American Family KnowYourDrive Review (2022)

American Family KnowYourDrive is a usage-based insurance program offered by American Family insurance. With KnowYourDrive, you can save an initial 10% on your insurance rates just for signing up (it’s free and all you have to do is download the KnowYourDrive app). The app uses telematics to track your driving habits and provide a discount of up to 20% on your American Family insurance rates. When you sign up, you may qualify for roadside assistance and other benefits with Travel Peace of Mind.

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

On This Page

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022Fact Checked
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American Family Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$1,386

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • American Family insurance company’s KnowYourDrive program is a usage-based insurance program that allows you to save on your rates by tracking your driving habits and providing a commensurate discount (up to 20 percent)

Cons

  • None to mention

The Bottom Line

The American Family KnowYourDrive program offers drivers a way to save by allowing its app to track their driving habits. Only you can decide if the data collection (and resulting potential lack of privacy) is worth the discounts, which can be as much as 20 percent.

In addition to discounts, when you sign up for KnowYourDrive, you may qualify for free coverage through American Family’s Travel Peace of Mind package, which includes emergency roadside service, rental reimbursement, and other benefits.

American Family insurance company’s KnowYourDrive program is a usage-based insurance program that allows you to save on your rates by tracking your driving habits and providing a commensurate discount (up to 20 percent), similar to competitor company programs like Allstate Drivewise and Liberty Mutual’s RightTrack.

Since rates and discounts are based on individual driving habits, you won’t find published American Family KnowYourDrive auto insurance quotes or American Family KnowYourDrive auto insurance rates.

The best way to maximize your KnowYourDrive savings and obtain the full 20 percent discount is to focus on your driving habits. Specifically, follow all posted speed limits, avoid driving late at night, and try to reduce your overall mileage.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for American Family Insurance

4.04 (2,180 reviews)
5
September 6, 2022

TammyNelson

Great auto insurance for Costco Members through Connect

I like working direct with insurance companies for simple coverage like auto insurance. They make it easy. They're professional and knowledgeable and fast. Great discounts for Costco members too.
5
January 15, 2021

Doggy

Awesome

Awesome, highly recommend using this company. Best I’ve ever dealt with thus far, great costumer service
4
January 14, 2021

flip2score7

am fam review

for the most part, there have been no issues in the years I have been on their insurance with family and then subsequently purchasing my own with them. however, they are sometimes slow to send things out.
2
October 15, 2020

timtone

Unexpected charges

They charged me a fee to use my card instead of a check what is this 1965? I left for a more 2020 provider esurance!
5
October 15, 2020

ely135

American Family tops any other insurance company

This insurance company really goes the extra mile. They are always willing to walk you through anything you need help with and explain things you may not quite understand. They even have check-ins every 6 months or so to make sure your policy is still suited for your current needs and that you aren't missing out on any applicable discounts. Moreover, American Family offers an incredible amount of discounts. I would be shocked if any individuals a...
This insurance company really goes the extra mile. They are always willing to walk you through anything you need help with and explain things you may not quite understand. They even have check-ins every 6 months or so to make sure your policy is still suited for your current needs and that you aren't missing out on any applicable discounts. Moreover, American Family offers an incredible amount of discounts. I would be shocked if any individuals actually received a quote that did not have at least one discount on it! When a company has amazing customer service and really cares about saving you money, it's hard to believe that the coverage you are provided could really be anything other than terrible. American Family strives to leave you flabbergasted. My auto insurance is everything I want/need, and I'm paying a premium that is $200 below what any and all other companies quoted me!
5
October 12, 2020

snoopyhugs18

When a 90-minute Meeting Saved Us $596!

Because we have our Condo Insurance with American Family, our local agent reached out to my husband and me to review that policy at the time of its annual renewal. I appreciated the ability to do this--in person (with proper precautions taken) even in spite of COVID-19. During this meeting, we requested an Auto Insurance quote, and we were thrilled to discover that American Family could save us approx. $596 annually for identical coverage if we s...
Because we have our Condo Insurance with American Family, our local agent reached out to my husband and me to review that policy at the time of its annual renewal. I appreciated the ability to do this--in person (with proper precautions taken) even in spite of COVID-19. During this meeting, we requested an Auto Insurance quote, and we were thrilled to discover that American Family could save us approx. $596 annually for identical coverage if we switched from our former insurer! The new policy was underwritten and ready for us to sign in less than 24 hours. American Family's online tools are easy and efficient to use, yet they look and feel secure. After a 6-year break from American Family because there was no local agent where we previously lived, I am so glad to be back!
5
October 2, 2020

DomMar35

Boss

American Family Insurance is an amazing company that acts quickly on claims and works to ensure customer satisfaction
5
October 2, 2020

ruthjahncoz

a bright point in a dark time

We were in a bad car crash. The other car was at fault, but we had car replacement coverage. We had the money to buy a new to us car in less than three weeks. We covered our new to us car with them. We had to talk to several departments during this time and everyone was helpful.
5
June 12, 2020

LillyM

Young but excited about Insurance!

I think they are good so far, I can't wait to get the decrease in insurance payment at the age of 25. Just 6 more years to go!
5
May 5, 2020

KatieM

My AMFAM experience

Good service always! very friendly, easy to work with, available to anser all my quesitions, very profesional .
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption