Travelers Auto Insurance Review (2022)

With an A.M. Best rating of A++ and an A rating from the BBB, Travelers auto insurance may have an affordable policy that meets your needs. Find out more.

UPDATED: Nov 17, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Nov 17, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Nov 17, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 17, 2022Fact Checked
4.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Travelers

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$1,286

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • One of the largest U.S. car insurance companies.
  • Travelers is available in all 50 states and Washington D.C., so you don’t have to switch car insurance companies when you move.
  • Multiple coverage options for car insurance. Travelers provides a wide range of coverages for auto insurance.
  • Travelers’ average car insurance premium is below the national average.

Cons

  • IntelliDrive program can raise rates. One of Travelers’ discount programs can raise drivers’ rates if they score poorly on the app.
  • Travelers’ reviews show below-average customer service. Poor customer service can make dealing with a company a hassle when filing claims.
  • Rideshare insurance is only available in two states.

The Bottom Line

The Final Word on Travelers Auto Insurance 

Travelers’ insurance has lower-than-average rates for most drivers, solid financial reviews, and few customer complaints. However, its IntelliDrive program can actually raise rates, and it lacks some add-on coverages. All in all, though, Travelers is a solid choice for insurance for some drivers.

If Travelers isn’t the company for you, there are plenty of other companies to consider. To find the best car insurance rates in your area, use our free quote comparison tool.

Choosing one of the best companies for auto insurance can be overwhelming when combing through dozens of companies’ rates and coverages. 

If Travelers auto insurance — not to be confused with traveler insurance — is one of your top picks for car insurance coverage, this review of Travelers insurance is for you.

We’ll review everything you need to know about Travelers car insurance, from its annual rates to financial ratings. We’ll also cover important details like how to sign up for a Travelers policy.

Is Travelers Companies, Inc. a Good Choice?

Travelers’ Financial Ratings 

Financial reviews can help you learn more about a company’s customer service, willingness to pay out claims, and more. Some companies to look at include the Better Business Bureau (BBB), A.M. Best, and Standard & Poor’s. 

Travelers has an A rating with BBB, which is only one below the highest score of A+. A.M. Best also gave Travelers and its multiple branches A and A+ ratings, meaning Travelers is financially secure.

In addition, Standard & Poor’s gave Travelers solid financial ratings, meaning Travelers is unlikely to go bankrupt and leave customers without coverage any time soon.

Travelers’ Customer Reviews 

BBB customer reviews give the company an average rating of just over one out of five stars, which is very low.

However, there were only around 500 complaints within the last three years. Considering Travelers has many customers, 500 complaints in three years is low. Disgruntled customers are also more likely to post reviews than satisfied customers, which is likely the reason for the low BBB rating.

In addition, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners gave Travelers a complaint score below one, meaning Travelers gets fewer-than-average complaints.

While some customers express dissatisfaction with customer service in their reviews, this is relatively normal for insurance companies. Overall, Travelers has low complaint scores, suggesting decent customer service and claims handling.

Travelers Companies, Inc. Rates

Travelers’ Rates 

Rates are one of the most important things to consider when researching a company. Choosing a car insurance company with reasonable rates can save you hundreds of dollars every year.

For an in-depth profile of Travelers’ insurance rates, let’s look at the rates by state, age, and more.

Annual Rates by State 

Like all auto insurance companies, Travelers’ auto insurance rates vary significantly by state. Insurers also consider local factors like crime, weather, crash statistics, and more when setting rates.

Here’s a look at the average annual full coverage auto insurance rates across the U.S.

Look at which states have the cheapest and most expensive rates below.

Travelers Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by State
StateTravelers Rates
AL$972
AR$1,367
AZ$1,292
CT$1,030
DE$1,019
IA$1,143
ID$707
IL$1,077
IN$856
KS$1,071
KY$1,725
ME$759
MI$2,268
MS$1,092
NC$1,228
NJ$1,679
NV$1,122
NY$2,159
OH$784
OR$1,197
PA$931
RI$1,275
TN$1,090
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Michigan and New York are some of the most expensive states to purchase Travelers’ insurance. A few of the cheapest states include Ohio and Idaho. 

Read our guide if you want to find cheap auto insurance in Idaho.

Annual Rates by Age and Gender

Car insurance rates vary greatly by age and gender. Look at Travelers’ rates by age and gender below to see how they compare to the national average.

Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Age and Gender for the Top Insurance Companies
Age and GenderAllstateFarmersLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveNational Average
30 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$2,118 $1,925 $2,373 $1,667 $1,633 $1,646
30 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$2,021 $1,843 $2,072 $1,519 $1,569 $1,523
45 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$1,919 $1,595 $2,066 $1,376 $1,261 $1,411
45 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$1,941 $1,602 $2,034 $1,355 $1,340 $1,413
55 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$1,820 $1,513 $1,959 $1,305 $1,196 $1,338
55 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$1,841 $1,519 $1,929 $1,285 $1,271 $1,341
65 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$1,878 $1,561 $2,022 $1,347 $1,234 $1,381
65 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$1,900 $1,568 $1,991 $1,327 $1,312 $1,383
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Teenagers see the highest rates, even if they have clean records.

Once drivers hit age 25, rates start to decrease significantly by thousands of dollars, and Travelers’ rates drop below the national average. Travelers’ rates remain below the national average even if adult and senior drivers have a ticket, accident, or DUI on their record. 

However, Travelers does increase rates slightly for senior drivers once they turn 65, even if a senior driver has a clean driving record.

In addition, for drivers under 25, Travelers isn't the cheapest. If you’re under 25, read our guide to auto insurance for drivers under 25 to see which companies are best.

Annual Rates by Driving Record 

Your driving record has a significant impact on your car insurance rates. Traffic tickets, at-fault accidents, poor credit scores, and DUIs will raise your rates at Travelers. The table below shows how much rates can increase at Travelers based on your driving record.

A DUI tends to raise auto insurance rates the most, as it’s a serious driving offense. Most companies will raise rates significantly for a DUI, not just Travelers, but Travelers does raise rates above the national average. However, Travelers’ rate increases are slightly below the national average for at-fault accidents and tickets, which is good for drivers with a less-than-perfect record.

Annual Rates by Coverage 

Rates also depend on how much coverage you purchase at Travelers. While we always recommend carrying a full coverage policy, some drivers may skip on coverages to save.

At Travelers, rates for different auto insurance coverage levels are as follows:

Travelers Auto Insurance Average Annual Minimum and Full Coverage Rates
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage RatesAverage Full Coverage Rates
Travelers$471$1,287
Average$541$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

A full coverage policy usually costs a few hundred dollars more a year, but if you get into an accident, the higher coverage level can save you from expensive repair bills.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Travelers Companies, Inc. Discounts Available

Travelers’ Discounts 

Discounts can reduce auto insurance rates significantly. For example, Travelers offers the following discounts to customers:

  • Affinity discount. Travelers offers discounts for employees and members of certain groups or businesses.
  • Continuous insurance discount. Travelers customers who don’t have coverage gaps can earn a small discount.  
  • Driver training discount. You must complete a driver training course approved by Travelers to earn the driver’s ed discount
  • Early quote discount. You can earn a small discount for signing up with Travelers before your existing insurance policy expires. This discount is unavailable in California. It’s still fairly simple to find cheap auto insurance in California even without this program.
  • Electronic funds transfer, pay in full, and good payer discounts. These discounts are for policyholders who pay on time, pay in full, or set up automatic payments, but they’re also unavailable in California.
  • Good student discount. College or high school students with a “B” average can earn a small discount.
  • Homeownership discount. You can earn a small discount if you’re a homeowner.
  • Hybrid/electric car discount. Travelers offers a small discount for environmentally friendly cars. 
  • IntelliDrive discount. You can save up to 30% on your insurance policy by participating in the IntelliDrive program. This program is unavailable in California. 
  • Multi-car discount. To qualify for the multi-car discount, you need to have two or more vehicles insured through Travelers. This discount is unavailable in California.
  • Multi-policy discount. You can save up to 13% if you purchase more than one policy from Travelers.
  • New car discount. Your vehicle must be less than three years old to qualify for the discount. This discount isn’t available in California.
  • Safe driver discount. You can’t have any accidents, traffic violations, or major comprehensive claims within the last three to five years. This discount is also unavailable in California.
  • Student away discount. You can qualify for a student away discount if your child goes to a school 100 miles or more from your home and they aren’t driving cars on your policy at home.

Your savings amount depends on the discount. However, discounts related to safe driving tend to save drivers the most on their policies. 

Travelers Companies, Inc. Coverage Options

Travelers’ Coverages

All insurance companies offer the liability coverages required in each state, but not all offer the add-on coverages customers desire, like roadside assistance or GAP coverage. 

In addition to liability, collision, and comprehensive, Travelers offers the following auto insurance coverages:

The noticeable coverages missing are classic car insurance, modified car insurance, and SR-22 auto insurance. So if you’ve made expensive vehicle modifications, own a classic car, or need high-risk insurance, you should look elsewhere for coverage.

Travelers Companies, Inc. vs. Competitors

Annual Rates Compared to Competitors 

Travelers’ rates are slightly lower than the national average, but this doesn’t necessarily mean it’s the cheapest car insurance company. Look at the table below to see how Travelers’ rates compare to the national average and other companies.

Average Annual Rates by Coverage for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance
Company
Average Minimum
Coverage Rates
Average Full
Coverage Rates
Allstate$605$1,993
American Family$582$1,386
Farmers$674$1,674
GEICO$290$984
Liberty Mutual$771$2,120
Nationwide$588$1,445
Progressive$484$1,310
State Farm$408$1,091
Travelers$471$1,287
Average$541$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Other companies are cheaper on average than Travelers. However, a company can sometimes be cheaper for different types of drivers or in different locations.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where can I get Travelers car insurance? 

You can purchase Travelers auto insurance by signing up through its website, calling Travelers, or speaking to a local Travelers agent. 

How do I contact Travelers? 

You can reach Travelers at any of the following:

  • Customer service number: 1-800-842-5075
  • Customer service email address: https://www.travelers.com/contact-us/email
  • Personal insurance address: P.O. Box 660307, Dallas, TX 75266-0307
  • Quote service number: 1-866-577-4978
  • Travelers’ website: https://www.travelers.com/

Travelers also has social media accounts on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, and Instagram.

Does Travelers offer SR-22s?

Unfortunately, Travelers does not offer special high-risk insurance for drivers who need SR-22 insurance coverage. Some of the drivers who might need SR-22 insurance are drivers with multiple DUIs, drivers caught driving with a suspended license, and drivers with other serious infractions. 

Is Travelers owned by GEICO?

No, Travelers is not owned by GEICO. It is a separate company. 

Is Travelers good at paying claims?

Because Travelers has strong financial ratings, it shouldn’t struggle to pay out claims to customers who file a claim. However, as with any insurance company, reviews are mixed when it comes to customer satisfaction with claims at Travelers. Generally, though, as long as you have a justifiable claim and the proper coverage, there shouldn’t be a problem with your claim.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Travelers Companies, Inc.

4.08 (1,729 reviews)
4
January 8, 2021

Leopard

Fast reply

They have good customer service fast and quick they reimburse me quick they come to the site quick they nice and friendly and reply email quick and fast
1
December 15, 2020

franbrown11

HORRIBLE

BY FAR THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER WORKED WITH. I was yelled at and hung up on by our agent. I was told to stop asking questions because it was making things take longer. I was told I was being argumentative instead of anyone actually listening to my questions. I was hung up on for asking to speak to a supervisor. I was given different information every single time I spoke with someone. As someone who has been in customer service for over 14 ye...
BY FAR THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER WORKED WITH. I was yelled at and hung up on by our agent. I was told to stop asking questions because it was making things take longer. I was told I was being argumentative instead of anyone actually listening to my questions. I was hung up on for asking to speak to a supervisor. I was given different information every single time I spoke with someone. As someone who has been in customer service for over 14 years, I have never seen customer treated as poorly as I was throughout this experience. Nasty, mean people that could care less about their customers. The first thing the tow company and the auto body shop asked was if I was ok after my accident. Travelers never asked anything like that. Instead, they blamed and shamed me.
4
October 17, 2020

biskutt

Increasing price for no obvious reason

I never had any problems with the coverage, but the price kept going up and up even as my car got older, and I had no tickets or accidents. I changed companies and got the same coverage for a lot less.
4
October 14, 2020

CarterKing2020

Bill

Great company, always there when you need them. I just don't like that sometimes your bill goes up when you have a wreck.
5
October 14, 2020

BW2345

Affordable, easy to manage, and great customer service

Travelers makes managing insurance products easily. With an easy to use mobile app, friendly customer service, and affordable auto insurance, I would highly recommend them for all your insurance needs.
5
October 10, 2020

Rustysgirl

Fast service

Had a broken windshield from a truck throwing up a rock on the interstate; they responded and sent someone immediately with no hassle
5
October 9, 2020

Christinewashere

Best option

Great company! I am lucky to have found this company. They have been doing good job and helping me with my insurance. Keep it up!
5
October 9, 2020

SPR5036

Good Car Claim

Had an automobile claim two months ago. The service agent was helpful on getting a windshield replaced fast.
5
October 8, 2020

GQ

Great Value

Travelers has been a great company. Great customer service and fair prices. I like that I can bundle my homeowners, auto and umbrella policies to get a discount.
4
October 8, 2020

ShawnTaylor

"Travelers" is a great insurance company

"Travelers" is a great insurance company. I feel lucky to be their customer. They really care about their customers. They offers great deals and services. They are also helping community.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

stage