Acceptance Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Acceptance car insurance is most well-known for offering non-standard insurance to high-risk drivers. Here’s everything you need to know about Acceptance auto insurance.

UPDATED: Oct 21, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Oct 21, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Oct 21, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 21, 2022Fact Checked
3.8
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Acceptance Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

B

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Non-standard coverage for high-risk drivers
  • SR-22 filings
  • Acceptance of most drivers, regardless of driving history

Cons

  • Lack of availability in all states
  • High coverage rates
  • Questionable financial strength
  • Limited coverage options
  • Many customer complaints

The Bottom Line

Acceptance Car Insurance: The Bottom Line

Acceptance auto insurance is a good fit for many non-standard drivers. However, if you have a questionable driving record and live in one of the states where Acceptance is available, you should reach out to the company to get a quote for coverage.

If you’re not a high-risk driver, you should look elsewhere to find the best car insurance companies in your area, as you’ll likely find more affordable rates elsewhere.

Finding auto insurance as a high-risk driver can be difficult. As a high-risk driver, you may look for proper or cheaper coverage with a new company. If that’s the case, consider learning more about Acceptance car insurance.

Acceptance Insurance offers homeowners, renters, motorcycle, and life insurance coverage. However, the company is well-known for its non-standard auto insurance policies catering to those looking for high-risk auto insurance rates.

Is Acceptance Insurance a Good Choice?

Does Acceptance auto insurance have good ratings and reviews?

Acceptance Insurance is a subsidiary of First Acceptance Corporation. First Acceptance Corp. has a B (fair) financial strength rating with A.M. Best with a stable outlook for the future. The company also has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB), though the BBB website lists several customer complaints.

If you’re considering a policy with Acceptance Insurance, you may want to consider its A.M. Best rating and customer complaints before doing so. Still, if you’re a high-risk driver seeking non-standard auto insurance, Acceptance may be a good option.

Acceptance Customer Service

Acceptance receives negative reviews for its customer service. The company received a complaint index score of 4.74 while the median score is 1. This means Acceptance is almost five times as likely to receive a complaint when compared to other auto insurance companies. 

Acceptance policyholders frequently complain about the company’s claims process, the speed at which claims were handled, and the responsiveness of the claims investigators and adjusters. 

How does Acceptance handle car insurance claims?

To file a claim with Acceptance, you can call the phone number and speak with a company representative. But many customers mention that the claims process is neither smooth nor efficient. 

According to some individuals, Acceptance adjusters will take days or even weeks to get back to people about the status of a claim. Such a delay in resolution has made many Acceptance policyholders, and many people who’ve been in car accidents with Acceptance policyholders, upset. 

Acceptance Insurance Rates

How much is Acceptance car insurance?

Rates with Acceptance insurance tend to be higher than competitors. The table below shows average rates for liability coverage with other well-known auto insurance providers. Rates with Acceptance insurance may vary slightly depending on other factors, but these numbers should give you an idea.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates Based on Driving Record
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean RecordRates with a DUIRates with an Accident
Allstate$195.17$166.08$303.17$237.33
American Family$130.92$115.50$177.00$166.67
Farmers$175.67$139.50$191.33$198.58
Liberty Mutual$216.67$176.67$325.00$236.67
Nationwide$144.75$120.42$252.33$165.25
Progressive$142.50$109.17$146.67$190.33
State Farm$102.25$90.92$124.17$107.08
Travelers$148.33$107.25$230.42$157.33
Average$151.50$123.08$218.25$176.92
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Still, you never know how much you’ll pay for coverage until you get an Acceptance car insurance quote.

Auto insurance rates depend on several factors since insurance companies use different information to assess each driver’s accident risk. Some of the most common factors impacting car insurance rates include:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Marital status
  • ZIP code
  • Driving history
  • Credit score
  • Car make and model
  • Coverage types

To get an idea of how these factors can affect your auto insurance rates, let’s take a look at comparative rates from some of the top auto insurance companies in the U.S.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Acceptance Insurance Discounts Available

Does Acceptance car insurance offer discounts on coverage?

Acceptance offers several auto insurance discounts to its policyholders. Some of the company’s most popular discounts include:

  • Military
  • Multi-car
  • Multi-policy
  • Policy renewal
  • Autopay
  • Paperless
  • Homeowner
  • Paid-in-full
  • Usage-based insurance
  • Advance quote
  • Online quote
  • Defensive driving
  • Good student
  • Good driver
  • Low-mileage

Acceptance automatically applies discounts to policyholders’ accounts if they qualify for savings. Still, you can call and speak with an Acceptance representative to see how much you could save on your car insurance coverage with one or more of the discounts listed above.

Acceptance Insurance Coverage Options

What car insurance coverages does Acceptance offer?

Acceptance Insurance could work for you if you’re looking for straightforward coverage — it offers fundamental policies for car insurance, including:

Unlike some companies specializing in non-standard insurance, Acceptance offers full coverage to specific policyholders. However, anyone interested in robust auto insurance policies with customizable possibilities may want to look elsewhere.

What other types of insurance does Acceptance offer?

Along with auto insurance, Acceptance offers the following insurance products:

  • Homeowners insurance
  • Renters insurance
  • Life insurance
  • Commercial insurance
  • Pet insurance
  • Motorcycle insurance
  • Hospital indemnity insurance

If you choose another insurance product with the company, you may be able to save money by bundling your insurance coverages.

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How do you get an insurance quote from Acceptance?

To get a quote, you can visit the Acceptance website or call 866-480-9107.

What states offer Acceptance auto insurance?

Acceptance is available in the following states:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina 
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia

How can I file a claim with Acceptance?

Policyholders who need to report a claim can call 800-779-2103 or email [email protected]ptanceinsurance.com for assistance. 

Does Acceptance have an app?

Acceptance does not have an app to help policyholders file claims, check the status of a claim, or access policy information. Instead, customers will have to speak to a representative with the company for information or assistance.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Acceptance Insurance

3.78 (124 reviews)
5
October 12, 2022

Ansar_El_Muhammad_

In summary I think ACCEPTANCE INSURANCE is One of the Best

I have had Great experience with this company. Great Rates, Excellent customer service. ACCEPTANCE INSURANCE even donated Backpacks to my Non Profit Organization..
1
September 2, 2021

Eddie_D

Joke of a company

This is the worst experience I have ever had with a company in my life. I signed up for the wrong insurance plan online. I paid $470 upfront. Called back immediately and said I made a mistake and needed to cancel because my plan needed an SR22. They sent me an email link to cancel through. Then said my refund would only be for $83 because of all the charges in their cancelation policy. This company literally stole $400 from me for less than 24 ho...
This is the worst experience I have ever had with a company in my life. I signed up for the wrong insurance plan online. I paid $470 upfront. Called back immediately and said I made a mistake and needed to cancel because my plan needed an SR22. They sent me an email link to cancel through. Then said my refund would only be for $83 because of all the charges in their cancelation policy. This company literally stole $400 from me for less than 24 hours of insurance. Awful customer service from [REDACTED NAME] and [REDACTED NAME], no sympathy, understanding or willingness to help. Almost seemed happy that their company was ripping people off. Stay away from this company.
5
March 4, 2021

Tallan06

Agent was very helpful

It was an excellent experience she was very helpful, and kind. I had a great experience. She was very great with explaining the policy
5
January 14, 2021

Reereebryant

Car insurance

[REDACTED NAME] was nice . They got me the cheapest rate on the market . I’ve spoken to over 10 ppl within the last hr . You can’t beat there price . The phone hung up and she called back twice . They were extremely helpful .
3
October 10, 2020

Yeshuachristo

Ok but not the best or cheapest.

Very helpful insurance company with low rates. Can't pay in cash at office, not the cheapest company either. Coverage is at a bare minimum, and the agents aren't well trained.
5
September 9, 2020

Brandonr

Satisfied

Great help from a great team. Very helpful and friendly! Enjoyed the experience. Good coverage at a good cost.
1
May 6, 2020

Fruitycake

Acceptance Ins. denies claims based on adjusters lies.

I know sometimes that you feel like you have to go with convience vs. what may be the best option,but I would not recommend this company.The adjusters are not professional and they are not well trained.All companies want to save money,but this company blatantly cheap people by vagrantly denying claims,on the hopes merely that they will get away with it and that you won't dare do anything about it. [REDACTED NAME] was my adjuster and it was a horr...
I know sometimes that you feel like you have to go with convience vs. what may be the best option,but I would not recommend this company.The adjusters are not professional and they are not well trained.All companies want to save money,but this company blatantly cheap people by vagrantly denying claims,on the hopes merely that they will get away with it and that you won't dare do anything about it. [REDACTED NAME] was my adjuster and it was a horrible experience.She baggered me and went into personal information that had nothing to do with the claim.The supervisor was rude and insensitive,so I suppose the employees follow suite.Save yourself the headache and do not sign with this company.
1
March 21, 2020

JR1_Regrets

Bad company don't go with them...

A bunch of liars from the get go if you want insurance, I would go somewhere else! After my contract was signed they raised my premium twice and constantly harass you for payments when payment is not due! As the county is shutting down all they care about is there money! When pay check to pay check families go hungry and lose their jobs because of something out of their control! Nice job Acceptance Insurance for looking out for the common folks!
5
March 12, 2020

Laywell1987

Best Insurance

Acceptance is the best insurance company I have ever had. When ever I had a problem they always made things right with me. The price for my insurance was one of the cheapest.
5
February 29, 2020

Sassyma37

Awesome job

Carrollton acceptance Insurance office is awesome they always make me feel welcomed and greet me soon as I walk through the door
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption