Liberty Mutual Auto Insurance Review (2024)

According to our Liberty Mutual auto insurance review, Liberty Mutual insurance quotes average $174 per month for full coverage. Since Liberty Mutual insurance rates are higher than average, drivers can use auto insurance discounts or participate in Liberty Mutual RightTrack program to save.

UPDATED: Feb 16, 2024Fact Checked

Zach Fagiano

Licensed Insurance Broker

Zach Fagiano has been in the insurance industry for over 10 years, specializing in property and casualty and risk management consulting. He started out specializing in small businesses and moved up to large commercial real estate risks. During that time, he acquired property & casualty, life & health, and surplus lines brokers licenses. He’s now the Senior Vice President overseeing globa...

Licensed Insurance Broker

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Producer

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Producer

UPDATED: Feb 16, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 16, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 16, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Liberty Mutual

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$174

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Multiple types of insurance products and car insurance features
  • Available in all 50 states and Washington, DC
  • Many discounts and telematics programs

Cons

  • High rates, especially for young drivers
  • Average customer service ratings
  • Low claims satisfaction ratings

Final Verdict: Review of Liberty Mutual

Liberty Mutual is one of the top car insurance companies in the country. While the company offers many different types of insurance, rates are typically much higher than expected, especially for young drivers.

Drivers with Liberty Mutual insurance can save money by taking advantage of discounts, bundling policies, and participating in RightTrack.

Liberty Mutual reviews are generally favorable, but complaints revolve around high rates and customer service problems.

Liberty Mutual is a good fit for drivers who aren’t high-risk and want to insure more than just their vehicle. However, young drivers, drivers with a bad driving record, and drivers with poor credit scores see extremely high rates.

Liberty Mutual is a recognized name in insurance and has been around for over 100 years. But unfortunately, while Liberty Mutual is one of the best auto insurance companies in the country, it also has some of the highest car insurance rates. Although rates tend to be above average, so are the various products and services offered by Liberty Mutual. For example, drivers can bundle their auto insurance with home, renters, boat, RV, small business, or pet insurance. Drivers with Liberty Mutual insurance have multiple ways to save, such as adding car insurance discounts and participating in RightTrack. While auto insurance rates start high, remember to consider all ways to save when comparing a Liberty Mutual insurance quote. Keep reading to learn more about the Liberty Mutual insurance company and see if it’s right for you.

What You Should Know About Liberty Mutual Insurance

Liberty Mutual is a top player in the insurance industry with a wide range of products. In addition, the company has been in business for more than 100 years and has a reliable reputation.

Although Liberty Mutual does receive some bad reviews regarding its customer service and claims satisfaction, the company scores highly on financial stability and customer interaction.

In addition, Liberty Mutual offers a variety of policies, such as auto, home, renters, and boat coverage. Drivers can bundle policies and take advantage of discounts to lower rates substantially.

Liberty Mutual Insurance Coverage Options

Liberty Mutual’s auto insurance offerings include coverages required by most states and coverages that offer you the most protection.

Typical auto insurance coverages from Liberty Mutual include the following:

  • Liability. Liability auto insurance coverage pays for property damage and bodily injury to others if you cause an accident.
  • Collision. Collision insurance covers damages to your vehicle from an accident. 
  • Comprehensive. Comprehensive coverage pays for non-collision damages to your vehicle, such as fire, theft, vandalism, floods, and falling debris.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. UM/UIM coverage pays for damages to your vehicle if a driver hits you with little or no insurance.
  • Medical payments. Medical payments coverage helps pay for medical bills following an accident.
  • Personal injury protection. Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance helps cover expenses after an accident, including child care, lost wages, and medical bills.

Most states require at least liability coverage, but you and your vehicle aren’t protected. Therefore, most experts recommend full coverage, including liability, collision, comprehensive, and other mandatory coverages.

Does Liberty Mutual offer extra car insurance coverages?

Many drivers also look for other coverages and features that offer more protection than just the typical auto insurance. Liberty Mutual provides drivers with many different options to be totally covered.

Extra Liberty Mutual auto coverages and features include the following:

  • Accident forgiveness. You can buy this coverage if you haven’t had an accident in five years, and your rates won’t go up for your first accident in the future.
  • New car replacement. This coverage pays for a new car if your car is less than one year old and totaled in an accident.
  • Better car replacement. This replaces your car with a new car, one model year newer if your vehicle is totaled.
  • Roadside assistance. Roadside assistance is available if you need help with towing, a jump start, fuel delivery, or locksmith service.
  • GAP coverage. GAP pays the difference between what you owe on your vehicle and its worth if it’s totaled in an accident.
  • Rental car reimbursement. If your vehicle is damaged in a covered accident, this coverage pays for a rental until repairs are complete.
  • Original parts replacement. This feature replaces any parts on your vehicle with original parts, not aftermarket parts.
  • Lifetime replacement guarantee. Liberty Mutual guarantees any repairs done at approved network locations for life.

In addition, drivers can add benefits like Mexico car insurance and teacher’s car insurance for those traveling to Mexico or driving for official school business.

What other products does the Liberty Mutual insurance company offer?

Many drivers look for more than just car insurance. Fortunately, Liberty Mutual offers a variety of insurance products and coverages that drivers can bundle.

Here are additional Liberty Mutual insurance products:

  • Homeowners
  • Renters
  • Condo
  • Boat
  • RV
  • ATV
  • Motorcycle
  • Small Business
  • Pet
  • Life

Liberty Mutual offers drivers a multi-policy discount for choosing more than one type of insurance. For example, drivers can bundle auto, home, and pet insurance to take advantage of discounts.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Liberty Mutual Insurance Rates Breakdown

There are many factors that affect car insurance rates, such as your age, driving record, and credit score. In addition, each car insurance company weighs these factors differently, so every driver receives different rates.

While Liberty Mutual offers various car insurance coverages, rates are higher than average. In fact, out of the top insurance companies in the country, Liberty Mutual has the highest rates.

One factor that affects your rates is how much coverage you choose. Low or liability-only coverage is the cheapest but offers the least protection. On the other hand, high or full coverage is the most expensive and provides the most protection.

This table shows average Liberty Mutual rates based on liability coverage compared to other top companies.

Liability-only coverage from Liberty Mutual averages $483 a month, and full coverage is around $530 a month. Let’s now take a look at Liberty Mutual full coverage rates.

So although it's tempting to buy the less expensive coverage, you’ll have higher out-of-pocket costs in an accident.

How do age, gender and marital status affect car insurance rates with Liberty Mutual?

It’s no surprise that younger drivers see much higher insurance rates than older, more experienced drivers.

However, you might not know that married drivers see lower rates since they are more stable and less likely to take risks. Additionally, male drivers are statistically more likely to take risks and be in more accidents.

The tables below show how age and gender affect Liberty Mutual car insurance rates. Let’s first take a look at rates for brand new drivers — teenagers.

As you can see, teen drivers pay extremely high rates with Liberty Mutual. In addition, teen males spend almost one-third more than their female counterparts. However, rates drop dramatically at age 25. Check out the table below on rates for the average adult.

Rates for senior drivers will also be higher than the national average with Liberty Mutual. Take a look at this table to compare senior rates with the top insurance companies.

Make sure to always compare rates with multiple insurance companies to get the best deal possible for your unique needs, because there are numerous factors that will affect your final cost.

Does your driving record affect Liberty Mutual car insurance rates?

Most drivers know that your driving record significantly affects your car insurance rates. Auto insurance companies understand that drivers with accidents, tickets, and DUIs are likely to have repeat infractions that cost them money.

This table shows how much a single accident on your record affects Liberty Mutual auto insurance rates.

As you can see, Liberty Mutual rates will increase after a ticket. Now let’s see how a single traffic ticket will raise your rates.

While drivers with a speeding ticket pay about $77 a month more for Liberty Mutual insurance, drivers with a DUI pay almost $240 a month more than drivers with a clean record.

Multiple accidents, tickets, and DUIs cause rates to skyrocket. In addition, drivers with numerous infractions can be seen as high-risk and be required to pay for more expensive SR-22 coverage.

How does your credit score affect Liberty Mutual auto insurance rates?

You may not know that your credit score affects your car insurance rates. Insurance companies believe that drivers with a high credit score are less likely to file a claim and are more likely to pay for damages themselves.

This table shows how your credit score affects Liberty Mutual rates.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Credit Score
Insurance CompanyPoor CreditFair CreditGood Credit
AAA$245$165$135
Allstate$296$197$166
American Family$203$136$116
Farmers$269$161$140
Geico$148$100$82
Hartford$230$155$120
Liberty Mutual$355$226$177
Nationwide$166$133$120
Progressive$206$138$109
State Farm$200$118$91
Travelers$194$128$107
U.S. Average$226$148$123

Although drivers with good credit scores pay about $365 a month for auto insurance from Liberty Mutual, drivers with bad credit scores pay $733 a month.

Drivers can raise their credit score by paying bills on time and being cautious about how they use their credit.

How Liberty Mutual Compares Against Other Auto Insurance Providers

Explore our comprehensive table below to see how Liberty Mutual stands out in comparison to other auto insurance providers.

Deciphering the Cost of Auto Insurance in Your City

Discover the fluctuating costs of auto insurance in different Kentucky cities. The table below showcases rates in Corbin, Louisville, Greenville, Prestonsburg, Inez, Salyersville, and Liberty. Stay informed about the insurance landscape in your city.

Liberty Mutual Insurance Discounts Available

Car insurance discounts provide significant savings on your Liberty Mutual coverage.  And, since rates start very high, taking advantage of discounts helps reduce costs.

Liberty Mutual bases discounts on the driver, policy, and vehicle. For example, you may be eligible for safe driver, paid in full, and safety feature discounts. In addition, since Liberty Mutual offers so many different types of insurance, drivers may also qualify for a multi-policy discount.

Since Liberty Mutual offers many discounts, most drivers can bundle several for the most significant savings. Remember, Liberty Mutual doesn’t apply all discounts automatically to your policy, so be sure to ask what discounts are available to you.

What is Liberty Mutual RightTrack?

Liberty Mutual RightTack is a telematics program that monitors driving behaviors and offers a discount of up to 30% for the life of your policy. The program uses either an app or a plug-in device to track when you drive, hard braking and acceleration, and mileage.

Low-mileage drivers who don’t drive at night and don’t hit the brakes or gas hard save the most money. However, RightTrack is also a good option for drivers who want to improve their safe driving skills since the program offers immediate feedback.

Your car insurance rates won’t increase if you score poorly with RightTrack, so Liberty Mutual drivers can try it risk-free.

Does Liberty Mutual offer usage-based car insurance?

Low-mileage drivers who want to keep their Liberty Mutual car insurance may be interested in ByMile, a usage-based insurance program.

ByMile uses a telematics device that plugs into your vehicle to monitor mileage. Then, drivers pay a daily base rate plus a small fee for each mile driven. While the auto insurance coverage available is the same as traditional coverage, rates are typically much lower.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Liberty Mutual car insurance available?

Drivers can get Liberty Mutual quotes in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. However, every state creates its own requirements for car insurance and discounts.

How can you get a Liberty Mutual car insurance quote?

The easiest way to get a Liberty Mutual auto insurance quote is to do so online. You’ll need your personal and vehicle information, including VIN and mileage.

You can also get a quote from a local agent or by calling the Liberty Mutual customer service number at 1-800-290-8711.

Can you file a Liberty Mutual claim online?

You can file a claim online or through the Liberty Mutual app. If you’d like to speak with a representative, call the Liberty Mutual claims phone number at 1-800-225-2467.

How do you cancel car insurance with Liberty Mutual?

Although it’s easy to cancel your coverage, you’ll need to speak with Liberty Mutual customer service. You can cancel anytime for any reason, but you may have to pay a cancellation fee. However, you should receive a refund for any unused portion of your policy if you paid in advance.

Does Liberty Mutual cover rental cars?

If you opt for the extra coverage, rental car reimbursement pays you back for a rental if your vehicle is damaged in a covered accident. However, your insurance won’t cover a rental car for a vacation.

Can you get GAP coverage with Liberty Mutual?

Yes, Liberty Mutual offers GAP coverage, which pays for the difference between what you owe on your vehicle and what it’s worth if your car is totaled in an accident.

Can you get SR-22 car insurance with Liberty Mutual?

Yes, Liberty Mutual offers SR-22 insurance. SR-22 is a form filed with your state that affirms you have at least the minimum amount of required car insurance. Typically, only high-risk drivers need SR-22 insurance, and rates are significantly higher.

What is Liberty Mutual Auto Insurance?

Liberty Mutual Auto Insurance is a type of car insurance policy provided by Liberty Mutual, one of the leading insurance companies in the United States. It offers coverage for vehicles, protecting owners from financial losses resulting from accidents, theft, or other unforeseen events.

Can I manage my Liberty Mutual Auto Insurance policy online?

Yes, Liberty Mutual provides an online portal and mobile app that allows policyholders to manage their auto insurance policies. Through the online platform, you can make payments, view policy documents, update personal information, and file and track claims.

Does Liberty Mutual offer roadside assistance?

Yes, Liberty Mutual offers an optional add-on called Roadside Assistance coverage. This service provides assistance if your vehicle breaks down, runs out of fuel, gets a flat tire, or requires towing. It is available 24/7 and can be added to your auto insurance policy for an additional fee.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zach Fagiano

Licensed Insurance Broker

Zach Fagiano has been in the insurance industry for over 10 years, specializing in property and casualty and risk management consulting. He started out specializing in small businesses and moved up to large commercial real estate risks. During that time, he acquired property & casualty, life & health, and surplus lines brokers licenses. He’s now the Senior Vice President overseeing globa...

Licensed Insurance Broker

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Producer

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Producer

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Liberty Mutual Insurance

3.95 (3,605 reviews)
1
February 6, 2024

Ca_Issacs

Trash company

Absolutely no communication between the company, and I regardless of them having me give them 3 separate means to communicate with me. Trash company.
1
September 25, 2023

Mikem72262

Liberty is an over charging company

I went to cancel my home and auto policies I have with Liberty cause I found other insurance companies have better rates for the same coverage. On both my policies the coverage is the same or better than I have now and the total cost is now going to be HALF of what I was paying with Liberty. When I called to cancel I was then told that Liberty charges a $150 charge to cancel my policy (no other company charges this that I have had). This is no wh...
I went to cancel my home and auto policies I have with Liberty cause I found other insurance companies have better rates for the same coverage. On both my policies the coverage is the same or better than I have now and the total cost is now going to be HALF of what I was paying with Liberty. When I called to cancel I was then told that Liberty charges a $150 charge to cancel my policy (no other company charges this that I have had). This is no where shown in the policy about this charge to cancel. JUST ANOTHER WAY LIBERTY IS SCREWING IT'S CUSTOMERS!!!! I would tell anybody looking for insurance to try other companies if you want a better price!!!! Customer service even will tell you the company has NEVER reduced it's prices.
1
September 12, 2023

Brian_B

Don't ever expect help if you need it.

My car was damaged (rear end) by someone with Liberty Mutual Insurance 108 days ago. I have continually left messages with the Liberty claims representative and can't even get a phone call back. I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone looking for any sort of customer service.
1
July 31, 2023

Jayden09_

NO SECOND CHANCES FOR LOYAL CUSTOMERS!!!

I wasn't able to pay my bill all at once so I called Liberty Mutual for more time. The woman I talked to told me that I would have 40 days to pay my balance and 2 weeks later I was sent a check for half of what I had paid. When I called to see why, the person I talked to said the woman had informed me of the wrong dates and that now to rewrite a policy I would have to pay for the whole year in advance. So when Liberty Mutuals employees give you t...
I wasn't able to pay my bill all at once so I called Liberty Mutual for more time. The woman I talked to told me that I would have 40 days to pay my balance and 2 weeks later I was sent a check for half of what I had paid. When I called to see why, the person I talked to said the woman had informed me of the wrong dates and that now to rewrite a policy I would have to pay for the whole year in advance. So when Liberty Mutuals employees give you the wrong information they punish you after being a loyal customer for 2 years. Most people can't afford to pay for a whole year of coverage right now.
1
June 16, 2023

Tucky

Paying my Auto Insurance in the rears?

I've been trying to find out HOW I BEGAN MY AUTO INSURANCE WITH Randy Watkins in Florence KY. I began a auto policy in 2021 . I recently found out that I have been paying a rearrange policy . I've found a better rate with a different company other than Liberty Mutual. I have as told by Randy Watkins that I got a better rate on auto insurance due to knowing a Guaranteed Rate sales person Myron Fears.im not sure How that worked. However, I can't f...
I've been trying to find out HOW I BEGAN MY AUTO INSURANCE WITH Randy Watkins in Florence KY. I began a auto policy in 2021 . I recently found out that I have been paying a rearrange policy . I've found a better rate with a different company other than Liberty Mutual. I have as told by Randy Watkins that I got a better rate on auto insurance due to knowing a Guaranteed Rate sales person Myron Fears.im not sure How that worked. However, I can't figure out how I started a policy and now that I'm no longer going to be with Liberty Mutual and I told Randy that I wanted to stop my auto payment. That's when I was told that when I requested to stop that I find that I will owe Liberty Mutual a rearage of $90+! He said I elected the pay date. I'm certain that when. I signed up I paid money up front to start the policy. I've asked him to find the original payment and havent gotten an answer. Who do you know that pays insurance in the rears??
1
May 18, 2023

Zzzzzzz6969

Run away become they will cancel you

After 2 years of having car insurance with this is Company. Liberty Mutual had decided to cancel my insurance with them. Just because an animal had gotten in my way of driving on the highway and unfortunately hit the animal. I don't understand why they had cancel my policy when the accident happened about 2 years ago. I don't recommend liberty Mutual at all for they will cancel you for no good reason and not giving a good reason. I payed my bill ...
After 2 years of having car insurance with this is Company. Liberty Mutual had decided to cancel my insurance with them. Just because an animal had gotten in my way of driving on the highway and unfortunately hit the animal. I don't understand why they had cancel my policy when the accident happened about 2 years ago. I don't recommend liberty Mutual at all for they will cancel you for no good reason and not giving a good reason. I payed my bill on time and my deduction for the accident. I did my share of the game. They don't play nice at all. They play people. Run!
2
April 20, 2023

NG1989

Appraisers short change customers

Beware of malpractice with this company. I had damage from another vehicle and took it to a certified body shop. Liberty mutual appraiser was a total pain to negotiate with. He essentially only approve 25% of the repairs necessary to retain my manufacturer warranty on a brand new vehicle. If you are looking for solid coverage of a nice car, maybe think twice because this insurance will short change you and they don’t care about customers. Appra...
Beware of malpractice with this company. I had damage from another vehicle and took it to a certified body shop. Liberty mutual appraiser was a total pain to negotiate with. He essentially only approve 25% of the repairs necessary to retain my manufacturer warranty on a brand new vehicle. If you are looking for solid coverage of a nice car, maybe think twice because this insurance will short change you and they don’t care about customers. Appraiser I had was unreasonable. I’m filing a complaint with the state.
1
March 28, 2023

M__Atif

Terrible Company when it comes to honor their liability

Terrible company when it comes to honor their liability for other automobilists. Their driver crossed right light, destroyed my vehicle and liberty mutual denied my claim. First, for months they did not respond our emails. Than I called and their agent [REDACTED NAME] Bechard asked me to email her the details of the accident. another two months passed and again, no response from her. I called again and she was like, let me check your email and sa...
Terrible company when it comes to honor their liability for other automobilists. Their driver crossed right light, destroyed my vehicle and liberty mutual denied my claim. First, for months they did not respond our emails. Than I called and their agent [REDACTED NAME] Bechard asked me to email her the details of the accident. another two months passed and again, no response from her. I called again and she was like, let me check your email and said, your claim is denied. She decided in few seconds after checking my email. In fact she never read my emails, just wanted to give me false hope. They could do investigation, they could read my emails, they could go through pictures but hey had already decided to deny my claim. They knew that I do not have a camera in my car or any witness. I am an Uber driver, I lost my car, and my job because of this accident. I had to borrow money from friends to purchase another car and I still owe money. Just because I cannot prove it, does not mean it did not happened. I could not do anything so just writing this review.
1
March 20, 2023

pstringer818_gmail_com

WARNING!

WARNING!!!! FIND ANOTHER INSURANCE COMPANY! Will gladly take your money but after 30+ years when we needed them, it has been a nightmare!!!!
1
March 2, 2023

Mzvlt63

Ridiculous cancelation reason

They sent me a letter stating they could not renew my insurance because I used the roadside assistant to get a tire changed. I had this insurance for 2 years and I never missed a payment or filed an accident claim. I was blindsided by this so I has to scrabble for insurance to cover my new vehicle.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption