21st Century Auto Insurance Review [2022]

21st Century Auto Insurance offers different car insurance cost options in California. Here’s everything you need to know about 21st Century including the company’s policy options, average costs, and ratings.

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022Fact Checked
3.9
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

21st Century Auto Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A++

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • SR-22 insurance filings
  • Complimentary roadside assistance
  • Antique and classic car insurance
  • Coverage discounts
  • Access to policy information with a 21st Century Insurance login

Cons

  • Coverage only available in California
  • No GAP coverage
  • No rideshare insurance
  • Few coverage options

The Bottom Line

If you live in California and need car insurance, you may want to consider 21st Century Insurance. The company offers liability and full coverage options, including roadside assistance.

Anyone looking for a more robust coverage plan may want to look elsewhere, as 21st Century doesn’t include as many options as its competitors. Additionally, if you live outside of California, you’ll want to find and compare quotes from multiple companies to get coverage that works best for you.

If you live in California and need car insurance, you may want to consider 21st Century Insurance. The company offers multiple options for car insurance coverage, allowing policyholders to customize their policies to feel safe and secure behind the wheel.

If you live elsewhere and still need coverage, compare car insurance quotes from the best car insurance companies in your area. Comparing auto insurance quotes is a great way to find the coverage you need at a price that works for your budget.

Is 21st Century Insurance a Good Choice?

21st Century Insurance has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB). However, the BBB website also shows that 21st Century closed 25 complaints in the last three years.

Still, 21st Century has a one out of five-star rating on the BBB website, suggesting the company has room to improve customer service and satisfaction. Customer complaints range from hidden policy fees to poor claims handling.

21st Century had more than the expected number of complaints based on its size, and according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, the number of auto insurance complaints against 21st Century is significantly high when compared to other auto insurance providers.

If you’re considering doing business with 21st Century Insurance, you may want to read some customer reviews online before purchasing a policy.

How can I contact 21st Century?

You can contact 21st Century by calling 877-401-8181 or by visiting their website. If you know you will need to make a claim, there are different ways of getting in touch with the company.

How can I make a car insurance claim with 21st Century?

You can make a car insurance claim through the company’s app or by calling the company’s 24-hour phone line at 888-244-6163.

Does 21st Century have a mobile app?

The 21st Century mobile app allows policyholders to pay their bills, view policy information, request roadside assistance, and acquire insurance ID cards when they need them. Reviews for the 21st Century app are anywhere from 2.3 to 3.8 out of five. 

Who is 21st Century car insurance a good fit for?

21st Century auto insurance is good for drivers who have a fairly clean driving record, and may also be helpful to anyone who considers making changes to their policy. People who are looking for a one-on-one connection with an agent, or those who have poor driving records, may not find 21st Century to be a good fit.

21st Century Insurance Rates

Several factors impact your insurance rates. Some of the most common factors affecting car insurance include:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • ZIP code 
  • Car make and model
  • Driving history
  • Credit score
  • Marital status
  • Coverage type

The table below shows average rates for coverage with 21st Century car insurance compared to similar coverage with insurers in California.

Average Annual Rates by Coverage for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance
Company
Average Minimum
Coverage Rates
Average Full
Coverage Rates
Allstate$605$1,993
American Family$582$1,386
Farmers$674$1,674
GEICO$290$984
Liberty Mutual$771$2,120
Nationwide$588$1,445
Progressive$484$1,310
State Farm$408$1,091
Travelers$471$1,287
Average$541$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

21st Century Auto Insurance Rates by Age

The following table shows the average 21st Century rates for auto insurance compared to the national average based on a person’s age.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Age and Gender
Age and GenderAllstateFarmersGEICONationwideProgressiveState FarmNational Average
30 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$2,118 $1,925 $1,041 $1,667 $1,633 $1,234 $1,646
30 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$2,021 $1,843 $1,078 $1,519 $1,569 $1,122 $1,523
45 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$1,919 $1,595 $962$1,376 $1,261 $1,032 $1,411
45 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$1,941 $1,602 $958$1,355 $1,340 $1,032 $1,413
55 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$1,820 $1,513 $912$1,305 $1,196 $978$1,338
55 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$1,841 $1,519 $909$1,285 $1,271 $978$1,341
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Rates with 21st Century Based on Driving History

Lastly, the next table shows average rates for auto insurance with 21st Century based on a person’s driving history.

Top 10 Companies' Auto Insurance Average Annual Rates Based on Driving Record
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with an AccidentRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$3,638$2,848$2,342$1,993
American Family$2,124$2,000$1,571$1,386
Farmers$2,296$2,383$2,108$1,674
GEICO$2,566$1,595$1,282$984
Liberty Mutual$3,900$2,840$2,600$2,120
Nationwide$3,028$1,983$1,737$1,445
Progressive$1,760$2,284$1,710$1,310
State Farm$1,490$1,285$1,227$1,091
Travelers$2,765$1,888$1,780$1,287
USAA$1,335$996$859$753
Average$2,619$2,123$1,818$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

You’ll never know how much you’ll pay for coverage with 21st Century Insurance until you get a quote from the company. The company website allows you to get a quote for car insurance coverage, or you can call the 21st Century insurance phone number for more information.

How are 21st Century auto insurance rates for drivers with an accident?

If you have a car accident on your record, you can expect to pay more for coverage with 21st Century. Full coverage costs with an accident are around 16% higher than the average, which could end up costing more than $600 annually.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an AccidentRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$225$160
American Family$176$117
Farmers$198$139
GEICO$132$80
Liberty Mutual$234$173
Nationwide$161$115
Progressive$186$105
State Farm$102$86
Travelers$139$99
Average$172$120

Minimum coverage was similar, with clients paying 11% more for liability coverage if they had an accident on their record.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

21st Century Insurance Discounts Available

Depending on your unique situation, you may qualify for one or more car insurance discounts with 21st Century auto insurance. Some of the discount options include:

  • Good driver
  • Superior driver
  • Good student
  • Mature driver
  • Multi-car
  • Anti-theft

21st Century discounts can help policyholders save as much as 20% on their policies. In most cases, you’ll automatically receive a discount with 21st Century if you qualify. However, if you want to ensure you get the best rates possible, you can speak to a representative with the company to inquire further.

What is 21st Century’s Refer a Good Friend program?

With the 21st Century Refer a Good Friend program, you can earn gift cards when you refer family and friends to 21st Century for their insurance needs. For example, you could earn a $25 gift card to a favorite store or restaurant if you recommend a friend to the company and that individual receives a free quote.

21st Century Insurance Coverage Options

21st Century doesn’t have as much coverage as other companies, but it offers proper liability auto insurance coverage and the option to build a full coverage policy. Coverage options with 21st Century Insurance company include:

  • Bodily injury liability
  • Property damage liability
  • Collision coverage
  • Comprehensive coverage
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage

Though 21st Century car insurance offers coverage to various client types, the company specializes in high-risk auto insurance coverage for individuals and offers SR-22 filings. So if you have a less-than-ideal driving record and need liability coverage, 21st Century may work well for you.

The company doesn’t offer other popular types of optional coverage, like rideshare coverage or GAP insurance. However, the company offers complimentary roadside assistance to its policyholders. So if you’re in the market for a robust policy, 21st Century may not be the best fit.

More Car Insurance Options with 21st Century

In addition to the options listed above, 21st Century also offers the following:

  • Roadside assistance
  • Antique car insurance coverage
  • Rental reimbursement
  • SR-22 filing and coverage
  • Waiver of collision deductibles
  • Coverage for additional or customized equipment on your vehicle

Each option listed above is likely to make your auto insurance policy a bit more expensive, but you may find that the coverage helps you feel safe and allows you to have peace of mind when you are driving.

What is SR-22 insurance?

If you have a DUI conviction or several traffic violations in a short period, you may need an SR-22 form. SR-22 forms prove to your state’s department of motor vehicles that you have proper insurance and can take financial responsibility if you’re in a car accident. 

If you live in California and need affordable SR-22 insurance, you may find that certain companies are unable or unwilling to provide coverage. However, 21st Century offers SR-22 filings and coverage throughout the state.

21st Century Insurance vs. Competitors

21st Century’s full coverage auto insurance rates are slightly lower than average when compared to other competitors. The company’s full coverage rates were $76 cheaper than the state average in California.

However, liability-only policies or policies for drivers with a DUI are often more expensive with 21st Century than they are with other competing companies.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I cancel my 21st Century auto insurance?

You can call the company and speak with a representative to cancel your insurance policy. If you need to make any changes to your policy, you can do so by following the same steps.

Does 21st Century offer broad or unique coverage?

21st Century offers more than what is required to legally drive in your state, allowing policyholders to customize their policies to a certain extent. Additionally, the company offers a custom parts add-on that policyholders can add to their insurance coverage. Still, the company does not offer accident forgiveness, new car replacement, GAP coverage, or deductible modification.

Does 21st Century offer online car insurance tools?

The company offers 24-hour customer assistance, options for discounts, the ability to alter your policy, and tools on the company’s mobile app.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for 21st Century Insurance

3.94 (307 reviews)
5
December 15, 2020

hmegens1941

HM 21st Century review

I have been with this company since 2013. They were there to help me through a tough time when I had my accident. Service was superb.
2
August 25, 2020

naq71

No price matching/Nothing for loyal customers

This is a great company who has helped me every single time I’ve needed them. For that, 4.5 stars. However, this month I got a quote from AAA. I then back to 21st and they said they don’t price match so I changed insurances. I’m deeply disappointed and a bit saddened. I’ve had 21st.com for around 30 years, and in the time of COVID-19, they are willing to let a good customer go after 30 years of loyalty? Wow! I guess that’s ok with them...
This is a great company who has helped me every single time I’ve needed them. For that, 4.5 stars. However, this month I got a quote from AAA. I then back to 21st and they said they don’t price match so I changed insurances. I’m deeply disappointed and a bit saddened. I’ve had 21st.com for around 30 years, and in the time of COVID-19, they are willing to let a good customer go after 30 years of loyalty? Wow! I guess that’s ok with them because they had no care that I wanted to change companies after my insurance went up $100+. Yes, I added a new car, but even when I added a 2006 Lexus the price went up $100 then as well. My total was $414 per month, and that was low-medium coverage! I helped AAA will treat me as well, but I am so disappointed. 😢😤
1
December 13, 2019

Mometh bousso

21st Century Insurance review

This insurance not good never put your car there bad costumer service I have a accident and I was paying full coverage but they never pay me
2
December 9, 2019

spicy77

Incessant rate increase make 21st Century a poor choice.

In general this company is known for having the lowest rates in town but over the last five years I have noticed my rates going up over time. I have never had an accident and the company is supposed to reward you for this, but my rates keep going up. I am at the point that if I get another rate increase in the next six months, I am going to bail and go with another provider.
5
October 1, 2019

mikedupont

21s century company review

i actually enjoyed the experience but since i found a better alternative i canceled it, but it is really a good company they deserve their good reputation.
5
August 18, 2019

hong7879

Fair and easy

Very knowledgeable about services. Gave me option and help me find the best needed policy. Friendly.
5
August 13, 2019

Elkani

Best!

Excellent customer service and great low prices! I got tue lowest quote vs other companies. I definitely recommend them.
4
July 31, 2019

IXB831

Great!

One of the best insurance companies I've ever used! The price on my insurance policy was the lowest ever!
5
July 26, 2019

pataylor

Very satisfied customer.

They always paid on claims with no problem. They have by far the lowest rates on auto insurance in my area, and their roadside assistance is very reliable. I don't drive anymore otherwise they would still be my company. I was very satisfied with their service.
4
July 18, 2019

4uytran

21st auto insurance

Just recently switched to 21st auto insurance to be on the same insurance policy with my brother. Everything seems okay so far with competitive rates.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption