Fred Loya Auto Insurance Review 2022

Fred Loya offers auto insurance coverage at cheap rates, but the company has more than its fair share of customers complaints.

UPDATED: Oct 6, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Oct 6, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Oct 6, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 6, 2022Fact Checked
3.3
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Fred Loya Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$0

A.M. Best rating:

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Policies for high-risk drivers
  • Complimentary rental cars with specific policies
  • Cheap rates
  • Convenient locations with local agents

Cons

  • A significant number of customer complaints
  • Past legal issues
  • No online claims processing or quotes
  • Confusing language for policies and exclusions
  • Limited claims filing accessibility

The Bottom Line

Fred Loya offers cheap auto insurance to people with bad driving records, poor credit, or other incidents on their records that make them high-risk drivers. If you need a high-risk policy, Fred Loya may be willing to offer you coverage.

Unfortunately, the company does not have good ratings or reviews, suggesting it is likely not the best fit for most drivers.

If you’re searching for proper car insurance as a high-risk driver, you can search for quotes online to find the best company in your area.

Fred Loya may come to mind if you’re looking for cheap car insurance. In some cases, Fred Loya offers rates for car insurance that are half of what other companies ask for. But Fred Loya might not be the best car insurance company for you.

The company has had legal issues, ultimately having to pay fines for its misleading business practices. Additionally, many Fred Loya customers have negative things to say about the company, its policies, and its claims process.

Is Fred Loya Insurance a Good Choice?

Unfortunately, Fred Loya car insurance reviews suggest the company may not be a good fit for most people. The company has far more than the expected number of complaints for a company of its size, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). 

Additionally, Fred Loya insurance claims reviews from customers state the company does not honor its policies, causing customers to have to pay out of pocket for things that their insurance should cover. 

Fred Loya was fined in 2012 for not adhering to underwriting guidelines. Even now, the NAIC shows that the company has nearly 500% more complaints than it should based on its size.

As you search for auto insurance, you should find multiple options that may work for you. However, you should avoid Fred Loya coverage and pursue a policy with another company with better ratings and positive customer feedback.

What is Fred Loya?

Fred Loya Insurance Company offers nonstandard auto insurance coverage to high-risk drivers. In addition, the company provides liability policies to individuals who may find it challenging to get coverage elsewhere.

Here are some of the high-risk drivers Fred Loya covers:

  • People with a DUI or DWI on their driving record
  • Individuals with bad credit
  • People who need to file for SR-22 coverage
  • Individuals with multiple traffic violations on their driving record

Fred Loya is a subsidiary of EP Loya Group based in Texas. If you’re considering purchasing a policy with Fred Loya, you should look around and see if you can get coverage elsewhere. Because the company has so many customer complaints, it may not be a great fit. 

 

Fred Loya Insurance Rates

This company does not offer quotes online, so you’ll have to speak with an agent to determine how much you would pay for coverage.

Drivers with Fred Loya pay around $240 monthly, or $2,889 annually, for full coverage. Compare that with rates from the top insurers in the country in the table below.

But drivers who choose a minimum coverage policy may pay as little as $2 monthly ($449 annually), which is over $100 lower than the national average.

Fred Loya's full coverage rates are much higher than the national average, which speaks to the company's main focus of offering minimum coverage to its policyholders.

Every quote you get will depend on a variety of factors, including your age and driving history.

Young, first-time drivers will pay much more for auto insurance than adults in their mid-30s with a clean driving record. Take a look at the chart below to see how much teenage drivers tend to pay for car insurance.

Once you turn 25 years old, you will see your rates decrease dramatically as long as you’ve kept a clean driving record.

A person’s driving history also plays a big part in how an insurance company sets your rates. A person with one traffic ticket will see an increase in car insurance rates. Insurance companies may raise your rates even higher if you cause an accident while driving.

It won’t be surprising that drivers will see the largest increase in premiums if they receive a DUI. Take a look at the table below to see how these violations can impact your auto insurance rates.

We always recommend getting quotes from at least three different insurance companies when shopping for insurance quotes, or even when it’s time to renew your current policy.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Fred Loya Insurance Discounts Available

Fred Loya offers specific auto insurance discounts, which may include the following:

  • Multi-car
  • Safety features
  • Anti-theft
  • Defensive driving course
  • Driver’s education course
  • Alcohol and drug awareness course

Some companies allow customers to save as much as 25% on their insurance through discounts, so you can speak with a Fred Loya agent to see if you’re eligible to save. 

Fred Loya Insurance Coverage Options

Fred Loya offers the following coverage options to its policyholders:

  • Bodily injury liability. This coverage pays for injuries caused during an accident.
  • Property damage liability. This coverage pays for damages caused during an accident.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. This coverage pays when someone at fault does not carry insurance, has insufficient insurance, or a hit-and-run-driver. 
  • Collision. This coverage pays for damage to your vehicle caused during an accident.
  • Comprehensive. This coverage pays for damage to your vehicle caused by non-accident incidents, such as inclement weather or vandalism.

In addition to the standard coverages listed above, Fred Loya offers its customers rental reimbursement options. The company does not have many add-ons for coverage, but this makes sense, as its focus is helping high-risk drivers find proper minimum coverage.

Fred Loya offers full coverage policies, but the company’s exclusions state that full coverage only extends to vehicles without any damages. Therefore, if you purchase a full coverage policy with Fred Loya, but your car has a few dents or other damage, you may find that your claims are denied in the future for this reason. 

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I file a claim with Fred Loya?

You can file a claim with the company by calling 1-800-880-0472. The company accepts claims from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. MT Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturdays.

What’s Fred Loya’s customer service number?

The customer service number for Fred Loya is 1-800-444-4040.

In which states is Fred Loya car insurance available?

You can purchase an auto insurance policy with Fred Loya in Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, Nevada, New Mexico, Ohio, and Texas.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Fred Loya Insurance

3.26 (129 reviews)
1
February 25, 2021

Phong

Happy that I am now no more with FredLoya

I bought insurance for my car at Fred Loya 2 years ago. Their prices were ok. Two months ago, I got in an accident, my car was towed to the city place, an ambulance brought me to an hospital. The following day, I went to the city place to tow my car to a car repair shop. As I bought the "liability only" policy, my car's damage was not covered, but the FredLoya agent told me that they could reimburse me for the towing fee. As I had 2 towing recip...
I bought insurance for my car at Fred Loya 2 years ago. Their prices were ok. Two months ago, I got in an accident, my car was towed to the city place, an ambulance brought me to an hospital. The following day, I went to the city place to tow my car to a car repair shop. As I bought the "liability only" policy, my car's damage was not covered, but the FredLoya agent told me that they could reimburse me for the towing fee. As I had 2 towing recipes ($174 each), the agent said that they could reimburse just one, if I want to be reimbursed both receipts, I must contact the FredLoya Claim department. Since that day, between me and the Claim department had dozens calls back and forth, they asked me to tell them about the accident. I just wanted to get reimbursement for the towing, but they asked me a lot about the car situation, about the car repair shop, about the police report, and asked me to sign papers with notarized service. They speak perfectly English but the way they asked me was very un-American, and impolite, like the police/FBI interrogating criminals or employers asking employees. Finally, after 2 months with a lot of headaches conversation, I received a check from them, but with a very small amount, just enough for my notaries fee. They said that they could reimburse a PORTION of the towing, wow.
2
February 17, 2020

NormalMan

Cheap, just hope you never need a claim

They have cheap policies and their premiums go down pretty fast. But their agents dealing with claims are some of the worst I have ever had. I went days without hearing from the agent, even customer service could not get ahold of them. If you want to save money they are a good option, just hope you never have to claim anything.
5
January 20, 2020

BCM2316Te

A false claim has a positive ending thankx to having Fred Lo

My personal opinion with this company is they go all the way for there policey holders and it was the best experience I've ever had with an insurance company. I had got into a car accident where it was a fraudulent claim from the accuser and Fred loya had provided me with such an amazing Attorney and we had this case for almost 2 yrs from the date. When i had finally wen to trial my attorney is such a great man and walked me througb the whole pro...
My personal opinion with this company is they go all the way for there policey holders and it was the best experience I've ever had with an insurance company. I had got into a car accident where it was a fraudulent claim from the accuser and Fred loya had provided me with such an amazing Attorney and we had this case for almost 2 yrs from the date. When i had finally wen to trial my attorney is such a great man and walked me througb the whole process and I had asked if i need to know anything ? My Attorney [REDACTED NAME] said to me " Just tell the truth to the jury and dont worry because if u say ur innocent and u explain what happened while u can pled ur case then the truth will prevail. So I did what he advised me to due and all i did was I awnsered all the prosecutors questions honestly and kept my kool cause they even asked me the same question like 20 times and the judge finally had to warn them to move on cause it was ridiculous and i was trying not to get up set cause I had lost my job due to missing soo much work that finally i got let go the day i had trial. Anywayz i told the HONEST truth and the accuser told her lies and wen we where finished the jury made there ruling. And I won!!!!! My Attorney had amazing proof and pictures and also may i add STATEMENTS from the accuser on subjects she openly shared and lied under oath about cause the reports from her to the medical and law where not what she said in court(opps she told her own lies) so my experience was amazing to get my Justice and to have had the most amazing experience with this situation.. I had to switch INSURANCE providers because of my rate being way too high so it was great until i couldn't afford there COVERAGE.. This is a very good carrier and they see it through to the end even wen u have a court case filed and u have to go.. I personal thanked the branch and called corporate to give such gratitude for there services..
4
October 10, 2019

Jennjenn

Fred loya employees not informativeVery

Very friendly staff but not very knowledgeable. I seemed to know more about my own question than any of the staff at the office did for me.
1
September 13, 2019

SayNOtoFredLoya

Pls save yourself the hassle! Deceptive business practices

This company is distrustful and you as a policyholder should NOT put your trust in them. They will only challenge every claim, take forever to process it, and then raise your premium !!!! I was with them 4 years and every claim was a horrible process. Their entire company is extremely rude and provides subpar services as trained robots that do not care about you as a person at all. I no longer have a car they considered as a total loss. Not only ...
This company is distrustful and you as a policyholder should NOT put your trust in them. They will only challenge every claim, take forever to process it, and then raise your premium !!!! I was with them 4 years and every claim was a horrible process. Their entire company is extremely rude and provides subpar services as trained robots that do not care about you as a person at all. I no longer have a car they considered as a total loss. Not only did I have to switch insurance but I did not receive my property back the same way I gave it to them. My vehicle was further damaged upon delivery back to my home, missing a tire, the inside compromised and I didn't receive my extra keys back ANNNNND they changed the status/value of my car and did absolutely NOTHING! Please beware and save yourself .
2
August 20, 2019

Ayla28

Wish u had the same prices that were 5 months ago

At first I was delighted with fred loya the policy prices were reasonable but recently it's been increasing too much
5
July 30, 2019

Pez81

Better than yours

I never have had a problem with this company. Always a insurance policy for every budget. Try them out!
1
July 17, 2019

RobotPete

Bad Company That Treats Their Customers Poorly

Fred Loya is by far the worst insurance company I ever worked with. Every 6 months my rates would increase for no reason, when I would inquire why my rates were increasing I was told it was normal. Fred Loya's insurance agents are also terribly lazy, I was involved in a collision that I was not at fault for and my adjustor did absolutely nothing, I had to do everything with the other parties insurance company. Avoid this company at all costs.
5
June 14, 2019

mrxtc89117

Good company

Great no problems at all. Customer service is good and quick. They also send reminders over the phone and text so you wont be late
1
May 15, 2019

jacks0213

You’ll regret it

Awful, you can’t ever get in touch with someone that works there. Whether it be by phone or in person. Therefore you could pay insurance because their website isn’t a functioning proper. Do not recommend
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption