State Farm Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Our State Farm auto insurance review found that State Farm insurance rating from A.M. Best is an A++, while BBB gives the company an A+. State Farm auto insurance rates average $86 per month. State Farm Steer Clear and Drive Safe & Save can help young and high-risk drivers get cheaper rates.

UPDATED: Feb 15, 2024Fact Checked

Leslie Kasperowicz

Farmers CSR for 4 Years

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insuranc...

Farmers CSR for 4 Years

Kristen Gryglik

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen is a licensed insurance agent working in the greater Boston area. She has over 20 years of experience counseling individuals and businesses on which insurance policies best fit their needs and budgets. She knows everyone has their own unique needs and circumstances, and she is passionate about counseling others on which policy is right for them. Licensed in Massachusetts, New Hampshire,...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Feb 15, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 15, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 15, 2024Fact Checked
4.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Farm

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$86

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • One of the largest insurance companies in the US
  • High levels of customer satisfaction
  • Affordable rates for people with a speeding ticket or an accident on their record
  • Wide variety of discounts available
  • Rideshare insurance

Cons

  • High rates for drivers with poor credit scores
  • No gap coverage
  • Options like new vehicle replacement, vanishing deductibles, and accident forgiveness are not available

Final Verdict: Review of State Farm

With a sizable market share, State Farm is one of the largest auto insurance companies in the United States. It offers several discounts for younger people or those who can prove they are safe drivers. From extensive coverage and discount options to excellent customer service, State Farm earns its spot as the largest insurance company in America.

Although State Farm auto insurance reviews tend to be positive, you might be able to find better insurance elsewhere. Make sure to compare quotes with as many companies as possible to find the best rates.

  • State Farm is the largest car insurance company in America and has a wide variety of coverage options
  • Aside from the standard options, State Farm also offers the Steer Clear discount for young drivers and the Drive Safe and Save program for drivers with good driving habits
  • State Farm has an A++ from A.M. Best and an A+ from the Better Business Bureau
[/su_box] The State Farm Insurance company started in 1922 as a small car insurance provider for farmers. Since then, it has grown into the largest car insurance provider in the nation. This company offers extensive insurance options and generous discounts called State Farm Mutual Insurance. From state minimum auto insurance requirements to full coverage insurance, State Farm has coverage for just about every need. Since State Farm receives excellent ratings, you can trust that your service will meet expectations.  

What You Should Know About State Farm Insurance

From state minimum auto insurance requirements to full coverage insurance, State Farm has coverage for just about every need. State Farm receives excellent ratings, but this State Farm auto insurance review compares monthly rates and discount opportunities to other top companies so you can find the best coverage.

Explore your options below, then compare rates to ensure you get the best policy possible.

State Farm Auto Insurance Review and Ratings

Although it struggles in some areas, State Farm auto insurance is one of the highest-rated of any coverage provider. State Farm has a strong reputation for its customer service, claims handling, and overall quality of coverage.

So, what is State Farm’s secret to its excellent reputation? For starters, State Farm offers a wide variety of insurance products that can meet virtually any driver’s needs. State Farm auto quotes are a little lower than the national average and are especially good for teens.

However, not all State Farm auto insurance reviews are perfect. Many customers feel like State Farm’s customer service is slipping and are looking for a new company.

State Farm Customer Service Review

In general, there aren’t many State Farm complaints regarding customer service. Most people enjoy State Farm’s customer support, saying that representatives are helpful and friendly. More than half of State Farm customers recommend the company to friends and family.

Not all State Farm car insurance reviews are positive, however. Some people say State Farm Insurance’s customer service representatives seem to go out of their way to not be helpful.

Despite some negative reviews, State Farm does well in customer service surveys — more than half of its customers say they are satisfied with the service.

State Farm Auto Insurance Claims Review

Filing an auto insurance claim with State Farm is a simple process. Perhaps the easiest way is to make a State Farm claim online. You can also use the mobile app or call the State Farm insurance claims phone number.

Once you report an incident, a State Farm auto insurance claims adjuster will review your claim and tell you your next step. Once the details are settled, State Farm will send you a check, direct deposit into your bank account, or pay the repair shop directly.

Customers love that State Farm keeps you up to date about the status of a claim. You can check the status online or on the app. If you prefer speaking to a person or you’re having issues, a representative can help if you call the State Farm auto claims phone number.

While State Farm usually receives good reviews for its claims handling, it does have unsatisfied customers. Many of these unhappy customers say State Farm claims customer service penalizes people for taking too long to finish claims, even if they were affected by COVID-19 lockdowns.

Even though there are some negative reviews, State Farm promises to make it right. If you have an issue, simply call the State Farm claims department phone number.

State Farm Auto Insurance Ratings

State Farm does well with professional rating companies.

A.M. Best rates companies based on their financial strength — the better the rating, the more stable a company is. State Farm gets an A++, meaning it will have no problem paying your claims. The Better Business Bureau (BBB) gives State Farm an A+ for its ability to resolve claims. However, there are hundreds of complaints on the BBB site.

Finally, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) compares a company’s complaints with its size. The national average number is 1.0 — anything higher means the company receives more complaints than similar companies. State Farm’s NAIC number is 1.44, meaning it receives more than the average number of complaints.

State Farm Insurance App

When you have the app from State Farm, filing a claim, making payments, and keeping track of your policy is easy. If you’re wondering, “Where are State Farm agents in my area?” the State Farm app can help you locate a local office.

The State Farm app is for more than car insurance — you can easily monitor every policy you have, including homeowners and life insurance. You can also download your State Farm insurance card, so you never have to worry about carrying a physical copy.

While it’s not necessary, you’ll have everything you need to manage your policy at your fingertips if you download the app.

If you already have the app and you run into a problem, you can call the State Farm auto insurance number for help.

State Farm Insurance Coverage Options

The long list of State Farm products is one of the most appreciated parts of this car insurance company. From state minimum requirements to full coverage, you can find State Farm vehicle insurance that perfectly fits your needs.

Consider the following State Farm automobile insurance options if you need coverage:

    • Liability insurance: Most states require a minimum amount of liability insurance to cover damage you cause in accidents. State Farm liability coverage includes bodily injury and property damage.

    • Collision insurance: You need collision insurance if you want your car covered after an accident. Collision insurance will help repair your vehicle, even if you hit a stationary object like a tree.

    • Comprehensive insurance: State Farm comprehensive coverage handles damage caused outside of accidents. It includes damage from fire, weather, vandalism, theft, and animal contact.

    • Uninsured motorist coverage: Although insurance is required in most states, not all drivers follow the law. This State Farm coverage protects you from drivers who don’t carry enough insurance.

    • Medical payments coverage: If you’re injured in an accident, medical payments coverage will help pay for your healthcare expenses. Medical payments add coverage value to your policy while not raising your State Farm auto insurance quote too much.

The amount of insurance best for you depends on your needs. State Farm’s full coverage car insurance is more expensive than minimum insurance but offers more protection for your car.

Minimum State Farm insurance coverage is a good option if you have a tight budget and own a car you can afford to replace. It depends on your state, but minimum insurance often consists of liability coverage only.

On the other hand, State Farm’s full coverage auto insurance includes liability, comprehensive, collision, uninsured motorist, and medical payments. You’ll probably need full coverage if you have a loan or a lease on your car.

If you’re not sure what you need, don’t worry. You can call the State Farm car insurance number, and a representative will help you decide which coverage options are best for you.

State Farm Auto Insurance Add-Ons

You can get your basic coverage needs met with a State Farm car insurance quote, but that’s not all you can buy. State Farm offers a variety of insurance options to improve the value of your policy, including:

    • Rideshare insurance. State Farm’s rideshare insurance is an add-on that increases your rates by about 15%. Rideshare insurance protects your car whenever you’re on the clock for companies like Lyft or Uber.

    • Rental car reimbursement. State Farm rental car coverage will pay or reimburse you for a temporary vehicle when yours is stuck in the shop.

    • Travel expenses. State Farm travel insurance pays for lodging, gas, and meals if you get in an accident more than 50 miles from home.

    • Roadside assistance. If you’re ever stranded on the side of the road with a flat tire, dead battery, or other similar issues, State Farm will send help.

Adding any of these options will raise your rates, but the protection they offer is worth it as long as it fits your budget. If you want more coverage but worry about how much it will cost, State Farm offers plenty of ways to save.

As the largest insurance provider in America, you’d expect State Farm to sell a variety of coverages. You’d be right to think so — State Farm has one of the largest selections of insurance products on the market.

Other Types of State Farm Insurance Coverage

If you’re interested in more coverage with State Farm, consider the following:

  • Motorcycle
  • Boat
  • Off-road vehicle
  • Motorhome
  • Travel trailers
  • Home/condo/renters/manufactured home
  • Rental property
  • Farm and ranch
  • Business owner
  • Commercial auto
  • Term/whole/universal life
  • Supplemental health
  • Pet coverage

As you can see, there’s a State Farm insurance policy to protect just about anything important in your life. As a bonus, you’ll earn a bundling discount when you buy more than one State Farm policy.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Farm Insurance Rates Breakdown

Although State Farm insurance quotes are the third-lowest of all major companies, the exact amount you’ll pay depends on a variety of factors. These factors include age, gender, driving history, location, and credit score.

How State Farm Determines Auto Insurance Rates

Every insurance company will use several factors to determine your individual rate. These factors will typically include the following:

  • Your age 
  • Your driving history
  • Vehicle type
  • ZIP Code
  • Credit history

The distance you drive and the time of day you are on the road may have an effect, and if you live in a high-crime area, the risk for theft or vandalism may be greater.

You may also have the option to choose the size of your car insurance deductible, which is the amount you will pay first when making a claim. This can raise or lower your rates depending on your deductible amount. 

State Farm rates tend to favor young drivers and people with an accident or DUI on their record. On the other hand, State Farm prices for drivers with low credit scores are usually higher than competitors. You can get an idea of how different factors affect your auto insurance below.

State Farm Auto Insurance Rates for Minimum Coverage

Although factors like your age and location play a key role in your rate, one of the biggest factors affecting your State Farm insurance price is how much coverage you want to buy.

Minimum coverage ensures you can legally drive but leaves you missing a lot of valuable protection. However, it is the cheapest insurance option you can buy. Check below to see how State Farm car insurance rates vary by coverage level.

View as image

Keep in mind that these rates will vary by location. Each state has its own requirements for insurance, so minimum coverage might be more expensive in your state.

For example, State Farm insurance in Florida is about double what State Farm in Massachusetts charges because Florida has higher coverage requirements. On the other hand, State Farm Insurance in Texas is much closer to Massachusetts because they have similar requirements.

State Farm Auto Insurance Rates for Full Coverage

Full coverage auto insurance covers your car for almost anything the road can throw at it, but it’s generally more expensive. You can compare State Farm rates with other companies below.

Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Coverage Level and Provider
Insurance CompanyMinimum CoverageFull Coverage
Allstate$61$160
American Family$44$117
Farmers$53$139
Geico$30$80
Liberty Mutual$68$174
Nationwide$44$115
Progressive$39$105
State Farm$33$86
Travelers$37$99
U.S. Average$45$119

You’ll probably need full coverage if you loan or lease your car. Even if you own your car outright, full coverage is never a bad idea if you can afford it.

State Farm Auto Insurance Rates by Age

Another vital piece to the puzzle of your insurance rate is your age. Young drivers are statistically more likely to cause accidents and file claims, which leads to higher prices than the average adult will see. You can check how State Farm compares to other companies below.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Age and Gender
Insurance Company18-Year-Old Male18-Year-Old Female30-Year-Old Male30-Year-Old Female45-Year-Old Male45-Year-Old Female55-Year-Old Male55-Year-Old Female65-Year-Old Male65-Year-Old Female
AAA$378$328$103$99$86$88$81$83$84$86
Allstate$203$180$79$74$59$59$56$56$57$58
American Family$414$305$137$116$117$115$111$109$114$113
Farmers$629$597$167$160$139$139$131$132$136$136
Geico$254$220$87$90$80$80$76$76$78$78
Hartford$469$407$133$126$113$115$107$109$109$112
Liberty Mutual$626$626$200$174$174$171$165$162$170$96
Nationwide$387$303$136$124$115$113$109$107$114$113
Progressive$662$591$136$131$105$112$100$106$103$109
State Farm$284$229$103$94$86$86$82$82$84$84
Travelers$740$530$108$99$99$98$94$93$97$96
U.S. Average$501$416$139$128$119$119$113$113$117$117

As you can see, State Farm vehicle quotes for teens and young drivers are some of the lowest.

View as image

Teens can save even more with State Farm’s Steer Clear program.

State Farm Auto Insurance Rates by Driving Record

Your driving record contains details about your past, including speeding tickets, accidents, and DUIs. How infractions like speeding tickets affect your auto insurance varies depending on how long your record clears. However, the average time a violation affects your insurance is about three years.

State Farm offers affordable insurance for people with imperfect driving records. Compare State Farm’s rates with other companies below.

View as image

Unfortunately, your driving record isn’t the only thing that affects your rates — your neighbors’ records also play a role.

Take State Farm car insurance in Florida as an example. Florida has one of the highest rates of accidents in the country. When you get State Farm auto insurance in Florida, your rates will be higher because of the increased likelihood of an accident, no matter your driving record.

State Farm Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Score

While it shines in other areas, State Farm’s car insurance rates are not the best for people with bad credit scores.

Insurance companies keep careful track of claims data, and people with lower credit scores are likelier to file a claim. The table below shows that people with low credit scores pay much more for their insurance.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Credit Score
Insurance CompanyPoor CreditFair CreditGood Credit
AAA$245$165$135
Allstate$296$197$166
American Family$203$136$116
Farmers$269$161$140
Geico$148$100$82
Hartford$230$155$120
Liberty Mutual$355$226$177
Nationwide$166$133$120
Progressive$206$138$109
State Farm$200$118$91
Travelers$194$128$107
U.S. Average$226$148$123

If your credit score is lower, you might be better off with a different company. However, your credit score is only one factor that affects your rates. You should still compare quotes with State Farm, even if your score is low.

How State Farm Compares Against Other Auto Insurance Providers

Discover the intricate comparisons between State Farm and other leading auto insurance providers in the market with our detailed breakdown below.

View as image

State Farm Insurance Discounts Available

When it comes to car insurance, discounts are one of the best ways to save. There are also many State Farm auto insurance discounts:

  • Good driving
  • Good student
  • Accident-free
  • Drive Safe and Save
  • Multi-car
  • Bundling
  • Safety features
  • Young driver education
  • Student away at school
  • Passive restraints

Some discounts are relatively small, such as the passive restraint discount. However, State Farm’s good student discount can help teens save a substantial amount on their coverage.

State Farm’s Drive Safe and Save

Most major insurance companies offer usage-based auto insurance plans for drivers who spend less time behind the wheel. While it’s not a standalone plan, State Farm provides the Drive Safe and Save program.

Drive Safe and Save is a monitoring app that tracks your driving habits, how much you drive, what time you’re on the road, and cell phone use while driving. The safer you drive, the better your discount will be. However, State Farm guarantees that any driver using the Drive Safe and Save app will get a discount on their insurance, no matter how they drive.

The average discount with this program is 30%, but some drivers get up to 50% off. This makes State Farm’s monitoring discount potentially the largest of any provider, beating out Progressive Snapshot, Liberty Mutual RightTrack, and Gieco DriveEasy.

State Farm reviews are generally positive for Drive Safe and Save, with most customers reporting they are happy with their savings. Drive Safe and Save is a great opportunity to save, but you should be comfortable with an app monitoring your driving.

Most customers say the Drive Safe and Save app is easy to use, but you can contact State Farm technical support 24/7 if you run into issues.

State Farm Steer Clear App

Finding cheap auto insurance for teens and young drivers can be challenging, but State Farm wants to help. As long as you or your child meet the requirements, you could be eligible to earn the State Farm Steer Clear discount.

The Steer Clear program is open to drivers under 25 years old who have not had an accident or moving violation in the past three years. The app offers driver-focused training for young people, and once they become certified, they can earn a discount of up to 15%.

Steer Clear tracks driving habits and aims to help young people get the experience they need behind the wheel. This program consists of modules that teach inexperienced drivers how to handle risky situations and everyday annoyances, like driving in bad weather and changing lanes.

Steer Clear drivers have six months to complete the modules and must log at least five hours of driving in 10 trips. Once you complete the Steer Clear training program, you’ll be eligible for savings on car insurance quotes from State Farm.

To qualify for Steer Clear, you must be under the age of 25, have a valid driver’s license, and have no at-fault incidents within the last three years.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is State Farm’s biggest competitor?

Geico is State Farm’s biggest competitor in terms of rates and nationwide availability.

Is State Farm auto insurance better than Allstate?

State Farm auto insurance rates are cheaper than Allstate, but your unique coverage needs will determine the best car insurance company for you.

Which is better, Safeco or State Farm auto insurance?

State Farm has more competitive rates and is available in more states than Safeco, but you should compare auto insurance quotes and coverage options from both companies to determine which will fit your needs.

Does State Farm have a good reputation for paying auto insurance claims?

State Farm Auto Insurance has a streamlined claims process. When you need to file a claim, you can do so online, through the State Farm mobile app, or by contacting their claims department directly. State Farm assigns a claims representative who will guide you through the process, assess the damages, and help you with the necessary paperwork.

Will State Farm drop me for too many auto insurance claims?

State Farm may drop you if you file three major claims over a three-year period, but your driving history will ultimately determine if you’re eligible for coverage.

Why is State Farm denying auto insurance claims?

Insufficient evidence is one of the main reasons State Farm will deny your auto insurance claim. Always take photos and get witness statements when possible to help support your claim and ensure you get a fair settlement.

How long does State Farm take to offer an auto insurance settlement?

State Farm aims to make offers to policyholders within 30-45 days of filing a claim.

Does State Farm have automatic auto insurance payments?

State Farm offers several payment options to accommodate different preferences. You can choose to pay your auto insurance premiums annually, semi-annually, quarterly, or monthly. They accept payment methods such as credit/debit cards, electronic funds transfer (EFT), and checks. You can also choose automatic payments from a bank account or credit/debit card. If you wish, switch off paperless statements and rely on digital reminders.

How does State Farm determine the value of a totaled car?

To determine the value of a totaled vehicle, State Farm assesses the condition of the vehicle and compares it to similar makes and model years. The company then subtracts your deductible and applicable taxes to reach a settlement offer.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Leslie Kasperowicz

Farmers CSR for 4 Years

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insuranc...

Farmers CSR for 4 Years

Kristen Gryglik

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen is a licensed insurance agent working in the greater Boston area. She has over 20 years of experience counseling individuals and businesses on which insurance policies best fit their needs and budgets. She knows everyone has their own unique needs and circumstances, and she is passionate about counseling others on which policy is right for them. Licensed in Massachusetts, New Hampshire,...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for State Farm Insurance

4.09 (17,754 reviews)
1
February 5, 2024

Chopper407

Two thumbs down for the claims department.

State Farm appears to be riding high with their NFL player commercials all the while treating their customers with little to no valve. State Farm’s claim department is cheap and unorganized. You’ll get a different answer to the same question every time you talk to a different claim specialist. When it comes to getting your car fixed expect to have to pay for repairs. I have full coverage and had damage done to my car. When I took it to a shop...
State Farm appears to be riding high with their NFL player commercials all the while treating their customers with little to no valve. State Farm’s claim department is cheap and unorganized. You’ll get a different answer to the same question every time you talk to a different claim specialist. When it comes to getting your car fixed expect to have to pay for repairs. I have full coverage and had damage done to my car. When I took it to a shop recommended by the dealer the State Farm adjuster undercut the shops prices left and right leaving me with a $1167.00 bill. Then they give me bs excuses why I’m out of pocket. I can only imagine what they would do if my house was damaged from a Hurricane or wind storm. This has been a terrible experience for my wife and I and will be switching to a different insurance company in the near future.
5
October 28, 2023

trailrunner87

Excellent Insurance Experience with State Farm

I unfortunately hit a deer and my front end was damaged to a small extent. State Farm made my car repair and rental car process seamless. Since there was no one involved in my accident besides myself, I decided to try their app to log my claim and I had a very easy experience. I didn't have to submit photos since it was a deer that caused it and it gave me next steps clearly and quickly. It gave me a list of collision centers and rental car pla...
I unfortunately hit a deer and my front end was damaged to a small extent. State Farm made my car repair and rental car process seamless. Since there was no one involved in my accident besides myself, I decided to try their app to log my claim and I had a very easy experience. I didn't have to submit photos since it was a deer that caused it and it gave me next steps clearly and quickly. It gave me a list of collision centers and rental car places, let me know what my rental car allowance was since I had recently added that to my policy, and let me know my deductible clearly at the end. I did everything through the app. Within a few hours, someone called me from State Farm to make sure I was okay and to ask if I needed any clarification or help navigating the app. She was caring and easy to talk to. I also love my agent, Bob Garrigan, and his whole team. They have always been there to discuss things with, to make good decisions with, and to support whatever I choose to do. I have never felt taken advantage of. I had two other accident claims with them a few years ago. Both went smoothly as well - both times, men rear-ended me. The first gentleman lied about it to avoid a policy issue on his end and my agent stayed the course and continued to patiently work with his insurance company until they took ownership of his actions and paid the claim. The second time I was rear-ended, the young man didn't contest his part in it, but the collision center was difficult to work with and State Farm had to call them out for their poor performance and work on my behalf. This is how an insurance company should treat their customer. I plan to stay with State Farm for as long as they give five star service.
1
October 19, 2023

Ann_Smith

To "Insure" a downfall

State Farm, as with many insurance companies care about only 1 thing. Money. I think the best way to understand it is just to watch the Incredibles, and that scene with Bob at his job. Does it matter who is at fault? No. Does it matter what the circumstances were? No. Does it matter if anybody is being unethical? No. What matters is the cold, hard cash. You can pay thousands of dollars, have a fender bender with barely a scratch and OOOP, they ha...
State Farm, as with many insurance companies care about only 1 thing. Money. I think the best way to understand it is just to watch the Incredibles, and that scene with Bob at his job. Does it matter who is at fault? No. Does it matter what the circumstances were? No. Does it matter if anybody is being unethical? No. What matters is the cold, hard cash. You can pay thousands of dollars, have a fender bender with barely a scratch and OOOP, they had to pay money to fix it? Strike one. Soon enough, you are out with yesterday's garbage. Heaven forbid you have a child learning how to drive and something goes wrong. I can promise you it will haunt them for years to come. They say they only look at the past three years. That would be a lie. They say they have your back, and that would be a lie. Any possibility they have to pay anything, even if only partial fault, they can, and will, throw the sack at ya. With that said, it does have some lovely agents. I could rave about how awesome they are. Heck, an agent thought it would be ridiculous to sack somebody over what happened to me, but, you know, he appealed and the company still said "Whaaat, we must pay money even though the person has barely had issues? No way!" Amazing how they can hire good ethical employees, but can't be a good ethical business. You can spend way more in premiums than they have ever had to pay for anything, but who cares? They don't want to to ever have to do their job. Insurance is required by law. But what is the point of having insurance when at the snap of the fingers they can dig up something that happened when you were learning how to drive and compare it to a small fender bender in the future and say "We don't want that!" What is to feel safe about? The motto "we got your back... as long as you are the only one who has to pay us anything. Ever." Should be their slogan. You can't learn from mistakes, even if you never make them again, you can't have complications with a new license without it haunting your future. You can't be human, and sometimes make human error. Insurance is there to ensure you will be ok. The only thing state farm ensures is their path to your wallet, and a way to ditch if any of YOUR money ever has to come back to you because things happen.
1
September 16, 2023

romomy

Ridiculous Rate Increases

They just raised my rate by $100.00 which was bad enough but they raised my mother's $400.00. She's on a fixed income and her rate was already ridiculously high. She has a good driving record and has been with SF for decades. When we made a move to the West coast, they doubled what she was paying back home (from a little over $600.00 per yr to $1200 every six months) and now to raise it another $400.00 after six months is adding insult to inju...
They just raised my rate by $100.00 which was bad enough but they raised my mother's $400.00. She's on a fixed income and her rate was already ridiculously high. She has a good driving record and has been with SF for decades. When we made a move to the West coast, they doubled what she was paying back home (from a little over $600.00 per yr to $1200 every six months) and now to raise it another $400.00 after six months is adding insult to injury. She worked her entire life and always paid her bill on time. No accidents, tickets, etc. No way she can afford $1600.00 every six months. That's if they don't raise it again in 6 months. It is appalling that they treat decades long customers this way. She's supposed to be enjoying retirement but how is she supposed to do that when she can't drive? If you think being with SF forever will help you in your twilight years forget it. They don't care about longterm business. Obviously, they raised her rate so much because they know she can't pay that much and they get to drop her without being called out for age discrimination. Changing companies ASAP.
4
July 22, 2023

Jen Anders

State Farm Insurance review

The State Farm Drive Safe & Save app is below average. Doesn\'t record every trip as it should. Requires my cellphone to have everything on (Location, Storage, Bluetooth, Physical Location, Phone, etc.), but lowers your trip score if the phone moves, jostles, or slides at all while you drive, A pain in the neck to deal with it every time. Also, it recorded a trip I did not make in my vehicle, but that my spouse drove us in his vehicle. So far af...
The State Farm Drive Safe & Save app is below average. Doesn\'t record every trip as it should. Requires my cellphone to have everything on (Location, Storage, Bluetooth, Physical Location, Phone, etc.), but lowers your trip score if the phone moves, jostles, or slides at all while you drive, A pain in the neck to deal with it every time. Also, it recorded a trip I did not make in my vehicle, but that my spouse drove us in his vehicle. So far after1 month its only an $11.10 discount for 6 months, but we will see. I would not recommend this app. Allstatea was much more user friendly and less \"Big Brother.\"
5
May 3, 2023

LHN

Personal article policy

[REDACTED NAME] was very helpful with my personal articles policy. I made my payment for 2023 to my auto policy. She was very helpful to ensure payment when to the correct department.
1
March 17, 2023

Love2sing_

Customer Concerns or Customer Loyalty Mean Nothing

After almost 20 years of being a State Farm customer, I will be moving on to another insurance carrier. I took my car to be repaired at a State Farm preferred body shop after a collision with a deer. Traumatizing! The repair shop didn’t submit all the needed repairs to State Farm in an effort to cut corners and still do the work just barely under the threshold of my vehicle being totaled. When I went to pick up my car, the engine light was on, ...
After almost 20 years of being a State Farm customer, I will be moving on to another insurance carrier. I took my car to be repaired at a State Farm preferred body shop after a collision with a deer. Traumatizing! The repair shop didn’t submit all the needed repairs to State Farm in an effort to cut corners and still do the work just barely under the threshold of my vehicle being totaled. When I went to pick up my car, the engine light was on, my instrument panel wasn’t working, and my sunroof liner was still sagging inside the vehicle. The repair shop relayed to State Farm that such issues were “pre-existing” issues. This claim was totally untrue. I ended up taking my vehicle to the dealership to fix the electrical issues that did not exist prior to the accident. It was determined at the dealership that those issues were a result of unsavory work performed at the body shop. The final issue was the sunroof liner. The body shop still insisted it was a pre-existing condition. I contacted State Farm directly with my concern. They told me unless I had a photo of the liner intact before the accident, they would stand by the report of the body shop because the shop is on their preferred list. How absurd! My only request was that they send a State Farm representative to look at the sunroof. They would not comply, and I was told that if I need to change insurance companies, they would understand. As a result, I am now financially responsible for this outstanding repair to my vehicle. So, no I would not recommend State Farm as an insurance carrier. They were NOT “like a good neighbor.” They were NOT “there” for me as a customer. If you do select them, make sure you take a picture of your vehicle intact right before you anticipate an accident. Absurd!
1
March 2, 2023

Amb13

Rather have no insurance

If there is ever a possibility that you may be in an accident, even if you didn't cause it and tried to avoid it.....DONT go to state farm. When your in an accident they don't want to help. They argue about paying you and when they do, it I'd never on time. They keep upping their prices. I wouldn't tell my worst enemy to get insurance through here and have had multiple people go somewhere else. TERRIBLE COMPANY!
1
February 18, 2023

Cristel94

No accountability from them

I had an accident a while back and they got my car fixed at a location THEY recommended. I had it fixed (according to the location) and I left just fine. Exactly one year later I’m starting to have issues with my car and after a few discoveries, I knew it stemmed from that accident. I called State Farm and they had me take it to get looked at and go from there. I took it to a collision center and waited for my car to get looked at. It has been ...
I had an accident a while back and they got my car fixed at a location THEY recommended. I had it fixed (according to the location) and I left just fine. Exactly one year later I’m starting to have issues with my car and after a few discoveries, I knew it stemmed from that accident. I called State Farm and they had me take it to get looked at and go from there. I took it to a collision center and waited for my car to get looked at. It has been a mess from there and I had no car for about a month! In that month it was full of no communication from their end, and no responsibility and accountability over something I was 100% sure stemmed from that accident, seeing as my car was perfectly fine before. I have received mostly bad customer service from workers there who spoke to me with little patience, condescending tones and if I was a disturbance, as if I haven’t been a loyal customer for YEARS. Everyone who was helping me with this case outside of the state farm team has been super helpful and patient because they understand how much of a stress this can be to someone. In the end I had two different people come out to estimate my car, the second time me being there to help them understand what they need to be looking at. The estimator the second time even saw defects the previous people who fixed my car had done. I’m the end, they still didn’t believe it was from this, but instead because this was originally a salvage vehicle so it MUST be from that. Ignoring the fact that my car was perfectly fine beforehand and had no issues with ANYTHING, including getting it aligned. Distraught, I had to drive an unsafe vehicle for a week, clutching at the wheel and hoping I can make it to and from my destinations, until I had a body shop guy look at my car and see what was going on. I took it today and he said, just as I imagined, the entire issue was from the side where (shock!) the accident occurred! The left side was fine. As soon as I fix the right side, my car should be fine. The previous people who had my car literally destroyed my vehicle and even caused me to have a what could have been deadly accident where my tire split, and State Farm simply backed them up (not to mention that place closed so that shows how “reputable” they were) instead of supporting a loyal customer for years. We pay hundreds to insurance companies a month and the rare times we need them to use the money we give them, they treat us like crap and take no responsibility for taking us to a place that don’t fix my car and almost had me killed. I’m not even typing out all the small details on this issue and look how long this review had to be! Truly I may just switch insurances because this has been such a horrible experience and I hope the next place actually cares about their customers. “Like a good neighbor, State Farm is there”? Lmao if they were my “good neighbors”, I’d close my blinds and ignore them if they rang my doorbell to come over…
1
February 3, 2023

Nsu_1617

State Farm Insurance is really bad!!!

Here in Maryland, State Farm has a lion's share of car insurance. Everywhere you look, there an agent. I used to have a policy with them, but changed to a competitor when they their rates. Long story short, my wife was involved in an auto accident with their client who changed lanes, drove into my wife's leading to a collision with damage to my wife's front bumper. State Farm kept stringing me on for two weeks and eventually refused to pay for da...
Here in Maryland, State Farm has a lion's share of car insurance. Everywhere you look, there an agent. I used to have a policy with them, but changed to a competitor when they their rates. Long story short, my wife was involved in an auto accident with their client who changed lanes, drove into my wife's leading to a collision with damage to my wife's front bumper. State Farm kept stringing me on for two weeks and eventually refused to pay for damages. Every time I called, a representative was giving me a different story. The company sucks.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption