Farm Bureau Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Looking at Farm Bureau auto insurance? With offices in 49 states, they offer auto, home, boat, motorcycle, renters, farm, and life insurance products.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Jun 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 5400 University Avenue
City: West Des Moines
State: IA
ZIP Code: 50266-5997
Phone Number: (515) 225-5400
AM Best Rating: A

Things to Remember...

  • FBL Financial Group of Des Moines, IA provides insurance products on behalf of the AFBF
  • Farm Bureau Property & Casualty (FBPC) was established more than 70 years ago under the name Farm Bureau Financial Services
  • Farm Bureau auto policies start by offering the minimum coverage required in each of the states they are licensed to do business in

Farm Bureau auto insurance is provided by a company known as Farm Bureau Property & Casualty Insurance Company. It is loosely connected to a national lobbying group known as the American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF).

The AFBF promotes the interests of farmers and ranchers all across the country and has member organizations in 49 states.

More: Does GEICO offer GAP insurance?

FBL Financial Group of Des Moines, IA provides insurance products on behalf of the AFBF. FBL Financial Group is also the parent company of Farm Bureau Property & Casualty Insurance Company.

Farm Bureau Property & Casualty (FBPC) was established more than 70 years ago under the name Farm Bureau Financial Services. Its original purpose was to provide for the insurance needs of the members of the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation.

Enter your ZIP code above to start your search for the best auto insurance rates around.

What kinds of insurance does Farm Bureau Auto Insurance offer?

More: TruStage Auto Insurance Review

 

Farmer Bureau auto policies start by offering the minimum coverage required in each of the states they are licensed to do business in. That coverage will include minimum amounts of coverage for bodily injury, property damage, and a liability or uninsured/underinsured drivers.

More: GEICO Defensive Driving Course

In addition, their auto policies include options for collision damage coverage, fire and theft, classic coverage, and comprehensive.

Three additional options are included as extras at customer request.

These options include:

  • Emergency roadside assistance
  • Coverage of personal property lost in a utility or camping trailer
  •  Rental car fee

More: GM Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Farm Bureau is happy to insure vehicles other than your personal car. They offer coverage for motorcycles, dirt bikes, ATVs, and even scooters too.

Regarding recreational vehicles, they write policies for motorhomes, trailers, boats, jet skis, and snowmobiles. Farm Bureau will even write you a policy for a golf cart, or just about any other vehicle used on a recreational basis.

Other Farm Bureau insurance products include homeowners, condominium, renters, and mobile home coverage, as well as products specifically aimed at ranchers and farmers and a full line of life insurance options.

More: Dollar-a-Day Auto Insurance

Farm Bureau is among the most comprehensive insurance providers in terms of the sheer number and types of policies they offer. Full product information can be found on the corporate website.

 

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Farm Bureau Locations

The FBPC corporate office is located in Des Moines, Iowa.

More: The Best Car Insurance Apps

The contact information for the corporate office is:

Farm Bureau Financial Services
5400 University Avenue
West Des Moines, IA 50266-5997
(515) 225-5400

You may also contact the company via a local agent in your area. Farm Bureau provides a network of local agents in all 15 states where they operate.

More: Insurify Auto Insurance Review [2022 Rate Quotes]

You can find a local agent by visiting the company website and entering your zip code into their agent locator service. They also provide toll-free numbers for information or inquiries regarding the different categories of their products.

Farm Bureau Reviews

When it comes to customer reviews, FBPC is unusual in that it receives a larger number of positive reviews than negative ones. Most auto insurance companies realize a 50-50 split between the positive and negative, but FBPC has a higher rate of positive reviews near 65 percent.

This may be in part because they serve a very limited segment of the American population; a segment known to be very loyal to those who are part of the group. On the other hand, good service is a good service.

More: Safeco RightTrack Review (2022)

Among most positive reviews, the biggest plus for this company is their customer service record. More than one reviewer has cited the fact that agents and claims adjusters were friendly, quick, and responsive.

Many others commented on the fact that their phone calls were always answered by agents with a very professional attitude.

Surprisingly, one of the chief complaints against FBPC is their website. Reviewers claim that the site does not provide accurate and up-to-date information, nor does it work very well when attempting to review claims or modify policies.

Some reviewers also believe the site is difficult to navigate when compared to other websites of similar size and scope.

In terms of its financial ratings, both Standard & Poor’s and A.M. Best consistently rate Farm Bureau Property and Casualty Company very highly.

Stability ratings of and “A” indicate the company is on firm financial footing regarding its ability to meet both short and long-term obligations.

Both companies also give Farm Bureau a stable rating for its future outlook. The ratings indicate that the company is doing well and should be around for years into the future.

Farm Bureau Careers

The FBPC website points to the quality of its employees is one of the reasons it has maintained such a good reputation for more than 70 years. They currently employ nearly 1,900 individuals and have 5,000 field associates across their 15 states of operation.

Their website lists a number of opportunities available at both the corporate office and within the sales force. Interested candidates can find information on available careers by visiting the company website and clicking on the “careers” link.

Furthermore, there are also opportunities for licensed independent insurance agents to become a Farm Bureau agent.

For those interested specifically in sales positions, the company offers a 60-day paid training program allowing new sales agents to earn a decent amount of money while they learn.

Once training is complete new agents will be offered a competitive commission and bonus program which pays them based on their performance. The best sales agents who are good at what they do can realize a very comfortable living, limited only by their efforts.

Get competitive auto insurance quotes from companies just like Farm Bureau by entering your ZIP code below!

Reviews
for Farm Bureau Property & Casualty Insurance Company (FBPCIC)

4.05 (572 reviews)
3
June 8, 2020

Anonymous

Farm Bureau review

There 20% Corona Relief was a JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just so they could say We did something.... They sure didn't do much & I'm sure had it figured all along to not do much!! But to be a Member for 31 years and get a check for like 32 bucks!! WHAT A JOKE!!! Did they Care!? NO!!
5
March 20, 2020

Karch46

Great Customer Service.

Great customer service in regard to two separate auto accidents. Quick, thorough, helpful during the entire process. Made sure our needs where met.
5
December 26, 2019

Tiffany33

Very memorable!

Experience was very reliable and never failed to assist me whenever my help was needed. When I had issue with my house rental program they rushed in to help me find the best option.
4
October 12, 2019

Doroxthesh626

Excellent Company

They helped me out since the first time I met them. I went in and they walked through every step of my insurance. Before they moved on they made sure I understood it and knew what I was getting out of it. I bundled my car insurance and life insurance together, and it made my monthly payment be less.
5
September 7, 2019

BShelly7

Farm Bureau Cares about Clients

Very personalized service. Took time to review my coverages and explain each area of my policy and how my coverages could/can effect my life and my overall wealth
3
August 19, 2019

Dwilk

Bad experience

My experience was great until my husband's truck was hit and totalled. We tried to get help with our claim but it became very stressful. It took over a month for settlement. They didn't seem to care about their customers.
5
August 18, 2019

Jerhole

Would recommend Farm Bureau

Farm bureau was a terrific insurer. They were literally half the price of, the next cheapest insurer(for full coverage on a truck and liability on a car). Also membership comes with additional perks (free roadside assistance, discount hotels, etc.)
1.5
August 7, 2019

Melissa Arellano

Farm Bureau review

It was easy to file the claim but everything else after that went downhill. I called the claims dept to give them the address where to send the check and the lady rep I spoke with was in a hurry to get me off the phone and could tell she didn't take the address down correctly. I waited over 10 days for the check to arrive and still hadn't received it. I called my claims adjuster and he said it's been mailed but when I confirmed to which address i...
It was easy to file the claim but everything else after that went downhill. I called the claims dept to give them the address where to send the check and the lady rep I spoke with was in a hurry to get me off the phone and could tell she didn't take the address down correctly. I waited over 10 days for the check to arrive and still hadn't received it. I called my claims adjuster and he said it's been mailed but when I confirmed to which address it was nothing close to where I asked them to send it. They had to stop payment on that check and reissue another one. I've been without my vehicle for 3 weeks. I was also told I could get a rental for 7 days but was never told I would need to pay $250.00 deposit. Customer Service and Customer Satisfaction needs some improvement.
4
July 29, 2019

dogemisther

Good work!

It was a pretty good company, I liked how they helped me out and saved me a fair amount of cash while in peril
1
June 26, 2019

halak

expensive

Very high premiums. And they keep increasing every year even though I did not have an accidents. do not recommend
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption