Erie Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Erie auto insurance averages $58/mo, more than 50% cheaper than the national average. Alongside affordable rates, you can enjoy discounts and good customer service from Erie car insurance. Our Erie auto insurance review will explain the pros and cons of the company to help you determine if it's right for you.

UPDATED: Jan 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 19, 2024Fact Checked

Heidi Mertlich

Licensed Insurance Agent

Heidi works with top-rated insurance carriers to bring her clients the highest quality protection at the most competitive prices. She founded NoPhysicalTermLife.com, specializing in life insurance that doesn’t require a medical exam. Heidi is a regular contributor to several insurance websites, including FinanceBuzz.com, Insurist.com, and Forbes. As a parent herself, she understands the need ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kalyn Johnson

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Kalyn grew up in an insurance family with a grandfather, aunt, and uncle leading successful careers as insurance agents. She soon found she has similar interests and followed in their footsteps. After spending about ten years working in the insurance industry as both an appraiser dispatcher and a senior property claims adjuster, she decided to combine her years of insurance experience with another...

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

UPDATED: Jan 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 19, 2024Fact Checked
4.3
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Erie Auto Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$58

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • Offers several great perks with standard coverages, such as pet injury protection
  • Lower-than-average national average rates
  • Various other coverages besides auto insurance

Cons

  • Unavailable in most states
  • Various complaints and negative customer reviews

Final Verdict: Review of Erie Auto Insurance

Erie auto insurance offers various coverage options on top of affordable quotes, and Erie auto insurance ratings are mostly positive. You could also qualify for Erie insurance discounts to get more affordable rates from Erie car insurance.

However, you should compare Erie insurance quotes and the pros and cons of Eric car insurance to see if the company is right for you. Call the Erie auto insurance phone number to speak with a company representative and learn more.

What You Should Know About Erie Insurance Group

Erie auto insurance offers the state minimum auto insurance requirements necessary to drive legally, alongside various other coverage options and affordable rates. However, if you’re considering a policy with the Erie car insurance company, research to see if an Erie auto insurance policy is the right fit.

The Better Business Bureau gives Erie Insurance an A+ rating. While some Erie customer service reviews were negative, the number of complaints is low compared to how many customers Erie insures. Just over 100 complaints with Erie car insurance closed in the last three years, with 30 complaints in the last year.

Overall, Erie insurance customer service ranked fairly well despite negative reviews. However, it’s not uncommon for companies to have a lot of negative reviews, even with good customer service. To understand an insurer’s ratings, consider the percentage of unhappy customers, as a few disgruntled customers don’t reflect on the company.

Keep reading this Erie auto insurance review to see if Erie is the right fit for you out of all the best auto insurance companies. We’ll also compare the pros and cons of Erie car insurance and explain Erie’s auto insurance ratings.

Erie Insurance Group Insurance Coverage Options

Erie offers several auto insurance coverages besides the minimum liability auto insurance all drivers must carry. Most drivers with newer cars carry more than the minimum liability insurance to protect their assets fully, and Erie offers additional coverage for customers’ needs.

The main auto insurance coverages that Erie car insurance offers are:

Erie offers all the basic coverages for drivers to purchase full coverage auto insurance or liability insurance.

Erie Add-On Auto Insurance Options

In addition to the basic coverages offered at Erie, the insurance company also has various add-on coverages for drivers. Keep in mind that these add-on coverages aren’t available in every state:

  • Better car replacement: This coverage pays for a car of the same make and model as your totaled car, but the new replacement car will be two years newer. Your current car must be older than two years to qualify for this coverage.
  • Erie Auto Plus: This add-on includes multiple perks like a diminishing deductible, transportation expenses, increased coverage limits, waived deductibles, and death benefits.
  • New car replacement: If you total your car, new car replacement gives you your car’s true value instead of a depreciated value.
  • Rate lock: Erie will lock your rates with this feature even if you have a claim.
  • Rental car insurance: If your car is in the shop, rental car coverage will provide a car for you until your car is back on the road.
  • Rideshare insurance: If you drive for Uber or Lyft, you’ll need rideshare protection from Erie.
  • Roadside assistance: Erie’s roadside assistance helps with numerous issues, from locking yourself out of your car to a dead battery.

Erie has many great insurance coverages, with some designed to save drivers money over time.

Extra Features Included With Insurance Coverages

Erie has many perks included with basic policies at Erie, such as pet injury coverage and travel expense coverage. Take a look at the full list below:

  • Accident forgiveness: If you’ve been an Erie customer for at least three years and are claim-free, Erie will forgive your first accident.
  • Diminishing deductible: Erie reduces your deductible every year you go claim-free, up to $500.
  • Pet injury protection: Pet injury coverage covers up to $500 per pet and $1,000 total in vet bills if your pet gets injured in a crash.
  • Travel expenses: Travel expenses help pay for food and hotel costs if your car breaks down.
  • Windshield deductible waiver: Does car insurance cover windshield damage or replacement? With Erie, your deductible gets waived if you get your window repaired rather than replaced.

Erie’s accident forgiveness policy can help drivers save hundreds of dollars if they’re in an accident. Its comprehensive coverage also carries some perks, including glass repair, locksmith services, and personal items coverage.

Auto Plus Package at Erie

Customers can add Erie’s Auto Plus package to a standard auto insurance policy. It generally costs less than $35 a year, adding only a few pennies to your daily auto insurance rates. The Auto Plus package offers the following perks:

  • Death benefit: It provides $10,000 per person killed in a covered accident.
  • Diminishing deductible: Erie will reduce your deductible each year you go claims-free.
  • Increased coverage limits: Your coverage limits will increase to help cover things like personal items in the car.
  • Transportation expenses: Erie will pay for up to 10 days more of transportation expenses after settlement if your car gets totaled.
  • Waived deductibles: In some cases, Erie will waive your auto insurance deductible for covered claims.

Adding on the Auto Plus package is worth the price for most drivers.

Other Erie Insurance Types

Erie offers several other insurance types besides auto insurance. You may want to purchase more than just auto insurance at Erie to earn bundling discounts. Some of the other main types of insurance offered at Erie are:

  • ATV, snowmobile, and golf cart insurance
  • Boat insurance
  • Business insurance
  • Collector/classic car insurance
  • Condo insurance
  • Home insurance
  • Life insurance
  • Motorcycle insurance
  • Recreational vehicle insurance
  • Renter’s insurance

Erie provides a full range of insurance options for customers looking to bundle insurance policies at one company.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Erie Insurance Group Insurance Rates Breakdown

Price is a huge selling point regarding car insurance policies. Erie tends to be one of the cheapest insurance companies, as its rates are below the national average. Take a look at Erie’s rates below:

View as image

Remember that Erie’s rates depend on the individual driver’s history, vehicle, and more. The best way to determine how much Erie will cost for you is to get Erie insurance quotes.

Erie Auto Insurance Rates vs. Competitors’ Rates

Erie’s average auto insurance rates are around 50% lower than the national average. Check out the table below to compare Erie car insurance rates to competitors:

View as image

As you can see, you’ll likely get more affordable rates from Erie car insurance compare to its competitors. The next cheapest company is Geico auto insurance, offering full coverage for $80 monthly on average. However, rates vary due to many factors, like company, driving profile, and demographics, so compare your Erie auto insurance quote against competitors to find the best deal for you.

Erie Auto Insurance Rates by Age

Age is a significant factor in determining auto insurance rates. Here’s a look at Erie’s average monthly full coverage rates for adult drivers:

Auto insurance for teens costs significantly more than for adults since Erie car insurance, like most companies, considers teenagers high-risk due to their lack of driving experience.

If you look at the rate difference in the two charts above, you'll see that rates tend to go down as you age. However, as drivers enter their senior years, they may see their Erie car insurance rates increase.

While auto insurance for seniors is more expensive than average, you can still find affordable rates from Erie car insurance.

Erie Auto Insurance Rates by Driving History

Being a safe driver pays off when looking for auto insurance. You'll likely pay more for auto insurance for drivers with a bad driving record, like DUIs, speeding tickets, or at-fault accidents.

View as image

Keeping your driving record clean is a great way to avoid higher auto insurance rates.

Erie Insurance Group Discounts Available

For those wondering how to lower your auto insurance, Erie car insurance discounts can significantly reduce auto insurance costs. Erie auto insurance discounts include:

  • Annual payment plan discount: You can earn a discount if you pay your plan in a lump sum instead of monthly payments.
  • Car safety equipment discount: You can earn a discount if your vehicle has safety features like anti-lock brakes.
  • Multi-vehicle auto insurance discount: Adding more than one vehicle to your policy will result in cheaper rates.
  • Multi-policy discount: Erie will give you a discount if you sign up for more than one type of policy, such as home and auto.
  • Reduced usage discount: Erie insurance discounts your rates if you don’t drive for at least 90 consecutive days, like if you travel abroad.
  • Safe driving discount: You can get discounts on your insurance policy if you keep a clean driving record.
  • Young driver discount: Young drivers under 21, unmarried, and living with their parents can earn a discount.

Qualifying for as many Erie insurance discounts as possible can help reduce your rates.

Erie offers a good selection of discounts, and having a clean driving record will greatly reduce rates.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is Erie insurance so cheap?

Erie offers some of the lowest auto insurance costs, with rates more than 50% cheaper than the national average. Of course, young drivers and drivers with poor credit will pay higher average rates.

Are Erie auto insurance policies expensive?

No, most drivers get affordable rates from Erie car insurance compared to the national average. On average, you’ll pay $58 monthly for Erie auto insurance.

What is the credit rating of Erie Insurance?

Erie auto insurance has an A+, or superior, rating from A.M. Best. So, you can rest assured that you’ll get a fair Erie insurance payout after filing a legitimate claim.

Does Erie insurance have additional perks?

Erie has many great perks not typically offered at other insurance companies, such as pet injury protection, locked rates, and diminishing deductibles.

Is Erie auto insurance in all 50 states?

You can buy Erie auto insurance in the District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Is Erie auto insurance good?

Yes, Erie has decent rates and coverages for drivers, even though it isn’t available in all states. However, if it’s in your state, it’s worth looking at reviews of Erie car insurance.

Does Erie auto insurance raise rates after a claim?

Whether Erie auto insurance raises rates after a claim depends on the circumstances of the claim, driver’s history, and policy terms. However, you’ll generally see higher rates after filing a claim.

How do I contact Erie auto insurance?

You can call the Erie auto insurance phone number at 1-800-367-3743.

Is Erie Insurance a reliable company?

Erie auto insurance is widely regarded as a reputable company. They have been in business for several years and have earned a positive reputation for their customer service and financial stability. However, it’s always a good idea to research and read customer reviews to make an informed decision.

What types of coverage does Erie auto insurance offer?

Erie auto insurance offers a comprehensive range of coverage options, such as liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and medical payments coverage. Additionally, the company offers optional coverages like roadside assistance and rental car reimbursement.

What factors can affect my Erie auto insurance premium?

Several factors can impact your premium with Erie Auto Insurance. These factors include your age, gender, location, driving record, type of vehicle, coverage limits, deductibles, and any applicable discounts. Providing accurate information during the quoting process is important to receive an accurate premium estimate.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Heidi Mertlich

Licensed Insurance Agent

Heidi works with top-rated insurance carriers to bring her clients the highest quality protection at the most competitive prices. She founded NoPhysicalTermLife.com, specializing in life insurance that doesn’t require a medical exam. Heidi is a regular contributor to several insurance websites, including FinanceBuzz.com, Insurist.com, and Forbes. As a parent herself, she understands the need ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kalyn Johnson

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Kalyn grew up in an insurance family with a grandfather, aunt, and uncle leading successful careers as insurance agents. She soon found she has similar interests and followed in their footsteps. After spending about ten years working in the insurance industry as both an appraiser dispatcher and a senior property claims adjuster, she decided to combine her years of insurance experience with another...

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Erie Insurance Group

4.28 (1,814 reviews)
5
April 7, 2022

Lee_C

Please don’t hesitate to choose Erie Insurance!

Erie Insurance is excellent! We have had Landis Erie insurance for our homes, cars and business for about 30 years, and we are certain that we will continue to choose this company. They have taken care of every issue we had in a timely manner in the past. Erie Insurance gave us tremendous help when our family was in a couple of extremely difficult times in our life. We recommend it to everyone, including all our families and friends. All our fa...
Erie Insurance is excellent! We have had Landis Erie insurance for our homes, cars and business for about 30 years, and we are certain that we will continue to choose this company. They have taken care of every issue we had in a timely manner in the past. Erie Insurance gave us tremendous help when our family was in a couple of extremely difficult times in our life. We recommend it to everyone, including all our families and friends. All our family members have Erie Insurance. Please don’t hesitate to choose Erie Insurance!
4
January 12, 2021

reaglehouse

Erie Insurance

I have had a great experience with them. When I have had an issue, they correct it immediately. When I called to lower my rate, they were able to find the best option for me.
5
January 2, 2021

Vinjm_75

Best deals around

It's been nothing but a positive experience the nice thing about a small company is that the agents really get to know the customers on a personal level so they really meet your needs more efficiently any more quickly than these larger companies and their rates are the cheapest around we shopped around with all the other agencies and none of them came close to the deal we got with them
4
November 20, 2020

holymama

its alright!

company is fine, they keep raising my insurance though. have not had any claims for the last few years I have been with them.
1
October 27, 2020

Lewis Cooper

Erie Insurance review

Erie is very deceptive. I had Erie insurance for almost 30 years I had myself, my wife, and my daughter on the policy. Over the years, they dropped my son for having a reckless driving ticket I didn’t have a problem with that they dropped my daughter while she had a learners permit for backing into a pole in a parking lot. There was about $1,500 in damage but the kicker was they had requested a copy of my youngest daughter's title. I told her t...
Erie is very deceptive. I had Erie insurance for almost 30 years I had myself, my wife, and my daughter on the policy. Over the years, they dropped my son for having a reckless driving ticket I didn’t have a problem with that they dropped my daughter while she had a learners permit for backing into a pole in a parking lot. There was about $1,500 in damage but the kicker was they had requested a copy of my youngest daughter's title. I told her to send it to them. She did not do it so they canceled my policy without letting me know. The right thing to do would have been to drop her like they did with my son and daughter. I made premium payments for 30 years and never made a claim. My wife had only one claim, and it was my daughter when she ran into the pole. When I contacted my agent his secretary said you might as well just get another policy because Erie probably won't reinstate your policy. I never priced other policies because I never needed to. But when I was forced to, I found several companies that gave me better rates. I gave 1 star only because the website won’t give you the opportunity to give a zero.
4
October 20, 2020

Rose327

Handling claims

Easy to work with, hassle free and great customer service. Recently filed a claim due to a collision where the other driver hit my car. The other driver was not being cooperative and Erie took over so I did not have to be the middle man. This relieved a lot of stress. They were fairly quick at getting my deductible back from the other insurance company however the claims adjuster could have been more prompt at returning phone calls.
2
October 19, 2020

Glitterz17548

Horrible service

This company was completely unprofessional when I had an accident. I carry full coverage and they would not fix my car that had less than 1000 in damages after I had full coverage for over 4 years with them.
5
October 18, 2020

mhake

Great Service and Most Affordable

I purchased an auto policy about 15 years ago and have experienced nothing but great service. They were the best quote by far and I even referred my boyfriend who switched to Erie Insurance. I often check around for new quotes, especially when adding my kids when they were new drivers and they stayed most reasonable. My daughter had an accident and they took care of everything quickly. I would refer anyone to use Erie.
4
October 13, 2020

chrvicars

Good customer service

It was a pleasant enough experience. I was presented with different options to fit my needs regarding the amount of coverage I wanted and how I could pay my bill ( as far as monthly, yearly, or three times a year).
4
October 12, 2020

Kupkake

Great company

They've done everything they can to make prices reasonable while still being able to cover things thoroughly.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption