What are state minimums for auto insurance in Wyoming?

Wyoming requires 25/50/20 for bodily injury and property damage coverage. Wyoming's average rate for auto insurance is $70.62/mo.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: May 26, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Things to remember...

  • Wyoming car insurance laws are similar to many states
  • Wyoming drivers are required to purchase a minimum amount of liability auto coverage to comply with state law
  • Optional auto insurance coverage is also available upon request, and some types of optional coverage may be required by a car lender
  • If you fail to provide proof of insurance upon request, you may be fined or jailed

View as image

Wyoming has a similar financial responsibility law regarding drivers that many states have. This law states that drivers are financially responsible for all damages that they cause to other people while driving a car in this state.

In order to ensure that you have funds available to pay for the damages that you cause, Wyoming requires you to purchase a minimum amount of auto insurance.

You should be aware that you are required by law to have this minimum amount of car insurance coverage at all times, and you may face legal penalties if you cannot provide proof of coverage to law enforcement officials upon request.

Bear in mind that some drivers prefer to purchase more than the minimum amount of coverage required by law.

Compare car insurance quotes to find the best rate for the coverage you need. Just enter your ZIP code into our free tool above to get started.

The Auto Insurance Requirements in Wyoming


As a driver in Wyoming, you are required to purchase auto insurance that provides you with liability coverage of at least:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury coverage
  • $50,000 per incident for bodily injury coverage
  • $20,000 per incident for property damage
  • Uninsured motorist coverage

The uninsured motorist coverage requirement may be waived upon request, but you will need to request this waiver in writing.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Determining If You Need Additional Coverage

While many Wyoming drivers will purchase the minimum amount of car insurance required by the state to comply with the law, some drivers want their insurance to offer the full amount of protection possible.

Liability insurance does not pay for your personal expenses if you are involved in an accident or another mishap. This coverage only pays for expenses for other parties.

If you want your car insurance to pay for your own expenses, you may consider buying one of these other types of coverage options available as well:

  • Collision
  • Comprehensive
  • Medical expenses
  • Personal property
  • Towing
  • Rental car reimbursement

If you have a car loan on your vehicle, your lender may require you to purchase at least collision or comprehensive insurance in addition to buying the minimum amount of coverage required by the state.


Showing Proof of Coverage

It is not enough for a Wyoming driver to simply purchase the legal minimum amount of car insurance. Instead, you must take the additional step and obtain proof of coverage from your insurance company.

Getting proof is most commonly accomplished by getting an insurance card or certificate from your provider. This certificate or card usually expires every six to 12 months, so you will have to continually update the card or certificate that is in your possession.

Law enforcement officials are legally able to ask you to show them proof of coverage at any time. You may have up to seven calendar days to respond with proof of insurance coverage.

If you fail to respond as necessary within this period of time, you may face several possible legal penalties associated with driving without insurance.

Obtaining Your Proof of Coverage


As soon as you purchase coverage from your auto insurance provider, the provider typically will give you access to your insurance cards or certificate.

Some will mail the cards or certificate to you, but most also enable you to download them online and print them from a home computer. Another option available to some drivers may be to have the document digitally emailed to you.

Regardless of how you obtain your proof of coverage, remember to keep this document with you at all times while you are driving. Some drivers will keep the document in their wallet, and others will keep the card inside the car, such as in a glove compartment.

It is wise to confirm that you have this document in your possession right now or to take action to obtain it.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The Penalties for Not Being Properly Insured in Wyoming

You may be wondering what penalties you may face if you are caught driving without car insurance.

Typically, you will need to provide law enforcement officials with proof of insurance immediately, but officers may provide you with a grace period of up to seven days to respond to their request for you to provide proof of coverage.

Here are some possible penalties for not having insurance:

  • You may receive a fine of up to $750
  • You may have to spend up to six months in jail
  • If you are in an accident while uninsured, your license may be suspended for a period of time
  • You may also be required to get an SR-22insurance form.

Keep in mind that you may also have a hard time qualifying for new insurance rates if you have this type of conviction on your record.

How to Avoid a Lapse in Coverage


Some people will intentionally cancel their coverage or fail to purchase the required coverage. However, others may simply have an unintentional lapse in coverage. Be aware that the law typically does not show leniency if you violate the insurance law unintentionally.

If you want to avoid a lapse in your auto coverage, consider paying the full amount of your premium up-front, or set up automated monthly payments.

You may also ensure with your provider that the policy will auto-renew at the expiration date. While many car insurance policies do auto-renew, you should not assume that this will happen.

You may set a reminder in your calendar on your insurance expiration date so that you can confirm that you have received the new insurance cards and placed them in your wallet or car as needed.

How to Set Up an Affordable Auto Insurance Policy in Wyoming

If you have decided that you need to buy a new car insurance policy in Wyoming or update your current coverage types and limits, now is a great time to start shopping around and comparing rates.

Requesting online quotes from a few leading, reputable providers is a wonderful idea. Spend time learning more about each provider’s financial strength and customer satisfaction rating before you go through the effort of requesting a quote.

This step will help to ensure that you only buy coverage from top-rated insurance companies in Wyoming. Use our FREE comparison tool today to get started comparing quotes!

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Minimum Auto Insurance Rates Nationwide
State Minimum Auto Insurance Rates Nationwide
State Minimum Auto Insurance Rates Nationwide