GAINSCO Auto Insurance Review (2024)

GAINSCO, a subsidiary of State Farm, offers non-standard coverage to high-risk drivers in 17 states.

UPDATED: Feb 16, 2024Fact Checked

Laura Kuhl

Insurance Content Team Lead

Laura Kuhl holds a Master’s Degree in Professional Writing from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington. Her career began in healthcare and wellness, creating lifestyle content for doctors, dentists, and other healthcare and holistic professionals. In 2018, she started writing for the cannabis industry. She curated news articles and insider interviews with investors and small business ow...

Insurance Content Team Lead

Daniel Walker

Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Feb 16, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 16, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 16, 2024Fact Checked
2.6
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

GAINSCO Auto Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Coverage for high-risk drivers
  • SR-22 form filings
  • A website that offers online quotes and allows customers to make payments
  • Over 7,000 independent insurance agents
  • A helpful mobile app
  • Bilingual assistance for Spanish speakers

Cons

  • A significant number of customer complaints
  • A website that does not offer details on coverage options
  • Limited availability

Final Verdict: Review of GAINSCO Auto Insurance

There are a lot of options when it comes to car insurance. But if you’re a high-risk driver, you may find it challenging to find proper coverage. While certain companies won’t offer coverage to high-risk drivers, GAINSCO Insurance offers standard coverage options to people with bad driving records.

As you search for the best car insurance companies in your area, GAINSCO could be an excellent option. The company files SR-22 forms and offers online quotes to potential customers.

Unfortunately, GAINSCO is only available in 17 states and does have a significant number of customer complaints.

[su_box title="Things to Remember" style="default”]
  • GAINSCO is a subsidiary of State Farm Insurance Company
  • GAINSCO offers non-standard car insurance coverage to high-risk drivers
  • The company has received a significant number of customer complaints
[/su_box] There are a lot of options when it comes to car insurance. But if you’re a high-risk driver, you may find it challenging to find proper coverage. While certain companies won’t offer coverage to high-risk drivers, GAINSCO Insurance offers standard coverage options to people with bad driving records. As you search for the best car insurance companies in your area, GAINSCO could be an excellent option. The company files SR-22 forms and offers online quotes to potential customers. Unfortunately, GAINSCO is only available in 17 states and does have a significant number of customer complaints.

What You Should Know About GAINSCO Auto Insurance

GAINSCO has an A- (Excellent) financial strength rating with A.M. Best. However, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), GAINSCO policyholders have filed many complaints against the company.

Based on the GAINSCO insurance reviews, GAINSCO policyholders are unhappy with the company’s customer service, the speed with which the company issues insurance payments, and the overall process for filing claims.

If you’re considering purchasing a policy with GAINSCO, you may want to read a few GAINSCO car insurance reviews ahead of time to hear customer opinions.

GAINSCO Auto Insurance Coverage Options

GAINSCO offers coverage that meets each state’s minimum requirements. These coverage options include:

  • Bodily injury liability
  • Property damage liability
  • Personal injury protection
  • Medical payments

GAINSCO also offers the following add-on coverage options:

  • SR-22 form. If your state requires you to show proof of financial responsibility, you may have to file an SR-22 form. Not all insurance companies will do this, but GAINSCO offers this coverage via State Farm’s SR-22 insurance.
  • Non-owner insurance. If you regularly drive someone else’s car, non-owner coverage offers liability protection so you don’t have to pay for repairs out of pocket.

While State Farm does offer SR-22 coverage, the company may decline to file a form on your behalf. This is why many people decide to pursue coverage with GAINSCO instead of one of the larger companies.

GAINSCO essentially uses a State Farm SR-22 form, as State Farm is GAINSCO’s parent company. Still, GAINSCO is more likely to offer coverage to individuals with a DUI or another significant violation on their driving record.

Unlike many other auto insurance companies, GAINSCO does not offer many coverage options. Therefore, if you are not a high-risk driver and you don’t need an SR-22 filing, you may want to look elsewhere for coverage.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

GAINSCO Auto Insurance Rates Breakdown

Rates for GAINSCO car insurance vary based on several factors such as age and gender. State Farm, GAINSCO’s parent company, offers some of the cheapest rates for minimum coverage compared to other big names in auto insurance.

View as image

The table below shows how GAINSCO (State Farm) stacks up to the competition.

Liability Auto Insurance Average Rates From Top Providers
Insurance CompanyMonthly Rates
Allstate$61
American Family$44
Farmers$53
Geico$30
Liberty Mutual$67
Nationwide$44
Progressive$39
State Farm$33
Travelers$38
USAA$22
U.S. Average$45

And State Farm’s full coverage rates are also one of the cheapest among many of the well-known options in the U.S.

View as image

See below how State Farm compares to other top auto insurance companies.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates From the Top Providers
Insurance CompanyMonthly Rates
Allstate$160
American Family$117
Auto-Owners$87
Farmers$87
Geico$80
Liberty Mutual$174
Nationwide$115
Progressive$105
State Farm$86
Travelers$99
USAA$59
U.S. Average$119

Still, GAINSCO rates will likely be more expensive than those with State Farm or many other companies because of the risk associated with non-standard coverage.

How does your driving history affect your GAINSCO rates?

Your driving history plays a vital role in determining your rates with any insurance company. GAINSCO’s offers competitive rates for high-risk drivers with a not-so-stellar driving record.

You can get an idea of how much you might pay after a speeding ticket by comparing the top insurance companies’ rates below.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates: One Ticket vs. Clean Record
Insurance CompanyOne TicketClean Record
AAA$108$180
Allstate$188$166
American Family$136$116
Farmers$173$140
Geico$106$95
Hartford$136$175
Liberty Mutual$212$177
Nationwide$137$140
Progressive$140$120
State Farm$96$105
Travelers$134$160
U.S. Average$147$123

Rates for drivers involved in an accident will also be higher than those with a clean record. See rates from the top insurance companies below to learn what you can expect.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates: One Accident vs. Clean Record
Insurance CompanyOne AccidentClean Record
AAA$220$180
Allstate$225$166
American Family$176$116
Farmers$198$140
Geico$132$95
Hartford$230$175
Liberty Mutual$234$177
Nationwide$161$140
Progressive$186$120
State Farm$150$105
Travelers$200$160
U.S. Average$172$123

If you have a DUI on your record, you’ll definitely pay more for insurance and many insurers will refuse to cover you at all. But we’ve put together a list of the top insurance companies that do offer DUI insurance.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Driving Record
Insurance CompanyOne AccidentOne DUIOne TicketClean Record
AAA$220$240$220$180
Allstate$225$225$195$166
American Family$176$176$131$116
Farmers$198$198$176$140
Geico$132$132$125$95
Hartford$230$250$215$175
Liberty Mutual$234$234$217$177
Nationwide$161$161$175$140
Progressive$186$186$160$120
State Farm$150$102$138$105
Travelers$200$139$205$160
U.S. Average$172$173$152$123

You can go to the company’s website and get a quote to learn how much you would pay for GAINSCO auto insurance coverage. However, before you make any final decisions, compare your GAINSCO insurance quote to quotes from other companies in your area.

GAINSCO Auto Insurance Discounts Available

GAINSCO offers several options for people to save money with auto insurance discounts, including:

  • Auto-pay
  • Paid-in-full
  • Homeowners
  • Multi-car
  • Loyalty
  • Early signing

Discounts can help people save as much as 25% on car insurance. You can ask a GAINSCO representative how much you could save using the company’s discount options.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is GAINSCO Auto Insurance?

GAINSCO Auto Insurance is a company that provides auto insurance coverage to individuals and businesses. They offer a range of policies, including liability, comprehensive, collision, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

What types of vehicles does GAINSCO insure?

GAINSCO provides insurance coverage for a variety of vehicles, including cars, trucks, motorcycles, and recreational vehicles (RVs).

How can I get a quote from GAINSCO Auto Insurance?

You can get a quote from GAINSCO by visiting their website or contacting their customer service directly. They will ask for information about your vehicle, driving history, and other relevant details to provide an accurate quote.

What factors can affect my auto insurance premium with GAINSCO?

Several factors can influence your auto insurance premium with GAINSCO, including your driving record, age, location, type of vehicle, coverage limits, and deductible choices.

Can I customize my coverage with GAINSCO?

Yes, GAINSCO offers customizable coverage options to suit your needs. You can choose different limits and deductibles for various types of coverage.

Does GAINSCO offer any discounts on auto insurance?

GAINSCO provides various discounts to policyholders, such as safe driver discounts, multi-car discounts, and discounts for completing defensive driving courses. It’s best to inquire about specific discounts when obtaining a quote.

How do I file a claim with GAINSCO Auto Insurance?

To file a claim with GAINSCO, you can contact their claims department by phone or through their website. They will guide you through the process and help you gather the necessary information and documentation.

What is the customer service like with GAINSCO Auto Insurance?

GAINSCO Auto Insurance aims to provide excellent customer service. They have a dedicated customer support team that can assist with policy inquiries, claims, and other concerns.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura Kuhl

Insurance Content Team Lead

Laura Kuhl holds a Master’s Degree in Professional Writing from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington. Her career began in healthcare and wellness, creating lifestyle content for doctors, dentists, and other healthcare and holistic professionals. In 2018, she started writing for the cannabis industry. She curated news articles and insider interviews with investors and small business ow...

Insurance Content Team Lead

Daniel Walker

Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for GAINSCO Auto Insurance

2.55 (69 reviews)
1
July 14, 2023

Mark_M

Run Away!

Run Away!!! Very disappointing! Very poor communication skills and professionalism. They refuse to etend the lease on my rental car, eventhough they were very late to respond to the bodyshop and they were truly dragging their feet. If I can give less than one star I would. I called so many times and left so many messages, no respond and finally they start to respond with text. Really poor company! You will be very disappointed and frustrated.
1
June 28, 2023

Mad_va

Gainsco doesn't do right by it's customers

I was a victim of road rage and was hit by an 18 wheeler who left the scene. I called Gainsco and was told I could file against my policy but I chose to sue him but found out he was uninsured. Now Gainsco is refusing to pay because they have opted to say I was partially at fault so they don't have to pay. So Gainsco has hit me harder than that trucker.
1
March 31, 2023

Steve32

Poor customer service

Good luck trying to get a claim paid from one of their policy holders causing damage to your vehicle. I was rear-ended and they won't come out to look at the damage and sent me a $800 check for thousands of dollars in damage to my vehicle. Worse customer service I've ever had to deal with. I wouldn't recommend this company for insurance on a bicycle
1
October 21, 2022

Alfredo_J

Very poor Customer Service

I was recently in a accident and got rear ended. When I called my Adjuster “ [REDACTED NAME]” she had an attitude off the start. Even with a translator she was very rude and I will be switching my insurance once my 6 months are up. When I called State Farm (the driver at faults insurance) they we’re very nice throughout the whole process. I don’t understand how you can be so rude. Especially when it’s your job.
1
August 10, 2022

Misspakers

Worst CLAIMS SUPPORT EVER

I have only had them 2 months, got in an accident 4 days ago and still don't have a rental car. My adjuster has changed 3 times, no one returns calls or voicemail on full. Worst experience in all my 28 years of being a driver. I just need some a RENTAL CAR I mean it is apart of my coverage...
1
February 15, 2022

Tsw1981

Insurance lapse without knowing or informed by this company

Im very upset I've been with this company close to 3years. For the second time my insurance has lapsed and when I am always on auto pay. I've been driving with no insurance for 2months, I realized that this month was not drafted out of my account, so I called and they say it's canceled non payment, I'm beyond furious because I'm on AUTO PAY, IM dealing with fines and suspended registration because they didn't do something right and the man at cus...
Im very upset I've been with this company close to 3years. For the second time my insurance has lapsed and when I am always on auto pay. I've been driving with no insurance for 2months, I realized that this month was not drafted out of my account, so I called and they say it's canceled non payment, I'm beyond furious because I'm on AUTO PAY, IM dealing with fines and suspended registration because they didn't do something right and the man at customer service I spoke with was not helpful and short and told me I could start a new policy and my monthly payment was 89.00more, and ITS COMPLETELY GAINSCO FAULT, THEY SHOULD OF DRAFTED AUTO PAY AND WE ARE SUPPOSED TO TRUST IN COMPANIES WHEN WE DO THIS, BUT I CANT DO IT A 3RD TIME ITS UNFAIR, I FEEL LIKE GAINSCO SHOULD GO BACK AND FIX MY LAPSE SINCE IT WAS YOUR FAULT, IM NOT RISKING A 3RD TIME, THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE SUCKED AND NOT IN ANY WAY HELPFUL
1
February 11, 2022

Lalawter

Worse company ever

This is the worst company ever. I sold my car and tried to cancell the policy . so after call8ng for 3 days straight and talking is good untill i say i wanna cancell my policy then its pur you on hold or hang up on ypu. Finally talk to someone and told her i dont own the car she just said i cant cancell yourpolicy. So u took or stole $170 from me for a stranger to be insured in a car i dont own. Yall should be shut down
1
February 3, 2022

Zhanise26

A game toss

been with the company for over a year and I’m so disappointed. I have filed a claim and have been tossed from rep to rep for a week ! I have not talked to my adjuster [REDACTED NAME]
1
July 26, 2021

DerekC

Notice of Cancelation

Up until recently, I have had n complaints towards Gainsco. However, they've just sent me a threatening letter in the mail claiming they were going to kick me off my plan due to my payment being past due. Funny thing is I'm set up for direct deposit. The money was in my account at the time of the payment due date, but Gainsco made no attempt to collect my premium payment. I'm trying to call them and alert them of what happened and ask why. I've n...
Up until recently, I have had n complaints towards Gainsco. However, they've just sent me a threatening letter in the mail claiming they were going to kick me off my plan due to my payment being past due. Funny thing is I'm set up for direct deposit. The money was in my account at the time of the payment due date, but Gainsco made no attempt to collect my premium payment. I'm trying to call them and alert them of what happened and ask why. I've now been on hold for almost 30 mins and still no one has come to line to assist me. This whole thing has been a nightmare and I'm not going to wait around until next month to see if they've been able to fix the problem. Stay away from Gainsco
1
November 23, 2020

Brit10

Go the other way

This is one of the worse insurance companies to deal with. If you are considering them, I would say run the other way. You are constantly given the run around about your policy information. One agent tells you one thing, while another agent tells you something else. I requested that my policy be canceled and they gave me the run around about that. I have to write on paper, take a picture, then email just to cancel my policy. I requested that the ...
This is one of the worse insurance companies to deal with. If you are considering them, I would say run the other way. You are constantly given the run around about your policy information. One agent tells you one thing, while another agent tells you something else. I requested that my policy be canceled and they gave me the run around about that. I have to write on paper, take a picture, then email just to cancel my policy. I requested that the policy be canceled by the next billing period, but they decided to cancel it that day. Then they tried to act as if they did not see the note in the email. I was told I would be sent a check for the refunded amount, and here it is almost 10 days later and I have not received my money. However, when they decided to cancel the policy, that notice came in the mail right away. Again, I would advise looking into other companies before choosing this company.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption