Auto-Owners Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Auto-Owners auto insurance rates are below average at $87/mo, and coverage is available in 26 states. Auto-Owners auto insurance reviews give the company superior financial and customer service ratings, and many policyholders enjoy affordable Auto-Owners auto insurance for classic cars and modified vehicles.

UPDATED: Feb 16, 2024Fact Checked

Heidi Mertlich

Licensed Insurance Agent

Heidi works with top-rated insurance carriers to bring her clients the highest quality protection at the most competitive prices. She founded NoPhysicalTermLife.com, specializing in life insurance that doesn’t require a medical exam. Heidi is a regular contributor to several insurance websites, including FinanceBuzz.com, Insurist.com, and Forbes. As a parent herself, she understands the need ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain is a licensed insurance agent with 23 years of experience helping people protect their families and businesses with the best insurance coverage to meet their needs. His insurance expertise has been featured in several publications, including Investopedia and eFinancial. He also does digital marking and analysis for KPS/3, a communications and marking firm located in Nevada.

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Feb 16, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 16, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 16, 2024Fact Checked
4.2
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Auto-Owners Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$87

A.M. Best rating:

A+ (Superior)

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Below-average rates in most states
  • Favorable customer reviews
  • Superior financial ratings
  • Additional coverages, such as roadside assistance
  • Numerous insurance products and discounts
  • Uncommon coverages, such as modified vehicle coverage

Cons

  • Only available in 26 states
  • Must use a local agent for most needs
  • Limited app and online services
  • Some negative claims and customer service reviews

Final Verdict: Review of Auto-Owners Insurance

Auto-Owners provides car insurance in 26 states, with rates typically lower than average. The company also offers multiple insurance products so drivers can bundle multiple policies. 

Auto-Owners is a one-stop shop for drivers needing auto and other coverages, such as home and boat insurance. However, the company wants drivers to ask for an auto insurance quote and manage their policies with a local agent. Learn how to ask an auto insurance company for quotes or get free quotes with our comparison tool below.

Auto-Owners is a good fit for drivers who prefer to deal with one agent, but it isn’t suitable for drivers looking for streamlined online features.

Auto-Owners insurance provides below-average car insurance rates for drivers in 26 states. The company also offers numerous insurance products and discounts to help you save. However, Auto-Owners requires you to use a local agent for most needs. While you can pay your bill online or through the app, your agent must give you quotes and help with any insurance needs like a policy change. Auto-Owners has excellent customer interaction and financial stability ratings but slightly below average customer satisfaction ratings. Nevertheless, Auto-Owners offers reliable and inexpensive insurance with low rates and various discounts. Auto-Owners is a good fit for drivers who like face-to-face service and need multiple insurance products, such as auto and homeowners coverage. However, the company isn’t a good fit for drivers who want to do everything online. Keep reading to learn more about Auto-Owners insurance and see if it’s a good fit for you.

What You Should Know About Auto-Owners Insurance Group

With excellent interactions, financial ratings, and low rates, Auto-Owners is one of the top insurance companies in the country. Auto-Owners sets itself apart by using local agents for most needs, including quotes and policy changes. Many other top insurers allow customers to get quotes and make changes online.

Auto-Owners also offers drivers multiple insurance options and numerous auto insurance discounts. As a result, many drivers may find the company meets all their insurance needs.

However, Auto-Owners requires you to use a local agent for most needs. While you can pay your bill online or through the app, your agent must give you quotes and help with any insurance needs, like a policy change or filing a claim.

Our Auto-Owners auto insurance review finds that the insurer is a good fit for drivers who like face-to-face service and need multiple insurance products, such as auto and homeowners coverage. However, the company isn’t a good fit for drivers who want to do everything online.

Where to Get Affordable Auto-Owners Auto Insurance

Auto-Owners is only available in 26 states, and rates vary by driver and state. Here is a list of the states where Auto-Owners insurance is available:

View as image

While rates are typically below average, some states like Colorado see higher than average Auto-Owners rates.

Auto-Owners Auto Insurance Review and Company Ratings

While insurance rates are vital, so are ratings. It’s important to know your insurer is there when you need it. Fortunately, Auto-Owners has low rates and excellent ratings.

A.M. Best rates insurance companies on financial stability. Auto-Owners received an A+ rating, showing a superior ability to meet financial obligations.

A loss ratio also shows how an insurance company is doing financially — it shows that a company takes in more money than it pays out. The Auto-Owners loss ratio is just over 60%, which is average and means the company isn’t in financial danger.

The Better Business Bureau rates companies on how well it interacts with its customers. Auto-Owners received an A+ rating and accreditation. However, Auto-Owners customer satisfaction ratings are below average. According to J.D. Power, the company earned a 4.2/5 rating. 

Auto-Owners Insurance Group Insurance Coverage Options

Auto-Owners offers all the typical car insurance coverages, allowing drivers to customize their policy with preferred coverages.

Car insurance coverages offered by Auto-Owners include:

While your state typically only requires liability coverage, you can gain more protection for yourself, your passengers, and your vehicle by adding some of the above coverages.

Specialty Auto-Owners Auto Insurance Coverage Options

In addition to traditional car insurance, Auto-Owners offers other coverages and features drivers may add to their policy.

Additional coverages include:

  • Roadside assistance. With one of the best roadside assistance plans, you can get a jump-start, fuel delivery, locksmith services, or towing.
  • Glass and windshield repair. Full glass coverage is one option. Glass and windshield repair pays for repairs or replacement if the glass in your vehicle gets damaged.
  • Gap coverage. Gap insurance pays the difference between what you owe on your vehicle and its worth.
  • Additional expense. This coverage pays for a rental car, lodging, and fuel if your vehicle gets damaged on a trip. Rental car reimbursement pays for you to have a rental car while your car is being repaired.
  • Diminished value. Diminished value pays the difference between what your car was worth before and after an accident.
  • Personal automobile plus. This package contains ten coverages, including identity theft protection and rekeying locks.
  • Accident forgiveness. Accident forgiveness won’t raise your rates for your first at-fault accident. See the best accident forgiveness auto insurance companies in our article.
  • Classic car coverage. Classic car auto insurance coverage takes care of repairs and replacement of classic cars with different needs.
  • Modified vehicle coverage. Modified vehicle coverage insures modifications such as a wheelchair ramp. Find out more about auto insurance companies that insure modified cars in our article.

Auto-Owners also provides TrueRide, a usage-based auto insurance program that monitors safe driving habits, such as phone usage, and offers a discount based on your driving. Fortunately, your rates won’t increase if you drive poorly.

Other Types of Insurance from Auto-Owners

Despite the name, Auto-Owners offers more than just auto insurance, including other insurance and financial products.

Insurance products offered by Auto-Owners included:

  • Homeowners
  • Renters
  • Condo
  • Life
  • Pet
  • Motorcycle
  • Boat
  • RV
  • Business

Auto-Owners offers robust coverage, especially for your home. It also covers injuries to anyone on your property, personal possessions, and lodging if policyholders need to stay elsewhere.

Auto-Owners also offers several life insurance products, such as whole, universal, and term life. Policyholders also get discounts for bundling life, home, and auto policies.

In addition, Auto-Owners offers financial products, including annuities and disability income. Drivers looking for multiple policies and financial products may find everything they’re looking for with Auto-Owners.

Auto-Owners Auto Insurance App Review

Through the Auto-Owners insurance app, drivers can access insurance information, make a payment, and request roadside assistance. However, while drivers can check the status of their claim with the app, they can’t file a claim.

The Auto-Owners app isn’t as robust as other insurance company apps, which generally allow drivers to file claims and change coverages. The Auto-Owners app received a 3.2/5 rating in the Google Play Store and a 3/5 rating in the Apple App Store.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Auto-Owners Insurance Group Insurance Rates Breakdown

Many factors, like age, driving record, and location, affect your auto insurance rates. Every company weighs your factors differently and offers different rates. Coverage amount also affects your rates. While most states only require liability auto insurance, it doesn’t provide any protection for your vehicle. However, liability-only rates are the lowest.

Remember, your location plays a part in car insurance rates. Every state creates its own rules and regulations that may cause your rates to be higher than average.

Benjamin Carr Former Insurance Agent

Fortunately, Auto-Owners car insurance rates are lower than average but vary by driver. This table shows average auto insurance rates by state.

View as image

While full coverage is more expensive, it typically includes liability, collision, comprehensive, and other mandatory coverages. In addition, full coverage requires the lowest out-of-pocket expenses if your vehicle gets in an accident.

Remember, your location also plays a part in car insurance rates. Every state creates its own rules and regulations that may cause your rates to be higher than average.

How Age and Gender Impact Auto-Owner Auto Insurance Rates

It’s no secret that young drivers pay much higher auto insurance rates since they lack experience behind the wheel. However, you might not know that married drivers generally have much lower rates since they tend to be less risky to cover.

On the other hand, male drivers statistically are more risky drivers and tend to be in more accidents. Men pay more for auto insurance than women.  Young male drivers can expect the highest rates of all.

Check out this table to see how your age and gender and affect Auto-Owners car insurance rates.

View as image

Even though Auto-Owners rates are low, young drivers still pay almost double what older, more experienced drivers pay. Auto insurance for a 16-year-old is more expensive than for a young or older adult.

How Driving Records Impact Auto-Owner Auto Insurance Rates

Your driving record is one of the most significant factors determining your car insurance rates. It lets your auto insurance company predict if you’re a risk to insure and likely to cost it money.

Drivers with tickets, accidents, and DUIs spend significantly more on auto insurance than drivers with clean driving records. Insurance companies check driving records which can affect your car insurance rates.

For comparison, look at this table showing average Auto-Owners rates based on driving history with a speeding ticket.

View as image

In addition, here are the rates for drivers with an accident on their record at Auto-Owners.

View as image

Finding auto insurance with a DUI on your record can be more difficult. Read our article to learn “What is a DUI?” And for Auto-Owners drivers with a DUI, take a look at the table below to get a better idea of how much your rates will increase.

View as image

Although Auto-Owners rates don’t increase drastically after an accident or ticket, multiple infractions will significantly raise your rates. Additionally, you may be required to buy high-risk auto insurance at more expensive rates if you’re very risky to insure.

Auto-Owners Insurance Group Discounts Available

Auto insurance discounts are a great way to lower rates, and Auto-Owners offers multiple discounts based on the driver, policy, and vehicle. For example, drivers may qualify for safe driver, paid in full, and anti-theft device discounts.

There are also discounts for good students, away student discounts, and other savings if the young driver uses telematics to monitor driving. However, Auto-Owners auto insurance rates for young drivers aren’t costly, as discounts lower rates significantly.

Since Auto-Owners offers so many insurance products, drivers can bundle multiple policies for the most savings on top of car insurance discounts.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which states offer Auto-Owners insurance?

You’ll be able to get a car insurance policy from Auto-Owners Insurance if you live in one of these states — Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, and Virginia

Is Auto-Owners auto insurance expensive?

Auto-Owners auto insurance rates are very affordable at $87 a month for safe drivers, which is considerably less than the national average.

Is Auto-Owners insurance good?

Auto-Owners has excellent ratings for customer service and financial stability. In addition, the company has fewer than average complaints and many drivers like dealing with a local agent in person.

How can I contact Auto-Owners auto insurance?

To contact Auto-Owners Insurance Group, you can reach out to its customer service department by calling 1-800-288-8740.

Where is Auto-Owners headquarters?

The headquarters of the Auto-Owners Insurance Group are in Lansing, Michigan.

Is Auto-Owners good at paying auto insurance claims?

Auto-Owners scored below the industry average for claims satisfaction.

How can I file an auto insurance claim with Auto-Owners?

To file a claim with Auto-Owners Auto Insurance, you can contact their claims department directly. They will guide you through the claims process, provide the necessary forms, and assist you in gathering any required information. It’s important to report accidents or incidents promptly to initiate the claims process.

Can I manage my Auto-Owners auto insurance policy online?

Yes, Auto-Owners Auto Insurance typically provides an online portal or mobile app that allows policyholders to manage their policies. This may include tasks such as making payments, viewing policy documents, updating personal information, and accessing digital ID cards.

Who owns Auto-Owners Insurance Group?

Auto-Owners is a mutual insurance company and is therefore owned by its policyholders and not corporate shareholders.

Who is the CEO of Auto-Owners Insurance Group?

Jeffrey Tagsold is the CEO and President of Auto-Owners.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Heidi Mertlich

Licensed Insurance Agent

Heidi works with top-rated insurance carriers to bring her clients the highest quality protection at the most competitive prices. She founded NoPhysicalTermLife.com, specializing in life insurance that doesn’t require a medical exam. Heidi is a regular contributor to several insurance websites, including FinanceBuzz.com, Insurist.com, and Forbes. As a parent herself, she understands the need ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain is a licensed insurance agent with 23 years of experience helping people protect their families and businesses with the best insurance coverage to meet their needs. His insurance expertise has been featured in several publications, including Investopedia and eFinancial. He also does digital marking and analysis for KPS/3, a communications and marking firm located in Nevada.

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Auto-Owners Insurance Group

4.15 (563 reviews)
1
February 1, 2021

helthscreen

Poor service

One of the worse companies I've worked with. They hit me with a bill 6 months after canceling. A cancelled in 2020 hit me with the bill in 2021 due to a "system issue" doesn't seem legal to hit someone with a bill 8 months later. I couldn't even log into my account to pay the bill because I am not longer a member there. How to chase them down online.
5
December 28, 2020

Vic_the_man

Good Enough

The company provided me with a good insurance coverage which came of good help when my car has a scratch on it
5
October 2, 2020

ellenamcd2

Well done Auto Owners Insurance

This is the first time I have had to file a claim with my Auto Insurance Company and both the agents and the auto insurance company Auto Owners Insurance did everything possible to make this as easy as possible. The Auto Body Shop a friend recommended were also wonderful...my car was show room ready in a very short time.
5
July 8, 2020

josechepe2001

Great policies and great road assistance

They provide great assitance when involved in an accident or having issues with your car specially for road assistance which is great
5
March 14, 2020

jessman1128

We love Auto Owners Insurance!

We have been very happy with our Auto Owners Insurance policy, agent, and company. We get very good rates and the service has always been excellent.
4
March 5, 2020

64061

Try auto owners.

They are very easy to work with and compete price wise with the others out there. I have full coverage for the same price I paid for liability only before.
5
February 24, 2020

VSchmitt

Good company from longtime customer

Auto Owners has always been a fair company to us. We have hit deer with vehicles and had one accident. I have had a policy with them for over 10 years. I continue to buy insurance from them because they continue to support me when needed.
5
February 24, 2020

pallam

Great policy for all our family needs

Great customer service. No significant rate increases. Prompt claims attention. Lowest pricing in the area. Can speak to a customer service rep easily, have not experienced long holds.
5
February 24, 2020

Tricia987654

Easy to love

Very easy to deal with and rates are some of the best in the area. The assessment time was quick and agents are responsive
4
February 23, 2020

db404

Agent mistakenly did not put comp on my oldest vehicle.

Reasonable prices considering Michigan auto insurance is very expensive. But unfortunately a newer agent neglected to put Comp on my oldest vehicle which I added last summer.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption