Geico Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Use this Geico auto insurance review to compare rates and coverage options. Geico has the cheapest full coverage auto insurance quotes at $80/mo but fewer policy options than Progressive and Allstate. However, Geico offers more auto insurance discounts than its competitors, including membership discounts.

UPDATED: Oct 5, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 5, 2023Fact Checked

Mathew B. Sims

Editor-in-Chief

Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates. He has also been featured on sites like UpJourney.

Editor-in-Chief

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Producer

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Producer

UPDATED: Oct 5, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Oct 5, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 5, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 5, 2023Fact Checked
4.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Geico

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$82

A.M. Best rating:

A++

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Affordable rates
  • High customer satisfaction
  • Extensive discounts

Cons

  • No gap coverage
  • Higher rates for drivers with a DUI

Final Verdict: Review of Geico

From standard coverage to usage-based car insurance plans, nearly every driver can find the policy they need with Geico. Geico also has the second-lowest rates of all major insurance providers, with only USAA providing lower prices.

Keep reading our Geico auto insurance review to explore if Geico’s insurance options are right for your car and budget. Then, compare quotes with other companies to find the best policy possible.

[su_box title="Things to Remember" style="default”]
  • Geico is the second-largest insurance company in America and has the second-lowest average rates
  • Although it has standard discounts, Geico offers unique savings for over 500 organizations
  • Geico touts an A++ rating from A.M. Best and an A+ from the Better Business Bureau, with customers generally satisfied with their service
[/su_box] Geico is a familiar name in the car insurance market, and for a good reason. Founded in 1936 as the Government Employee Insurance Company, Geico is the second-largest car insurance provider in America today. While Geico originally sold coverage exclusively to government and military members, millions of drivers can find affordable coverage with the company today. Geico also has the second-lowest rates of all major insurance providers, with only USAA providing lower prices. From standard coverage to usage-based car insurance plans, nearly every driver can find the policy they need with Geico. Read on to explore if Geico’s insurance options are right for your car and budget. Then, compare quotes with other companies to find the best policy possible.

What You Should Know About GEICO

Geico is available in all 50 states and Washington D.C., offering an array of digital tools to help find quotes, manage your policy, and file claims. It is the second-largest car insurance provider in the U.S., but it doesn’t match the variety of some of its competitors. In fact, if you compare Geico vs. Progressive, Allstate, or State Farm, Geico has the fewest policy options.

However, professional rating companies show Geico love. A.M. Best gives Geico a superior score of A++ for its financial security. The Better Business Bureau (BBB) also ranks Geico highly, giving the company an A+.

Geico is well-known for its affordable rates and impressive list of discounts. While everyone has a chance to find affordable rates from Geico, teens and drivers with low credit scores can particularly benefit.

Geico Customer Service Review

Depending on the state, Geico’s customer service tends to be hit or miss. Some customers rave about their experience, while others say they’ve never received such poor service. Interestingly, some reviewers say they were happy with customer service agents until they moved to another state.

Learn More: How to Cancel Geico Auto Insurance

Geico Claims Handling

Nobody likes to file an auto insurance claim, but Geico promises to make the claims process as easy and fast as possible. While some companies take weeks to resolve a claim, Geico can complete the process as quickly as 48 hours and issues payouts electronically or by mail, minus your deductible.

You can file a claim online or by calling the 24/7 Geico insurance phone number. While you’re free to use any mechanic you’d like, you can speed the process up by using Geico’s Auto Repair Xpress tool. This tool will help you locate a mechanic whom Geico partners with to ensure a smooth repair process.

Customer reviews for Geico’s claims handling are mixed. Some people are satisfied with Geico’s communication, speediness, and overall handling of their claims. Others say Geico is more interested in closing claims quickly than figuring out what happened.

GEICO Insurance Coverage Options

You can buy all the coverage you need from Geico, including:

  • Liability auto insurance: Liability insurance is required in most states and ensures you can pay for damage you cause in an accident. There are two parts to liability insurance: bodily injury and property damage.
  • Collision auto insurance: Liability doesn’t cover damage to your car — for that, you’ll need collision insurance. Collision insurance helps repair your vehicle after an accident, even if you’re at fault.
  • Comprehensive auto insurance: Your car can get damaged in a lot of ways outside of accidents. Comprehensive insurance protects against weather, vandalism, animal contact, theft, and fire damage.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP): Personal injury protection helps pay for medical bills, lost wages, and other related health care expenses if you get injured in an accident.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorists: Most states require drivers to carry a minimum amount of insurance, but not everyone follows the law. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage protects you against drivers with inadequate or no insurance and hit-and-runs.
  • Emergency roadside assistance: If you find yourself stranded on the side of the road, Geico’s roadside assistance helps with battery jumps, tire changes, fuel delivery, and other related issues.
  • Rental car reimbursement: Although Geico promises fast claims resolution, your car might get stuck in the shop after an accident. Geico will cover a rental car from Enterprise or reimburse you if you go elsewhere.

The coverage you need depends on various factors. For example, if you own an older car outright and need to keep your payment low, your state’s minimum requirement is probably all you need.

Full coverage — including liability, comprehensive, collision, uninsured motorist, and PIP — is typically required if you have a car loan or lease.

Another factor you should consider is your location. For example, it might be best to add comprehensive insurance to your plan if you live in a rural area. If you have Geico and hit a deer, you can only file a claim with comprehensive coverage.

Don’t worry about figuring out which insurance you need by yourself — if you’re not entirely sure, a Geico representative can help.

Geico DriveEasy Review

The average American drives more than 13,000 miles annually, but many people now work from home or cut back on their drive time. So it doesn’t seem fair to pay for a full insurance policy when you’re not driving as many miles.

To meet the needs of low-mileage drivers, Geico offers the DriveEasy program. DriveEasy is a monitoring program that rewards you for good driving behavior and low mileage. It’s available in 25 states plus Washington, D.C. Read our Geico DriveEasy review to see if it’s available in your state.

The DriveEasy program monitors you through the Geico app and looks at the following while you drive:

  • Phone use
  • Hard braking
  • Rapid acceleration
  • Mileage
  • Sharp turns
  • Time of day

Safe drivers can save up to 25% on their Geico insurance quote simply by using DriveEasy. However, drivers who engage in poor behaviors might see their rates increase.

Other Geico Auto Insurance Options

Geico has a few other options for car insurance, all of which can add policy value and increase your car’s protection. These include:

  • Rideshare insurance: Geico’s rideshare insurance is a hybrid policy replacing your traditional plan. Whether running errands or driving for a rideshare company, your hybrid policy covers you.
  • Mechanical breakdown insurance: Mechanical breakdown coverage pays for repairs if your car suffers mechanical issues. It doesn’t cover routine wear and tear, so check before filing a claim.
  • Classic car insurance: If you have a vintage vehicle, you need special classic car insurance to protect it. Geico offers protection for everything from show circuits to pleasure cruises.
  • Mexico travel. American car insurance doesn’t work in Mexico. Geico’s Mexican insurance will cover your car if you’re planning a trip south of the border.
  • Accident forgiveness: There are two ways to get Geico accident forgiveness: by buying it or earning it for being a safe driver and loyal Geico customer.

Aside from additional products, Geico also offers policyholders an easy-to-use app, 24/7 access to claims handling and tracking, and representatives always ready to help you.

More Types of Insurance Offered by Geico

Geico offers a multi-policy discount when you buy two or more plans. It’s easy to earn this discount because Geico provides insurance for just about anything you might need, including:

  • Motorcycle
  • ATV/UTV
  • RV
  • Boat/personal watercraft
  • Homeowners
  • Condo
  • Renters
  • Mobile home
  • Landlord
  • Flood
  • Life
  • Travel
  • Business
  • Commercial auto
  • Umbrella

Geico does relatively well with its insurance products. For example, Geico RV insurance reviews say that rates are low and the claims process is easy.

Though you might not see a specific insurance type above, that doesn’t mean Geico doesn’t cover it. For example, avid cyclists looking to cover sports equipment get Geico bicycle insurance included in their homeowners, condo, or renters policy.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

GEICO Insurance Rates Breakdown

One of the most appealing aspects of Geico auto insurance is the low prices. Geico has the overall lowest rates of any company except for USAA.

Although Geico is cheaper overall than its competitors, you’ll see different rates based on various factors. Insurance companies look at your location, age, gender, driving history, credit score, and other factors to determine how much you’ll pay for your coverage.

Kristen Gryglik Licensed Insurance Agent

Location is one of the most important aspects of your insurance rates — for example, the average minimum coverage for Geico in Hawaii is $23 a month, while Louisianans will see around $111.

To get an idea of what you might pay, consider how Geico compares to other companies for minimum and full coverage below.

View as image

While rates tend to be low for everyone, drivers with poor credit scores and young drivers should consider Geico. On the other hand, drivers looking for high-risk auto insurance might find better rates elsewhere.

Geico Auto Insurance Rates by Age

One critical aspect of how much you’ll pay for insurance is your age. Young drivers are statistically more likely to get into an accident or drive recklessly, so they see much higher rates than adults.

While some companies heavily penalize young drivers, Geico car insurance rates are amongst the lowest. Consider the prices below to see how much Geico charges drivers of all ages.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Age and Gender
Insurance Company18-Year-Old Male18-Year-Old Female30-Year-Old Male30-Year-Old Female45-Year-Old Male45-Year-Old Female55-Year-Old Male55-Year-Old Female65-Year-Old Male65-Year-Old Female
AAA$378$328$103$99$86$88$81$83$84$86
Allstate$203$180$79$74$59$59$56$56$57$58
American Family$414$305$137$116$117$115$111$109$114$113
Farmers$629$597$167$160$139$139$131$132$136$136
Geico$254$220$87$90$80$80$76$76$78$78
Hartford$469$407$133$126$113$115$107$109$109$112
Liberty Mutual$626$626$200$174$174$171$165$162$170$96
Nationwide$387$303$136$124$115$113$109$107$114$113
Progressive$662$591$136$131$105$112$100$106$103$109
State Farm$284$229$103$94$86$86$82$82$84$84
Travelers$740$530$108$99$99$98$94$93$97$96
U.S. Average$501$416$139$128$119$119$113$113$117$117

Let’s examine some specific age groups to see how Geico rates compare. The table below shows rates for teenage drivers.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates for Teen Drivers
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Female16-Year-Old Male18-Year-Old Female18-Year-Old Male
Allstate$608$638$448$519
Farmers$778$742$573$603
Geico$298$312$220$254
Liberty Mutual$716$778$528$633
Nationwide$411$476$303$387
Progressive$801$814$591$662
State Farm$311$349$229$284
Travelers$709$897$523$729

Auto insurance rates for teenagers tend to be higher than average due to their lack of experience behind the wheel. As drivers age, insurance rates start going down. However, in later years, insurance rates may take a slight upturn. Here’s a look at rates for senior drivers. Find tips for buying senior auto insurance.

View as image

Like age, your driving history also has an effect on your insurance rates. Below we’ll examine some specific examples.

View as image

Geico Auto Insurance Rates After an Accident

Another important part of your insurance rates is your driving record. People with clean records pay less than drivers with at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, or DUIs.

While GEICO still offers relatively low rates to drivers with an accident, other companies might offer a better price. Find out how long an accident affects your auto insurance rates.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates: One Accident vs. Clean Record
Insurance CompanyOne AccidentClean Record
AAA$220$180
Allstate$225$166
American Family$176$116
Farmers$198$140
Geico$132$95
Hartford$230$175
Liberty Mutual$234$177
Nationwide$161$140
Progressive$186$120
State Farm$150$105
Travelers$200$160
U.S. Average$172$123

People with an accident on their record may benefit from looking at quotes from State Farm or USAA. However, Geico still offers relatively low rates with a bad driving record. Learn how to find cheap auto insurance after an accident.

Geico Auto Insurance Rates With a Ticket

Now let’s look at how a traffic ticket can impact your auto insurance rates.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates: One Ticket vs. Clean Record
Insurance CompanyOne TicketClean Record
AAA$108$180
Allstate$188$166
American Family$136$116
Farmers$173$140
Geico$106$95
Hartford$136$175
Liberty Mutual$212$177
Nationwide$137$140
Progressive$140$120
State Farm$96$105
Travelers$134$160
U.S. Average$147$123

As you can see, all of these traffic violations will lead to increased car insurance rates. And the more you have on your record the higher your rates will climb. Staying safe and keeping your record clean will help keep your car insurance rates low. Find out how a speeding ticket affects your auto insurance rates.

Geico Auto Insurance Rates With a DUI

Having a DUI on your record is another factor that may cause your insurance rates to go up. Take a look at the table below:

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Driving Record
Insurance CompanyOne AccidentOne DUIOne TicketClean Record
AAA$220$240$220$180
Allstate$225$225$195$166
American Family$176$176$131$116
Farmers$198$198$176$140
Geico$132$132$125$95
Hartford$230$250$215$175
Liberty Mutual$234$234$217$177
Nationwide$161$161$175$140
Progressive$186$186$160$120
State Farm$150$102$138$105
Travelers$200$139$205$160
U.S. Average$172$173$152$123

Not only will drinking and driving increase your rates, but it will also endanger you, your passengers, other drivers, and pedestrians.

GEICO Discounts Available

Geico is well-known for its affordable rates, and one of the ways it offers such low prices is through extensive discounts. With something for just about everyone, take a look at Geico auto insurance discounts below:

  • Air bags
  • Seat belt use
  • Anti-lock brakes
  • Good student
  • New vehicle
  • Anti-theft device
  • Defensive driving course
  • Daytime running lights
  • Good driver
  • Military
  • Emergency deployment
  • Driver’s education course
  • Federal employee
  • Multi-car
  • Multiple policy
  • Membership and employee
  • Sorority, fraternity, and honor society members

Some of these discounts are small, while others are more considerable. Your information will help GEICO determine eligible discounts when you request a quote.

How GEICO Ranks Among Providers

From lower rates to great discount options, Geico has a lot to offer when compared to other insurers. Get an idea of how Geico compares to other providers below.

Geico Auto Insurance vs. Nationwide Auto Insurance

Geico and Nationwide are similarly rated in many ways, but each company outperforms the other in key areas.

Geico tends to offer lower rates, with the average Geico customer saving nearly $200 a year compared to Nationwide policies.

However, Nationwide is rated higher for customer service, claims handling, and overall customer satisfaction.

Geico Auto Insurance vs. Progressive Auto Insurance

In most other categories, Geico does better than Progressive. Geico offers better rates, has a better customer experience, and an overall stronger reputation.

Progressive does better in one category – coverage options. While both companies offer much of the same insurance, only Progressive offers gap coverage and custom parts and equipment insurance.

Geico Auto Insurance vs. Allstate Auto Insurance

Geico does better than Allstate in many areas, including claims handling, customer service, and customer renewal rates.

Geico tends to have cheaper rates than Allstate, except for drivers with a DUI on their record. In general, more customers are happy with Geico insurance compared to Allstate.

Justin Wright Licensed Insurance Agent

However, Allstate does better than Geico for its usage-based insurance. Geico DriveEasy is not as user-friendly as Allstate’s Drivewise.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who should buy Geico auto insurance?

Geico is a good option for anyone looking for affordable coverage, especially young drivers and people with low credit scores. However, people with accidents or DUIs might want to look elsewhere.

Does Geico auto insurance have a good reputation?

Yes, Geico has A++ financial ratings from A.M. Best and A+ customer service ratings from Better Business Bureau.

What is Geico’s customer satisfaction rating?

Geico earned an A+ for customer service from the Better Business Bureau, and J.D. Power ranks Geico above average in most regions for customer satisfaction.

Who is Geico’s biggest auto insurance competitor?

State Farm is Geico’s biggest competitor based on rates and policy offerings.

Who is better for auto insurance, Geico or Progressive?

Geico offers much lower auto insurance rates than Progressive but has fewer policy options.

Is Allstate or Geico auto insurance better?

Geico customers are more satisfied with their coverage than Allstate customers.

Is Geico or Liberty Mutual better for auto insurance?

Geico auto insurance rates are cheaper than Liberty Mutual, but drivers have more customizable policy options with Liberty Mutual.

What is Geico’s weakness?

Geico’s biggest downfall is its lack of diverse and customizable policy options.

Does Geico look at credit scores?

If state insurance laws allow, Geico will consider your credit score when checking rates.

How can you file a Geico auto insurance claim?

You can file a claim by visiting the Geico website, using its app, or calling the 24/7 claims phone number. Geico will send a payment for your claim via mail or to your bank account.

Is Geico good at paying auto insurance claims?

Geico is one of the fastest companies when paying out claims, advertising that it can settle claims as quickly as 48 hours.

How long do Geico auto insurance quotes last?

Geico doesn’t specify how long a quote lasts, but most companies allow you 30 days to decide. Remember that just because a quote is still active doesn’t mean the price will remain the same.

How do you contact Geico auto insurance?

You can visit the Geico website, send an email,  or call the customer service number at 1-800-207-7847.

Can you cancel Geico auto insurance online?

You can’t cancel your Geico insurance online. You must call an agent to cancel your policy.

Does Geico charge a cancellation fee?

There is no fee if you decide to cancel Geico auto insurance.

How long does Geico take to issue an auto insurance refund?

Refunds for personal checks can take up to 30 days, while credit or debit payments will likely get refunded in one to two weeks.

Can you negotiate auto insurance rates with Geico?

You can’t negotiate auto insurance rates directly with Geico, but you can compare car insurance quotes online from multiple companies to see if Geico is actually your cheapest option.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Mathew B. Sims

Editor-in-Chief

Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates. He has also been featured on sites like UpJourney.

Editor-in-Chief

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Producer

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Producer

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for GEICO

4.11 (19,116 reviews)
0.5
October 31, 2023

Tomer Ravid

GEICO review

GEICO is unpredictable and arbitrary. You\'d need insurance for this insurance, since GEICO is unable or unwilling to provide the most important function of insurance: certainty. They cancelled my new auto insurance for no reason other than their own incompetence. Long story short: I paid the policy in full. While on a vacation with my family, I opened GEICO app and was surprised to find that my policy is scheduled to be cancelled. When I cam...
GEICO is unpredictable and arbitrary. You\'d need insurance for this insurance, since GEICO is unable or unwilling to provide the most important function of insurance: certainty. They cancelled my new auto insurance for no reason other than their own incompetence. Long story short: I paid the policy in full. While on a vacation with my family, I opened GEICO app and was surprised to find that my policy is scheduled to be cancelled. When I came back home I found a letter saying that I have eight days from the 5th of October to send them documents (only accepted by postal mail, even though every document was a copy) or my insurance would be cancelled. In fact the letter was delivered *about 8 days after the 5th of October* (again, delivered while I was not home). At no earlier point had I been informed that these documents were required, and GEICO made no attempt to contact me by phone call, text message or Email. In fact, had I not checked the app and stayed on vacation for longer, I might have ended up driving without insurance unwittingly. I called GEICO multiple times. They consistently assured me that if I sent the correct documents before the fast-approaching cancellation date, my policy would continue. So I sent all the documents they requested by priority mail. In spite of the supposed urgency they were attempting to convey, it took them six days after receiving the documents to start reviewing them (with no way to contact the underwriting department or confirm that they had recieved them). It took five more days for the final review because of their own confusion about what was clearly included in the documents I\'d sent them. Two days before the deadline, I find out by calling them (without any notification on their part) that, in fact, my policy will be cancelled. The reason is that I had no prior insurance, which they claimed was contrary to my statements. This is 100% false and can be refuted by recorded calls to customer service in which I stated that GEICO was my first insurance, and by the fact that they don\'t have the name of my previous insurance company and the coverage limits (required information when you register online if you state that you\'ve been insured). GEICO had zero interest in checking the evidence or compensating me, and there was no way to appeal. Price I have to pay for GEICO\'s incompetence: Having to find new insurance in two days (which was hard in the first place since I have no driving record in the US), possibly higher rates because of the cancellation on my record. If it happened to me, it must have happened to thousands of other customers in the country, as confirmed by a large fraction of GEICO\'S customer reviews online. So the chance that it will happen to you is non-negligible.
1
January 3, 2022

Volodymyr_Korolevych

Adjuster stopped responding

Cant get ahold of anyone. Always different people giving me different numbers. No resolution Mr [REDACTED NAME], claim adjuster stopped responding to my requests without any resolution. Also not picking up my phone
1
May 17, 2021

Sergei_K

Can't get rid of them

From my personal experience, GEICO is the best place if you want to be fooled. Once you open the door, you can't get rid of them. About a year ago I canceled my policy ceasing any dealings with Geico. I paid the premiums in full and closed my account. Throughout the year, I've been a happy StateFarm customer. Several weeks ago, Geico unilaterally opened my policy forcing me to pay premiums for the following 6 months. Understanding that it could b...
From my personal experience, GEICO is the best place if you want to be fooled. Once you open the door, you can't get rid of them. About a year ago I canceled my policy ceasing any dealings with Geico. I paid the premiums in full and closed my account. Throughout the year, I've been a happy StateFarm customer. Several weeks ago, Geico unilaterally opened my policy forcing me to pay premiums for the following 6 months. Understanding that it could be a mistake, I contacted them 3 times. I talked to 6 different people. All of them promised to help me. I wrote 2 emails attaching copies of my StateFarm Id's for the entire period (after Geico policy cancellation). It didn't cure the problem. Moreover, Geico retroactively and unilaterally (without my desire, knowledge, and consent) reopened the policy. Now, they force me to pay for the previous months (last year). Geico supervisor [REDACTED NAME] claims that he obtains sufficient evidence that I hadn't been insured after I officially broke with Geico in April-May 2020 = the company is right demanding me to pay for nothing. From my non-legal understanding, it's a fraud, He knowingly (I sent them StateFarm Id's for the entire period) mispresents the facts unlawfully demanding payment.
1
February 10, 2021

vscore16

BAIT AND SWITCH

They waited 60 days and then doubled my rate. they never notified me. When I looked it up they said it was due to the agent putting it in as a sports bus, and since I am using it for sales my rate is double. yes on their letter they sent me it shows right on it that the old use is class "C" and the new use is class "C". The reviews on geicos website are fake. real reviews are much more negative. They lie in their commercials about saving money s...
They waited 60 days and then doubled my rate. they never notified me. When I looked it up they said it was due to the agent putting it in as a sports bus, and since I am using it for sales my rate is double. yes on their letter they sent me it shows right on it that the old use is class "C" and the new use is class "C". The reviews on geicos website are fake. real reviews are much more negative. They lie in their commercials about saving money so why would I not expect them to lie about the rate they are giving me. I am no risk adjuster but any halfway intelligent person knows their is a lot more risk for a bus full of athletes that ways 20,000 pounds than a minivan with one person in it. Yet according to geico insuring a moving tank is cheaper than insuring a minivan. Would you believe that? I am not that gullible. Bait and switch all the way.
5
February 3, 2021

Trinidad2_

geico is the best

great company with fantastic customer service they lowered my cost due to covid with no issues and they are always a phoen call away fo r help wiht my policy, i wholeheartedly reccomend them
2
February 3, 2021

Jotwox

Not recommend

They were alright not the best. If they put in more effort into the customers they could’ve kept me.
5
February 2, 2021

Waycross43_

Helpful

Geico has been great during the pandemic. They have worked with me changing billing dates based on what I need. They have helped me save 212 dollars a month on insurance.
5
February 1, 2021

Babanana

Geico is amazing

My experience receiving auto insurance from Geico has been extremely positive. The insurance process was perfectly smooth and I have all my insurance information neatly organized at the tip of my fingers on my mobile phone. The coverage and premiums are much better than I received from my previous provider.
2
February 1, 2021

Justin_Kim

Filing a claim at geico

They were very nice and had good customer service. Once I even filed a claim and they got back to me within seventy-four hours.
5
January 28, 2021

Dingo

Insurance You Can Understand

The representative borke down all information in an easy-to-understand manner and then made very easy the process of initiating the policies. I am also very happy with the ease of managing online and on the app.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption