Farm Bureau Auto Insurance Review (2023)

Farm Bureau Insurance offers car insurance policies that you can customize to fit your needs. The company has good customer service reviews and an A rating with A.M. Best.

UPDATED: Dec 19, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Dec 19, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 19, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 19, 2022Fact Checked
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Farm Bureau Property & Casualty

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$140

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Trusted business practices since the 1930s
  • Many coverage options to make each policy customizable
  • Professional customer service with positive ratings
  • A strong financial strength rating with A.M. Best

Cons

  • No option for online claims
  • Annual membership fee
  • Lack of presence in every state

The Bottom Line

If you’re searching for car insurance, you may want to consider Farm Bureau auto insurance. Farm Bureau Insurance offers several options for car insurance coverage, allowing policyholders to customize their policies. Additionally, Farm Bureau Insurance prices are competitive when compared to other companies.

With 90 years of experience as an insurance company, Farm Bureau prides itself on meeting customers’ needs and offering help to customers whenever they need it. Unfortunately, Farm Bureau is not available in all 50 states in the U.S. Still, the company does have subsidiaries that help to distribute insurance products in certain areas.

Anyone trying to find cheap auto insurance rates online should look into Farm Bureau’s options. But it’s a good idea to shop online and compare quotes from other companies to avoid paying too much for car insurance.

Farm Bureau Insurance may be a good pick for you if you’re interested in auto insurance. Farm Bureau Insurance ratings are high with A.M. Best and the Better Business Bureau, and the company offers coverage at competitive rates in most areas.

Farm Bureau requires that you become a member before purchasing insurance products, so you’ll have to factor the membership fee into the insurance cost. Farm Bureau is not active in every state, so you’ll need to research whether there’s a Farm Bureau Insurance company near you.

Before you commit to Farm Bureau for your auto insurance needs, find and compare rates from other insurance companies in your area. Doing so will help you learn which company offers the coverage you’re looking for at a rate that works with your budget.

Is Farm Bureau Property & Casualty Insurance Company (FBPCIC) a Good Choice?

Farm Bureau began in 1931 as a liability insurance provider for farmers. Farm Bureau expanded from being one of the best insurance companies for farmers to an insurance provider for many customers.

In addition to offering farm liability coverage, Farm Bureau now offers many additional coverages, including farm and ranch insurance, residential equipment insurance, home-based business insurance, motorcycle insurance, and more. Farm Bureau has positive reviews from many policyholders concerning the company’s customer service department.

What are the pros of a Farm Bureau insurance policy?

Choosing Farm Bureau as your auto insurance company comes with many perks.

Farm Bureau has been in business for nearly a century. Because of this, the company offers expertise to its policyholders. As a result, Farm Bureau has an established legacy and continues offering its customers one-of-a-kind insurance products.

Car insurance coverage options with Farm Bureau offer a wide range of possibilities. If you choose Farm Bureau, you’ll be able to customize your auto insurance policy and ensure that it fits your needs.

Farm Bureau has good customer service reviews, and many policyholders state the company’s customer service is both helpful and professional.

The company’s strong financial strength rating allows customers to feel safe and secure if they ever need to file a claim.

What are the cons of a Farm Bureau car insurance policy?

While there are many benefits to a Farm Bureau auto insurance policy, there are a few downsides as well.

If you choose Farmer Bureau as your auto insurance company, you’ll have to call and speak with a representative if you ever need to make a claim. Unfortunately, the company does not provide online services for claims.

Additionally, Farm Bureau charges an annual fee. Depending on your membership type, you may pay anywhere from $20 to $150 annually for your Farm Bureau membership in addition to your monthly or annual auto insurance rates.

Farm Bureau is not available in every state. The company has subsidiaries in certain areas, but you’ll have to research to determine whether the company operates in your city.

Does Farm Bureau auto insurance have good ratings and reviews?

Farm Bureau has an A (Excellent) financial strength rating with A.M. Best. Farm Bureau Insurance also has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB).

Farm Bureau insurance reviews are mixed in terms of customer service. Some Farm Bureau businesses, like Farm Bureau Insurance of Tennessee, have excellent rankings, while others, like North Carolina Farm Bureau Insurance, have more than the expected number of complaints.

If you’re interested in purchasing a policy with Farm Bureau, you can research the Farm Bureau organization in your area. Read what customers say about the company’s claims processing and customer service.

Farm Bureau Property & Casualty Insurance Company (FBPCIC) Rates

How much is Farm Bureau auto insurance?

Farm Bureau rates are competitive when compared to other popular auto insurance providers. In some cases, Farm Bureau’s rates are cheaper than the rates of other companies.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates By Coverage Type
CompaniesAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for High CoverageAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for Low CoverageAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for Medium Coverage
Allstate$428.25$385.67$408.07
American Family$284.70$280.71$295.36
Farmers$374.51$326.87$347.19
Geico$285.76$250.16$267.83
Liberty Mutual$529.67$483.81$504.88
Nationwide$292.11$282.90$287.48
Progressive$362.58$311.43$334.87
State Farm$287.90$254.62$272.48
Travelers$384.92$351.97$371.84
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Farm Bureau charges an average of around $1,675 annually or $140 per month for car insurance for a 30-year-old male. Geico auto insurance costs around $1,806 annually or $150 per month for similar coverage. Progressive auto insurance costs around $3,509 annually or $292 each month for auto insurance, and Allstate auto insurance costs around $4,122 annually or $344 per month.

Geico’s rates go down for men who are married and for women, while rates with Farm Bureau stay the same. Still, even though rates with Progressive and Allstate also decrease, Farm Bureau is less expensive than both companies.

How much will I pay for Farm Bureau car insurance?

While it’s helpful to know how much people pay for Farm Bureau insurance on average, you won’t know how much you’ll pay until you get a quote from the company.

Farm Bureau uses several factors when determining a person’s auto insurance rates. These factors likely include age, driving history, credit score, car make and model, coverage types, and more.

You may pay lower-than-average rates with Farm Bureau for auto insurance if you have a good credit score and a clean driving record. However, you’ll probably pay more if you have violations on your driving record.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Farm Bureau Property & Casualty Insurance Company (FBPCIC) Discounts Available

Farm Bureau offers many of the standard car insurance discounts that other companies offer with their coverage, like:

  • Good student
  • Claim-free
  • Low mileage
  • Multi-policy
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Smart pay
  • Young driver training
  • Safety features

Discounts can help you save as much as 25% on car insurance coverage. If you qualify for a discount with Farm Bureau, call the company and speak with a representative to see how much you could save.

You may find that discounts don’t add up to significant savings. If that’s the case, remember to compare quotes online to find a company that will offer you better rates for car insurance in your area.

What is the Farm Bureau Driveology program?

Driveology with Farm Bureau is a usage-based car insurance program that monitors drivers’ driving habits. Interested policyholders download an app that allows Farm Bureau to track their driving patterns. The app will log information about the following:

  • Hard braking patterns
  • Acceleration speeds
  • Sharp turns
  • Driving time of day
  • Distracted driving

If you practice safe driving habits, you may be eligible to save up to 30% on your car insurance coverage with Driveology.

Does Farm Bureau have a mobile app?

Farm Bureau has a mobile app available to Android and iPhone users. On the Farm Bureau mobile app, policyholders can:

  • Request roadside assistance
  • View the status of a claim
  • Locate an agent or representative
  • Read specific policy information
  • View member benefits

The Farm Bureau app also allows policyholders to pull up a copy of their auto insurance cards.

Farm Bureau Property & Casualty Insurance Company (FBPCIC) Coverage Options

What types of car insurance coverage does Farm Bureau offer?

Farm Bureau offers the standard coverage options you’d expect from a major insurance provider, such as:

  • Liability. Liability auto insurance covers damage you cause to someone else’s vehicle or property.
  • Collision. Collision insurance helps if you are in an accident and your car is damaged and in need of repairs.
  • Comprehensive. Comprehensive auto insurance is useful if something other than an accident, like inclement weather, wild animals, or vandalism, damages your vehicle.
  • Medical Payments (MedPay). MedPay coverage helps with medical bills related to a covered event.
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Personal injury protection coverage is similar to MedPay, but coverage is often broader in scope.
  • Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist. Uninsured motorist coverage helps if someone else damages your vehicle but does not have proper auto insurance to pay for repairs.

In addition to the coverages listed above, Farm Bureau offers add-ons to help policyholders customize their auto insurance plans. Farm Bureau’s additional coverage options include classic car coverage, antique car coverage, and rental car reimbursement, to name a few.

Farm Bureau Property & Casualty Insurance Company (FBPCIC) vs. Competitors

As stated above, Farm Bureau’s average cost for car insurance is $1,675. Again, look at the chart to see how Farm Bureau stacks up against the competition.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates Based on Driving Record
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean RecordRates with a DUIRates with an Accident
Allstate$195.17$166.08$303.17$237.33
American Family$130.92$115.50$177.00$166.67
Farmers$175.67$139.50$191.33$198.58
Liberty Mutual$216.67$176.67$325.00$236.67
Nationwide$144.75$120.42$252.33$165.25
Progressive$142.50$109.17$146.67$190.33
State Farm$102.25$90.92$124.17$107.08
Travelers$148.33$107.25$230.42$157.33
Average$151.50$123.08$218.25$176.92
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Companies like Erie, Nationwide, and Geico may charge lower rates for car insurance coverage. But Farm Bureau is often cheaper than Farmers, Allstate, and other expensive car insurance companies.

You may have different auto insurance companies in your area than the ones listed above. Research several different companies to see which might work best for you. Ask your friends and family members if they have an auto insurance carrier they recommend, and get a quote from any prospective company to ensure you don’t overpay for coverage.

Farm Bureau Insurance: The Bottom Line

Farm Bureau Insurance may be a good pick for you if you’re interested in auto insurance. Farm Bureau Insurance ratings are high with A.M. Best and the Better Business Bureau, and the company offers coverage at competitive rates in most areas.

Farm Bureau requires that you become a member before purchasing insurance products, so you’ll have to factor the membership fee into the insurance cost. Farm Bureau is not active in every state, so you’ll need to research whether there’s a Farm Bureau Insurance company near you.

Before you commit to Farm Bureau for your auto insurance needs, find and compare rates from other insurance companies in your area. Doing so will help you learn which company offers the coverage you’re looking for at a rate that works with your budget.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Farm Bureau a good insurance company?

Farm Bureau offers competitive rates and a positive customer service experience. The company has an A (Excellent) financial strength rating with A.M. Best and an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau.

What types of insurance does Farm Bureau sell?

Farm Bureau sells auto, home, farm, ranch, and life insurance. In addition, some Farm Bureau subsidiaries offer different types of coverage. You can research the Farm Bureau company in your area to learn more about available coverages.

Is Farm Bureau cheap?

In some cases, Farm Bureau rates are cheap. However, you will have to get a quote from the company to learn whether Farm Bureau offers the cheapest auto insurance rates in your area.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Farm Bureau Property & Casualty Insurance Company (FBPCIC)

4.03 (576 reviews)
1
August 9, 2022

farmbureauistheworst

Scam Artists

Horrible company. Filed my 2nd claim in 15 years and was screwed over at every opportunity they had. Car was stolen at gunpoint and a chemical poured over the car (probably to conceal finger prints). Farm Bureau denies the chemical and the damage it caused to my paint. Even after certified dealers said it was damaged by the chemical, they fought and did not pay for the repairs. Also did not pay for any of the property in that was stolen out of th...
Horrible company. Filed my 2nd claim in 15 years and was screwed over at every opportunity they had. Car was stolen at gunpoint and a chemical poured over the car (probably to conceal finger prints). Farm Bureau denies the chemical and the damage it caused to my paint. Even after certified dealers said it was damaged by the chemical, they fought and did not pay for the repairs. Also did not pay for any of the property in that was stolen out of the car. Took them over a month to even approve body work to be done, had to pay out of pocket for rental car. Everything they could have done wrong, they did. Horrible company, NEGATIVE stars. No sympathy, no customer service from Farm Bureau, no contact from agent, no contact from anybody, i had to make all the calls to get any kind of update. Waste of money, never ever ever use this company.
1
July 5, 2022

Luther

Beware of anything to do with farm bureau you will be sorry!

When I went in to drop my rates to a reasonable price they lied to me and said I had to make the last big payment. This is an outright lie they're mad because I went to a cheaper plan they made it very difficult on purpose I got them three letters from health insurance company got them what they asked for three times all three weren't good enough you don't need the letter if you're paying the higher rates these people are dishonest . Beware of [R...
When I went in to drop my rates to a reasonable price they lied to me and said I had to make the last big payment. This is an outright lie they're mad because I went to a cheaper plan they made it very difficult on purpose I got them three letters from health insurance company got them what they asked for three times all three weren't good enough you don't need the letter if you're paying the higher rates these people are dishonest . Beware of [REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED PHONE NUMBER] beware this office will screw you and lie to you I've already reported them to the better business bureau the insurance people and the attorney general from the state of Michigan they're doing everything in their power not to pay the $400 check that they owe me. I paid the high premiums for 6 years they're saying my policy lapsed I believe that is a lie also they are doing everything they can to screw me out of my $400. I went to State farm and got better insurance plus renters insurance for $10 less a payment. That should tell you something. They're dishonest and will lie rate to your face!
3
June 8, 2020

Anonymous

Farm Bureau review

There 20% Corona Relief was a JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just so they could say We did something.... They sure didn't do much & I'm sure had it figured all along to not do much!! But to be a Member for 31 years and get a check for like 32 bucks!! WHAT A JOKE!!! Did they Care!? NO!!
5
March 20, 2020

Karch46

Great Customer Service.

Great customer service in regard to two separate auto accidents. Quick, thorough, helpful during the entire process. Made sure our needs where met.
5
December 26, 2019

Tiffany33

Very memorable!

Experience was very reliable and never failed to assist me whenever my help was needed. When I had issue with my house rental program they rushed in to help me find the best option.
4
October 12, 2019

Doroxthesh626

Excellent Company

They helped me out since the first time I met them. I went in and they walked through every step of my insurance. Before they moved on they made sure I understood it and knew what I was getting out of it. I bundled my car insurance and life insurance together, and it made my monthly payment be less.
5
September 7, 2019

BShelly7

Farm Bureau Cares about Clients

Very personalized service. Took time to review my coverages and explain each area of my policy and how my coverages could/can effect my life and my overall wealth
3
August 19, 2019

Dwilk

Bad experience

My experience was great until my husband's truck was hit and totalled. We tried to get help with our claim but it became very stressful. It took over a month for settlement. They didn't seem to care about their customers.
5
August 18, 2019

Jerhole

Would recommend Farm Bureau

Farm bureau was a terrific insurer. They were literally half the price of, the next cheapest insurer(for full coverage on a truck and liability on a car). Also membership comes with additional perks (free roadside assistance, discount hotels, etc.)
1.5
August 7, 2019

Melissa Arellano

Farm Bureau review

It was easy to file the claim but everything else after that went downhill. I called the claims dept to give them the address where to send the check and the lady rep I spoke with was in a hurry to get me off the phone and could tell she didn't take the address down correctly. I waited over 10 days for the check to arrive and still hadn't received it. I called my claims adjuster and he said it's been mailed but when I confirmed to which address i...
It was easy to file the claim but everything else after that went downhill. I called the claims dept to give them the address where to send the check and the lady rep I spoke with was in a hurry to get me off the phone and could tell she didn't take the address down correctly. I waited over 10 days for the check to arrive and still hadn't received it. I called my claims adjuster and he said it's been mailed but when I confirmed to which address it was nothing close to where I asked them to send it. They had to stop payment on that check and reissue another one. I've been without my vehicle for 3 weeks. I was also told I could get a rental for 7 days but was never told I would need to pay $250.00 deposit. Customer Service and Customer Satisfaction needs some improvement.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption