Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance Review (2023)

Allmerica Financial Alliance auto insurance is a subsidiary of Hanover Insurance Group, the 22nd largest car insurance company in the U.S. The Hanover sells car policies through independent agents in 17 states.

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2023Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2023Fact Checked
3.9
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Hanover has been selling policies and consistently growing its portfolio of insurance products since 1852
  • Consumer Reports, on the other hand, reports that Hanover rates Very Good to Excellent across the board.
  • A.M. Best gives Hanover an A rating on financial stability

Cons

  • According to the Hanover insurance home page, their coverage is not available nationwide
  • Hanover requires you to contact an independent agent to get a quote

The Bottom Line

It can be tough figuring out which are the best auto insurance companies. Finding a policy that offers everything you need at a price you can afford seems like a tall order, but we’re here to help. If you’re looking for details on Allmerica, we’ve got you covered. From the Allmerica Financial Alliance auto insurance phone number to how to file a claim, all of the hard-to-find details are here.

This Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance review will tell you everything you need to know about the company, which has been absorbed by Hanover Insurance Group.

Hanover has been selling policies and consistently growing its portfolio of insurance products since 1852. Based in Massachusetts, the company sells insurance in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. It is publicly-traded and has consistently received an “A,” or excellent, financial stability rating from A.M. Best, an independent insurance rating company.

If you’re looking for personal auto insurance coverage, enter your ZIP code in the FREE tool above to compare quotes from top companies right now.

Starting as a home and business insurance company in 1852, Hanover was very popular with early investors, including famous author Washington Irving. It was named for its original location, Manhattan’s Hanover Square.

In 1911, the company expanded its coverage to include automobiles, underwriting a policy for baseball’s most famous player, Babe Ruth, in 1915.

In 1969, the company moved its headquarters to Massachusetts. In 2013, Hanover reached the milestone of having more than $5 billion in written premiums.

Is The Hanover Insurance Group a Good Choice?

Hanover is a smaller insurance company that you may not have heard of. When most people think about insurance, big names like Geico and Allstate typically come to mind. However, are the largest auto insurance companies the best? Not always.

The Hanover may not be the largest company around, but it is big for a regional insurer. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) ranks it as at number 22 of the 25 largest insurance companies in the nation. Learn more about the company at our Hanover auto insurance review.

For example, Hanover is the first insurance company to offer a policy called “Toys” coverage. It’s not for all the stuff you buy your kids; it’s for all the fun stuff you buy yourself. This coverage is only available for those who already have a personal auto insurance policy with Hanover, as it’s an add-on and cannot be purchased separately.

The Toys coverage can be purchased to protect motor homes, golf carts, dune buggies, all-terrain vehicles, snowmobiles, antique vehicles, classic vehicles, trailers, and campers.

The policy only covers physical damage. If you want other types of coverage on these vehicles, a policy will need to be customized specifically for you by Hanover.

Because they are a smaller company, they have to be more creative in the policies they offer to attract clients. This means they might have the perfect policy for you. The downside of this, however, is that Hanover’s coverage is only available through an agent, meaning you cannot get an online quote for a policy.

What is Hanover’s availability by state?

According to the Hanover insurance home page, their coverage is not available nationwide. The company only provides Arkansas auto insurance, Connecticut auto insurance, Georgia auto insurance, Illinois auto insurance, Indiana auto insurance, Louisiana auto insurance, Maine auto insurance, Massachusetts auto insurance, Michigan auto insurance, New Hampshire auto insurance, New Jersey auto insurance, New York auto insurance, Ohio auto insurance, Oklahoma auto insurance, Virginia auto insurance, Wisconsin auto insurance, and Tennessee auto insurance at this time.

This means you can get Hanover insurance in Howell, Michigan, or Gatlinburg, Tennessee, but folks in Dallas, Texas, don’t have access to a Hanover policy.

Most of the states listed above are among the states with the highest auto insurance rates in the nation. Given that all of the above states require insurance when buying a car, it is important to get a quote for a policy before you make a purchase.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The Hanover Insurance Group Discounts Available

Hanover states that they offer the following auto insurance discounts:

  • Good Student Discount – Like most insurance companies, Hanover is happy to reward responsible students with a discount. Typically, a discount of this kind is available to students with a B average or higher, but Hanover’s website doesn’t provide their specific requirements, so you may need to reach out to your agent and ask if this is a discount you might be entitled to.
  • Student Away at School Discount – If you have a student on your policy who is away at school and won’t have access to your vehicle on a regular basis, you may be entitled to this discount.
  • Low Mileage Discount – If you don’t drive much you have a decreased risk of being in an accident. Hanover is happy to reward you for your reduced risk with a discount on your premium.

While these three discounts are the only ones listed on the Hanover website, there are many other potential discounts that may apply to your policy. Check with your agent to see if Hanover will provide any of the following discounts:

  • Pay in Full Discount – This discount is available if you pay your premium all at once rather than month-by-month.
  • Anti-Theft Device Discount – Many companies offer a discount on your comprehensive coverage if you have certain anti-theft devices installed on your vehicle.
  • Multi-Car Discount – You may be entitled to a discount if you insure multiple vehicles with Hanover.
  • Safe Driving Course Discount – You may be entitled to a discount if you pass a certified driving course.
  • Multi-line Discount – If you have multiple policies with Hanover you should be entitled to a multi-line discount.
  • Affinity Groups – If you work for a company that is associated with Hanover auto insurance, or if you belong to an organization connected to the company, you may be entitled to a discount. Check with your agent to see if your employer or organization is affiliated with Hanover.

Keep in mind that insurance companies update their discounts all the time. You may want to verify the current available discounts with your independent agent.

What programs are available from Hanover?

Hanover’s biggest selling point is their Platinum Auto programs, all of which offer a fantastic combination of coverage options. For Hanover platinum insurance reviews, continue reading below:

Platinum Auto Essential

This plan offers some amazing benefits, including:

  • Waiver of Deductible
  • Child Passenger Restraint System Replacement Coverage
  • Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) Parts
  • Mechanical Parts Replacement
  • Ultimate Rental
  • Vehicle Key Replacement Coverage
  • Excess Custom Equipment
  • Excess Electronic Equipment

For more information about the mechanical parts replacement, take a look at the video below:

There are other plans available as well, including:

Platinum Auto Advantage

This plan offers all of the coverages listed above and adds:

Platinum Auto Elite

This plan offers everything included in the other two platinum plans and bundles in several other coverages, including:

  • Pet Injury Protection
  • Rental Car Insurance
  • Trip Interruption
  • Rental Coverage Upgrade
  • Home Care Services
  • Accidental Airbag Deployment
  • Accidental Death Benefit

You can reach out to your independent agent for details about these plans and how the benefits apply to you.

Canceling Your Hanover Auto Insurance Policy

Before you decide to cancel your Hanover auto insurance, make sure you’re managing your auto insurance policy by having another one set up first. Canceling without having new coverage in place could leave you with a gap in coverage, which would mean your vehicle was unprotected during that time.

A gap in coverage could also increase your rates for your new policy.

Once you have a new policy in place, you may have some questions about cancellation, which we’ll do our best to address here.

Is there a cancellation fee?

The Hanover website doesn’t specify if there is a cancellation fee for terminating your policy. Given that each state has different rules and regulations when it comes to insurance, this isn’t out of the ordinary.

They do state, however, that there may be a processing fee depending on how you pay your bill, i.e., whether you pay directly through their site or a third party vendor.

Is there a refund?

The answer to this question is similar to the statement above regarding cancellation fees.

The laws and rules vary from state to state, so customers in some places may be entitled to a refund while others may not, or may only be entitled to a partial refund.

If you have insurance through Hanover, your best bet is to reach out to your independent agent who arranged your policy and find out whether or not you’re entitled to a refund on car insurance.

How do you cancel?

Again, you’ll want to get in touch with your independent agent and let them know you would like to cancel your auto insurance policy. If you used them to purchase a new policy, they may have already put things in motion to cancel your policy through Hanover without any extra work on your part.

You may also find that your new insurance company will take care of your cancellation for you, so make sure to ask when you’re setting up the new policy if taking care of the termination of your old policy is a service that they offer.

If you don’t want to reach out to your agent, you can call the Hanover customer service department at 1-800-922-8427 and they can connect you to someone who can help you get your policy canceled.

When can I cancel?

Most states allow you to cancel an auto insurance policy at any time as long as you have a new policy to replace it to prevent a gap in coverage. Some states may have different rules, however, so check with your state’s insurance website or your agent to make sure you know when you can cancel your policy.

Typically, policies go into effect at midnight and are terminated effective 11:59 p.m. This is the best way to guarantee you’re never left with a gap in coverage.

How to Make a Hanover Auto Insurance Claim

To file an auto insurance claim with Hanover, call their claims department directly at 1-800-628-0250. They can walk you through the process of filing a claim and answer any questions you may have.

how to make a claim with Hanover

Once you’ve filed a claim, expect to hear from an adjuster within one business day. When you hear from your adjuster, they will:

  • Ask you for a statement to get the details of the accident
  • Review your policy and the specific coverages that are available to you
  • Explain the damage estimate process to you and let you know the next steps in getting your car repaired or replaced
  • Inform you whether or not a deductible will apply

If you have any questions about your claim, feel free to reach out to your adjuster or your independent agent.

How to Get a Hanover Auto Insurance Quote Online

While many of the largest insurance companies in the country offer online quote systems, Hanover requires you to contact an independent agent to get a quote.

If you have questions about how to find an independent agent in your area, you can always search online or use Hanover’s agent search page.

Keep in mind, however, that it’s always best to find an agent with no affiliation to any particular insurance company. This is the only way you can be certain that there is no conflict of interest.

Hanover: Auto Insurance Ratings

There are various organizations that rate insurance companies on everything from financial stability to consumer satisfaction, making it easier for customers to choose which insurance company is right for them.

The ratings for Hanover are as follows.

Rating AgencyHanover Rating
A.M. BestA
BBBA+
Moody'sBaa2
Standard & Poor'sA
NAIC Complaint Index0.68
J.D. Power3/5 New England
2/5 North Central
Consumer ReportsGood/Excellent
Get Your Rates Quote Now

A.M Best – A.M. Best gives Hanover an A rating on financial stability. Their scale goes from A++ to D, so this is a solid rating, but nowhere near the best possible rating for a company.

Better Business Bureau (BBB) – The Better Business Bureau rates companies on ethics and consumer complaints by state. While the BBB gives Hanover an A+ rating in Massachusetts, the consumers on the site rate the company less than two stars, so it may be worth your time to do some research before making a purchase.

Moody’s – Moody’s rates companies based on financial aspects, from Aaa to C, with Aaa being the highest rating and C being the lowest. In 2019, Moody’s gave Hanover a rating of Baa2, which was an improvement from their rating the year before.

Standard & Poor’s – Standard & Poor’s, otherwise known as S&P, also rates insurance companies based on their financial abilities. On a scale from AAA to D, the company gives Hanover an A rating.

National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) – NAIC gives Hanover a complaint ratio of 0.68. In this ranking system, lower numbers are much better than higher ones.

J.D. Power – According to J.D. Power, Hanover rates about average across the board, with slightly worse than average ratings in price and slightly better than average ratings in interaction.

Consumer Reports – Consumer Reports, on the other hand, reports that Hanover rates Very Good to Excellent across the board.

These are not the only groups that rate insurance companies, but they are the largest and most well-known. However, one of the best options to find out about Hanover insurance is through word-of-mouth, so ask people you know who have the insurance what they think of the company.

Hanover: Auto Insurance History

Started as a home and business insurance company in 1852, Hanover was very popular with early investors, including famous author Washington Irving. It was named for its original location, Manhattan’s Hanover Square.

In 1911, the company expanded its coverage to include automobiles, underwriting a policy for baseball’s most famous player, Babe Ruth, in 1915.

In 1969, the company moved its headquarters to Massachusetts. In 2013, Hanover reached the milestone of having more than $5 billion in written premiums.

The Hanover Insurance Group Coverage Options

Hanover offers a variety of personal insurance coverage options that can be customized to fit the personal insurance needs of its clients.

Hanover home insurance options are:

  • Basic policy
  • Select policy
  • Select plus policy
  • Select premium policy
  • Select premium extra policy

You should choose your policy based on the coverage you need for your home, the value of your home, and the value of your assets.

Its types of auto insurance coverage may include:

This coverage helps pay legal expenses if you are sued due to an accident or something that happens on your property, or if your identity is stolen.

What are Hanover’s bundling options?

It can be difficult to determine exactly what options for bundling insurance policies are available because Hanover does not offer online quotes, but they do offer a discount for bundling your policies. This is in line with most other major insurance companies.

If you have more than one insurance policy with Hanover, it would be worth your time to verify with your agent that you’re receiving a multi-line discount as well as any other discounts that may be available to you.

Hanover Business Lines of Insurance

Hanover has insurance for many different types of businesses including:

Different businesses need different coverage options.

Hanover is one of the few insurance companies to carry a specific plan for mid-sized businesses. Mid-sized businesses are often overlooked and forced to choose between small business insurance and large business insurance options, neither of which fit the needs of a mid-sized business.

Hanover’s mid-sized business insurance policy is customized to match the needs of the business.

Inland marine policies from Hanover are specifically for businesses that own or operate watercraft. Hanover has policies that are right for both in-depth and simply marine businesses.

Hanover also offers commercial surety bonds. Surety bonds are contracts between a hired contractor and the client. For example, if you hire a construction contractor to build an addition on your home, you would want them to be bonded so if they did not hold up their end of the bargain, or a natural disaster ruined the construction before it was complete, you’d be covered.

The Bottom Line

Hanover tends to be more expensive than its competitors, with lower rankings by most standard metrics. This doesn’t mean the company is a bad choice for you, however.

Their financial rankings are perfectly reasonable and they offer a wide variety of coverages, some of which are not available from the competition, which might be enough to tilt you in their favor.

If you feel that doing business with an independent agent is the best choice for you, it may be worth your time to consider purchasing a policy from Hanover. Ask your agent for a quote and if they know of any other products that might be a better fit for your needs.

If you’re looking for online quotes for multiple companies, use our FREE tool below to start saving money on auto insurance today.

Frequently Asked Questions

#1 – Is Hanover good insurance for cars?

This is a tough question. While the company has received decent financial ratings and employees seem happy to be there, the Allmerica financial insurance company’s customer service ratings tend to be low, and you will require a middleman to access their service.

However, their platinum plans and Toys coverage make them unique in the market, so if these things appeal to you it might be worth your time to reach out to an independent agent for a quote.

#2 – How do you receive Hanover discounts?

Hanover offers a number of discounts, though that information is difficult to find on their website. You can review the section on discounts above or reach out to your agent for more information.

#3 – What is the Hanover Insurance A.M. Best rating and what does it mean?

Hanover Insurance has an A rating with A.M. Best, which is considered “Excellent.” While its rating could be higher, it’s high enough to indicate that it should have no problems paying claims in the foreseeable future.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for The Hanover Insurance Group

3.85 (264 reviews)
2
August 30, 2021

Adik

Bad customer Seevce

08/292021 I requested to have road assistance. It take me be with agent 1 hour on the phone and not completed the service to towing my car 2 miles to the shop. Representative told me she try reach 11 companies and no of them give a respond. which is not true, I called by self to Lakeside Towing company and dispatcher [REDACTED NAME] said: Representative of Citizen company waiting for approval from supervisor. I'm so upset with service becaus...
08/292021 I requested to have road assistance. It take me be with agent 1 hour on the phone and not completed the service to towing my car 2 miles to the shop. Representative told me she try reach 11 companies and no of them give a respond. which is not true, I called by self to Lakeside Towing company and dispatcher [REDACTED NAME] said: Representative of Citizen company waiting for approval from supervisor. I'm so upset with service because Representative hold me on phone for 1 hour and didn't tell me she is waiting for approval from supervisor to make a payment. I paid by my self to LakeSide Towing company and in 20 minutes got service.
5
December 22, 2020

Charlton_insurance

Auto and home Insurance purchase

Insurance request was handled with professional from [REDACTED NAME] who answered all of my questions and made the transition go smoothly and efficiently
5
December 21, 2020

David_1688

Great company, great services.

Very good service, easy to deal with and respectful. I don't have any claim in Auto Insurance, but my home owner Insurance gave me very good impression.
5
December 19, 2020

Chuck_Truza_

Fast, Professional Service

I have had a claim and was amazed at the service in getting it handled. I had a fender bender at 11 AM and by 2 PM I had dropped the car off at the dealership repair shop and all the details were taken care of. Can't beat that for service.
4
December 17, 2020

ccstangle

Happy with auto insurance policy

Have used auto claims service and roadside assistance. Both have worked well and prices are good in my area.
5
December 15, 2020

Oldgoldwinger

When all prices were in, I went with Hanover Ins. Group .

I was checking the prices for house and car insurance which I do every two years, to make sure the prices I was paying were in line. I thought the company that I had been with for 25+ had gotten very high. I took my current present policies, so everyone would price me with the same level of insurance protection. When a companies gave me their Quotes Hanover Insurance came in the lowest.
5
December 15, 2020

JacksonDad

Great Customer Service

My son totaled his car (he was fine) and the whole matter was wrapped up and taken care of in less than 7 days.
5
December 15, 2020

14for14

Trustworthy

They’ve been there every time I’ve needed them. Excellent customer service experience so far. I had bought a hybrid vehicle & the wiring is almost like food to rodents & I couldn’t believe it and it happened again days later to the rental, also a hybrid. This all happened right when the first wave of the pandemic hit & my experience with all the parties, with the exception of the dealership, was wonderful
5
December 15, 2020

John_W

I have nothing to complain about.

I have no complaints at at all my experience is great . It’s straight to the point and I have no issues.
5
December 15, 2020

Dustin34

Outstanding company!

Extremely happy with Hanover. From customer service to claims, everyone has exceeded my expectations
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption