Dairyland Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Dairyland Insurance sells high-risk car and motorcycle insurance. Because it sells high-risk insurance, Dairyland’s auto insurance rates tend to be high.

UPDATED: Nov 15, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Nov 15, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Nov 15, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 15, 2022Fact Checked
3.8
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Dairyland

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Works with high-risk drivers other companies reject
  • Will file SR-22 forms, sometimes for free
  • Excellent coverage options for motorcycle drivers

Cons

  • Not available in all 50 states
  • High rates
  • More complaints than companies similar in size

The Bottom Line

Although rates tend to be higher, Dairyland is a good option for high-risk drivers. From solid add-on options to decent discount opportunities, Dairyland might be the best option for drivers with less-than-perfect records.

However, Dairyland is likely not your best option if you don’t need high-risk insurance. Regardless of your situation, you should always compare quotes with multiple companies to ensure you find the most affordable option.

Founded in 1953, Dairyland is a Wisconsin-based insurance company specializing in high-risk car insurance. Whether you have too many at-fault accidents, multiple traffic incidents, or DUI convictions on your driving record, Dairyland will work with you even when other companies won’t.

Dairyland specializes in auto and motorcycle insurance in 38 states. Because of its willingness to work with high-risk drivers, Dairyland’s quotes are higher than most of its competitors. However, it’s a solid option if other insurance companies have rejected your application.

Read on to learn more about the Dairyland Insurance Company and if high-risk coverage is right for you. Then, compare quotes with other companies to find the most affordable policy.

Is Dairyland a Good Choice?

Generally speaking, Dairyland is a good insurance company for a specific type of driver. It’s not the best option for people with clean driving records, but Dairyland offers excellent coverage for people with DUIs, multiple tickets, or at-fault accidents.

Professional rating companies tend to look favorably on Dairyland. For example, A.M. Best ranks companies on their financial stability. The higher the score, the better the company’s ability to pay any claim you might make. Dairyland gets an excellent score of A+ from A.M. Best.

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) tracks how well a company resolves customer complaints. Dairyland gets an A+ from the BBB, but dozens of complaints are listed on the site. While Dairyland does well with A.M. Best and the BBB, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) has a less positive rating.

The NAIC rates companies based on the number of complaints they receive compared to other companies of a similar size. The national average is 1.0 — anything higher means the company gets more complaints than average. Dairyland has a high number of complaints, with a score of 4.42, meaning it gets four times the complaints of similar companies.

Outside of professional ratings, Dairyland is a smaller insurance company lacking some of the online tools of its competitors. However, you can get online quotes, find an agent, and retrieve a quote through the Dairyland website.

Dairyland also has a mobile app, which you can use to pay your bill, receive account alerts, look at policy information, and download insurance cards. Most Dairyland customers appreciate that they can get coverage even as high-risk drivers. They also like that the company often partners with local organizations to improve communities.

Dairyland Insurance Reviews and Complaints

Although Dairyland helps drivers get the coverage they need, high-risk insurance companies usually have more complaints than their competitors. Dairyland has a high number of complaints compared to companies like State Farm and GEICO but matches more closely with other high-risk insurance options.

Many customers are unsatisfied with the claims process, stating that it can take weeks to hear back from representatives. Other common complaints include high rates, unexplained price increases, and hard-to-use digital tools.

While Dairyland has a mobile site and app, the only way to start a claim or add a car to your policy is to call a representative, which many customers find inconvenient.

It’s not all bad news at Dairyland, though. While the company struggles in some areas, many drivers say they have pleasant experiences with Dairyland insurance customer service representatives. For the most part, Dairyland’s customer service representatives are friendly, knowledgeable, and professional.

How do you buy a policy from Dairyland?

Dairyland might lack some of the digital tools you’ll find at other companies, but signing up for a policy is easy. You have two options to get Dairyland car insurance.

First, you can get a quote online on the Dairyland website. The process is simple — you need to fill out the request form with information about every driver who will be on the policy. It only takes a few minutes to complete the form.

An alternative option is to contact the Dairyland 24-hour call center. There, a representative will help you sign up for a policy. This is a good option for anyone confused about what type of insurance they need.

Dairyland Rates

Although Dairyland can help you get coverage when standard insurance companies won’t work with you, average rates are high.

Take a look below to see how Dairyland insurance quotes compare to the national average for minimum coverage.

Average Minimum Monthly Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$61
American Family$44
Farmers$53
Geico$31
Liberty Mutual$68
Nationwide$44
Progressive$39
State Farm$33
Travelers$37
Average$45
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Full coverage rates will be higher but it offers a lot more protection for you and your vehicle.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$160
American Family$117
Farmers$139
Geico$80
Liberty Mutual$173
Nationwide$115
Progressive$105
State Farm$86
Travelers$99
Average$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Dairyland quotes tend to be higher than the average price of insurance. 

There are a variety of factors that affect your insurance rates, including your age, location, and driving history. Dairyland considers these factors when it shapes your rates, but prices are always higher because of the company’s high-risk customer base. 

Take a look at the table below to get an idea of what the top insurers charge after a single traffic ticket.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$188$160
American Family$136$117
Farmers$173$139
GEICO$106$80
Liberty Mutual$212$173
Nationwide$137$115
Progressive$140$105
State Farm$96$86
Travelers$134$99
Average$147$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Drivers should expect to rates to increase even more after an accident where they are considered at fault.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an AccidentRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$225$160
American Family$176$117
Farmers$198$139
GEICO$132$80
Liberty Mutual$234$173
Nationwide$161$115
Progressive$186$105
State Farm$102$86
Travelers$139$99
Average$172$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

As you might expect, car insurance rates will increase dramatically if you receive a DUI. Compare the rates below from popular insurance companies.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$270$160
American Family$194$117
Farmers$192$139
GEICO$216$80
Liberty Mutual$313$173
Nationwide$234$115
Progressive$140$105
State Farm$112$86
Travelers$206$99
Average$209$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Since Dairyland drivers are more likely to file a claim, rates are higher to compensate.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Dairyland Discounts Available

Car insurance can be expensive, especially when you need to shop from a high-risk insurance company. Most companies offer discounts to help drivers save, and Dairyland is no different. 

Dairyland offers discounts for the following:

  • Early signing
  • Having multiple vehicles
  • Owning a home
  • Having previous car insurance for at least six months
  • Driver safety course completion
  • Having renters insurance
  • Anti-theft devices
  • Paying in full

Dairyland’s car insurance discount list isn’t as long as competitors’, but it does give you the opportunity to save. If you’re worried you’re not getting every discount you’re eligible for, a customer service representative can help.

Dairyland Coverage Options

Most states require car insurance before you can legally drive or register your vehicle. While it’s never required by state law, you’ll probably need full coverage if you have a car loan or lease. Most insurance companies sell at least enough coverage to meet these needs, and Dairyland is no exception. Learn more about auto insurance requirements by state

To ensure its customers can get the coverage they need, Dairyland offers the following primary policies:

  • Liability. Required in most states, liability insurance pays for property damage and injuries you cause in an accident.
  • Collision. Collision insurance pays for your car repairs after an accident, no matter who causes it. It also covers repairs if you hit a stationary object like a tree.
  • Comprehensive. A lot more than collisions can damage your car. Comprehensive insurance covers damage from vandalism, theft, weather, fire, and animal contact.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. Although most states require insurance, not all drivers follow the law. Uninsured/underinsured motorist protects you from drivers who don’t have coverage. It also pays for repairs if you’re the victim of a hit-and-run.
  • Personal injury protection or medical payments. Treatment for injuries after an accident can get expensive, but medical payments or personal injury protection will help pay for health care.

The amount you need for car insurance depends on what type of vehicle you drive and which state you live in. If you’re unsure of what you need, a Dairyland representative can help.

Does Dairyland sell car insurance add-ons?

Add-ons for your car insurance are optional coverages that increase the value of your policy. Some car insurance companies have long lists of options, but high-risk companies often lack variety.

Dairyland doesn’t have the largest selection, but it offers a few options:

  • Special equipment coverage. Standard insurance doesn’t cover custom parts or equipment you install. You can add special equipment coverage to replace or repair up to $1,000 worth of custom parts.
  • Roadside assistance. Dairyland will assist you with towing and emergency services when you’re stranded. This add-on typically costs under $100 a year.
  • Rental reimbursement. Rental car reimbursement covers a rental when your vehicle is stuck in the shop. Dairyland offers $25 a day for this coverage, up to a maximum of $750.

While this list isn’t the most comprehensive, you can still add a lot of value to your Dairyland car insurance with these options. Make sure to purchase only what you need — add-ons increase the value of your policy but also raise your rates.

What is Dairyland insurance for motorcycles?

Motorcycles need insurance just like cars, and Dairyland offers excellent coverage options. You can get the same primary coverages — liability, collision, comprehensive, uninsured motorist, and personal injury protection or medical payments — for your motorcycle.

You can also buy extra coverage with the following add-ons:

  • Replacement cost. If your motorcycle is three years old or newer, Dairyland will pay for a replacement bike.
  • Physical damage-plus. Rather than using aftermarket parts, Dairyland will pay for original equipment manufacturer parts if your motorcycle is damaged.
  • Guest passenger. This coverage will cover medical expenses if a passenger is injured on your motorcycle.
  • Special equipment. Similar to the add-on for cars, this coverage will pay for repairs or replacements on custom equipment you’ve installed on your bike.
  • Rental reimbursement. Dairyland will pay for a rental vehicle when your motorcycle is being repaired after a claim.
  • Trip interruption. If you’re involved in an accident 100 miles or more from home, Dairyland will cover travel expenses like lodging, transportation, towing, food, and lost deposits.

Dairyland motorcycle policyholders tend to be a little more satisfied with their coverage than customers with car insurance. People like how knowledgeable Dairyland representatives are about motorcycles and how easy it is to sign up for a policy.

Of course, not everyone is completely happy with Dairyland’s service. One of the most common complaints about motorcycle insurance is that the claims process is slow.

How much does Dairyland motorcycle insurance cost?

Like car insurance, Dairyland’s motorcycle rates are much higher than those of other companies like GEICO and Nationwide. It’s usually better to find insurance elsewhere if you have other options.

However, Dairyland motorcycle insurance is a good choice for high-risk drivers.

Does Dairyland offer motorcycle insurance discounts?

Dairyland offers a solid list of discounts for motorcycle insurance, including special savings for bike club members.

These discounts include:

  • Safety course completion within five years
  • Rider group membership
  • Having a previous policy
  • Loyalty
  • Homeownership
  • Harley Owners Group membership
  • Multi-vehicle

Like car insurance savings, a Dairyland representative can help you determine which discounts you’re eligible for.

Does Dairyland sell other types of insurance?

Aside from car and motorcycle coverage, Dairyland also sells insurance for ATVs, dirt bikes, and snowmobiles.

You can also get the following specialty types of car insurance:

  • Lienholder policy. This coverage pays the remainder of a car loan if your vehicle is totaled before you can pay it off. Similar to GAP coverage, many lenders require drivers to carry this insurance.
  • Non-owner insurance. If you don’t have a car but frequently borrow other people’s cars, non-owner insurance will cover you. It will also allow you to reinstate your license if your state DMV requests proof of financial responsibility.

Dairyland is also willing to file SR-22 forms on your behalf, sometimes without a fee. If you need cheap SR-22 insurance, let Dairyland know when you apply for a policy. Existing customers can call the Dairyland insurance phone number to ask a representative to file SR-22 forms.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who owns the Dairyland Insurance company?

Sentry Insurance has owned Dairyland since 1966. Other companies owned by Sentry, including Viking Insurance Company of Wisconsin and Peak Property and Casualty, might underwrite Dairyland policies.

Does Dairyland have good insurance?

It depends on the driver. Dairyland insurance is an excellent option for high-risk drivers with limited alternatives. However, expensive rates and low customer satisfaction mean you’ll probably find better insurance elsewhere when you’re not a high-risk driver.

How do you cancel a Dairyland policy?

While signing up online is easy, you can’t cancel on the website or mobile app. Instead, you’ll need to call a customer service representative.

Does Dairyland Insurance have roadside assistance?

Yes, you can buy roadside assistance for a car insurance policy from Dairyland. Dairyland’s roadside assistance covers towing, dead batteries, flat tires, and other emergency services.

What states is Dairyland in?

Between car and motorcycle insurance, Dairyland currently sells coverage in 38 states. The states that Dairyland does not cover are Alaska, Hawaii, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, and Rhode Island. Dairyland is also unavailable in Washington D.C.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Dairyland

3.81 (173 reviews)
1
September 27, 2022

Bentboy

A complete mess of an insurance company!

After googling insurance companies to get an SR22, I came across Dairyland. [REDACTED NAME] was kind enough(and eager enough) to start my policy on September 12, in which I told agent I did not have funds in my account at the time to start the policy. She stated "No problem. We can start policy, and the company shouldn't try to withdraw my money till 2 days later on my deposit date. well, the withdrawal happened the day before my deposit date, an...
After googling insurance companies to get an SR22, I came across Dairyland. [REDACTED NAME] was kind enough(and eager enough) to start my policy on September 12, in which I told agent I did not have funds in my account at the time to start the policy. She stated "No problem. We can start policy, and the company shouldn't try to withdraw my money till 2 days later on my deposit date. well, the withdrawal happened the day before my deposit date, and not only did I have to pay my bank a decline fee, but my policy cancelled immediately. I contacted my agent on my actual deposit date, and she didn't hesitate to withdraw the starting fee plus the monthly amount(120.55 total). I received an email stating my policy had already cancelled and if I wanted to pay another amount, I could reactivate it. Called Dairyland, and they have no record of the money being applied to my account! So no it's a mess with my bank to start an investigation to get my funds back. Needless to say, I am in touch with the IABBB(International Better Business Bureau) since they are out of [REDACTED NAME]. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS COMPANY!
2
May 12, 2022

Jaykazeee

Dairyland < any other auto insurers

Probably the worst auto insurance company that I’ve had. Had them for years covering my 2006 Subaru sti. Charged me 280 each month, no discounts for good driver or anything. Should’ve went to a different car insurance but mistakes happen. Had a car accident years ago and had a damage on my front panel, they said they sent out a check for me but never received it. They sent me a letter about it and I replied Back to them about it but never got...
Probably the worst auto insurance company that I’ve had. Had them for years covering my 2006 Subaru sti. Charged me 280 each month, no discounts for good driver or anything. Should’ve went to a different car insurance but mistakes happen. Had a car accident years ago and had a damage on my front panel, they said they sent out a check for me but never received it. They sent me a letter about it and I replied Back to them about it but never gotten a response back. So I guess They are stealing my money that is owed when I had Them. My car still hasn’t been fixed of it .
4
January 9, 2021

tylercornelison1

Dairyland are you in good hands?

the ;prices are incredible!!! the;y really beat progressive! i was paying 280 dollars a month and dairyland got me almost the same coverage for 182 dollars a month!
5
January 8, 2021

Llm122313

Love them

Great company cheap insurance compared to most companies. Ap needs to be updated besides that it’s great
2
November 21, 2020

MWuerth22

Doesn't Need To Have Cheap Features To Be Cheap

While the policy is pretty bare bones, which I expected and wanted, the app and complete lack of features is unnecessary. After purchasing a policy, I then tried to add another vehicle we purchased a few weeks later. I opened the app and spent 30 minutes trying to figure out where and how to add a vehicle to my existing policy. It turns out, you have to email customer service with the new vehicle information and request it be added. This takes da...
While the policy is pretty bare bones, which I expected and wanted, the app and complete lack of features is unnecessary. After purchasing a policy, I then tried to add another vehicle we purchased a few weeks later. I opened the app and spent 30 minutes trying to figure out where and how to add a vehicle to my existing policy. It turns out, you have to email customer service with the new vehicle information and request it be added. This takes days, which is invaluable time when you need to insure a vehicle. Not only that, but I never got confirmation of them receiving the vehicle info, never was told how much it would be to add it, or any correspondence from the company. It just showed up on my next billing cycle with an increased premium.
5
October 8, 2020

lilialespinoza

Excellent Customer Service

I love this company. Their customer service is awesome. They are available 24 hours and quick claims service.
1
October 6, 2020

tannaa

Horrible

Agents were very rude and unprofessional. There was a new bill every week with a different amount and it was very confusing and frustrating.
5
June 30, 2020

FosterCare2020

Inexpensive

They were inexpensive and simple. I paid over the phone every time my bill was due. They sent me email receipts.
5
June 19, 2020

anarchanoid

Awesome cheap insurance ocmpany

Really good and cheap insurance. Never had any issues whatsoever and will be with them for as long as I can.
1
June 16, 2020

Hollylj

It's like pulling teeth to get results after an accident

I am not a customer of this insurance. And I never will be! I was rear ended by a customer of sentry insurance and the claim had been transferred to dairyland. It's been over THREE WEEKS and I still don't have a quote from them to help me get into another car. My "mid life crisis" car that I paid way too much for.. is totaled. I still owe on it and I'm really, really worried about getting financing for another car. At this point, I almost don't ...
I am not a customer of this insurance. And I never will be! I was rear ended by a customer of sentry insurance and the claim had been transferred to dairyland. It's been over THREE WEEKS and I still don't have a quote from them to help me get into another car. My "mid life crisis" car that I paid way too much for.. is totaled. I still owe on it and I'm really, really worried about getting financing for another car. At this point, I almost don't care if I get in a beater upper car, I just want closure. and a vehicle. This company will not contact you, you have to do all the leg work... And you STILL won't get results
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption