Arkansas Auto Insurance [Rates + Cheap Coverage Guide]
Arkansas requires a minimum of 25/50/25 of bodily injury and property damage coverage. The average rate of auto insurance in Little Rock is $162.17/mo.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Apr 29, 2022
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
|Arkansas Statistics Summary||Details|
|Road Miles||Total in State – 102,595
Vehicle Miles Driven (in millions) – 34,024
|Driving Deaths||Speeding – 116
Drunk Driving – 140
|Vehicles||Registered – 2,685,739
Total Stolen – 5,601
|Most Popular Vehicle||Sierra 1500|
|Average Premiums (Annual)||Liability – $394.13
Collision – $321.80
Comprehensive – $190.41
Combined Premiums – $906.34
|Percent of Motorists Uninsured||16.6%
State Rank – 9th
|Cheapest Providers||USAA and State Farm|
Arkansas is abundant with natural views on the Scenic 7 Byway through the Ozarks. The Natural State also has an abundance of auto insurance options, and we understand that they can be confusing and overwhelming.
You are not alone in your expedition for a great auto insurance policy!
Are you ready to begin your journey and make an informed decision?
While you contemplate your next outdoor adventure, review the following guide we put together that includes all you need to know about Arkansas auto insurance including coverage and rates, auto insurance providers, state laws, and so much more.
You may already know comparing auto insurance rates is a great way to save money! Start today with just your ZIP code.
Arkansas Auto Insurance Coverage and Rates
Before you decide to become a resident and visit the only diamond mine in the US where you can actually mine for your own diamonds, consider your options in auto insurance coverage, and how your rates may compare.
Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements in Arkansas
|Insurance Required||Minimum Limits –25/50/25|
|Bodily Injury Liability Coverage||$25,000 per one person
$50,000 per accident
|Property Damage Liability Coverage||$25,000 minimum|
|Personal Injury Protection (optional)||$5,000 minimum|
Liability auto insurance covers all individuals — drivers, passengers, pedestrians, bicyclists, etc. — who are owed compensation for property damage and/or injuries resulting from a car accident that you or anyone under your policy causes.
Arkansas is an “at-fault” accident state. This means, if you are the at-fault driver during an accident, you will be held liable for any personal injury or property claims.
Minimum coverage for auto insurance in Arkansas, specifically liability insurance, is required at these limits:
- $25,000 – to cover Injury or death of one person in an accident you caused
- $50,000 – to cover total injuries or death of more than one person in an accident you caused
- $25,000 – to cover property damage in an accident you caused
Remember, these amounts are minimum requirements and do not cover injury, death, or damage to yourself or your own passengers! That will require additional coverage.
What if I am not at fault?
Arkansas does not require no-fault coverage; however, the state does require that your insurance company offer you at least $5,000 of no-fault insurance, otherwise known as personal injury protection (PIP), for medical bills you incur because of a wreck, regardless of who is at fault, who is driving, or who owns the vehicle.
Take a look at how the cost of minimum coverage varies from state to state.
Required Forms of Financial Responsibility in Arkansas
Although the state of Arkansas uses an electronic system to verify minimum insurance requirements, the Department of Finance and Administration acknowledges that a “not insured” status may result in the lack of reporting provided by your insurance carrier.
So, to be on the safe side…
Keep your insurance card either in your wallet or in your vehicle even though you are not required by Arkansas state law to carry proof of insurance with you whenever you drive.
Under Arkansas law, motorists involved in a collision, regardless of who is at fault, are required to submit a Safety Responsibility SR-1 accident report and show proof of insurance within 30 days of when damage to the property of any one person is in excess of $1,000.00 or results in the injury or death of any person.
Be a step ahead!
Carry around a copy of the SR-1 as well. Not all accidents require law enforcement, but it isn’t difficult to cause more than $1,000 in damage in a minor fender bender.
Although a ticket may or may not be issued to you at the scene of an accident, the possibility of a judgment being entered against you can still exist, requiring that you show financial responsibility.
Premiums as Percentage of Income in Arkansas
In 2014, the annual per capita disposable personal income in Arkansas was $33,929.
Disposable personal income (DPI) is the total amount of money available for an individual to spend (or save) after their taxes have been paid.
The average annual cost of auto insurance in Arkansas is $900, which is almost 2.7 percent of the average disposable personal income.
The average Arkansas resident has only $2,827 each month to buy food, pay bills, etc. The auto insurance bill alone will deduct about $75 out of that — much more for having a less-than-perfect driving record.
Why is getting the best deal on auto insurance so important?
American Consumer Credit Counseling suggests saving 20 percent of every paycheck. With Arkansas’s DPI, that’s a whopping $565 each month! How much are you putting aside for savings?
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates in AR (Liability, Collision, Comprehensive)
|Coverage Type||Annual Costs in 2015|
The above table illustrates the most recent data provided by the leading source on the matter, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. Expect auto insurance rates in Arkansas to be significantly higher for 2019 and on.
Don’t forget: Arkansas has minimum requirements for liability coverage, but experts suggest drivers purchase more than what state law requires, especially when the state is an “at-fault” state like Arkansas is.
You may be wondering: Why get more coverage than required?
Everyone in Arkansas knows it’s important to stay prepared for a big storm almost anytime during the year, always keeping some sort of safety pack nearby.
April is tornado month in Arkansas. In April 2018, 17 tornadoes were recorded in just two days. This couple’s truck drove right into the path of a tornado.
Your life is the top priority, not your vehicle.
Driving into the path of a tornado is not advised; leave your vehicle, and seek shelter immediately after a warning. Be familiar with the addresses of storm shelters spread across the state.
Also, the American Red Cross has an app for both iPhone and Android that will give you tornado alerts.
After your safety is secured, consider adding comprehensive coverage to your policy which covers occurrences that many would call “out of our control” such as tornado and hurricane damage.
Why stop at comprehensive?
Let’s dig into some of the most popular auto insurance coverage options to add to a basic auto insurance policy.
Additional Liability Coverage in Arkansas
A loss ratio shows how much a company spends on claims to how much money they take in on premiums. A loss ratio of 60 percent indicates the company spent 60 on claims out of every $100 earned in premiums.
|Medical Payments (Med Pay)||84%||78%||69%|
As of July 2018, two states required medical payments coverage (Maine and Wisconsin), three states (plus D.C.) required uninsured motorist coverage (South Carolina, Montana and Wisconsin), and 17 states required both Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist coverage.
Med Pay, Underinsured Motorist, and Uninsured Motorist coverage are all optional in Arkansas; however, all three are important.
In 2015, 13 percent of motorists in the US were uninsured, and 16.6 percent of motorists in Arkansas.
Arkansas ranked ninth in the nation in 2015 for uninsured or underinsured drivers.
By requiring one or more of these types of coverage, other states have decreased their loss ratio. Arkansas has decreased its loss ratio for medical payment over the years, but it still remains higher than the national average.
Add-ons, Endorsements, and Riders
We know getting the complete coverage you need for an affordable auto insurance rate is your goal.
Good news: there are lots of powerful but cheap extras you can add to your policy.
Don’t get blown away by high auto insurance premiums! Start comparison shopping today using our FREE online tool. Enter your ZIP code below to get started!
Here’s a list of other useful coverage available to you in Arkansas.
- Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
- Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
- Emergency Roadside Assistance
- Rental Reimbursement
- Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
- Non-Owner Auto Insurance
- Modified Auto Insurance Coverage
- Classic Auto Insurance
- Pay-as-You-Drive or Usage-Based Insurance
Average Auto Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in AR
Most people are under the impression that men pay higher auto insurance rates than women. That is typically the case in the state of Arkansas with a few instances otherwise.
Our researchers came to a surprising conclusion. They learned that age and the actual insurance carrier seem to be the most significant contributing factors in cost variance.
Case in point, Travelers charges 17-year-old male and female drivers between $13,000 and $21,000 annually, which is ten to seventeen thousand dollars higher when compared to their averaged $2,335 yearly premiums for insureds over the age of 18. USAA, however, charges only about $3,000 more in annual premiums based on the age difference.
|Company||Married 35-year-old Female||Married 35-year-old Male||Married 60-year-old Female||Married 60-year-old Male||Single 17-year-old Female||Single 17-year-old Male||Single 25-year-old Female||Single 25-year-old Male|
Highest and Lowest Rates in Arkansas by ZIP Code
Where you live has a direct impact on your auto insurance rates. Let’s take a look at how those rates vary by ZIP code.
|ZIP Code||Highest Average Annual Rate||ZIP Code||Lowest Average Annual Rate|
Most Expensive/Least Expensive Carrier Rates by City
Take a look at this table, listing the most/least expensive carrier rates according to the city. As you can see, your location is a significant factor in the rates you can expect to pay.
|City||Highest Average Rate||City||Lowest Average Rate|
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Arkansas Auto Insurance Companies
There are so many auto insurance carriers vying for your business these days, it’s hard to know which ones actually come through on their promises.
No need to worry, we’ve got you covered! Keep scrolling to find out who the 10 best providers are across the state.
Ready to go? Let’s get this show on the road…
The 10 Largest Arkansas Auto Insurance Companies’ Financial Rating
AM Best gives insurance companies financial ratings. A good score means they are highly likely to stay solvent and have the ability to pay customer claims.
|Companies||A.M. Rating||Direct Premiums Written||Market Share||Loss Ratio|
|Southern Farm Bureau||A+||792||69.46%||12.78%|
Besides premiums, one of the other components that should factor into your decision when picking an insurance carrier is customer ratings. Want to find out what customers really think about the top Arkansas auto insurance carriers?
Here we go…
Auto Insurance Company Complaints
The complaint index of each company calculates how much larger a company’s share of complaints is compared to its share of profits across the state. Companies that have a complaint index higher than one are worse than the average insurer in Arkansas, and those with an index below one are better than average.
|Company||Direct Written Premiums||Complaint Index|
|Cincinnati Ins Co||$6,993,252||0.5298|
|Columbia Insurance Group||$11,471,686||0|
|Imperial Fire & Casualty||$6,296,510||2.9422|
|Southern Farm Bureau||$206,211,166||0.4312|
Bear in mind, some complaints are based on general customer satisfaction, so factor that into your final decision.
Auto Insurance Rates by Company in Arkansas
We understand that rates are one of the biggest, if not the biggest factor when you pick Arkansas auto insurance. The below chart shows some of the top carriers in the state, along with their average rates compared to the overarching state average.
|Company||Annual Average||Compared to State Average||Percentage Over/Under State Average|
|Farmers Ins Co||$4,257.88||$146.18||+3.43%|
|Safeco Ins Co of IL||$4,005.48||-$106.22||-2.65%|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$2,789.02||-$1,322.68||-47.42%|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||$5,973.33||$1,861.63||+31.17%|
Our researchers discovered that Travelers charges the most in average premiums, with Progressive NorthWestern coming in at second place for the highest annual rates. Meanwhile, USAA comes in number one for the most affordable average rates.
The table below compares the rates of top carriers in the state against average commute times. Interestingly enough, Travelers comes in again with the highest premium ratio to annual mileage.
|Group||10-mile commute/6,000 annual mileage||25-mile commute/12,000 annual mileage|
Commute distance and time does not affect your rates as much as some other factors.
Coverage Level Rates
Insurers offer various levels of coverage to help you find insurance that fits your budget. Here’s a look at the high, medium, and low rates from the top insurers.
|Company||Annual Rate with High Coverage||Annual Rate with Medium Coverage||Annual Rate with Low Coverage|
Credit History Rates
According to a study conducted by Experian, the average resident of Arkansas has a credit card VantageScore of 657 and around 2.76 credit cards in their name. The average Arkansas consumer has a credit card balance of $5,660.
|Company||Annual Rate with Good Credit||Annual Rate with Fair Credit||Annual Rate with Poor Credit|
If you think that your credit card debt and auto insurance rates have no correlation, think again. Insurance carriers run credit checks on their insureds to assess the likelihood of them filing a claim at any point. If your credit score doesn’t meet their standards, you might just see a spike in your rates, regardless if you’ve had an accident or not.
Driving Record Rates
As you’ll note in the table below, your driving history has a direct effect on the premiums you can expect to pay.
|Company||Clean Driving Record||One Speeding Citation||One Accident||One DUI|
If you look at the rates listed for Geico, for example, you’ll notice that the rate difference for a clean record versus one DUI is over a $3,000 premium jump which is a 67 percent increase.
The 10 Largest Auto Insurance Companies in Arkansas
Who are the largest insurers in Arkansas? Take a look at the data below to find out.
|Company Direct||Premiums Written||Loss Ratio||Market Share|
|Allstate Insurance Group||$141,053||47.21%||7.24%|
|Farmers Insurance Group||$79,776||52.42%||4.10%|
|Liberty Mutual Group||$80,245||61.30%||4.12%|
|Nationwide Corp Group||$57,506||51.80%||2.95%|
|Shelter Insurance Group||$167,424||67.43%||8.60%|
|Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Group||$248,792||69.46%||12.78%|
|State Farm Group||$500,195||66.99%||25.69%|
Number of Auto Insurance Providers in Arkansas
There are 899 providers in Arkansas — 12 domestic and 887 foreign.
Laws in Arkansas
In order to keep your auto insurance rates low, you have to know the laws in your state so you’re not blindsided by a fine.
Don’t worry! We’re here to help.
Keep reading to learn about the laws specific to the state of Arkansas.
Auto Insurance Laws in Arkansas
Auto insurance laws vary from state to state, and Arkansas is no different, but they are certainly more confusing than other states’ laws.
Arkansas has important laws worth noting, especially as it relates to cell phone use, hand-held device use, and texting while driving, sometimes depending on age, type of driver, and type of driving zone.
Sounds like a case-by-case situation, right? Well, it is.
Arkansas has a cell phone ban on any drivers younger than 18; however, drivers between the ages of 18 and 21 are permitted to use a cellphone and have only a hand-held ban.
Additionally, cell phone use by motorists under 18 or while driving through a school or work zone is only secondarily enforced, meaning, a driver must also be breaking a primarily enforced law in order to receive a citation for breaking a secondarily enforced law.
However, if a school bus driver is using a cellphone, enforcement becomes primary.
All drivers, no matter age or type of driving zone, have a texting ban, and it is primarily enforced. All drivers also have a hand-held ban, but only in school and highway work zones.
So, you may be asking yourself…
If a school bus driver aged 21 is pulled over for speeding in a school zone and is using a walkie-talkie rather than a cellphone… are you cross-eyed yet? Maybe this reporter can explain it better.
Let’s just stay on the safe side and, while driving in Arkansas, not use any type of device while behind the wheel, no matter your age, your job, or the type of driving zone.
When it comes to the older population, Arkansas grants motorists over the age of 70 the personal choice in renewing their driver’s license every four years or every eight years, but they must get a vision exam every time they renew. Which option do you think they will choose?
How about some good news?
Seat belt laws are under standard enforcement.
The bad news?
Seat belt non-use cannot decrease monetary awards for injuries in lawsuits, so it is especially important to consider adding additional liability coverage to your policy.
For drivers with a history of accidents or traffic violations, they may find themselves unable to purchase coverage from an auto insurance carrier. This is where a type of insurance known as high-risk insurance comes into play.
But, don’t fret!
If you are having trouble finding an auto insurance carrier, you may apply for insurance through the Arkansas Automobile Insurance Plan.
You can apply to the plan through any auto insurance agent licensed to do business in Arkansas. However, once your application is processed, you may be assigned to a different auto insurance company.
All Arkansas auto insurance companies must participate in the plan. The amount of drivers assigned to a company through the plan is dependent on how many customers that company voluntarily covers.
The state of Arkansas currently does not provide any special low-cost insurance programs. Arkansas law requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. Penalties for not having insurance can be severe. You can’t afford not to have insurance.
While some states mandate a waived deductible for windshield repairs, and others specify the use of only manufacturer replacement parts, Arkansas does permit replacement with aftermarket parts with written notice and at least equal in terms of fit, quality, performance, and warranty.
The consumer has the right to choose the repair vendor; however, there is not a law that mandates insurance companies in Arkansas to offer a zero deductible with comprehensive coverage.
If windshield coverage is something you desire, you will need to have comprehensive coverage and you will have to carefully examine how the different insurance providers handle windshield claims.
Automobile Insurance Fraud in Arkansas
Insurance fraud is a criminal offense in the state of Arkansas, occurring when individual attempts to deceive an insurer to receive benefits or payouts they are not qualified to obtain.
There are three ways in which insurance fraud is committed:
- Knowingly misreporting or hiding facts to get benefits, coverage, or compensation
- Aiding someone in misreporting or altering the facts to receive benefits
- Knowingly making false claims or statements on someone else’s behalf at an official proceeding
Insurance fraud is considered a:
- Class B felony if the value in question is over $20,000, punishable by as much as 10 years imprisonment and/or $25,000 fine
- Class C felony if the value in question is over $300, punishable by as much as five years imprisonment and/or $10,000 fine
- A misdemeanor if the value in question is $300 or under, punishable by as much as one year’s imprisonment and/or $2,000 fine
The state of Arkansas mandates that insurers set up a specific program that identifies insurance fraud and outlines actions taken to reduce insurance fraud.
Simply put, don’t commit insurance fraud, and you’re good to go.
Statute of Limitations
A statute of limitations is the limit on the amount of time you have to bring a lawsuit to court. Different states have different statutes of limitations for personal injury and property damage matters.
If you are ever in an auto accident involving extensive injuries and damages, you need to know your rights in the matter.
Arkansas Code Annotated section 16-56-105 provides three years from the time of the accident to ask the state courts for a civil remedy for any personal injury or damage to personal property.
Vehicle Licensing Laws in Arkansas
Now, we all know that you can’t drive a car without a license. Let’s find out what mandatory vehicle licensing laws are in Arkansas.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
- First Offense – Fine of $50 to $250; suspended registration/no plates until proof of coverage plus $20 reinstatement fee; the court may order the impoundment
- Second Offense – Fine of $250 to $500 fine (minimum fine mandatory); suspended registration/no plates until proof of coverage plus $20 reinstatement fee; the court may order the impoundment
Teen Driver Laws
In Arkansas, teens are able to get a learner’s permit at age 14 and, provided they meet the requirement, a provisional license at age 16.
|License Type||Age Restrictions||Passenger Restrictions||Time Restrictions|
|Learner's Permit||14 years||No more than one passenger younger than 21||Between 11 p.m. and 4 a.m. Teens are not required to have any number of hours of supervised driving.|
|Provisional License||Must be 16 years old and have held learner's permit for at least six months.||No more than one passenger younger than 21||Nighttime restrictions will be lifted at age 18.|
|Full License||Must be 16 years old and have held provisional license for at least six months.||None||None|
Older Driver and General Population License Renewal Procedure
Below are the renewal procedures for an Arkansas driver’s license.
|Renewal Procedures||General Population||Older Population|
|License Renewal Cycle||Eight years||Four or eight years for people 70 and older, personal option|
|Mail or Online Renewal Permitted||No||No|
|Proof of adequate vision required at renewal||Every renewal||Every renewal|
If you are about to make the move to Arkansas, here’s what you need to know:
- New residents must apply for an Arkansas driver’s license within 30 days of moving to the state.
- The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration handles all matters related to vehicle licensing.
- Arkansas encourages its residents to skip the trip to the DMV and offers many of their services online, including pre-registration to reduce your wait time.
Arkansas has in effect both contributory and comparative negligence laws.
What does this mean?
In Arkansas, courts use a rule known as modified comparative negligence in the case if one driver is primarily at fault but the other driver is found to bear partial responsibility.
Typically, the blame is divided between the responsible parties based on the percentage of responsibility each has. The percentage of responsibility is then applied to the total cost of personal injury and property damage.
If the blame assigned to the person claiming damages is less than that assigned to the other parties, the plaintiff is entitled to damages — reduced by the percentage for which the plaintiff is responsible.
However, if the blame assigned to the plaintiff is greater than that assigned to the other party or parties, the plaintiff is not entitled to damages.
Rules of the Road in Arkansas
Now, before you get out on the open road in the Natural State, you need to know the rules so you can stay safe and keep your rates down.
Fault Versus No-Fault
The first thing to know is that Arkansas follows a traditional fault-based system when it comes to financial responsibility for losses stemming from a crash: that includes car accident injuries, lost income, vehicle damage, and so on.
Keep Right and Move Over Laws
Arkansas code 27-51-301 states that you should keep right if you are driving slower than the average speed of surrounding traffic with six exceptions.
Move over laws in Arkansas requires drivers to move over for emergency vehicles as well as vehicles owned by the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department and its contractors. This also includes utility vehicles, tow trucks, or authorized vehicles with flashing, revolving or rotating lights.
Maximum posted speed limits are 75 mph on rural interstates, 75 mph on urban interstates, 75 mph on limited-access roads and 65 mph on all other roads.
Car Seat and Cargo Area Laws
All children five and younger and less than 60 pounds must be restrained in a child safety seat.
Violation of the child safety seat laws in Arkansas may not only put the child in danger, but could result in a base fine of $100 plus additional fees.
Children 6–14 years old or over 60 pounds are allowed to sit in all seats with no preference for the rear seat.
Arkansas law permits employees on duty and people within bodies of trucks in a space intended for merchandise to ride in cargo areas.
Rideshare services like Uber and Lyft mandate that all their drivers carry personal auto insurance policies that align or exceed the minimum coverages dictated by state law. Drivers rarely carry their own commercial insurance coverage; however, Farmers does provide rideshare insurance in Arkansas.
Automation on the Road
According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS),
“Automation is the use of a machine or technology to perform a task or function that was previously carried out by a human. In driving, automation involves using radar, camera and other sensors to gather information about a vehicle’s surroundings, which is then used by computer programs to perform parts or all of the driving task on a sustained basis.”
Currently, Arkansas has no restrictions on autonomous vehicles.
Safety Laws in Arkansas
But wait, there’s more! Let’s dig deeper into the safety laws in Arkansas to protect you on the open road.
DUI, or driving under the influence, is a serious offense in Arkansas. Here’s what you need to know about the laws:
|HIGH BAC Limit||N/A|
|Criminal Status by Offense||Fourth and subsequent within five years is a felony. (otherwise unclassified)|
|Formal Name for Offense||Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)|
|Look Back Period/Washout Period||Five years|
Should you find yourself facing a DUI charge, the penalties can be steep, especially after multiple offenses.
|DUI Penalties||First Offense||Second Offense||Third Offense||Fourth Offense|
|ALS or Revocation||Six months||Second offense in five years – two-year revocation||Third offense in five years – 30-month revocation||Four years|
|Imprisonment||24 hours to one year, or community service||Seven days to one year||90 days to one year||One to six years|
|Other||For license reinstatement, must complete approved treatment or education program and a Victim Impact Panel +$150 reinstatement fee; interlock device equal to license suspension time||For license reinstatement, must complete approved treatment or education program and a Victim Impact Panel +$150 reinstatement fee; interlock device equal to license suspension time.||For license reinstatement, must complete approved treatment or education program and a Victim Impact Panel +$150 reinstatement fee; interlock device equal to license suspension time||For license reinstatement, must complete approved treatment or education program and a Victim Impact Panel +$150 reinstatement fee; interlock device equal to license suspension time|
Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws
Arkansas currently has no marijuana-specific impaired driving laws.
Distracted Driving Laws
The state of Arkansas currently has specific, situational laws regarding hand-held device usage, cell phone usage, and texting.
Arkansas Fascinating Facts You Need to Know
Do you want to know how safe it really is for drivers in Arkansas? Well, the data our researchers found might surprise you.
Let’s take a look…
Vehicle Theft in Arkansas
In 2016 alone, there were just over 4,900 motor vehicle thefts in the state of Arkansas. Here are the top 10 stolen cars in Arkansas.
|Make/Model||Year of Vehicle||Thefts|
|Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)||2004||402|
|Ford Pickup (Full Size)||2008||252|
|GMC Pickup (Full Size)||1997||174|
|Dodge Pickup (Full Size)||1999||127|
Risky/Harmful Driving Behavior
The best way to stay safe while driving is to always keep your eyes on the road and stay aware of common risky driving issues in your state. In 2017, there were 51 traffic incident-related fatalities in Pulaski County, the most populated county in Arkansas, comprising a 12.95 percent fatality rate per 100,000 of the population.
Let’s delve into this a bit further…
2017 Traffic Fatalities
Here’s a brief summary of the traffic fatalities in 2017
|Type||Number of Fatalities|
|Drivers Involved in Fatal Crashes||687|
|Passenger Vehicle Occupant Fatalities (All Seat Positions)||351|
|Bicyclist and other Cyclist Fatalities||3|
Fatalities by Person Type
Occupants of enclosed vehicles make up the largest number of fatalities, but others are affected as well. Here are the statistics for Arkansas.
|Occupants (Enclosed Vehicles)||382|
Fatalities by Crash Type
Traffic fatalities result from a variety of incidents. The table below breaks down the numbers by type of crash.
|Involving a Roadway Departure||331|
|Involving a Rollover||155|
|Involving a Large Truck||84|
|Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||52|
Five-Year Trend for the Top 10 Counties
Here is a list of the number of crashes in the top 10 Arkansas counties from 2013–2017.
|Top Ten Counties||205||184||221||236||190|
|All Other Counties||293||286||329||325||303|
Fatalities Involving Speeding by County
Speeding is a major cause of traffic accidents. Let’s take a look at the fatalities over that same five-year period.
Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver by County
We should all be aware of how drinking alcohol affects our ability to drive. The statistics below on alcohol-related traffic fatalities point out just how dangerous this can be.
Read about the penalties for a drunk driving conviction in Arkansas.
Teen Drinking and Driving
When it comes to traffic fatalities due to underage drinking, Arkansas’ rating is about equal to the national average as this table shows:
|Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities per 100K Population||1.2|
|Higher/Lower Than National Average (1.2)||Equal|
|DUI Arrest (Under 18 Years Old)||44|
|DUI Arrests (Under 18 Years Old) Total per Million People||62.41|
EMS Response Time
If you are in a traffic accident in Arkansas, how long will it take EMS to reach you? The answer depends on where the accident takes place:
|Type of Crash||Time of Crash to EMS|
|EMS Notification to|
|EMS Arrival at Scene|
to Hospital Arrival
|Time of Crash to Hospital
|Rural Fatal Crashes||6.08||13.94||42.27||60.84|
|Urban Fatal Crashes||3.84||6.78||28.05||39.07|
If you live in Arkansas, chances are you live in a two-car (or more!) household, drive alone to work, and spend at least 20–40 minutes of your day commuting!
With an average commute time of 20.9 minutes, Arkansas ranks below the national average, and with over 83 percent of the population driving alone, that commute doesn’t exactly rank Arkansas as the greenest option when it comes to carbon emissions.
At 42.1 percent of the population, two-car households make up the majority of car owners in the state. 23.7 percent own three cars and 19.5 percent are single-car owners.
Most workers in Arkansas have a commute of 20 minutes or less, much less than the national average of 25 minutes. 1.6 percent of the workforce has a super commute of 90 minutes or more.
Commuters in Arkansas must enjoy their alone time since nearly 83 percent commute alone. About 10 percent carpool to work and roughly 3 percent work from home.
Now, you have the facts! You’ve also been able to see what kind of auto insurance you need and how much it costs from the largest companies. Because you’re an individual, your rates will be unique to you.
It’s very important to compare rates for yourself, so you can get the coverage you need at the best rate. Enter your ZIP code below to get started!.