Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Plymouth Rock Assurance has strong industry ratings and affordable rates, but it only sells coverage in six states. The company’s average monthly rate for full coverage is $84.

UPDATED: Feb 2, 2024Fact Checked

Justin Wright

Licensed Insurance Agent

Justin Wright has been a licensed insurance broker for over 9 years. After graduating from Southeastern Seminary with a Masters in Philosophy, Justin started his career as a professor, teaching Philosophy and Ethics. Later, Justin obtained both his Property & Casualty license and his Life and Health license and began working for State Farm and Allstate. In 2020, Justin began working as an i...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker

Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Feb 2, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 2, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 2, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Plymouth Rock Assurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$84

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Issues driver policies and statements accurately the first time
  • Handles all claims sensitively and professionally
  • Attempts to complete physical damage appraisals on time
  • Pays for all repairs made by approved providers

Cons

  • Plymouth Rock Assurance is only available in six states
  • It’s app has lower-than-average ratings for insurance companies
  • J.D. Power customer service rating is below industry norms for the region
  • Only provides a small number of widely used discounts

Final Verdict: Review of Plymouth Rock Assurance

Plymouth Rock Assurance, an insurance company that provides Connecticut auto insurance, Massachusetts auto insurance, New Hampshire auto insurance, New Jersey auto insurance, New York auto insurance, and Pennsylvania auto insurance, was established in 1982 by Jim Stone. Since its establishment, its main goal has been to gain clients’ trust by providing various plans, affordable rates, and first-rate customer service.

Plymouth Rock insurance is a Massachusetts mainstay, and the company is one of Boston’s top-rated, largest employers. Plymouth Rock Assurance provides house, renters, and car insurance in the Northeastern United States.

It offers low prices and flexible options for its auto insurance policies, and basic coverage includes door-to-door valet and safety trips. The firm offers pet injury and gap coverage choices as add-on insurance.

[su_box title="Things to Remember" style="default”]
  • Founded in 1982, Plymouth Rock Assurance specializes in home and auto insurance
  • Plymouth Rock insures customers in CT, MA, NH, NJ, NY, and PA
  • Plymouth Rock is a little more expensive than the big national insurance companies, but their boutique service might have some particular coverages that interest you
[/su_box] Plymouth Rock Assurance, an insurance company that provides Connecticut auto insurance, Massachusetts auto insurance, New Hampshire auto insurance, New Jersey auto insurance, New York auto insurance, and Pennsylvania auto insurance, was established in 1982 by Jim Stone. Since its establishment, its main goal has been to gain clients' trust by providing various plans, affordable rates, and first-rate customer service. Plymouth Rock insurance is a Massachusetts mainstay, and the company is one of Boston’s top-rated, largest employers. Plymouth Rock Assurance provides house, renters, and car insurance in the Northeastern United States. It offers low prices and flexible options for its auto insurance policies, and basic coverage includes door-to-door valet and safety trips. The firm offers pet injury and gap coverage choices as add-on insurance.

What You Should Know About Plymouth Rock Assurance

Plymouth Rock has a “Pledge of Assurance” that promises to provide customer satisfaction and makes the following commitments:

  • Issues driver policies and statements accurately the first time
  • Handles all claims sensitively and professionally
  • Attempts to complete physical damage appraisals on time
  • Pays for all repairs made by approved providers

Plymouth Rock offers a three-tiered insurance structure that rewards customers for their loyalty by automatically upgrading them to Assurance Plus after three years. From there, customers may upgrade to Assurance Preferred or Premier, offering additional benefits at a premium price.

Is Plymouth Rock insurance good?

Plymouth Rock provides incentives to make your vehicle insurance even more affordable. However, it only provides a small number of widely used discounts, like bundling, multiple car, good student, and safe driving. Unfortunately, the anti-theft system, pay-in-full, paperless, defensive driving, or airbag discounts are not available at Plymouth Rock.

However, Plymouth Rock makes up for this by providing exceptionally exclusive deals. An occupational discount is available to teachers and education support workers, who may also take advantage of special perks.

If you’ve had Plymouth Rock insurance for more than two years and have a licensed driver under 19 on your policy, you may also be eligible for a shared family car discount.

Plymouth Rock Insurance Reviews and Ratings

Plymouth Rock’s insurance rating from A.M. Best, a company that provides financial reporting, is an A- for financial strength. This rating demonstrates the company’s outstanding capacity to settle claims, especially during periods of high claims in a challenging economic environment.

Plymouth Rock Assurance can boast a lower-than-average complaint level with the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) at 0.87. The median score is 1.00.

On a scale of 1 to 1,000, Plymouth Rock Assurance’s J.D. Power total customer satisfaction rating among New England’s car insurers was 808 and 827 for the Mid-Atlantic region, both lower than the national average.

Though not officially accredited by the BBB, Plymouth Rock has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) in Boston and B- in New Jersey and responds to many of its customers’ complaints through the BBB website.

Plymouth Rock Assurance Insurance Coverage Options

Plymouth Rock offers liability insurance and comprehensive and collision insurance coverage, just like other auto insurance providers. In addition, roadside assistance, rental car and/or trip reimbursement, accident forgiveness, and new car replacement are four of seven typical add-on coverages that Plymouth Rock offers. However, it does not provide better automobile replacement, deductible modification, or GAP insurance.

You can select special coverages from Plymouth Rock, such as original equipment manufacturer (OEM) and glass deductible modification. Auto shops will replace certain car parts with OEM components if you have OEM coverage.

Your comprehensive deductible won’t apply while fixing glass damage if you have glass deductible modification coverage; this is an excellent option for drivers who live in places with frequent weather dangers like hail or strong winds.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Plymouth Rock Assurance Insurance Rates Breakdown

According to the information given by Quadrant Information Services, the average yearly premium for Plymouth Rock plans in 2022 is $1,010 for full coverage and $297 for minimum coverage. These prices are considerably less than the national average for auto insurance, which is $545 for little coverage and $1,771 for full coverage each year.

Here’s how Plymouth Rock Assurance compares to its competitors:

Full Coverage Average Auto Insurance Rates by Company
Insurance CompanyU.S. Monthly Average Rates
Allstate$407
American Family$107
Farmers$212
Geico$268
Liberty Mutual$427
Nationwide$242
Progressive$317
State Farm$272
Travelers$181
USAA$199

The price of Plymouth Rock’s vehicle insurance isn’t always listed online. Still, you may request a Plymouth Rock auto insurance quote directly on the company’s website or by calling an agent at (877) 749-7722.

Plymouth Rock Assurance Discounts Available

Plymouth Rock Assurance offers discounts to customers that aren’t readily available elsewhere. Some examples include:

  • Driver training. Complete an approved driver safety training course for a discount.
  • Advanced shopper. Proactively obtain a new Plymouth Rock car insurance quote seven days before your existing policy’s expiration/renewal and receive a discount.
  • Away at school. Provides a discount for a driver on your auto policy who is away at school.

Plymouth Rock also offers a list of repair shops on its website to help its drivers avoid lofty mechanic bills.

How Plymouth Rock Assurance Ranks Among Providers

The company is financially stable with an “A-” rating. However, going on price alone, Plymouth Rock Assurance may be quite a bit more expensive than most of its competitors, depending on your driving history and level of policy customization.

While it offers specialized coverage plans, it does not offer all the supplemental coverages that other major insurance companies do.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance?

Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance is a leading insurance provider that offers coverage for personal vehicles. They provide a range of auto insurance products designed to protect you and your vehicle in case of accidents, theft, or other damages.

What types of auto insurance coverage does Plymouth Rock offer?

Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance offers various types of coverage, including liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, personal injury protection (PIP), uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, rental car coverage, and roadside assistance.

How can I obtain a quote for Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance?

You can obtain a quote for Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance by visiting their website or contacting their customer service. They typically require information such as your personal details, vehicle information, driving history, and coverage preferences to provide an accurate quote.

What factors can affect my auto insurance premium with Plymouth Rock?

Several factors can affect your auto insurance premium with Plymouth Rock, including your age, driving record, location, type of vehicle, coverage limits, deductible amount, and additional features you choose, such as roadside assistance or rental car coverage.

Can I customize my Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance policy?

Yes, Plymouth Rock allows policy customization to a certain extent. You can choose coverage options and limits that suit your needs. Additionally, they offer optional add-ons like rental car coverage and roadside assistance, allowing you to tailor your policy according to your preferences.

Does Plymouth Rock offer discounts on auto insurance policies?

Yes, Plymouth Rock provides various discounts to help you save on your auto insurance. Common discounts include safe driver discounts, multi-policy discounts, multi-car discounts, good student discounts, and discounts for certain safety features on your vehicle.

How can I file an auto insurance claim with Plymouth Rock?

To file an auto insurance claim with Plymouth Rock, you can contact their claims department by phone or through their website. They will guide you through the process and require information such as details of the incident, police reports (if applicable), and any relevant documentation.

How quickly does Plymouth Rock process auto insurance claims?

Plymouth Rock strives to process auto insurance claims as efficiently as possible. The exact processing time can vary depending on the complexity of the claim, the availability of necessary information, and other factors. It is best to contact their claims department for specific information regarding your claim.

Does Plymouth Rock offer any additional benefits or services?

Yes, Plymouth Rock provides additional benefits and services to policyholders. These may include online account management, 24/7 customer service, access to repair shops in their network, and the potential for accident forgiveness, which can protect your premium from increasing after your first at-fault accident.

Where is Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance available?

Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance is available in select states across the United States. The specific states where coverage is offered may vary, so it is advisable to check their website or contact their customer service to determine if they operate in your area.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Justin Wright

Licensed Insurance Agent

Justin Wright has been a licensed insurance broker for over 9 years. After graduating from Southeastern Seminary with a Masters in Philosophy, Justin started his career as a professor, teaching Philosophy and Ethics. Later, Justin obtained both his Property & Casualty license and his Life and Health license and began working for State Farm and Allstate. In 2020, Justin began working as an i...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker

Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Plymouth Rock Assurance

4.00 (241 reviews)
1
August 23, 2023

marissa_p

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

The absolute worst customer service I have experienced. They were not knowledgeable and I was on hold for 30 minutes and they didn't even answer my question that I called for. I had [REDACTED NAME] as my underwriter and she was really rude and inconsiderate. Cancelling right away.
1
July 10, 2023

Flovinny

Horrible experience so far

First time I've put in a claim in many years. Hit and run in front of my house while I'm sleeping. Back end damaged in drivers side. Waited 2 weeks to get estimate from their body shop. No one called me, then state car is totaled..10,181 damage on 16k plus book value. Repair shop said its totally fixable. Adjuster fur total loss was unsympathetic, not empathetic and rather cut and dry. I am extremely unhappy at this point. Only owned the ca...
First time I've put in a claim in many years. Hit and run in front of my house while I'm sleeping. Back end damaged in drivers side. Waited 2 weeks to get estimate from their body shop. No one called me, then state car is totaled..10,181 damage on 16k plus book value. Repair shop said its totally fixable. Adjuster fur total loss was unsympathetic, not empathetic and rather cut and dry. I am extremely unhappy at this point. Only owned the car 2 years.
1
May 30, 2023

Joey_ZAZA_123

Plymouth Rock Rip Off Insured,

This is one of the worst insurance companies I have ever delt with, we have a 2023 Marcedes in our shop the adjuster Kurt Grania was so incompetent he used a 2020 Marcedes to write the estimate, because he was to lazy to go to the dealer to get the right parts prices, to make matters worse he put in his own labor times, and when we told him, him and his supervisor would not even fix their mistakes, basically ripping off the insured who has a 140...
This is one of the worst insurance companies I have ever delt with, we have a 2023 Marcedes in our shop the adjuster Kurt Grania was so incompetent he used a 2020 Marcedes to write the estimate, because he was to lazy to go to the dealer to get the right parts prices, to make matters worse he put in his own labor times, and when we told him, him and his supervisor would not even fix their mistakes, basically ripping off the insured who has a 140,000 dollar car, please don't use them you will be sorry. horrible insurance company, him and his supervisor should be fired,
2
July 5, 2022

Dissatisfied_customer

Where's the consideration of hardship for your loyal custome

So I've been with Plymouth Rock for a little under 2 years last month was the first time I was late on a payment so they tell me I have to pay last month and this month which wasn't until July 4th had to be paid but I'm assuming since I'm only a month behind I really only had to pay that month to cancel out the cancellation no they cancel my policy anyway I said well how many times was I late with my payments they said only one and that's the las...
So I've been with Plymouth Rock for a little under 2 years last month was the first time I was late on a payment so they tell me I have to pay last month and this month which wasn't until July 4th had to be paid but I'm assuming since I'm only a month behind I really only had to pay that month to cancel out the cancellation no they cancel my policy anyway I said well how many times was I late with my payments they said only one and that's the last Miss payment which was in June that I technically paid on the second of this month assuming that I would have had the 416 in full I didn't I called them today because they're finally open after the holiday and my plan didn't go through as expected she couldn't instate my policy because I don't reach the quality meet the qualifications I asked what are the qualifications I have to have the policy for 3 years and I'm just shy of 2 years so you guys have so much lack of consideration for your customers this is my last payment July is my last month payment and I have to cancel the policy pay the 178 for July that I haven't even used cuz I'm not covered for July you close me out for July and I have to put a deposit on a whole new policy they definitely don't have any compassion for their customers I definitely would not recommend because I didn't call to prepare for something that I didn't expect I basically have to spend more money like gas prices aren't High enough and this is my last month you can't honor me for one last month I don't recommend
1
November 4, 2021

rjjuarez

Worst Company Around!

This company is HORRIBLE and I do not recommend anyone using them. They LIE to you, they take Money out of your Account even after you replace them. You cause your Bank to Charge you Fee's do to them trying to take money out even after being replaced. I spoke to an Customer Service Rep ( [REDACTED NAME]) in depth about my Account and even emailed him the New Policy with the New Insurance company. I was told I would get a Check Refund from the...
This company is HORRIBLE and I do not recommend anyone using them. They LIE to you, they take Money out of your Account even after you replace them. You cause your Bank to Charge you Fee's do to them trying to take money out even after being replaced. I spoke to an Customer Service Rep ( [REDACTED NAME]) in depth about my Account and even emailed him the New Policy with the New Insurance company. I was told I would get a Check Refund from them as well as my Bank fee's It was a LIE! Do not use this Plymouth Rock
1
October 20, 2021

D24

Worst insurance company ever

Worst insurance company ever. They don’t care about they customers. Extremely money hungry! Uneducated workers
1
September 9, 2021

HumanKind

Racial profiling is alive and well at Plymouthrock.

May 7th, ,2021 a Uhaul truck hit my vehicle. The truck hit my vehicle , I called Uhaul, Mohawk Insueance, Plymouthrock. Plymouthrock’s Racially profile me , putting in a letter saying the damage sustained to my vehicle was review by a licensed automobile damage appraiser and from his PROFESSIONAL OPINION the damage sustained to my vehicle was not caused by another vehicle .As a result it was assigned for further investigation. On may13 accordi...
May 7th, ,2021 a Uhaul truck hit my vehicle. The truck hit my vehicle , I called Uhaul, Mohawk Insueance, Plymouthrock. Plymouthrock’s Racially profile me , putting in a letter saying the damage sustained to my vehicle was review by a licensed automobile damage appraiser and from his PROFESSIONAL OPINION the damage sustained to my vehicle was not caused by another vehicle .As a result it was assigned for further investigation. On may13 according to [REDACTED NAME] .The Investigator [REDACTED NAME] Stated” I conducted a statement with you over the phone. During the statement ,you stated the damages to the left rear corner and taillight was from your vehicle being struck by a Uhaul truck. You denied you struck any object with your vehicle”. This is racial profiling… Plymouth Rock can make an decision based on an EXPERT OPINION ??? What !!!so I pay for insurance , I have option one… I state a fact… a Uhaul hits me …WHY AM I CONSIDERED A LIAR? WOW .If you purchase insurance from this company…. They want you to be afraid to use it.. They can lie and get away with it! They Canceled my insurance after I made my last payment. Plymouthrock took my money but did not service my car …and I am a liar. They need to be challenged!!! I don’t have to lie about an accident. Their opinion holds more weight than the facts .is Plymouthrock I get it!! Its your word against mine !!! All my life I have had to advocate for my rights !!! That’s okay … you can’t do people wrong and get away with it!!! I oftener wondered what did [REDACTED NAME] Till do to warrant such a death!!! The memory of how he died and the weapon used ( a lie) that caused his death is still alive. A lie told by someone who is entitled.
3
May 24, 2021

Jeffmon

Save at first then watch out

We signed on with plymouth rock a few years ago after using Gabi and saving some money. However, they continue to jack up rates every renewal period and I doubt if we have saved anything at this point with the higher cost. Will be shopping again immediately
5
January 16, 2021

Chloe01913

Plymouth Rock

We love our auto insurance with Plymouth Rock. They are affordable and have great customer service.
3
January 11, 2021

lexbussiere

car insuranxe

good customer service but my bill never goes down always up even with out speeding tickets or any car accidents
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption