What are state minimums for auto insurance in Massachusetts?
What are state minimums for auto insurance in Massachusetts? The minimum auto insurance coverage in Massachusetts is 20/40/5 of bodily injury and property damage coverage. The average cost for the minimum MA auto insurance requirements is $235/mo or $2,820 annually. Get Massachusetts auto insurance rates and find the best Massachusetts auto insurance company.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
Like many other states, there is a requirement that drivers carry at least the minimum auto insurance coverage in Massachusetts. What are state minimums for auto insurance in Massachusetts? Massachusetts has passed laws that make drivers financially responsible for all expenses and damages they cause to others while driving their vehicle.
This state also requires its drivers to buy a minimum amount of auto insurance. The purpose of this is to ensure each driver has the financial means to pay for at least some of the expenses they may be responsible for. Affordable minimum auto insurance coverage in Massachusetts is not out of reach.
If you get caught driving without insurance in Massachusetts, you could receive a fine between $500 to $5,000 and might face potential imprisonment. Read through our complete all about MA auto insurance requirements so you know exactly what coverage level you need.
Comparing quotes is the best way to get affordable Massachusetts auto insurance. Whether you want to just meet the minimum requirements or are looking for higher coverage, enter your ZIP code into our FREE tool above for Massachusetts auto insurance quotes made easy.
What are the minimum auto insurance requirements in Massachusetts?
Almost every state has some sort of unique auto insurance requirement. The exception is New Hampshire because there is no minimum required if you can prove financial stability. But what are the minimum Massachusetts auto insurance requirements?
Before you make the decision to buy more than the required coverage types and limits per Massachusetts’ law, you need to understand what the minimum requirements are.
Take a look at the table below to see the legal Massachusetttes minimum auto nsurance requirements.
|Auto Insurance Policy Type||Minimum Required Auto Insurance Limits|
|Property damage liability (PDL)||$5,000|
|Bodily injury liability (BIL)||$20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident|
|Uninsured motorist coverage (UM)||$20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident|
|Personal injury protection (PIP)||$8,000|
Get Your Rates Quote Now
You may see this written out as 5/20/40. Let’s briefly define what each of these policy terms really means so you know exactly what is being covered by these minimum standards.
First, what is liability auto insurance coverage? A liability policy will pay for damages caused to the other driver if you are at fault for an accident. In other words, if you were found liable. This type of policy will not pay for any of your own expenses.
Property damage liability pays for the other driver’s car or other property. The bodily injury coverage pays for the medical expenses of the other driver and his or her passengers.
Uninsured motorist bodily injury protection will pay for any medical needs you or your passengers might require if you’re hit by an uninsured driver. Personal injury protection pays for your medical expenses, regardless of who is at fault for causing the accident.
How much will auto insurance cost you? Let’s take a look at Massachusetts auto insurance rates. This table shows you the annual average auto insurance in Massachusetts based on the type of coverage youupurchase.
Company Average Annual Rate for Low Coverage Average Annual Rate for Medium Coverage Average Annual Rate for High Coverage
State Farm $1,238.07 $1,385.33 $1,460.72
USAA $1,788.95 $1,961.62 $2,039.69
GEICO $2,600.65 $2,872.94 $2,993.07
Travelers $3,194.57 $3,608.06 $3,808.99
Allstate $3,398.46 $3,732.43 $3,892.29
Progressive $3,514.05 $3,905.26 $4,082.03
Liberty Mutual $4,057.68 $4,394.25 $4,561.58
#blank# #blank# #blank#
As you can see, much of the auto insurance cost in Massachusetts is determined by the type of coverage you choose to have. Low coverage costs much less, but you get what you pay for, as you may not be covered in all situations.
High coverage is more costly upfront, but can really save you down the road. Where low converge only includes the state’s minimum standards, high coverage also includes collision and comprehensive policies.
Overall, Massachusetts auto insurance rates are not that different from low to high coverage. Opting to have full coverage instead of the minimum required will cost you an average of $36 more a month. But be aware that special situations may require you to purchase different types or amounts of insurance.
For example, if you drive your car for business purposes, how you use the car specifically may indicate the need for additional insurance in some cases. Leased or financed vehicles may also require full-coverage policies.
Drivers who have special circumstances should learn more about Massachusetts insurance laws before making a purchase.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Massachusetts
When you drive without the proper amount of auto insurance in Massachusetts, you run the risk of having to pay for all accident-related expenses out of your own pocket. Not to mention that other parties can sue you for damages if you fail to pay.
You may also be assessed other penalties, such as:
- Points added to your driving record, which could result in higher insurance rates or the suspension of your license.
- A monetary fine between $500 to $5,000.
- Possible jail time of less than one year.
- The potential need for high-risk auto insurance.
The consequences may appear harsh, but they work. Massachusetts ranks third in the country for having the least amount of uninsured drivers. According to the Insurance Information Institute, about 14 percent of drivers nationwide are uninsured, although Massachusetts only has 6.2 percent of uninsured drivers.
High-risk auto insurance in Massachusetts is not cheap. You can avoid the extra cost just by carrying the minimum auto insurance coverage in Massachusetts and driving safely.
How to Read Auto Insurance Requirements in Massachusetts
If you are trying to figure out what is the cheapest auto insurance in Massachusetts, you need to be fully prepared for this process.
A common question that most insurance providers will ask you relates to the types of coverage you want and the limits for each type. Some Massachusetts drivers will opt for the state minimums, but others may expand their coverage beyond these minimums.
There are a lot of different auto insurance policies and coverage options. It is important to have a basic understanding of what each one means and what it covers.
All Massachusetts drivers should be educated about the following types of auto coverage.
- Bodily Injury Liability – If you cause injuries to other parties while driving, bodily injury liability insurance pays their medical expenses and other associated costs. Bodily injury liability insurance is legally required by Massachusetts law.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) / Medical Payments – This type of auto coverage may also be called no-fault insurance, and it is designed to pay for your own medical bills and related fees if you are involved in an injury accident. This type of insurance is also a Massachusetts legal requirement. What companies offer cheap PIP auto insurance? Almost every insurance provider will offer this common service.
- Property Damage Liability – If you damage another person’s vehicle or another type of property in this state, you are required to pay for repairs or a replacement. Property damage liability insurance is required by Massachusetts law, and it gives you the financial means to pay for these expenses.
- Collision – Buying collision insurance in Massachusetts is not a legal requirement, but your auto lender may have this coverage requirement. Collision insurance offers compensation for your own car’s repair expenses, but it only offers benefits for damage caused by a collision.
- Comprehensive – Some Massachusetts auto lenders also require drivers to buy comprehensive insurance, but this is not a legally-required type of auto insurance. This type of coverage offers benefits for a full range of events, including a collision with an animal, severe weather damage, vehicular crimes, and more.
- Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage – Massachusetts drivers also need to buy uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. This insurance type pays you benefits for your own vehicle repairs, medical costs, and more if you are involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist or a hit-and-run event.
The more of these policies you purchase, the fuller your coverage levels will be. However, it is important to note that every insurance company uses these terms in slightly different ways.
For example, what falls under a Geico comprehensive policy might not be included in a Progressive comprehensive policy. Therefore, you should think of these definitions as general guidelines.
Watch the following video for a deeper definition of what constitutes full coverage auto insurance.
Massachusetts law does not require you to purchase a full coverage policy. However, Massachusetts law does dictate that you must drive with the proper car coverage types and limits at all times, or you may face significant penalties and consequences.
Like we said before, the coverage types and limits required by law may not be enough to pay for all of your expenses if you are in an accident. You may need to pay for some expenses out of your pocket. You can increase coverage types and limits to reduce the possibility of this happening.
Minimum Requirement vs. Recommended Coverage in Massachusetts
While it is important to purchase a Massachusetts auto insurance policy that at least complies with the state requirements, you also need to decide if you want to expand your coverage types and limits.
Knowing the difference between state minimums for car insurance in Massachusetts and the recommended amount in Massachusetts will ensure you get the right coverage for you.
When you buy more insurance than what is legally required in this state, you may decrease the chance of having to pay money out of your own bank account if you are involved in a serious accident.
However, you must decide if paying a higher regular premium amount for enhanced coverage is worthwhile to you.
If the expenses associated with getting into a car accident would not impact your finances, or if you drive an old, inexpensive car that you could easily replace in the event of an accident, basic coverage is probably fine.
Most people, however, are not prepared financially to pay for the repair fees, medical fees, and other costs associated with a car accident.
Opting for a full coverage policy that includes collision and comprehensive coverage will protect you from falling into financial hardship if a serious accident were to occur.
How to Get Auto Insurance in Massachusetts
Buying auto insurance in Massachusetts is a process that should be repeated regularly. At each renewal, you should shop around to ensure that your current policy is the best one available currently.
Getting quotes for minimum auto insurance coverage in Massachusetts online is a smart way to save time and energy with this process.
When you are preparing to get new auto insurance quotes in Massachusetts, initially decide how much insurance you want to request quotes for, and determine which leading providers you want to contact for a quote.
The best providers are focused on customer service and are financially secure and stable.
You are now an expert on the state minimum auto insurance requirements in Massachusetts. Refer back to this guide as much as needed while you comparison shop for your most affordable Massachusetts rates.
You can buy Massachusetts auto insurance right now. Enter your ZIP code into our FREE online quote tool below, and start comparing quotes from the best auto insurance companies in Massachusetts.