National General Car Insurance Review (2022)

Although the company has more complaints and higher rates than competitors, National General offers affordable prices to high-risk drivers with a DUI.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Aug 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Aug 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Aug 30, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
3.3
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

National General Insurance Company

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$1,933

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Sells policies to high-risk drivers, including first-time DUI offenders
  • Will file SR-22 insurance if needed
  • Good policy options for people with a car and an RV to insure

Cons

  • No mobile app
  • Rates are higher than the national average
  • Receives more complaints than expected for a company its size

The Bottom Line

Find the Right Coverage Today

Although National General has more complaints and higher rates than other insurance companies, its unique features and discounts make this company worth checking out. You’ll pay more for coverage, but National General’s SmartServices, special RV perks, and discounts for GM drivers make up the difference.

While getting a quote from National General is a good idea, you should always compare rates with other companies. Looking at multiple quotes is the best way to ensure you get the right policy for your needs.

Things to Remember

  • National General receives more complaints than other insurance companies, though negative reviews focus on customer service and not claims handling
  • Rates with National General are higher than the national average, but special features like SmartService make policies more appealing
  • National General might be suitable for drivers associated with GM, RV owners, and people with a DUI

National General initially provided insurance for General Motors drivers as the GMAC Insurance Group. Today, National General is owned by Allstate but continues to sell insurance under its own name.

Affectionately known as NatGen, National General offers a variety of insurance products, including high-risk insurance for drivers with DUIs and other violations. It also offers special perks for RV owners and drivers associated with General Motors.

Unfortunately, National General has higher rates and more complaints than comparable companies. So while the best insurance for you might not be the cheapest, you’ll likely find similar plans for much less.

National General’s unique perks and discounts make it worth getting quotes from, but you should always compare multiple companies. Learn more about National General below, then look at rates from other companies to find the best policy.

Is National General Insurance Company (Integon) a Good Choice?

Is National General insurance good?

Unfortunately, National General Insurance reviews are not the best.

One of the most important things people look at when shopping for insurance is rates. While the cheapest rates don’t necessarily mean the best insurance, finding an affordable price is integral to your overall satisfaction.

National General’s rates are typically much higher than its competitors, sometimes tripling the prices of other companies. It also receives a much higher volume of customer complaints than companies of the same size. Most complaints center around National General’s customer service.

However, it’s not all bad news. National General has solid discounts and helpful policy features, especially for RV owners. National General also offers insurance to high-risk drivers and helps with SR-22 insurance.

National General Ratings

While its customers might not paint a flattering picture, third-party rating companies leave more positive National General reviews.

A.M. Best ranks companies based on financial stability and gives National General an A-. This grade means that National General is a financially sound company and should have no problem paying any claim you might make.

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) rates companies’ abilities to resolve customer complaints. National General receives an A+ from the BBB, but there are nearly 2,000 complaints on the site.

J.D. Power lists insurance companies by their overall customer satisfaction on a scale of up to 1,000 points. National General scored 815, the lowest of the 25 companies on the list.

Finally, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) creates ratios for insurance companies of complaints received compared to their size. The average score is 1.0, and National General is far above it with a 9.44. That means National General gets more than nine times the average number of complaints.

National General Claims Handling

The National General Insurance company has a lot of negative reviews, but they don’t usually stem from how it handles claims. In fact, most customers report overall satisfaction with the National General claims department.

Customers report that National General processes claims quickly — most small claims are resolved and paid within 48 hours. Of course, more complex claims will take longer, but people seem satisfied with the resolution time.

As with all insurance companies, National General receives some complaints about its claims handling. However, these complaints are few, and National General seems to do quite well.

National General Insurance Company (Integon) Rates

How much does National General car insurance cost?

Although National General offers excellent perks, its rates are generally much higher than the national average. Check out the map below to see the average annual full coverage car insurance rates by state.

This is partly because National General provides coverage to high-risk drivers. High-risk insurance comes at higher prices due to the increased likelihood of future claims.

Although National General car insurance rates are usually higher than other companies, it’s still worth getting a quote. And remember — the cheapest insurance isn’t always the best.

How much is minimum coverage vs. full coverage with National General?

Minimum coverage refers to the smallest amount of insurance you can carry in your state and still be legal to drive. Getting minimum coverage is a great way to keep the price of your insurance low. Full coverage refers to a suite of insurances that give your car a better range of protection. Although it’s more expensive, it also offers more valuable coverage.

Here is how National General's full coverage rates compare to minimum coverages.

The average minimum coverage with National General is about 20% higher than other companies. It can’t compete with providers like GEICO or USAA, but your rates will vary based on location due to car insurance requirements in your state.

You don’t need to figure out your state’s laws by yourself — an insurance representative will know exactly how much coverage you need to be legal. Keep in mind that minimum coverage comes with greater out-of-pocket expenses if you’re ever in an accident.

As with minimum coverage, National General’s rates are above average. However, they are cheaper than Allstate, which is one of America’s most popular companies.

How much is National General for teens?

Teen drivers are one of the most expensive demographics for car insurance. These inexperienced drivers are more likely to engage in reckless behaviors, make incorrect choices in dangerous situations, and be involved in car accidents.

Like all companies that offer teen car insurance, National General rates are much higher for young drivers.

When you need to find cheap car insurance rates for teens, National General might not be the best choice. Instead, companies like Travelers, Allstate, or USAA are better choices because they offer much lower rates for teens.

How much is National General for adults?

Young adult drivers typically have a few years of experience on the road, but insurance companies still consider them high-risk. Statistically, young drivers are more likely to file claims than older adults.

Although young adult drivers see higher rates until about 25, National General offers relatively affordable prices.

While still more expensive, National General’s rates for young adult drivers match more closely to the national average. Young adults looking to cut their insurance bills should look into National General discounts, especially if they have clean driving records.

Adult drivers are the cheapest demographic when it comes to age. Starting around 25, your rates will gradually lower as long as you maintain a clean driving record. You’ll probably see your cheapest rates between 55 and 65.

Like young adult rates, National General is slightly above the national average for adult car insurance.

Adult drivers should take advantage of as many car insurance discounts as possible to get the lowest rates. If the price of your insurance is your top priority, you’ll probably find cheaper rates elsewhere.

How much is National General for older adults?

After decades of decreasing rates, drivers may see their insurance prices rise again as they age. This is because senior drivers are statistically more likely to file claims.

While National General rates are still higher than the national average, drivers in their 60s and 70s might find more affordable rates.

As with other age groups, National General is nowhere near the most affordable. Instead, it stays above the national average. Take a look at National General's rates by age:

How much is National General after an accident?

An at-fault accident on your driving record can drastically increase your rates for years, but finding affordable coverage isn’t impossible. Unfortunately, National General continues its trend of higher rates for people with accidents on their record.

Again, National General beats out only Allstate and AAA with its rates. If you have an at-fault accident on your record, you’ll probably have more luck comparing rates from companies like State Farm.

Other companies might deny you coverage if you have multiple accidents on your record. When that happens, you’ll need to look for high-risk insurance. Although rates will be much higher, National General will probably work with you.

How much is National General after a speeding ticket?

Nearly everyone is guilty of speeding, especially when running late for work, school, or an appointment. However, speeding can be incredibly dangerous and is a factor in a large percentage of accidents.

Although National General is willing to work with high-risk drivers, it charges more than the national average. You should compare rates with other companies even if you have several speeding tickets to see if you can find a better deal.

How much is National General after a DUI?

Of all the traffic violations that will increase your insurance rates, DUIs hit the hardest. After a DUI, it’s important to shop for new car insurance because rates vary wildly between companies. Your old insurance might not have the lowest rate for you.

National General does relatively well for drivers with a DUI. State Farm offers better prices, but National General is more affordable than major names like GEICO, Allstate, Nationwide, and AAA.

How much is National General for drivers with poor credit?

While you might not guess that your credit score is part of the equation determining how much you’ll pay for car insurance, it plays an integral role. Insurance companies keep careful track of claims data, and the numbers show that people with low credit scores are more likely to file a claim.

National General is willing to work with low credit scores, but its rates are higher than the national average.

Although rates are higher, you don’t have to pay high rates forever. You can lower your rates by increasing your score — even getting into the fair category could reduce your rates by up to 50%.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

National General Insurance Company (Integon) Discounts Available

National General Discounts

National General offers many of the same standard discounts as other companies. The list isn’t as long as competitors and notably misses student discounts, but there are still plenty of ways to save:

  • Paid-in-full
  • RV owner
  • Multi-car
  • Safe driver
  • Policy bundling
  • Automatic payments
  • Paperless documents
  • Low mileage

One of National General’s most unique discounts is for RV owners. If you have a policy that covers a car and an RV, you’ll receive 20% off your rates. Additionally, you’ll only pay one deductible if you need to file a claim for both.

National General GM Discounts

For most of its existence, National General was owned by General Motors. Due to this relationship, National General offers special discounts to drivers connected to General Motors. These drivers include:

  • People who have a GM card, GMAC auto financing, or a GMAC mortgage
  • Current or former GM employees
  • Employees of suppliers or dealerships that work with GM
  • OnStar subscribers with low mileage rates on their car

You might see much lower rates if you’re eligible, but National General’s GM discounts aren’t available in every state. You’ll need to speak with an insurance representative to check your eligibility. Take a look at some of the discounts in this table:

National General Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates by Gender and Age
Driver DemographicsAverage Annual Auto Insurance Rates
62-year-old male$916
62-year-old female$946
48-year-old male$910
48-year-old female$1,112
35-year-old male$860
35-year-old female$1,048
25-year-old male$1,426
25-year-old female$1,298
18-year-old male$5,076
18-year-old female$4,472
Get Your Rates Quote Now

National General’s DynamicDrive

Usage-based insurance programs are gaining popularity because they offer safe drivers a way to save on their insurance. National General’s usage-based program is DynamicDrive.

DynamicDrive monitors your driving habits through the Routely app. It tracks driving behaviors like speeding, using your phone, and hard braking, then calculates a score after 30 days. You automatically get a discount for signing up for DynamicDrive, but you can save even more if you practice safe habits.

Usage-based insurance is a good option for low mileage drivers who practice safe habits. You can opt out of DynamicDrive whenever you’d like, but you’ll lose your participation discount.

National General Insurance Company (Integon) Coverage Options

What types of car insurance does National General sell?

National General offers the following types of coverage:

  • Liability. Liability insurance comes in two parts — bodily injury and property damage. This insurance pays for damage you cause in an accident, and most states require drivers to carry it.
  • Collision. You need collision coverage if you want your insurance to pay for repairs to your car after an accident.
  • Comprehensive. Comprehensive coverage protects your car from everything else, including fire, weather, theft, and vandalism.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. If a driver without enough insurance hits you, your uninsured motorist coverage will pay for your car repairs. Uninsured motorist insurance also covers hit-and-runs.
  • Medical payments. Medical payments insurance covers your health care expenses after an accident.
  • Personal injury protection. Personal injury protection pays for health care bills, lost wages, physical therapy, and even funeral costs after an accident.

The amount of insurance you need depends on your unique circumstances. For example, you might be fine with minimum insurance if you own an older car outright and want to stick to a budget.

You’ll probably need full coverage if you have a loan or lease on your car or can’t afford to replace it. Full coverage includes liability, collision, comprehensive, and uninsured motorist insurances, plus medical payments or personal injury protection.

Does National General sell car insurance add-ons?

Car insurance add-ons are a great way to customize your policy and add value to your plan. National General offers a few solid choices that extend the coverage on your car. These include:

  • Rental reimbursement. National General will give you a daily allowance for a rental car when your vehicle is repaired after an accident.
  • Roadside assistance. While all National General auto insurance policies include towing after an accident, roadside assistance helps with additional problems like fuel delivery or a battery jumpstart.
  • SR-22. If your license has been revoked, you’ll probably need an SR-22 form to prove you carry your state’s minimum insurance. National General will file the form for you for a small fee.
  • Locksmith service. Are you worried about locking yourself out of your car? You can purchase locksmith services for up to $50.
  • Auto protection plan. Similar to mechanical breakdown insurance, this add-on covers the cost of unexpected repairs but will not cover routine wear-and-tear repairs.
  • Mexico travel. Most American car insurance won’t work in Mexico, but National General can keep you legally covered.
  • Accidental death and dismemberment. National General will cover related expenses if you die or are dismembered in an accident.

It’s not as long a list as some of its larger competitors, but National General’s add-on options can keep you covered through most of life’s problems.

Do National General policies come with other benefits?

Although National General receives a high number of complaints, many customers feel the extra benefits of a NatGen plan make up for it. National General offers the following benefits:

  • Emergency services. National General will give you up to $250 for food, lodging, and travel expenses if you find yourself stranded after a covered incident.
  • Lifetime guarantee for repairs. As long as you use one of its Gold Medal repair shops, National General guarantees a comprehensive or collision repair for as long as you own the car. This coverage is only available if you have rental reimbursement.
  • Guaranteed claims service satisfaction. National General is committed to a happy claims resolution for every customer. If you’re not satisfied with your claim, National General will waive $250 off your deductible.

As long as you meet the eligibility criteria, these benefits are available on every policy. In addition, national General also offers perks with its SmartServices package and for drivers connected with General Motors.

What is National General’s SmartServices?

National General offers its SmartServices package to elevate your insurance experience. The SmartServices package includes:

  • SmartAssist. This is a roadside assistance feature with better services than the standard plan.
  • SmartDrive. SmartDrive is an elevated version of rental reimbursement. It picks you up after an accident and covers a rental car similar to your own vehicle.
  • SmartInspect. You can choose any vehicle inspection service to review your car after it’s been repaired for a covered incident.
  • SmartReplacement. Totaling your car is never a fun experience, but the SmartReplacement program gives you expert advice on replacing your car. You’ll also get special pricing on GM vehicles.
  • SmartValet. SmartValet brings the rental car while you wait for repairs. After your car is fixed, SmartValet brings your vehicle to you and returns the rental.

SmartServices offers a great package if you want a better customer service experience. Check with a representative if you’re interested because prices and availability vary by state.

What is the National General Motor Club?

National General manages the National General Motor Club, and members get unique benefits. These include:

  • 24/7 support on the road
  • Trip routing and maps
  • Locksmith services
  • Discounts on shopping, dining, and entertainment
  • Roadside and towing services
  • Legal defense
  • Trip interruption coverage
  • Auto theft deterrent awards
  • Arrest bonds
  • Vehicle repair check guarantee
  • Hospital emergency room bond
  • $750 reimbursement for emergency services

Membership in the National General Motor Club comes in three tiers — basic, standard, and elite. These cost between $59 and $89 a year, and adding additional drivers to your plan costs as low as $10.

Does National General sell other types of insurance?

National General has plenty of alternative insurance options, and you’ll qualify for a bundling discount if you buy additional policies.

National General sells the following policies:

  • Commercial auto
  • RV
  • Motorcycle
  • Homeowners/condo/renters
  • Flood
  • Umbrella
  • NatGen Health
  • Private collections

Although any of National General’s policies could be a good fit, RV owners should get a quote for coverage. National General is an excellent choice for RV insurance because of the unique discounts and features you’ll get when you bundle RV and auto insurance.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do you get a car insurance quote from National General?

Getting a quote from National General is easy — you can speak with a local agent, call the customer service line, or use the online form. Unfortunately, National General does not have an app you can use to get quotes.

Does National General offer RV insurance?

Not only does National General offer RV insurance, but it also offers special perks for RV owners. You can buy basic coverage, including liability, collision, and comprehensive insurance, as well as:

  • Mechanical breakdown
  • Specialize equipment
  • Personal belongings
  • Complete general liability
  • Permanent attachment

National General offers coverage for Class A, B, and C motorhomes, fifth-wheels, travel trailers, and Airstreams.

How do you file a National General claim?

You can file claims over the phone with an insurance representative or use a National General login to access the online form. National General prides itself on the speed of its claims handling and guarantees your satisfaction with a $250 deductible waiver.

How do you make a National General insurance payment?

National General makes paying your bills simple. The easiest way is to access your National General account online to make a one-time payment or set up automatic payments. You can also speak with an insurance representative.

How do you cancel a National General policy?

To cancel your policy, you can either call and speak with a representative or send an email to cancellation services. National General might charge $50 for early cancellation.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for National General Insurance Company (Integon)

3.28 (380 reviews)
1
January 25, 2022

Traveler_

STAY AWAY

STAY AWAY Don't use this company for any reason. After paying for years on issuance for my motorhome and never having a claim. A windstorm blew this windshield off and caused damaged to the roof which created a leak. They denied this claim and were extremely rude in the process. They want your money but when you need them, they are nowhere to be found. Criminals
1
December 7, 2021

venebar

They are irresponsible

It is a [REDACTED WORD] doesn't work, no costumer services, nobody answers your call, just a machine, and adjuster all the time has you phone turned off, they don't want to pay my car accident. Don't but any policy with them, never and ever Nooooo
1
November 19, 2021

Gary0007

Useless if Rental Needed

After waiting 17 days with a broken back from a car accident, was told there is still NO ETA on a car insurance adjuster to see car, and without the estimate there is NO RENTAL given. Can't get to doctor appointments! Insanely expensive HORRID car insurance!
1
October 13, 2021

Vikashni_

Worse experience

Worse experience ever!! Horrible!! I will not recommend them at all. I had my car hit and run claim and it took them 4 weeks to process the claim. No communication whenever I call no answer and after leaving a voicemail they never call back. They denied my claim cuz there specialist said that the car was moving when it got hit and I gave them all the proof that the car was parked in the parking lot. I even gave them a instant police report. My ca...
Worse experience ever!! Horrible!! I will not recommend them at all. I had my car hit and run claim and it took them 4 weeks to process the claim. No communication whenever I call no answer and after leaving a voicemail they never call back. They denied my claim cuz there specialist said that the car was moving when it got hit and I gave them all the proof that the car was parked in the parking lot. I even gave them a instant police report. My car has full coverage and still they are not fixing it. What’s the point of me paying them every month. So frustrating and stressful I will change my insurance company and will take legal action. I just hope this doesn’t happen to anyone else How can you tell the car was moving by looking at the picture and denie the claim they really have some dumb specialist that don’t now what they are doing. So mad 😡 I would give them zero stars. Please stay away from ngic
1
August 4, 2021

ATlaige92

AWFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE, LOOK ELSEWHERE!

THE WORST customer service experience I've ever had. DO NOT use this insurance company. My car was stolen and my adjuster refused to set me up with a rental stating "we don't cover that." Lies. I called my nearest car rental and they said they'd give me a great discounted deal if my insurance company would just give them a call. I had to do all the leg work myself. They constantly dodged my calls, barely responded to my emails. The only reason w...
THE WORST customer service experience I've ever had. DO NOT use this insurance company. My car was stolen and my adjuster refused to set me up with a rental stating "we don't cover that." Lies. I called my nearest car rental and they said they'd give me a great discounted deal if my insurance company would just give them a call. I had to do all the leg work myself. They constantly dodged my calls, barely responded to my emails. The only reason why I was somewhat okay was because my dad has a small used car dealership so one the vehicle was found he could do minor repairs. But it still reeked of weed on the inside when it was returned. All around bad. I even called the supervisor and left him a vm. Never heard from him. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.
1
July 19, 2021

Unhappy_camper

Worst company every stay away

I had gotten a quote and started a policy with national general for full coverage i was paying 156 a monthly second they tried taking money out my account a day earlier then wanted to charged me for NSF my agent at the zebra called them got it taking car of the third month they dont take the 156$ out of my account the try to take 205 and a day late at that and then tried to take 245 for NSF saying i didnt sign up for safe driving it was not requi...
I had gotten a quote and started a policy with national general for full coverage i was paying 156 a monthly second they tried taking money out my account a day earlier then wanted to charged me for NSF my agent at the zebra called them got it taking car of the third month they dont take the 156$ out of my account the try to take 205 and a day late at that and then tried to take 245 for NSF saying i didnt sign up for safe driving it was not required that i have this and i was quoted with that option even sent a payment schedule from the that says 156$ monthly they have now canceled me for none payment why should i pay more then what your print out said that on statement online and through. The mail worst company every. Scam artist period
1
July 1, 2021

Unsatisfied_Customer_L

Bad business. Acting in bad faith so as NOT to cover claims

Bad. Firstly, the claims rep was rude. I had damage to the front end of my car caused by some large object in the road (a dark road) A object that I could NOT see. So, they blamed me for the accident and said I'd be at fault! How am I getting an at fault accident when no other cars or parties were involved and I could not see whatever item was in the road? Secondly, they stated that I would need to pay a triple deductible because my policy had ...
Bad. Firstly, the claims rep was rude. I had damage to the front end of my car caused by some large object in the road (a dark road) A object that I could NOT see. So, they blamed me for the accident and said I'd be at fault! How am I getting an at fault accident when no other cars or parties were involved and I could not see whatever item was in the road? Secondly, they stated that I would need to pay a triple deductible because my policy had been reinstated within the last 60 or 90 days. Mind you, the payment to the policy was made less than 24 hours late. Just a way to overly charge a consumer who clearly is already struggling. Bad business practices and BAD FAITH! I have now cancelled my policy and gone elsewhere. Beware! the lower monthly payment comes at a great cost!!!
1
March 17, 2021

Maria_Ana_

Very Bad Company

Very bad company, avoid at all cost. My car was rear ended and they find loopholes and excuses not to fix my car. Very rude adjuster his name was [REDACTED NAME], very unprofessional and unethical. They just want to collect money, extremely difficult to deal with them. All I got from them is so much stress, I’m dropping them, time to look for a better insurance company.
1
January 13, 2021

PSmaya

Bad customer service!

Horrible experience. I made a down payment October 2020. Was sent a bill stating to make payment to NY address. I made a full payment on-lin Dec. 2, 2020. Get a letter from DMV that I don't have a policy. Letter from Integon that my policy would be cancelled Jan. 6th. I received that letter on Jan. 4th. Called them Jan. 5th and my bank. Bank told me they never deposited my payment. This was a month after I made the full payment! So.... the bank ...
Horrible experience. I made a down payment October 2020. Was sent a bill stating to make payment to NY address. I made a full payment on-lin Dec. 2, 2020. Get a letter from DMV that I don't have a policy. Letter from Integon that my policy would be cancelled Jan. 6th. I received that letter on Jan. 4th. Called them Jan. 5th and my bank. Bank told me they never deposited my payment. This was a month after I made the full payment! So.... the bank stopped that payment so I could make another payment on Ja. 5th. I happened to check my bank account this morning, low and behold the payment was refunded. No explanation!! This is insane, I have to correct their mistakes! I am furious, on top of correcting their mistakes I was charged money to make a payment over the phone. So now what, take Integon to Small Claims Court? My wasted time, aggravation to "fix" their lazy attitude of customer service because they cannot take care of CA customers on time! This is wrong in so many ways. Will they call CA DMV to explain their mistakes..... I am forced to pay extra fees while I PAID everything on December 2, 2020!
1
October 20, 2020

jpram

Fooled by the price

well this was the worst decision ive ever made, this company does not explain to people what they are giving you, the fact that i was paying a decent amount meant that the policy was horrible. I ended up paying out of pocket for an accident that i had in 2014. So i advice people to not be fooled by these companies giving you cheap prices and then not being there when you need them. go with geico instead.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption