Wawanesa Auto Insurance Review 2022

Wawanesa auto insurance is cheap for many good drivers, but the company has received a lot of customer complaints.

UPDATED: Nov 9, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Nov 9, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Nov 9, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 9, 2022Fact Checked
3.8
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Wawanesa Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$1,599

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Cheaper rates for drivers with a good driving record
  • Transparency concerning traffic violations that will hinder people from receiving coverage

Cons

  • Limited coverage availability
  • A significant number of customer complaints

The Bottom Line

Wawanesa offers competitive car insurance rates to good drivers in California and Oregon. So if you have a clean record and are looking for cheap coverage, Wawanesa may be an excellent fit for you. 

Unfortunately, if you live outside of California or Oregon, or if you have violations on your driving record, you will need to look elsewhere for car insurance coverage.

If you’re searching for the best car insurance companies in California or Oregon, you may want to consider Wawanesa auto insurance. Wawanesa offers competitive car insurance rates to people with good driving records.

Unfortunately, Wawanesa coverage is only available in California and Oregon. If you live elsewhere, you’ll have to purchase auto insurance with another provider. Additionally, Wawanesa has received a significant number of customer complaints over the past few years.

Is Wawanesa Insurance a Good Choice?

Wawanesa has an A (Excellent) financial strength rating with A.M. Best. The company also has an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau. 

Unfortunately, Wawanesa auto insurance reviews from customers cite issues with customer service and the overall claims process. According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), Wawanesa received more than the expected number of complaints from customers over the past three years.

If you’re considering purchasing a policy with Wawanesa, you may want to read customer reviews online to learn more about what past and present customers think of the company.

Wawanesa Insurance Rates

The average cost of a full coverage policy with Wawanesa is $1,599 annually, which is lower than the national average of $1,674 annually.

Liability-only coverage with Wawanesa costs around $652 annually, which is nearly $100 more than the national average.

You can get a Wawanesa car insurance quote online or over the phone to better understand how much you would pay for coverage. Your driving record and other factors will impact your insurance premiums.

How does your driving record affect your rates?

As you might have expected, speeding tickets will increase your insurance rates.

Drivers may see an even larger rate increase after a car accident. See how the top insurance companies raise rates after an accident.

Drivers will see the largest increase in rates if they receive a DUI while driving under the influence. We’ve put together a list of companies that offer DUI insurance and what each charge.

You can get an idea of how much that will be by looking at the table below.

You can see why it pays to keep a clean driving record.

How does your age and credit score affect your car insurance rates?

Your age plays a significant factor in how much you pay for car insurance. A teenage driver is going to see higher rates because they’re new to the road and have very little experience.

The table below will give you an idea of what teenage drivers can expect to pay.

You will see your rates begin to decrease when you turn 25 as long as you keep a clean driving record.

Once drivers turn 65 years old and are determined to be seniors, they can expect the rates to increase again.

Your credit score can also impart your car insurance rates. Not all insurance companies look at credit scores but the ones that do see drivers with poor credit to be high risk. Take a look at how your rates fluctuate depending on your credit score.

With so many factors influencing your insurance rates, it is always recommended that you get at least three quotes from three different insurance companies before making your decision.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Wawanesa Insurance Discounts Available

California drivers can apply for the following six auto insurance discounts with Wawanesa:

  • Good driver
  • Multi-car
  • Loyalty
  • Multi-policy
  • Mature driver course
  • Affinity groups

If you live in Oregon, Wawanesa offers even more discounts:

  • Driver training
  • Insurance score
  • Mature driver course
  • Multi-car
  • Vehicle recovery system
  • Automatic payments
  • Loyalty
  • Military
  • Multi-policy
  • Continuous insurance

Discounts can help you save a significant amount on your car insurance coverage. If you believe you may qualify for one or more discounts in your state, check with a Wawanesa representative to see how much you could save. 

Wawanesa Insurance Coverage Options

Wawanesa offers the following coverage options to its policyholders:

  • Bodily injury liability
  • Property damage liability
  • Comprehensive coverage
  • Collision coverage
  • Personal injury protection (Oregon only)
  • Medical payments (California only)
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury
  • Uninsured motorist property damage
  • Uninsured motorist collision waiver (California only)
  • Underinsured motorist bodily injury (California only)
  • Vehicle manufacturer replacement parts
  • Special vehicle equipment coverage
  • Roadside assistance
  • Car rental coverage

You can purchase a full coverage policy with Wawanesa, including collision and comprehensive coverages. Additionally, the company offers add-on options, such as roadside assistance and special equipment coverage, to help you customize your policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I get a car insurance quote from Wawanesa?

Wawanesa offers quotes over the phone or via the company website.

Where does Wawanesa offer coverage?

Wawanesa only sells insurance products in California and Oregon.

How can I file a claim with Wawanesa?

You can submit a claim with Wawanesa over the phone or on the company website.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Wawanesa Insurance

3.83 (167 reviews)
5
November 11, 2022

Hector_

Car insurance

I’m with Wawanesa Insurance for long good time, im really impressed how responsable to handle the claims is really hard now to find a really good insurance company to be in the costumer side but Wawanesa stay with the costumer’s all the time. Costumer’s service’s they are amazing really professional in always with the best attitude to provide the best for costumer’s thank you so much Wawanesa for ur best quality services I’m really ha...
I’m with Wawanesa Insurance for long good time, im really impressed how responsable to handle the claims is really hard now to find a really good insurance company to be in the costumer side but Wawanesa stay with the costumer’s all the time. Costumer’s service’s they are amazing really professional in always with the best attitude to provide the best for costumer’s thank you so much Wawanesa for ur best quality services I’m really happy costumer’s in never crossed my mind to switch insurance company I have what a customer deserved
1
June 25, 2022

tribaldiana

not good anymore

i dont understand people saying they will work with you? they dont work with anyone. its their way or the high way. they do not reward you for loyalty like they say they do. my insurance went up, not down. they wont take monthly installments now and they expect you to pay for the policy in full and in cash. no credit cards. they said if you dont like it you can go to another insurance company. thats their solution?they dont trust you over the ph...
i dont understand people saying they will work with you? they dont work with anyone. its their way or the high way. they do not reward you for loyalty like they say they do. my insurance went up, not down. they wont take monthly installments now and they expect you to pay for the policy in full and in cash. no credit cards. they said if you dont like it you can go to another insurance company. thats their solution?they dont trust you over the phone,as they want to verify you and over verify you and even during looking at the policy they want you to give them a pin? they wont give you any information on the policy now without it even after i was verified in the beginning? they hire inexperienced unhelpful people. they inflame the customers and no professionalism.they do not make you feel valued or wanted as a customer. im sure if i ever needed them for a claim they would drive me to madness. and would not help me at all. dont try to get homeowners insurance from them. they want people that will never have a claim? they will over scrutinize you till your worn down and out. they are so not for customers at all over there. its all about them. backwards thinking. they were better when i first signed up, thats why i did the policy with them. now they are not. downhill. nasty agents, poor service, poor policies. inflexible company.shameful.selfish.
5
June 23, 2021

Sinloki

Competitive pricing and easy to work with.

They allow me to have more cars than drivers and are very responsive when you need them. Had a Glass claim on my truck that was very painless and straightforward, with the only issue of not being able to get the part for 2 weeks, and it wasn't even their fault, it was due to covid related shortages. As long as things stay like this, i will be customer for the long haul.
5
April 29, 2020

tiffany1rose

Highly Recommend

Amazing customer service and excellent rates. Automatically lowered my payments during COVID-19. I have been with them for 10 years and have only had positive experiences.
1
March 5, 2020

ljbarrett

Terrible car insurance

I was in a fender bender in a supermarket parking lot. I was completely stopped in an isle waiting for some shoppers with a cart to cross the isle. Another car backed into me trying to leave her spot. Her bumper hit the driver side of my car. My insurance DID NOT fight for me at all. Somehow I was held liable for the damage to my vehicle. They wanted to make money off of my deductible (which was higher than the damages) when the other person's in...
I was in a fender bender in a supermarket parking lot. I was completely stopped in an isle waiting for some shoppers with a cart to cross the isle. Another car backed into me trying to leave her spot. Her bumper hit the driver side of my car. My insurance DID NOT fight for me at all. Somehow I was held liable for the damage to my vehicle. They wanted to make money off of my deductible (which was higher than the damages) when the other person's insurance should have covered 100%.
4
December 12, 2019

HeyYouOverThere

Buget Insurance

Generally a good company. They provide auto insurance at a lower rate then most competitors especially for large groups on a single plan.
5
November 21, 2019

junrboy

Low rates, High quality service

I have always had a good experience with Wawanesa Insurance. Compared to other companies I pay lower rates but still get quality service when I need it. I've had to contact them after being in a couple of accidents and they were very good at keeping me informed on dealing with the other parties insurance and eventually getting me a settlement. I would not hesitate to recommend them to others if you want to pay low rates and get quality service...
I have always had a good experience with Wawanesa Insurance. Compared to other companies I pay lower rates but still get quality service when I need it. I've had to contact them after being in a couple of accidents and they were very good at keeping me informed on dealing with the other parties insurance and eventually getting me a settlement. I would not hesitate to recommend them to others if you want to pay low rates and get quality service.
4
August 18, 2019

Bonovoxsm

They were able to help me get up and running fast!

Good customer service and fast claim resolution. I was in two minor accidents and they helped me know what to do next to keep functioning.
3
July 31, 2019

SparMcGee

Low price

Low price and you get what you paid for. They don't really fight for you. It's just inexpensive car insurance for me.
1
July 30, 2019

Ash25

Terrible and Cheap Auto Insurance

This company’s website to add a new car is hectic and confusing, their options are not clear and specific. Plus, their policy is outdated and even slow. The customer service is terrible, it is similar to going to a DMV.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption