Safeway Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Looking at Safeway auto insurance? They offer non-standard policies as well as cheap auto insurance, and have a financial rating of A (Excellent) from A.M. Best.

UPDATED: Sep 27, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 27, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 27, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Sep 27, 2022Fact Checked
3.3
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safeway Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Safeway Car Insurance began offering insurance products in 1959
  • Safeway Insurance is the largest family-owned private insurer. They service more than a quarter of a million policyholders
  • Safeway Insurance is an agency that offers no-fault policies, as well as standard policies, to meet the needs of any type of driver

Cons

  • Safeway Insurance is not yet set up to receive your claim online

The Bottom Line

Safeway offers no-fault policies, as well as standard policies. No-fault policies can also be called Personal Injury Protection policies; they help cover any bodily injury or loss of income you or your passengers may sustain in an accident, regardless of who is at fault. Because this is a small insurance agency, they offer a lot more flexibility than some of the bigger players out in the field.

Safeway Insurance Group is actually a group of companies made up of businesses with similar names in the states where they operate, such as:

  • Safeway Insurance Company of Georgia
  • Safeway Insurance Company of Arizona
  • Safeway Insurance Company of Louisiana
  • Oakbrook County Mutual Insurance Company
  • SPIC Financial Corporation

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safeway Insurance Co. vs. Competitors

This is a solvent company based on the rating it received from A.M. Best, the most recognized auto insurance rating company.

A.M. Best issued Safeway an “A” (Excellent). This indicates that the company is in good standing among its peers and policyholders.

This company has a definite online presence in the form of information about the company and its different insurance coverage options, along with many reviews. Several people have had bad experiences with Safeway that made them so angry they made comments to the Ripoff Report.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Safeway Insurance Co.

3.29 (93 reviews)
5
March 19, 2020

Laury-Espinal

Excellent service

I am so grateful for this company. I highly recommend it. I truly love the way they treat me and how effective they are.
1
January 27, 2020

Rizz

Do not by Safeway Insurance you will be robbed constantly

My first and my worst experience I've ever had with the insurance company ever they will constantly Rob and steal from you from 32 more dollars every single time you owe if there is an emergency that is totally out of your control on a day that there is no customer service the next day that there is customer service you're still screwed .they will steal your money and will not give it back even if you paid on your due date. They will snatch you o...
My first and my worst experience I've ever had with the insurance company ever they will constantly Rob and steal from you from 32 more dollars every single time you owe if there is an emergency that is totally out of your control on a day that there is no customer service the next day that there is customer service you're still screwed .they will steal your money and will not give it back even if you paid on your due date. They will snatch you off your automatic pay and make you old your next bill within the next two weeks when you're supposed to pay monthly they rob still and Rob and steal and Rob and I'm desperately looking for better insurance .
1
October 8, 2019

Ibeck6650

RIP OFF

Horrible experience. Moral of story they don’t cover everything that they say they cover . They actually don’t cover anything! I had to purchase my car out of towing cash and now I have to get it fix cash because the insurance I pay for on time doesn’t cover any expensive. WOW such a rip off !
4
July 19, 2019

beatgodz

if you cheap like me

very cheap always ready to help always under 100. fast soons as you have the cash your insured and safe to drive
1
July 1, 2019

Chase

The worst company ever

The worst, lien, don’t call, claim just sitting in there computer insurance company ever. I spoke with [REDACTED NAME] one day we closed a offer, he told me to call back the next business day. I call back he say another offer that’s 50 dollars lower like we didn’t just closed on a offer.. so I ask to speak to his supervisor, he put me on hold, then came back and told me she said his offer is his offer and if I don’t take it he will go low...
The worst, lien, don’t call, claim just sitting in there computer insurance company ever. I spoke with [REDACTED NAME] one day we closed a offer, he told me to call back the next business day. I call back he say another offer that’s 50 dollars lower like we didn’t just closed on a offer.. so I ask to speak to his supervisor, he put me on hold, then came back and told me she said his offer is his offer and if I don’t take it he will go lower... so I kept saying I wanna speak to your supervisor.. she gets on the phone no help I’m telling her to pull the recording oh we don’t record ever call... they both had attitudes. When I spoke on there reviews she got mad... this is the worst company I ever dealt with..
4
June 4, 2019

Mstearman

Great customer service, invoices need work.

The people at this company are really nice and have worked with us when we were late on a payment. I did not get quotes but the price is better than we have had in the past. The only thing I don't like is that they send invoices that say "cancelation notice" when it's just asking for your next payment, before the payment is due but only a few days before. So we don't have much notice. We usually pay it before the invoice comes in because it is du...
The people at this company are really nice and have worked with us when we were late on a payment. I did not get quotes but the price is better than we have had in the past. The only thing I don't like is that they send invoices that say "cancelation notice" when it's just asking for your next payment, before the payment is due but only a few days before. So we don't have much notice. We usually pay it before the invoice comes in because it is due on the same date every month. But getting a cancelation notice makes me worry that something went wrong with my payment or my husband forgot this month. In my state any lapse in insurance causes a $200 fine when you renew your registration so it makes me worry.
2
May 5, 2019

Amzl

customer service

i have contacted them numerous times. i haven't been contacted at all ever. i finally got to contact someone. they need to improve their costumer service quality.
1
March 20, 2019

Ajae

Insurance claims

Customer service is rude !!! I filed a claim have to go through a process to get vehicle repaired . Pay your own rental car then they reimburse you which is another process I HATE this company
2
March 19, 2019

JMMM11

INSURANCE SHOULD GO DOWN IF CLAIM FREE

It hasn't gone down any in the time I have had it, about three to four years, despite no claim history
5
December 31, 2018

Hanzo

Easy to work with

Easy to get insurance! Good for bad driving history. Give drivers a second chance. Prices are a bit high but expected for people if bad driving history
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption