California Casualty Insurance Auto Insurance Review (2022)

California Casualty auto insurance specializes in insurance for firefighters and law enforcement. They offer auto, home, flood, RV, earthquake, umbrella, and pet insurance to clients.

UPDATED: Sep 26, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 26, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 26, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Sep 26, 2022Fact Checked
4.2
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

California Casualty Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

Complaint level:

Low

This California Casualty Auto Insurance Review will discuss the company and what it offers for auto insurance.

The company has been around since 1914 and focuses on offering insurance policies to people who serve the community.

California Casualty Insurance tailors their benefits to meet the needs of their customers, which include groups in the law enforcement, education, and public safety fields.

This includes premium waivers for those survivors of officers killed in the line of duty and deductible waivers for educators whose cars were damaged on school property.

To compare auto insurance rates for this company and others in your area, just enter your ZIP code in the box above!

Is California Casualty Group a Good Choice?

California Casualty Auto Insurance Locations

California Casualty offers insurance policies in 44 states. Check out the website for the offices in your state.

Their main location for sales, service, and claims for the states of California, Colorado, Washington D.C., Mississippi, and South Carolina is P.O. Box 39700, Colorado Springs, CO, 80949-9700.

There is another claims office at P.O. Box 42630, Phoenix, AZ, 85080-2630 and one at P.O. Box 9100, Leawood, KS, 66202-1700.

California Casualty Phone Numbers

There are a variety of phone numbers to reach California Casualty:

  • For website help, call their toll free number at 1-877-525-7618
  • For sales, call 1-866-680-5143 or fax them at 1-866-678-5970
  • For service, call 1-800-800-9410 or fax at 1-888-206-3083
  • For the Colorado Springs claim office call 1-800-800-9410
  • For the office in Phoenix call 1-800-841-4736
  • For Kansas call 1-800-346-6840
  • To report fraud, the number to call is 1-800-288-7765 ext. 4265

California Casualty Customer Service

A customer service representative is available from 7 am to 7 pm Mountain Standard Time Monday thru Friday and 9 am to 1 pm on Saturdays.

There are phone numbers available for whatever need you may have as well as the ability to email if you prefer that route.

In 2009 California Casualty received no complaints, which tied them for #1 with five other insurance companies.

A survey of current policyholders resulted in 99.7 percent of them saying they would highly recommend California Casualty to friends and family and 95.6 percent of them saying that they are completely satisfied with the service they have received from the company.

The website for California Casualty includes a section with Frequently Asked Questions that includes a variety of different questions and scenarios.

The website also includes a place where you can change your policy if you have changes in your life.

It is easy to get a quote from California Casualty. You can call their toll-free number, 1-866-680-5143, and speak with a representative.

You can also email them and someone will respond quickly to help and answer any questions you may have.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

California Casualty Group Coverage Options

What kinds of insurance does California Casualty Products offer?

California Casualty has a number of insurance products available. Auto insurance is one of them, which includes any specialty coverage needed for equipment used by firefighters and law enforcement.

The company also offers motorcycle, renters, home, condo, and mobile home insurance.

Other insurance products offered include flood insurance, boat, snowmobile, recreational vehicle, earthquake, personal umbrella, and pet insurance.

As with most insurance companies, California Casualty offers auto insurance discounts for multi-line policies, as well as for good driving record, and good grades.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for California Casualty Group

4.19 (143 reviews)
1
June 2, 2022

cmestaz

CalCas does not care about their customers

I am a current member of CalCas. I have had my home and car insurance with them for over 6years. I was in a car accident a month ago. I was hit from behind on the freeway by another driver. I am a California resident and was in Arizona at the time of the accident. The car hit me from behind and I hit the car in front of me therefore, you can imagine the impact. Immediately following the accident I went to the ER. I was in a lot of pain and on med...
I am a current member of CalCas. I have had my home and car insurance with them for over 6years. I was in a car accident a month ago. I was hit from behind on the freeway by another driver. I am a California resident and was in Arizona at the time of the accident. The car hit me from behind and I hit the car in front of me therefore, you can imagine the impact. Immediately following the accident I went to the ER. I was in a lot of pain and on medication. I reported it to my insurance and called my attorney that same day. At the time, I also had to find a ride back to California because my car was not derivable and it was a Friday evening. When I spoke with my attorney he said he would take care of the car and have it towed to a shop. You can imagine I was relieved that it was one less thing to worry able under the stressful circumstances. My car was considered a total loss and I am currently going back and forth with the total loss adjuster [REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED NAME] who is taking the tow charge of $1875 out of the settlement. Mind you Calcas is getting $15,000 from the car that hit me and I've been a loyal member for many years. He had the audacity to say "IN GOOD FAITH" they are paying $1875 however, taking it out of my settlement. As we all know the prices of cars right now is outrageous and every dollar counts. Calcas doesn't care about their customers it's all about the money. They don't care about the situation I was in nor are they taking into consideration the stress the are causing. I am currently looking for another insurance company. I hope my story prevents this from happening in the future.
1
July 21, 2021

Auston8

Thieves

Canceled my insurance with them two or three weeks ago. Was told I was getting refunded 43 dollars to find out they took another monthly payment out after I cancelled so 120 dollars about and called to see why they took more money instead of refunding me and they basically told me tough luck. I feel robbed.
5
January 10, 2021

Hsmith

Awesome company!

They are amazing to work with! We he’d an auto accident and they were very quick to issue payment for the damages. Prices are very reasonable!!
4
October 2, 2020

yasuo

good brand, i like it, thank you so much and thank so survey

this company is an best brand, i trust it, i will share everybody, this is safe, quality, and best price
5
June 10, 2020

CCLady7

Never had any problems

I've never had a problem getting a claim processed and the rates are good. Customer service is always helpful and I appreciate the annual coverage review where they go over anything that changed in the past year and make sure your coverage is still appropriate.
1
April 8, 2020

doejon1

Horrible Claims

Horrible Claims, most unprofessional people I have ever dealt with. Could not provide requested documentation.
5
February 24, 2020

bullshead

great prices

i do not have much to say because we havent had any claims or accidents thus far. but they have great prices
5
November 8, 2019

Scan1973

Best price anywhere!

Super service! A sleeper company. Best prices anywhere. I am not changing my company because of California Cas!,
1
October 2, 2019

casteel81

Very poor service throughout

I found out about California casualty through my United airlines program. I was very excited to sign up with a company bundled with another company that I used so frequently. It was supposed to be cheaper which it wasn't but I went ahead anyways. I was told after a month that they couldn't cover my wife because she had a suspended license even though she's never had a suspended license. I went to the DMV and provided the paperwork to show that sh...
I found out about California casualty through my United airlines program. I was very excited to sign up with a company bundled with another company that I used so frequently. It was supposed to be cheaper which it wasn't but I went ahead anyways. I was told after a month that they couldn't cover my wife because she had a suspended license even though she's never had a suspended license. I went to the DMV and provided the paperwork to show that she did not have a suspended license. They still insisted or not covering her and even went so far as to send me exclusionary paperwork for me to sign. We went with another insurance company after I was told that she was not and could not be covered. we moved shortly after that and I got very threatening letters in the mail saying that I would go to collections if I didn't pay my bill. I called numerous times to find out what was going on but was never able to be covered with a supervisor. I told them I didn't feel like I should have to pay the prorated portion of the last couple weeks as my wife was not covered I should just pay for my portion well now it's into October and I received my first collection notice from them and still have not heard from a supervisor. So I went on today and paid the balance as most humans cannot afford to have collection notices. I would avoid them at all cost. I went back to Geico which is not only cheaper but can obviously cover my wife.
3
September 7, 2019

hawaii16

Limited Coverage

Calcas could have provide more insurance coverage and not be so limited on the items covered! None of the policies covered glass breakage or winshield breakage. Also determining who was at fault could be at better judgement. Another fault was stating what the policy changes were.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption