MetLife Auto Insurance Review (2022)

MetLife offers many types of auto insurance and coverage add-ons. It is one of the largest insurance providers in the world and has an A+ financial rating from AM Best.

UPDATED: Sep 30, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Sep 30, 2022Fact Checked
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

MetLife Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

[/su_box]

MetLife, short for Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, is one of the most well-known insurance companies in existence. Part of this is because everyone recognizes their well-known mascot, Snoopy.

The other reason is because of the company’s success at serving over 90 million customers in over 60 countries. MetLife serves its clients in the United States, Japan, Latin America, Asia-Pacific, Europe, and the Middle East.

MetLife has been in existence for over 140 years. The company began as a private insurer for soldiers and sailors during the Civil War protecting them against disabilities.

Before reading our MetLife Insurance review, compare auto insurance quotes online by entering your zip code now!

Is MetLife, Inc. a Good Choice?

Is MetLife in all 50 states?

MetLife’s long-standing good reputation in the industry makes them a great prospect for your next auto insurance policy. The company’s sheer size means that it serves all 50 states, including the Marshall Islands and the Virgin Islands.

That’s a plus for drivers who may be moving from one state to another and do not want to switch car insurance providers.

Additionally, drivers with a carrier whose coverage follows you throughout the 50 states and the listed island groupings can travel freely without much hassle.

It takes away some of the concerns for how a claim might be handled in another state.

Additionally, MetLife Auto has demonstrated as a company to have the substantial financial resources to consistently pay claims, according to various credit rating agencies.

They have consistent A-ratings. Customers are consistently satisfied with their claims experience as well.

How is MetLife Auto Insurance’s customer service?

When MetLife first began, their agents established a personal relationship with its clients. For example, agents called their clients at the same time every week.

It has since expanded its coverage greatly and maintains a strong presence in the insurance industry with an A.M. Best rating of A+.

By giving customers this personal attention, the company was able to grow. Personal attention can still be obtained through MetLife’s local offices today.

MetLife also provides online customer service. Through the website, an insured can do the following:

  • manage their account
  • contact MetLife
  • pay insurance bills
  • change an address
  • find claim information

Forms are also provided online which explain MetLife Insurance products in detail.

The website also contains a section on helpful hints such as ways to keep your car safe while traveling.

These tips include keeping at least one-quarter tank of gas in your vehicle at all times, never leaving valuables in your car, looking in the backseat upon entering the vehicle, and other recommendations that can protect your well being as you travel.

Does MetLife Auto have insurance agents?

MetLife agents can be located online depending on the state you reside. Agents are also listed by region. You can contact an agent by visiting their office, calling them on the phone, sending a fax, or email.

If you are only interested in getting a quote, the website permits you to get an instant quote by entering your zip code or by calling 1-800-MET-AUTO.

MetLife offices are locally managed to provide the best customer service possible. Major locations are listed on the website, but the company’s headquarters is located within the former Pan Am building in midtown Manhattan at:

200 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10166

How can I start a career at MetLife?

MetLife has received much recognition as an employer. They have been awarded with the following:

  • “World’s Most Admired Company”
  • “Top Company for Executive Women”
  • “Top 50 Companies for Diversity”
  • “Best Place to Launch a Career”
  • “Best Company for Working Mothers”
  • “Best Adoption-Friendly Workplace”

There is a multitude of career opportunities at MetLife. The website is extensive in the various employment opportunities available according to your skill or background.

Jobs can be searched as a professional or even as a student looking for an opportunity to work at MetLife.

Career paths and career guides are also available on the website to help you determine the best career fit for your personality and job skill.

What do customer reviews say about MetLife?

The customer insurance reviews of MetLife vary greatly. It seems most customers begin quite happily with MetLife due to their good rates and discounts. Often, they incur a problem which changes their positive experience to one of negativity.

However, knowing their long history, strong ratings with all financial credit rating companies, huge client base and standing within the industry, MetLife must be doing right.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

MetLife, Inc. Discounts Available

As a MetLife policyholder, there are auto insurance discounts available if you meet the stated requirements. For example:

  • You can receive a $50 credit towards your deductible every year you are accident-free, with a maximum of $250 for a lifetime.
  • Completing a safe driving course can earn you up to a seven percent discount on your policy.
  • Multi-policy discounts are another way to save money.
  • If your household is claim and violation free for five years, MetLife offers an additional discount. The discounts to drivers vary by state but can be as much as 20 percent off of your policy.
  • High school students who bring home excellent grades can receive a student discount of up to 15 percent on the policy.

MetLife, Inc. Coverage Options

What policies does MetLife Auto Insurance offer?

MetLife offers many options for auto insurance.

The collision and comprehensive options take care of car accidents, theft, vandalism, fire, flood, and hail damage. This coverage also allows for new car replacement should you wreck your vehicle within one year of ownership or 15,000 miles.

Major parts are replaced due to the accident and are guaranteed as long as repairs are done through an approved facility.

Additional coverage, which is standard to MetLife Insurance, is also provided to its clients. For example, glass repairs are completed without any deductible being spent.

Identity protection coverage is provided at no additional cost, and uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is also considered standard under a MetLife policy.

MetLife also covers the rental vehicle if you get in an accident while driving one.

The rental car insurance includes towing, decrease in market value of the rental, accident claims handling expenses, and rental income lost by the rental company during the vehicle’s repairs. However, this coverage is not permitted in North Carolina.

Personal Injury Protection is another benefit to MetLife policyholders. PIP covers medical services to the customer as needed.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for MetLife, Inc.

4.02 (977 reviews)
1
March 5, 2021

NickDigi55

RUN AWAY!!!!

MetLife Auto has given my wife nothing but [REDACTED WORD]. She worked for [REDACTED NAME] and it came out of her paycheck but once she left [REDACTED NAME] it became [REDACTED WORD]. I would like to talk about our experience from November through March 5th. In November we made a payment over the phone. We were told by the representative that is covers the full months of December and January. We were also told we wouldn’t have to pay until ...
MetLife Auto has given my wife nothing but [REDACTED WORD]. She worked for [REDACTED NAME] and it came out of her paycheck but once she left [REDACTED NAME] it became [REDACTED WORD]. I would like to talk about our experience from November through March 5th. In November we made a payment over the phone. We were told by the representative that is covers the full months of December and January. We were also told we wouldn’t have to pay until February. In January we receive a notice that our policy is going to be canceled due to no payment. We were very confused since we were told we won’t have to pay until February. Also, the amount owed was very confusing because based the yearly premium divided by 12 it was not the amount they said we owed. We call MetLife and get a female representative. We asked simple questions; “why do we owe if we were told something different in November?” No answer for this one. Just a confused worker. Next question “Why does it say we owe over $300 if our yearly premium divided by 12 is $140?” Representative hangs up on us. Rather then find out answers all they do at MetLife is hang up. Call the next day, Finally we get an intelligent agent. He was great. He explained that MetLife charges 9 times a year and not 12 hence the amount being off to us. Explained to us that the first agent was wrong in November and you have to pay in advanced for February/March and have to make that payment in January. Asked us if we would like to do monthly auto payments instead of paying this weird amount 9 times a year. We said yes, this makes perfect sense. Auto payments and don’t have to deal with these terrible MetLife auto agents. Gives us clear instructions. “Call February 1st, make payment over phone of $135 and email the paperwork for auto payment once you pay”. We call February 1st, make the payment. We email paperwork and received a text that auto payment is complete and will start March 1st. Here comes today March 5th. We check out bank account no payment has been taken out. We look online and see our policy is canceled. At this moment I’m thinking here is my 22 week pregnant wife driving without insurance and no one even notified us. I’m very angry as you can imagine. We call 4 times today, the first agent has no answers, takes our number and says a supervisor will call us. Do these agents know anything? Can they look into an issue themselves and get an answer? Guess what I’m not waiting now. I tell my wife I’m calling. Next agent I call and I didn’t even give her a chance to speak said things I shouldn’t of but as you can imagine finding out your pregnant wife is not covered with car insurance without notification to fix an issue is very infuriating. Says she’s going to transfer me to a supervisor. Guess what? Hangs up instead. Why is everything (I need a supervisor or hanging up)with this company? I call back, speak more politely. She informs me that the insurance policy was canceled on February 1st, the same day we called and made the payment! We got a text after February 1st saying we are enrolled in autopay. As you can imagine we have no idea our policy is canceled especially since payment was accepted on February 1st and we got a text afterwards saying we are enrolled in auto pay. Autopay for what? You canceled our policy February 1st. She says she’s going to transfer me to a supervisor, here we go again I’m thinking. Another incompetent MetLife auto agent that needs supervision. He explained to us that the person in February 1st messed up and we would of been covered if something happened. They never fixed the cancelation notice by accident. He tried to twist it on us “if you would of paid the $320 in January this would of never been an issue, we did you the favor” If someone in November is telling us we are paid for December and January; then get a $320 bill in January we aren’t going to pay it blindly. If your team was able to tell us why we had to pay the first time we called it would of never been an issue. Then the next guy offered us automatically monthly payments so of course we going to accept that over being billed random amounts with no explanations! He then offered to reinstate us and charge us the amount for March 1st, we went elsewhere. Stay again from MetLife Auto!
3
February 2, 2021

kvothe

Met Life

It was very amazing and good because they offer the best deals and they put great effort into their job to keep it in the best form possible.
5
January 10, 2021

angie304

Metlife

Metlife is a very good choice.They are there for you 24-7...The agents are very helpful in every way.
5
January 6, 2021

0962550901

[REDACTED ADDRESS]

This company is very good and offers us excellent service and classy customer service and can be recommended
4
November 27, 2020

NJAJ

Good Auto insurance for 1st time buyer

Excellent process to expedite the quote of auto insurance. Easy process to renew and good customer service
5
October 23, 2020

johnrandy007

good

its a good for any man auto insurance. its provide good services to the customers. its a good for all
4
October 8, 2020

Watson

Great Metlife

I like the company Met life which is the best insurance company right now. I like the company environment. They are good at their business.
5
July 11, 2020

cyberkisses

Nice!

I thought the company was great! it was super simple to work with and it didn't take too long for them to approve you!
2
June 29, 2020

Lilfurly004

terrible service

They aren’t very good…they like to rip you off. I needed customer support but they continually hang the phone up
5
June 26, 2020

jef_thom

pleased

this company seems a very friendly and supportive to its customer. And their policies are enough friendly.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption