American National Auto Insurance Review (2022)

American National auto insurance has been selling personal lines of insurance since 1973. They have a financial rating of A (Excellent) from A.M. Best.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Jun 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 1949 E. Sunshine
City: Springfield
State: MO
ZIP Code: 65899-0001
Phone Number: 1-800-333-2860
Year Founded: 1973
AM Best Rating: A

Things to Remember...

  • This is a company that sells casualty and property insurance and is based out of Springfield, Missouri
  • It sells auto insurance, boat, umbrella, motorcycle, recreational vehicles, agri-business, and other personal lines insurance
  • A. M. Best has given them an “A” rating and Standard & Poor’s has given them an A

This American National Auto Insurance Review will discuss the company American National Property and Casualty Company or ANPAC.

This is a company that sells casualty and property insurance and is based out of Springfield, Missouri.

More: NerdWallet Auto Insurance Review (2022 Guide)

American National has been around since 1973. It sells auto insurance as well as homeowners, boat, umbrella, motorcycle, recreational vehicles, agri- business, and other personal lines insurance.

American National has a toll-free number for claims services that is available 24 hours.

If you would like to get a rate quote now, just enter your ZIP code below and you can compare auto insurance quotes for a variety of companies!

American National Auto Insurance and Awards

More: GM Auto Insurance Review (2022)

American National has received the MQA, or the Missouri Quality Award, and it is the only company that sells insurance that has received it.

This award program is focused on helping organizations and businesses reach excellence in customer service and use organizational performance management.

American National has been named by the Springfield Business Journal for being a Choice Employer for the last three years.

More: Costco Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Topics that are rated include People Development, Incentives, Corporate Culture, and Family Friendly.

Also for the past three years, American National has been recognized by the American Heart Association for being a Fit-Friendly company.

The company has been commended for going over and above when it comes to the health of their employees.

More: Root Auto Insurance Review 2022

The American Heart Association gave them recognition at the Gold-level, which means that their employees are offered a wellness culture, healthy eating options, and physical activity support at work.

American National also has had consistent excellent ratings in terms of financial stability. A. M. Best has given them an “A” rating and Standard & Poor’s has given them an A+.

 

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American National Auto Insurance and Careers

More: GEICO Defensive Driving Course

If you are looking for a career in the insurance field, American National has a couple of options available.

One is a career as an agent and one is a home office career. As an agent, you work by yourself with the support of American National.

The agents for American National are exclusive and multi-line, which means that they are able to offer clients with all of the financial and insurance products of American National.

More: The Best Car Insurance Apps

The agents with American National are paid on commission, so the earning potential is unlimited.

For those just starting their business, American National offers temporary financing options to help their income become stable.

There are also awards and bonuses available from American National and the top achievers are rewarded.

More: GEICO DriveEasy Review (2022)

American National provides support to agents in a variety of ways.

They help agents find a network of people by encouraging them to look at hobbies and interests, and then they help build a marketing strategy aimed at your networking niche.

More: Does GEICO offer GAP insurance?

Coaching, marketing specialists, and training are provided.

All new agents also have a mentor who guides them through the challenging process of becoming an agent for American National.

For those who do not want to be an agent but want to work for American National, there are other jobs available through the insurance company.

More: Metromile Auto Insurance Review

Some of the benefits of becoming part of the American National team are:

  • Educational opportunities including tuition reimbursement
  • A comprehensive benefits package
  • Active community involvement
  • 37.5 hour work weeks
  • Business casual attire
  • A wellness and health program that includes a wellness coach on site

How do I get a quote from American National?

If you are interested in getting a rate quote from American National, the best way to do so would be to speak with an American National agent in your local area.

If you do not know of one, there is an online tool that will help you find an agent near you.

Once you find an agent, an email or call will get you started.

An agent can help you choose the deductible that is right for you as well as find the coverage limits that best suit your needs.

An agent will also advise you on any discounts you may receive.

If you would like to receive an online quote for this and other companies right now, just enter your ZIP code below and you will be able to compare auto insurance quotes immediately.

Reviews
for American National Insurance Company

3.71 (186 reviews)
1
June 5, 2021

Mark

American National review

American National: They led me in on how they were going to save me money, lower cost, but then changed the cost of my insurance premium four times with out my knowledge. At the end of six months I owed more than I sighed up for. TRIED to contact [REDACTED NAME] in St George, Utah, but he made his secretary tell me to contact billing. Which I did. They helped me identify the changes in my auto policy. The original agent who sold me the policy, Ni...
American National: They led me in on how they were going to save me money, lower cost, but then changed the cost of my insurance premium four times with out my knowledge. At the end of six months I owed more than I sighed up for. TRIED to contact [REDACTED NAME] in St George, Utah, but he made his secretary tell me to contact billing. Which I did. They helped me identify the changes in my auto policy. The original agent who sold me the policy, Niels Farnsworth is no longer with the company. They don't care. I have tried to dispute the policy changes, only to be sent to Tiffin Teagarden in collections. Now I'm being hounded by American National collection agency. Sounds like National's American way.
5
October 13, 2020

Guitar1234

American National better then the toehrs

This company has been a stellar insurance issuer. They are not well known, however they are able to get me great rates, and excellent service. I had a claim for a new roof after a bad hail storm, they were great to work with and the claim was approved and settled within a week or two.
4
October 11, 2020

SweetT

Worth it.

Very easy payment system and fair enough pricing. The only problem is the lake of staff to follow up on phone calls.
1
April 14, 2020

rftichavsky

Cashback Policy Scam

The Cashback policy, which returns some of the premium if you do not have a claim for 3 years is a scam. The first year the rates are competitive . The following years the rate increases each year. By the 3rd year your rates double the rates of other insurance companies. So now if you have a claim the insurance company keeps the extra money. In the best case without any claims, the company will always have two years of additional premiums...
The Cashback policy, which returns some of the premium if you do not have a claim for 3 years is a scam. The first year the rates are competitive . The following years the rate increases each year. By the 3rd year your rates double the rates of other insurance companies. So now if you have a claim the insurance company keeps the extra money. In the best case without any claims, the company will always have two years of additional premiums.
3
March 22, 2020

bobjohnson-

The good and the bad of American National

The company was very great, but the customer service was a bad. This was an issue because I could not figure anything out.
1
February 19, 2020

Zarnon

ANPAC dropped me after one accident in 3 decades of coverage

I was a customer of this company from 1999. I have always paid my premiums. I had a terrible accident which was judged my fault, although I had on tape another person who'd blocked my line of sight by trying to pass me in the wrong lane. Because he was not part of the accident (and drove off) I was judged at fault. My license expired a few months later and I did not catch it until a month later. I renewed it at the DMV. I was never stopped ...
I was a customer of this company from 1999. I have always paid my premiums. I had a terrible accident which was judged my fault, although I had on tape another person who'd blocked my line of sight by trying to pass me in the wrong lane. Because he was not part of the accident (and drove off) I was judged at fault. My license expired a few months later and I did not catch it until a month later. I renewed it at the DMV. I was never stopped or had an issue during the month it was expired. ANPAC dropped me after over 27 years of coverage for an expired license and would not renew over it. It's obvious they just didn't want me as a customer anymore. Total slap in the face after decades of paying premiums to this company and now must find a new policy after this accident.
1
February 12, 2020

AlexysCG

Shady Policy Agent

Just got on an auto insurance policy and was somehow added onto a renters policy about a month ago and I’m already canceling the policies. Weird “glitches” in the system and What was imitating a 6 month plan of $257 quickly went up to a $318 4 month plan because they couldn’t draft the payment for the first month in time. When trying to get this figured out through my agent, [REDACTED NAME] he sent me to the number to the home office. Af...
Just got on an auto insurance policy and was somehow added onto a renters policy about a month ago and I’m already canceling the policies. Weird “glitches” in the system and What was imitating a 6 month plan of $257 quickly went up to a $318 4 month plan because they couldn’t draft the payment for the first month in time. When trying to get this figured out through my agent, [REDACTED NAME] he sent me to the number to the home office. After they clearly said they could do NOTHING for me and I HAD to go through my agent. I gave my agent a call and he told me he could do nothing and I had to call the home office again and when I tried to explain how they told me I had to call him, he HUNG UP on me and my girlfriend in the middle of us trying to explain the situation. When I tried to call P.H. Agent back, no response. I quickly called the home office back and told them of the situation with my agent and fought with the girl who told me she could do nothing for me and I was [REDACTED WORD] out of luck and to talk to my agent (the one who won’t answer my phone calls), she then told me I could talk to management, even though I should have been sent straight to management after I told her that [REDACTED NAME] hung up on me and wouldn’t answer his phone. Management was very nice and helpful and is helping me cancel my plan (which is usually only supposed to go through your Agent but my Agent [REDACTED NAME] refused to cancel my plan, so management agreed to fill in his spot which I’m very grateful for!) This was my first time dealing with insurance and the biggest lessons I’ve learned is: BE VERY CAREFUL of what company you choose most just want money, READ THE BAD REVIEWS because they usually give you more information than just “great costumer service.... friendly agents.... blah blah blah” and are most likely how the company really is, and READ EVERYTHING before agreeing to anything because your broker WILL NOT give you all the information and will most likely not explain everything and leave everything you actually need to know, out.
5
January 30, 2020

Emmawest

Wonderful Auto Insurance Co

The company always had respectful representatives available to address my questions and concerns. Also, offering an affordable coverage plan for me and my husband.
5
January 29, 2020

FLister

Cash Back and Easy Claim Filing

ANPAC is a great company. We love the cash back policies when you are claim free. We did have one claim for storm damage and they were very responsive and helpful to deal with. The process was simple and we had our check for repairs within days. Our agent is top notch and his assistants are great as well.
1
January 7, 2020

Browns33

Worst insurance when it comes to processing automobile claim

I have had the worst experience with the claims department that I've ever dealt with out of an insurance company that I've had to make two automobile claims. With my first car, a deer ran into the side of me. the insurance company told me I could not use my preferred body shop which was a lie. they basically tried to steer me away because they didn't want to pay the extra money for the proper and new parts that my car needed to be pre-accident co...
I have had the worst experience with the claims department that I've ever dealt with out of an insurance company that I've had to make two automobile claims. With my first car, a deer ran into the side of me. the insurance company told me I could not use my preferred body shop which was a lie. they basically tried to steer me away because they didn't want to pay the extra money for the proper and new parts that my car needed to be pre-accident condition. They use an image system so I submitted pictures and from those they create an estimate. I dropped my car off at my preferred body shop and their estimate was clearly more because pics can't show all the damage and they price new and proper parts. Plus they work with other experts to complete the paint, glass installation etc. So instead of approving the supplement, they decided to total that car. From the moment they informed me they were totalling it I had three days to turn the rental in. Well , my GAP insurance claim took weeks to process so we paid out of pocket for a rental until I was able to settle that car loan and get a new car. Fast forward to this claim, I literally had my brand new car for two months when I was rear-ended and sideswiped on the highway. We were not able to obtain the at fault driver's information on scene (he was drinking and driving) and was told to wait for the accident report. Once received, I reached out to his insurance and they couldn't locate his policy. At the point, I contacted my insurance to file a claim and was advised to wait and see if his insurance contacted me. After ten days, I filed a claim with my insurance and opened an investigation for them to try and locate if he actually had insurance or not. My insurance wasn't able to contact his insurance directly so I reached back out to them with information my insurance found out which was that there were two other people listed on his policy. They located him and he had started a claim the day after the accident but didn't have my information so no one from insurance contacted me. They stated they accepted 100% liability but since my car was already in the shop tore down and my insurance issued payment for the amount they estimated (again from pictures) my insurance would complete the claim and file segregation with his insurance to get their money back. My insurance, American National denied the supplement from my body shop because it was 4,000 more than their estimate. They communicated with my body shop and wanted explanations for all sorts of things making the body shop justify the money which I understand. However, they wanted justification for the paint job and little things that go into any type of repair. Then they were still not satisfied so they sent out an appraiser who took a week to get to the shop and file a report then the report was incomplete, so she was suppose to go back to the body shop on a Saturday but didn't show up until the following Monday. My insurance decides to send another appraiser so my car literally sat disassembled in the shop for two weeks while I'm in a rental and expressing my concern that the rental car coverage is going to run out and I'll have to pay out of pocket which is what happened. They created all the delays and the headache over an automobile claim that I was not at fault in and they're going to get their money back I'd hate to experienced a claim where I was at fault.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption