales my rate is double. yes on their letter they sent me it shows right on it that the old use is class "C" and the new use is class "C". The reviews on geicos website are fake. real reviews are much more negative. They lie in their commercials about saving money s...
They waited 60 days and then doubled my rate. they never notified me. When I looked it up they said it was due to the agent putting it in as a sports bus, and since I am using it for sales my rate is double. yes on their letter they sent me it shows right on it that the old use is class "C" and the new use is class "C". The reviews on geicos website are fake. real reviews are much more negative. They lie in their commercials about saving money so why would I not expect them to lie about the rate they are giving me. I am no risk adjuster but any halfway intelligent person knows their is a lot more risk for a bus full of athletes that ways 20,000 pounds than a minivan with one person in it. Yet according to geico insuring a moving tank is cheaper than insuring a minivan. Would you believe that? I am not that gullible. Bait and switch all the way.
5
February 3, 2021

Trinidad2_

geico is the best

great company with fantastic customer service they lowered my cost due to covid with no issues and they are always a phoen call away fo r help wiht my policy, i wholeheartedly reccomend them
2
February 3, 2021

Jotwox

Not recommend

They were alright not the best. If they put in more effort into the customers they could’ve kept me.
5
February 2, 2021

Waycross43_

Helpful

Geico has been great during the pandemic. They have worked with me changing billing dates based on what I need. They have helped me save 212 dollars a month on insurance.
5
February 1, 2021

Babanana

Geico is amazing

My experience receiving auto insurance from Geico has been extremely positive. The insurance process was perfectly smooth and I have all my insurance information neatly organized at the tip of my fingers on my mobile phone. The coverage and premiums are much better than I received from my previous provider.
2
February 1, 2021

Justin_Kim

Filing a claim at geico

They were very nice and had good customer service. Once I even filed a claim and they got back to me within seventy-four hours.
5
January 28, 2021

Dingo

Insurance You Can Understand

The representative borke down all information in an easy-to-understand manner and then made very easy the process of initiating the policies. I am also very happy with the ease of managing online and on the app.
5
January 22, 2021

wheezer

Very reasonable

This is the best insurance company I think there is. Rates are very reasonable and they do not overcharge. I am able to pay my insurance every 6 months and when I received my renewal, there was no rate increase. I will be a loyal Geico customer for sure!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption