Safeco Auto Insurance Review 2022

Safeco auto insurance offers a variety of coverage options, discounts, and perks for its customers.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Aug 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Aug 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Aug 29, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safeco Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$849

A.M. Best rating:

A (Excellent)

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Accident forgiveness and diminishing deductible
  • Multiple ways to customize coverage
  • Multiple discount options
  • Safeco RightTrack program

Cons

  • Low customer satisfaction ratings
  • Online quotes are obtained through agents
  • Not a lot of information on the price

The Bottom Line

Safeco offers car insurance coverage options to individuals throughout the United States. Safeco has options for discounts and allows customers to add on different types of coverage to customize their policies and feel safe on the road.

Before committing to a Safeco auto insurance policy, find and compare car insurance quotes from multiple companies in your area to see which offers the coverage you want at the best possible price. 

If you’re searching for the best car insurance company, look at Safeco auto insurance. Safeco Insurance Company offers liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage options and allows policyholders to purchase add-ons for even more protection on the road.

With Safeco car insurance, individuals can save money by taking advantage of discounts they may qualify for. In addition, Safeco allows people to customize their coverage to ensure they get what they want for themselves and their family members.

Safeco Insurance Rates

How much is Safeco car insurance?

Safeco car insurance rates aren’t readily accessible online, but the company does offer individual and personalized auto insurance quotes on its website. 

The table below shows average auto insurance rates with the leading insurance companies. You can use this table to get an idea of where Safeco rates will fall.

Depending on your age, gender, marital status, ZIP code, driving history, credit score, and many other factors, you may find that your rates with Safeco are lower than the average in your area. 

Safeco Auto Insurance Rates by Age

One of the biggest influences on auto insurance rates is your age. Review the table below and you will see that, as you age and gain driving experience, your rates will start going down.

Below we'll look at the rates for a few specific age groups.

Safeco Rates for Teen, Adult, and Senior Drivers

Overall, teen drivers pay more for car insurance coverage. This table includes rates for teen drivers based on gender from the top insurance companies.

We've included the rates for 25-year-old drivers above so you can see how rates begin to fall at that age.

Female drivers pay 35% more than the national average for coverage, and males pay 27% more. Once people turn 25, they often notice a drop in car insurance costs. Below are the average annual full coverage insurance rates for adults.

Safeco car insurance rates for senior drivers will also vary but the table below shows the national average for senior drivers from the top car insurance companies.

Rates with Safeco will also vary based on your driving history. We go into more detail below.

Safeco Auto Insurance Rates Based on Driving History

Your driving record is another factor that can impact the cost of your auto insurance. Here's an overview of how various traffic violations can affect your auto insurance rates.

SafeCo Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates Based on Driving Record
Full CoverageU.S. AverageSafeco
45-year-old male with a clean record$1,431.27$849.32
45-year-old female with a clean record$1,433.60$869.07
45-year-old male with a DUI$2,507.31$1,466.56
45-year-old female with a DUI$2,513.28$1,502.43
45-year-old male with an accident$2,072.14$1,317.21
45-year-old female with an accident$2,079.29$1,351.62
45-year-old male with a ticket$1,761.96$1,069.46
45-year-old female with a ticket$1,762.90$1,090.89
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Let's take a look at some of these in more detail.

Safeco Car Insurance After a Speeding Ticket

Auto insurance rates after a speeding ticket can increase up to $500 more annually. You can compare the top insurance companies’ rates after a speeding ticket below.

State Farm offers the best rates after a traffic ticket — after USAA that is only offered to military members and their families.

Safeco Coverage After a Car Accident

If you have an accident claim on your driving record, you can expect higher-than-average rates for coverage. This table compares the top companies’ rates after a car accident. 

USAA, State Farm, and GEICO offer the best rates after an accident.

Safeco Car Insurance After a DUI

If you have a DUI on your record, you’ll definitely pay more for auto insurance. You could even have a hard time finding a company willing to offer you coverage.  Below you can see how Safeco's rates change if you have a DUI.

After USAA, Progressive and State Farm offer the best rates after a DUI>

Safeco Rates for Drivers with Poor Credit

With a low credit score, you should expect to pay more for car insurance. Here is how your credit score impacts your auto insurance rates with some of the top auto insurance companies. Unfortunately, we don't have Safeco's data for these rates.

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
American Family$2,432$1,635$1,386
Farmers$3,233$1,926$1,674
GEICO$1,781$1,197$984
Liberty Mutual$4,256$2,712$2,120
Nationwide$1,988$1,595$1,445
Progressive$2,471$1,655$1,310
State Farm$2,398$1,411$1,091
Travelers$2,323$1,534$1,287
USAA$1,545$910$753
Allstate$3,551$2,362$1,993
Average$2,715$1,781$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

GEICO’s rates are around $1,100 less per year for drivers with good credit. 

Minimum vs. Full Coverage with Safeco

While minimum coverage can help people save money on their car insurance, minimum coverage options don’t always give you the protection you need. 

If you are looking for the security of full coverage auto insurance, you'll need to be willing to pay more. Here's how Safeco's average annual minimum and full coverage rates compare with the national average.

The best thing you can do to avoid paying too much for coverage is to shop online and compare multiple quotes to discover which companies offer the best price.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safeco Insurance Discounts Available

Safeco has a few options for discounts on coverage, including the following:

  • Multi-policy
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Safe driver
  • Accident prevention course
  • Safety features
  • RightTrack program

If you believe you may qualify for a discount with Safeco, you could call the Safeco insurance number in your area and speak with a representative to see how much you could save on coverage.

What is Safeco’s RightTrack program?

Safeco’s RightTrack program is a usage-based insurance program that helps policyholders save money by allowing Safeco to track their driving habits.

RightTrack uses the Safeco app to monitor a policyholder’s driving, paying close attention to hard braking, quick accelerations, driving time of day, overall driving speed, and more. By enrolling in the RightTrack program, individuals can save up to 25% on their insurance coverage.

Safeco Insurance Coverage Options

Safeco offers many of the coverage options you’re familiar with, including the following:

  • Medical payments
  • Personal injury protection
  • Property damage
  • Collision
  • Comprehensive

In most states, the minimum requires people to purchase coverages like property damage and medical payments. But if you’re concerned with having added protection for yourself and your vehicle, you may want to consider purchasing a full coverage policy that includes both collision and comprehensive insurance.

Here are extra features Safeco uses to incentivize people to purchase a policy with the company:

  • Accident forgiveness
  • Claims-free cash back
  • Diminishing deductible

If you’re looking for a way to save money on your premiums and save even more in the future, these Safeco options may be an excellent fit for you. 

Does Safeco have coverage add-ons?

There are additional ways Safeco policyholders can stay protected. These are some of the company’s most popular add-on options:

  • Rideshare coverage
  • Rental car reimbursement
  • Personal property coverage
  • GAP coverage
  • New vehicle replacement
  • Electronic key and lock replacement
  • CD and DVD replacement
  • Custom equipment coverage
  • Pet coverage

While the coverages listed above will cause your rates to increase, the peace of mind you get with added protection may be worth the higher cost.

Safeco Insurance vs. Competitors

According to J.D. Power’s 2021 study, Safeco landed in the middle of the pack regarding customer satisfaction.

Safeco has an A (Excellent) financial strength rating with A.M. Best and a stable outlook for future endeavors. In addition, the Safeco insurance rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) is an A+, but the company has many complaints on the BBB website. 

Safeco reviews online suggest that customer service could improve the claims handling process and communication with policyholders. If you’re interested in a Safeco car insurance policy, read some of the company reviews online to see what customers are saying. 

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Safeco car insurance cost?

Safeco costs around $1,000 annually, but your rates will vary based on personal factors. 

How can I buy car insurance from Safeco?

You can purchase a Safeco policy through the company website, but you will need to do so through an independent insurance agent. 

Does Safeco offer accident forgiveness?

Safeco offers accident forgiveness, though your eligibility will depend on several factors. 

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Safeco Insurance

4.01 (1,129 reviews)
5
September 21, 2022

RioRobin

Safeco is awesome!!

We unfortunately had to file our first claim this week. After many years of paying insurance, we were a bit apprehensive as this was the cheapest insurance we could find. Several times other companies have tried to steal us, but rates dont come close to safeco. [REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED NAME] was our claim manager, and I cannot say enough great things about her, but will try: She was very patient and answered all our questions in a clear to und...
We unfortunately had to file our first claim this week. After many years of paying insurance, we were a bit apprehensive as this was the cheapest insurance we could find. Several times other companies have tried to steal us, but rates dont come close to safeco. [REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED NAME] was our claim manager, and I cannot say enough great things about her, but will try: She was very patient and answered all our questions in a clear to understand way!! She showed sincere sympathy for our situation, and worked hard to get our claim handled in less than 2 days! We hope you realize, She is one of your companies greatest assets! Thank you [REDACTED NAME] and everyone at safeco for taking care of your customers!! Robin & Mark [REDACTED NAME]
2
September 16, 2022

Ado86

Loss of savings if using RightTrack

It seems to be an okay insurance Company but there RightTrack Savings Program penalizes you if you happen to either leave for or head home from work in between the hours of midnight and 4:00 a.m. penalty seems to be $30 of loss in savings every time you have to drive during those hours until you reach a $0 savings which I think is ridiculous
1
September 14, 2022

Jrosec18_gmail_com

[REDACTED NAME] and her team of crooks!!!

We have been loyal customers for years and just attempted to file our first claim. No one replies in a timely manner. They do not answer the phone and will refuse to pay any claim. [REDACTED NAME] had the worst attitude and basically treated me as if I was a liar. Then she sends a letter dated 9/8 which was received 9/13 overnighted on the package that we have to comply with her unreasonable request by 9/15 or they will deny the claim. Last 6 mo...
We have been loyal customers for years and just attempted to file our first claim. No one replies in a timely manner. They do not answer the phone and will refuse to pay any claim. [REDACTED NAME] had the worst attitude and basically treated me as if I was a liar. Then she sends a letter dated 9/8 which was received 9/13 overnighted on the package that we have to comply with her unreasonable request by 9/15 or they will deny the claim. Last 6 months of bank statements, auto loan bill showing amount, name on the bill, and account number, proof we were where we said we were from 9/1-9/3, my wife’s drivers license, phone records of our call logs from 9/1-9/8. This is completely absurd. I have never been through this with any business or insurance company. We leave messages to no avail and still get nowhere. This company is full of crooks who are pros at it. The only thing you get when you pay for this insurance is proof you have insurance. Don’t ever file a claim because they will do everything on their power to deny it.
1
April 26, 2022

Ahock

Terrible Customer Service!!!!

My father was in a car accident. He passed away suddenly while driving which is what caused the accident. Nobody else was injured and the car slowed and drifted off the road, hardly damaged. I took over dealing with insurance to alleviate stress on my mother. Safeco initially refused to pay the towing bill, that was pretty high because a flagging crew was needed, so the car sat in a wrecking yard for 15 days at $107 dollars a day. They gave me a ...
My father was in a car accident. He passed away suddenly while driving which is what caused the accident. Nobody else was injured and the car slowed and drifted off the road, hardly damaged. I took over dealing with insurance to alleviate stress on my mother. Safeco initially refused to pay the towing bill, that was pretty high because a flagging crew was needed, so the car sat in a wrecking yard for 15 days at $107 dollars a day. They gave me a number to text and an email address, I could not speak to a person on the phone. We are at a month and the car has JUST been delivered to the repair shop, and now I am getting nickled and dimed on repair costs. My dad was with Safeco for 30+ years, and I am being treated poorly. I will be advising my mother to seek a new insurance company when this is said and done.
1
April 4, 2022

Jeroxide

Not recommended

I have used Saefco for years withou ever filing a claim. I finally made a ckaim and it was refused on a technicality. I will be moving my insurance to a different company. I would not recommend
3
January 15, 2022

vimalwalker

Claims rep from Safeco

They are cheap but when you file a claim it's a major headache. No response from Ajustors. Poor communication and horrible customer service.
2
November 29, 2021

Fordman100

This place too expensive to stay

They jacked up my rates I used to pay 187 now I got to pay more than that that's not fair either I can only for 187 not to 214
5
October 6, 2021

Lady3jade

$30 less

When you pay $30 less a month than what credit karma deems the lowest price and you're fully covered.... Yeah that's Safeco! Thank you for all you do Safeco! I personally love you guys!
1
July 16, 2021

Marcia_Mazze_

No Road Assistance

Last Monday I asked for help with the 24-hour assistance number they offer. I was standing in front of one of the Boston airport exit gates and the car stopped working. The first call was at 9:24 pm, after several calls, around midnight my car was towed by the airport staff to another place inside. I called to inform the new address where the car was, they had no forecast of when they could meet me, even though I warned that the car was full o...
Last Monday I asked for help with the 24-hour assistance number they offer. I was standing in front of one of the Boston airport exit gates and the car stopped working. The first call was at 9:24 pm, after several calls, around midnight my car was towed by the airport staff to another place inside. I called to inform the new address where the car was, they had no forecast of when they could meet me, even though I warned that the car was full of suitcases and that there was a child with me. I had to call an Uber and got home at 1:30 in the morning. Someone who can guide me on how to proceed? I went to the company's website to ask for some kind of repair, after all only the Uber was 180 dollars, today they called me back saying only that despite being sorry there is nothing they can do. I want to sue the company. I am very frustrated.
1
July 3, 2021

martins3

No roadside service when it’s needed

I’m two states away from home. It’s night and raining. I have a flat tire. I’ve had Safeco for over a decade. I called for my 24 hour service. It’s not happening until morning - if it happens then. Because of the holiday.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption