Amica Auto Insurance Review (2024)

With compelling Amica auto insurance reviews from policyholders and an assortment of coverage options, Amica Mutual Insurance Company is an excellent choice for car insurance coverage. Affordable Amica auto insurance rates average $177/mo, and drivers can earn loyalty discounts for even lower rates.

UPDATED: Feb 15, 2024Fact Checked

D. Gilson, PhD

Professor & Published Author

D. Gilson is a writer and author of essays, poetry, and scholarship that explore the relationship between popular culture, literature, sexuality, and memoir. His latest book is Jesus Freak, with Will Stockton, part of Bloomsbury’s 33 1/3 Series. His other books include I Will Say This Exactly One Time and Crush. His first chapbook, Catch & Release, won the 2012 Robin Becker Prize from S...

Professor & Published Author

Jimmy McMillan

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jimmy McMillan is an entrepreneur and the founder of HeartLifeInsurance.com, an independent insurance brokerage. His company specializes in insurance for people with heart problems. He knows personally how difficult it is to secure health and life insurance after a heart attack. Jimmy is a licensed insurance agent from coast to coast who has been featured on ValientCEO and the podcast Modern Li...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Feb 15, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 15, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 15, 2024Fact Checked
4.2
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Amica Mutual Insurance Company

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$177

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Higher-than-average customer satisfaction
  • Discounts on coverage
  • Add-ons such as full glass coverage and roadside assistance
  • Amica’s healthy financial strength and a positive outlook on future endeavors

Cons

  • Not all coverages are available in Alaska or Hawaii
  • Higher-than-average rates compared to competitors

Final Verdict: Review of Amica Mutual Insurance Company

If you’re shopping for car insurance, you’re probably interested in finding the best auto insurance companies in your area. Amica Mutual Insurance offers auto, home, and life insurance coverage throughout the U.S. The company offers competitive rates for car insurance and has a higher-than-average rating regarding customer satisfaction. 

Amica offers standard auto insurance coverage options and add-ons like roadside assistance and full glass repair. However, not all coverage options are available in every state. Keep reading this Amica auto insurance review before you start comparing insurance quotes to ensure you find the best company for your needs.

[su_box title="Things to Remember" style="default”]
  • Amica offers a variety of coverage options so you can customize your policy based on your needs
  • Amica’s auto insurance rates tend to be higher than some of the competition, but there are discounts available to bring down the price
  • Policyholders rate Amica customer service very highly
[/su_box] If you’re shopping for car insurance, you’re probably interested in finding the best auto insurance companies in your area. While you’re likely familiar with companies like State Farm and Geico, you may find the best coverage and price with a different provider. Amica Mutual Insurance offers auto, home, and life insurance coverage throughout the U.S. The company offers competitive rates for car insurance and has a higher-than-average rating regarding customer satisfaction. Amica offers standard auto insurance coverage options and add-ons like roadside assistance and full glass repair. However, not all coverage options are available in every state. Keep reading to learn more about Amica auto insurance before you start comparing insurance quotes from elsewhere.

What You Should Know About Amica Mutual Insurance Company

Amica Insurance ratings and customer reviews are encouraging for anyone considering purchasing a policy with the company. Amica garners an A+ (Superior) financial strength rating and a stable future outlook with AM Best. Additionally, Amica has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB).

In addition to the company’s professional ratings, Amica auto insurance reviews made by policyholders are also quite positive. The company states that helpful and timely responses are important, and many clients agree that Amica’s customer service is always available and often beneficial whenever there’s a problem.

If you’re considering purchasing a car insurance policy with Amica, you may want to read some reviews online. You’ll be able to see what customers say about filing car insurance claims with Amica and what happens next.

Amica Mutual Insurance Company Insurance Coverage Options

Amica offers different options for car insurance, and the company allows customers to choose the coverage types they need and customize an auto insurance policy that works best for their unique lifestyle.

Options with Amica auto insurance include the following:

Depending on what you’re looking for, you may find that a combination of several of the coverage options above works best for you. Amica allows you to choose the types of coverage you need, and you can alter your policy at any time to ensure it works well.

If you choose less coverage on your vehicle, you can expect to pay less for your insurance. But it’s a good idea to purchase enough coverage to be safe and comfortable on the road.

Benjamin Carr Former Insurance Agent

Not all coverage options are available in every state, so you may want to call and speak with an Amica insurance representative to learn whether the coverage you’re looking for is an option in your area.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Amica Mutual Insurance Company Insurance Rates Breakdown

Your driving record, age, gender, marital status, and the type of auto insurance coverage you need significantly impact your Amica auto insurance rates. Insurance with Amica is often competitive in price, but rates for coverage tend to be slightly higher than rates from competitors. 

The table below shows the average annual rate for a full coverage auto insurance policy with Amica compared to other insurance providers. 

Amica vs. Competitors: Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates
Insurance Company30 Year-Old Male30 Year-Old Female
Allstate$176$168
Amica$177$169
Farmers$167$160
Progressive$136$131
State Farm$103$94
Travelers$108$99
U.S. Average$139$128

Here is how Amica’s rates compare with the same competitors for minimum coverage auto insurance.

Amica vs. Competitors: Minimum Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates
Insurance Company30 Year-Old Male30 Year-Old Female
Allstate$67$64
Amica$53$51
Farmers$64$61
Progressive$50$48
State Farm$39$36
Travelers$40$37
U.S. Average$53$49

You can see that Amica rates are, on average, near the top of the list in terms of cost. 

Amica Auto Insurance Rates Based on Driving History

One of the best ways to keep your car insurance low is to keep your driving record clean. Violations like DUIs, tickets, and accidents can cause your rates to increase.

Here is how much auto insurance for drivers with DUIs costs with Amica compared to other national companies.

View as image

If you are involved in an accident and found to be at fault, you will likely see a rate increase like those shown below.

View as image

Finally, let’s take a look at how a ticket may affect your car insurance rates with Amica.

View as image

As you can see, being a safe driver pays off with lower rates.

Amica Auto Insurance Rates Based on Age

Auto insurance for teens comes with the highest rates. Let’s take a look at Amica’s minimum and full-coverage auto insurance rates for teenage males and females with clean driving records.

View as image

As you age and gain experience behind the wheel, your car insurance rates will start to decrease as long as you keep your record clean. The table below shows Amica’s average rates for senior auto insurance.

View as image

It’s a good idea to get Amica auto insurance quotes rather than relying on national averages to get a more accurate rate on car insurance.

Amica Mutual Insurance Company Discounts Available

Amica Mutual Insurance Company offers several options for discounts on auto insurance. These are some of the company’s most popular discounts:

  • Loyalty
  • Homeownership
  • Multi-car
  • Good student
  • Student away at school
  • Accident-free
  • Defensive driver training
  • Anti-theft
  • Electronic stability control
  • Passive restraints
  • Forward-collision warning
  • Adaptive headlights
  • Paid-in-full
  • AutoPay
  • Paperless

Amica car insurance discounts could help policyholders save as much as 25% on their car insurance premiums. If you believe you may qualify for one or more discounts with Amica, call the Amica Insurance phone number and speak with a representative in your area to see how much you could save on coverage.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Amica have good auto insurance rates?

Auto insurance with Amica is often affordable, though rates may be higher than those of other insurance companies.

How does Amica auto insurance compare to other companies?

Amica offers a wide range of coverage that’s not available at all insurers, but its rates are often more expensive than companies like State Farm and Geico.

Is Amica auto insurance better than Geico?

The answer to this question depends on your needs. Amica offers excellent customer satisfaction and several options for discounts and add-ons to customize your auto insurance policy. If these things are important to you, you may find that Amica is better than Geico insurance.

What company owns Amica Insurance?

Amica Mutual Insurance company is its own entity, offering several types of insurance products, including auto insurance.

How is Amica customer service?

Amica is known for providing excellent customer service. They have consistently received high customer satisfaction ratings and have a strong reputation in the insurance industry. Amica aims to provide prompt and personalized support to their policyholders, whether it’s for inquiries, policy changes, or claims assistance.

Is Amica an A-rated company?

Yes, Amica received an A+ financial rating from A.M. Best and an A+ from the Better Business Bureau for customer satisfaction.

Is Amica auto insurance available in all states?

Amica Auto Insurance is available in most states across the United States. However, insurance availability may vary depending on the specific state regulations. It’s best to check with Amica or visit their website to determine if they offer coverage in your state.

Does Amica provide roadside assistance?

Yes, Amica offers optional roadside assistance coverage, commonly known as Amica Emergency Roadside Assistance. This coverage can help you in situations such as a flat tire, lockout, dead battery, or if you run out of gas. It provides 24/7 access to their network of service providers to assist you when needed.

How do I file an Amica auto insurance claim?

If you need to file a claim with Amica Auto Insurance, you can do so online or by contacting their claims department directly. They have a streamlined claims process, and once your claim is submitted, a claims representative will guide you through the necessary steps, such as providing relevant documentation and arranging repairs or reimbursement.

How good is Amica at paying auto insurance claims?

Amica is one of the top companies in claims satisfaction, according to J.D. Power.

Can I manage my Amica auto insurance policy online?

Yes, Amica offers online account management for policyholders. Through their website or mobile app, you can access your policy details, make payments, view and print documents, file claims, and communicate with their customer service team.

Where can I get Amica auto insurance quotes?

You can get free auto insurance quotes from local companies with our comparison tool below. Enter your ZIP code to get quotes today.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

D. Gilson, PhD

Professor & Published Author

D. Gilson is a writer and author of essays, poetry, and scholarship that explore the relationship between popular culture, literature, sexuality, and memoir. His latest book is Jesus Freak, with Will Stockton, part of Bloomsbury’s 33 1/3 Series. His other books include I Will Say This Exactly One Time and Crush. His first chapbook, Catch & Release, won the 2012 Robin Becker Prize from S...

Professor & Published Author

Jimmy McMillan

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jimmy McMillan is an entrepreneur and the founder of HeartLifeInsurance.com, an independent insurance brokerage. His company specializes in insurance for people with heart problems. He knows personally how difficult it is to secure health and life insurance after a heart attack. Jimmy is a licensed insurance agent from coast to coast who has been featured on ValientCEO and the podcast Modern Li...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Amica Mutual Insurance Company

4.22 (768 reviews)
2
June 24, 2022

mandafae

Good coverage, bad customer service

I was with Amica for over 13 years. I had one accident in that time, and, while my coverage was great, customer service was generally unhelpful. I'm trying to resolve an issue (that their poor customer service caused) now that my policy has been cancelled, and customer service is even worse. I've been told I'll receive call-backs and haven't received them, and agents are completely unwilling to even try to help. I haven't made many calls to them ...
I was with Amica for over 13 years. I had one accident in that time, and, while my coverage was great, customer service was generally unhelpful. I'm trying to resolve an issue (that their poor customer service caused) now that my policy has been cancelled, and customer service is even worse. I've been told I'll receive call-backs and haven't received them, and agents are completely unwilling to even try to help. I haven't made many calls to them in the last 13 years, but they always seemed like they couldn't get off the phone fast enough unless they were trying to sell me something.
1
January 11, 2022

Rnbowens_

Discussed and Hurt

We have been a loyal customer of Amica auto insurance for at least 13 yrs. Our First and only claim happened in Dec 2021. The accident happened out of state so we are made arrangements to get our personal belongings ($1800+). And some sentimental items out of the vehicle. On at least 3 separate calls the Amica representatives told my wife not to go because of the distance and they will send a Rep to the vehicle and everything in the trunk and ins...
We have been a loyal customer of Amica auto insurance for at least 13 yrs. Our First and only claim happened in Dec 2021. The accident happened out of state so we are made arrangements to get our personal belongings ($1800+). And some sentimental items out of the vehicle. On at least 3 separate calls the Amica representatives told my wife not to go because of the distance and they will send a Rep to the vehicle and everything in the trunk and inside the vehicle will be placed in boxes and mailed to us. They assured us that they have done this for customers for years and we had nothing to worry about and we will be getting our belongings. Well one month later we got an envelope with 5 minor items. We have been lied to over and over and have taken another major lost. We are beyond discussed and hurt.
1
October 1, 2021

ACustomer

Reprehensible, criminal practices

This company’s business practices are beyond reprehensible and criminal. My husband, having been a loyal customer, for much over a decade, with both cars and home ensured by Amica, called to understand what it might cost in the future, if he were to insure his teenage boy, once he gets a license. We knew the child may be insured through either one of the parents, and we didn’t decide at this point in time how we would want to proceed. The cu...
This company’s business practices are beyond reprehensible and criminal. My husband, having been a loyal customer, for much over a decade, with both cars and home ensured by Amica, called to understand what it might cost in the future, if he were to insure his teenage boy, once he gets a license. We knew the child may be insured through either one of the parents, and we didn’t decide at this point in time how we would want to proceed. The customer rep, without prior notice, proceeded to ask some information about the child, then quoted 3000 dollars for the yearly insurance. He then proceeded to tell us that once the child gets a license, he will be automatically added to the insurance policy, without prior consent from the policy owner. We explain that we explicitly prohibit him from adding the child to the policy, since there will be other ways we are looking at ensuring him. The clerk proceeded to tell us that there was nothing we could do about this, and that we will be charged and the child will automatically be put on the existing policy - since the clerk was able to get a hold of identification information for the child, from us. Of course my husband lost it. And the clerk simply hang up. Needless to say, they are now losing our business, and hopefully additional business in the future. I don’t know in what world, an organization is legally able to force someone to pay 3000 dollars for services they refuse to buy from them, while also stripping them of any human dignity, by telling them there’s nothing they could do about it. The call was recorded. This has got to make a great case for litigation.
2
August 9, 2021

Dale549

Don't trust Amica to give you good rates.

In Nov. of 2020 I received a notice of cancellation on my Home Owners and Umbrella policy. Both these policies were on auto pay from a bank that I have had an account with for more than 30 years. The account never has a balance less than $70,000. To date Amica has not been able to explain how this happened. In July of this year I decided I had better make a complete review of all my accounts to see what what going on. I found that my new Jee...
In Nov. of 2020 I received a notice of cancellation on my Home Owners and Umbrella policy. Both these policies were on auto pay from a bank that I have had an account with for more than 30 years. The account never has a balance less than $70,000. To date Amica has not been able to explain how this happened. In July of this year I decided I had better make a complete review of all my accounts to see what what going on. I found that my new Jeep was showing a load from some outfit in NC. I live in KS and purchased and paid cash for the vehicle. Again no explanation from the agent as to how this happened. I also found that when Amica changed their policies from 12 months to 6 months they increased the premium on one of my vehicles 54%. Since the other vehicle was new I could not make a direct comparison but noticed that it was 16% higher than what I was paying for the 3 vehicles previously on the policy plus that was with 3 drivers on the policy. All conversations with the agent about these issues net no explanation as to why these this were happening. Brief shopping around with other reputable insurance companies resulted in annual policy savings in the $3,000 and $4,000 range. I would not consider Amica to be a reputable insurance company an proves the point that you should check rates with other companies regularly. You can't trust any of them, let alone Amica.
5
January 5, 2021

dreammmm123

great service

They were the best price by far but also the most comprehensive. The coverage was better at a lower rate. The agents were wonderfully personal and responsive.
3
January 2, 2021

Jacjyyyyyy

positive stuff

nothing out of the ordinary just the usual stuff but I would recommend them anyway because I kinda liked them
4
December 16, 2020

KDPlazed123

Review of Amica

The overall customer experience with the insurance has been fantastic overall, as I was able to come my claims and issues with the my vehicle.
5
October 17, 2020

Basketref

Great Company

Awesome company, great prices, and customer service are great. I have always received great service and the people are very friendly and understand me all the time.
5
October 4, 2020

shanjoybud

Amica is a great company...

I have had only great experiences with Amica. Their customer service was excellent and they helped me right away after I had my car accident, giving me a rental car without question of fault. Very affordable, even for full coverage. They've been an awesome insurance company to have for my vehicle, and as soon as I start driving again, I'll be sure to call them first!
5
October 2, 2020

loochiesimba

customer service

great customer serice and easy to work with. Talked to someone over the phone and they couldn't be more knowledgable or friendly
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption