Direct Auto Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Direct Auto sells policies to high-risk drivers who may have trouble finding coverage. High-risk car insurance is more expensive, but Direct Auto auto insurance reviews find low rates for most drivers. Those with tickets or accidents can get affordable Direct Auto auto insurance rates at $142/mo.

UPDATED: Feb 15, 2024Fact Checked

Brad Larson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brad Larson has been in the insurance industry for over 16 years. He specializes in helping clients navigate the claims process, with a particular emphasis on coverage analysis. He received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Utah in Political Science. He also holds an Associate in Claims (AIC) and Associate in General Insurance (AINS) designations, as well as a Utah Property and Casual...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Michael Leotta

Insurance Operations Specialist

Michael earned a degree in Business Management degree with an insurance focus, which led to a successful 25-year career in insurance claims operations and support. He possesses a high-level of business acumen across multiple areas of the insurance industry. Over the course of his career, he served in multiple roles supporting claims operations including: Claims Specialist, Claims Trainer, Claim Au...

Insurance Operations Specialist

UPDATED: Feb 15, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 15, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 15, 2024Fact Checked
4.3
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Direct Auto

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

N/A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Covers high-risk drivers
  • SR-22 filings
  • Bundling options with different insurance policies
  • Flexible payment options
  • Multiple discount options
  • Online quotes and claims filing options

Cons

  • A high number of customer complaints
  • A slow claims process
  • A lack of additional coverages, like GAP or rideshare insurance
  • An absence of ratings with most industry studies
  • Limited availability depending on location and other qualifications

Final Verdict: Review of Direct Auto

If you are a high-risk driver looking for nonstandard car insurance, you may want to consider Direct Auto, a National General Insurance Group subsidiary. Direct Auto car insurance sells affordable high-risk auto insurance and allows SR-22 filings for people who need them.

High-risk car insurance can get expensive, but Direct Auto auto insurance reviews find a variety of options for discounts on coverage, including bundling auto and life insurance, to help policyholders save on coverage.

So if you’re looking for a basic auto insurance policy that allows you to drive safely and legally in your state, Direct Auto may be a good fit.

[su_box title="Things to Remember" style="default”]
  • Direct Auto is known for providing car insurance to those classified as high risk
  • Rates for Direct Auto insurance run higher than the rates of standard insurance companies
  • The company does not offer many add-on coverage options
[/su_box] If you are a high-risk driver looking for nonstandard car insurance, you may want to consider Direct Auto, a National General Insurance Group subsidiary. Direct Auto car insurance offers coverage for high-risk drivers and allows SR-22 filings for people who need them, though the company is not known for high-risk auto insurance. High-risk car insurance can get expensive, but Direct Auto offers options for discounts on coverage, including bundling auto and life insurance, to help policyholders save on coverage. So if you’re looking for a basic auto insurance policy that allows you to drive safely and legally in your state, Direct Auto may be a good fit.

What You Should Know About Direct Auto Insurance

Direct Auto offers car insurance coverage to high-risk individuals who may need SR-22 auto insurance or who may have trouble finding insurance with other providers. The company offers straightforward coverage options and allows policyholders to qualify for discounts on coverage.

Direct Auto has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB), but the company has a fair number of complaints on the BBB website concerning the claims process.

Many Direct Auto auto insurance reviews discuss the company’s lack of timely response when handling car insurance claims. In addition, many different Direct Auto policyholders have been unhappy with how long it has taken to receive a proper payout from the company following a covered event.

Direct Auto Insurance Coverage Options

Direct Auto offers standard options for car insurance coverage. Here are some of the Direct Auto car insurance options:

Unfortunately, Direct Auto does not offer some of the additional coverage options that other insurers include in their policies, like gap coverage or rideshare insurance, so it may not be the best company for a person looking for robust coverage with many options.

Direct Auto Insurance Add-Ons

The Direct Auto insurance company does offer add-ons for auto insurance coverage. Some of the company’s most popular add-ons include the following:

  • Rental reimbursement
  • Towing and labor
  • Accidental death
  • Customizable payments

The add-ons offered by Direct Auto will add to your insurance premium, but people often include add-ons in a policy for peace of mind. For example, if you have towing and labor on your policy, you will feel safe and secure if your car ever breaks down and needs to be towed to a mechanic’s shop.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Direct Auto Insurance Rates Breakdown

An auto insurance policy with Direct Auto will vary in cost from one person to the next. Insurance companies assess a person’s risk by evaluating many different factors, including the following:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Marital status
  • Car make and model
  • Driving history
  • Credit score
  • ZIP code
  • Types of coverage

If you’re curious how much you would pay for Direct Auto car insurance, you can get an insurance quote straight from the company’s website. The table below provides an idea of Direct Auto’s liability insurance rates to liability-only policies.

Direct Auto Insurance Average Annual Rates by Age and Gender
Full CoverageNational AverageDirect Auto Annual Full Coverage RatesDirect Auto Annual Minimum Coverage Rates
16 -year-old male with a clean record$7,421.90 $6,773.46 $2,750.69
16 -year-old female with a clean record$6,792.65 $6,469.97 $2,511.09
18 -year-old male with a clean record$6,034.06 $5,507.39 $2,357.74
18 -year-old female with a clean record$5,007.67 $4,770.23 $2,042.92
25 -year-old male with a clean record$1,795.32 $1,731.01 $650.19
25 -year-old female with a clean record$1,661.09 $1,663.53 $625.85
30 -year-old male with a clean record$1,669.41 $1,609.84 $604.68
30 -year-old female with a clean record$1,544.60 $1,547.08 $582.04
45 -year-old male with a clean record$1,431.27 $1,382.03 $523.53
45 -year-old female with a clean record$1,433.60 $1,408.15 $533.85
45 -year-old male with a DUI$2,507.31 $2,365.90 $915.90
45 -year-old female with a DUI$2,513.28 $2,411.43 $933.13
45 -year-old male with an accident$2,072.14 $2,069.72 $784.61
45 -year-old female with an accident$2,079.29 $2,113.60 $801.61
45 -year-old male with a ticket$1,761.96 $1,697.16 $642.72
45 -year-old female with a ticket$1,762.90 $1,726.03 $654.24
55 -year-old male with a clean record$1,357.49 $1,310.79 $493.99
55 -year-old female with a clean record$1,359.70 $1,335.57 $503.74
60 -year-old male with a clean record$1,314.89 $1,280.86 $499.62
60 -year-old female with a clean record$1,267.32 $1,252.16 $488.46
65 -year-old male with a clean record$1,400.94 $1,352.75 $515.35
65 -year-old female with a clean record$1,403.22 $1,378.31 $525.51

Full coverage rates with Direct Auto are 27% higher than the national average. Additionally, the company’s rates in other common scenarios are often higher than other competitors:

  • Rates for auto insurance for teens are almost 35% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for young adult drivers are 5% higher than the national average for men and 6% higher than the national average for women.
  • Rates for adult drivers are anywhere from 5% to 7% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for senior drivers are 6% to 9% higher than the national average.
  • Rates following a speeding ticket are nearly $500 more annually than the national average.
  • Rates following an accident are around 28% higher than the national average.
  • Rates following a DUI conviction are only 2% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for individuals with poor credit are almost 7% higher than the national average.

As you can see, Direct Auto does not specialize in cheap auto insurance rates. Instead, the company offers coverage to individuals that other insurance companies may likely turn down. Remember that the average auto insurance rates by age can vary. The following tables show insurance rates for drivers who are considered high-risk.

Direct Auto Insurance Average Monthly Rates with a Ticket
DriverFull Coverage RatesLiability-Only Rates
45-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record$115$44
45-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record$117$44
45-Year-Old Male With a Ticket$141$54
45-Year-Old Female With a Ticket$144$55

While getting a ticket won’t raise your rates too drastically, you’ll still notice a difference if you haven’t had one before. A DUI, however, will result in a more severe increase in rates.

Direct Auto Insurance Average Monthly Rates with a DUI
DriverFull Coverage RatesLiability-Only Rates
45-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record$115$44
45-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record$117$44
45-Year-Old Male With a DUI$197$76
45-Year-Old Female With a DUI$201$78
45-Year-Old Male With an Accident$172$65
45-Year-Old Female With an Accident$176$67
45-Year-Old Male With a Ticket$141$54
45-Year-Old Female With a Ticket$144$55

Finally, while an accident won’t prevent you from getting insurance, it will increase your rates. Steps can be taken to remove points from these high-risk incidents from your license, and if your monthly costs are getting too high, it might be an avenue worth considering.

Direct Auto Insurance Average Monthly Rates with an Accident
DriverFull Coverage RatesLiability-Only Rates
45 -Year-Old Male With a Clean Record$115$44
45 -Year-Old Female With a Clean Record$117$44
45 -Year-Old Male With an Accident$172$65
45 -Year-Old Female With an Accident$176$67

Direct Auto could be a good choice if you’re a driver in need of high-risk auto insurance, even if it means paying higher-than-average rates for coverage.

Direct Auto Insurance Discounts Available

Unlike other companies that offer nonstandard car insurance coverage, Direct Auto provides several opportunities for policyholders to save money on their auto insurance rates by taking advantage of different discounts.

These are some of the discounts Direct Auto offers:

  • Military
  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Senior citizen
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Bundled policies
  • Policy renewal
  • Homeowner
  • Affinity

If you believe you may qualify for any of the auto insurance discounts listed above, you can contact a Direct Auto representative to see how much a discount could help you save. Some discounts can help individuals save as much as 25% on their insurance policies.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Direct Auto a legit auto insurance company?

Direct Auto is a legitimate insurance company that offers various insurance products, including car insurance, term life insurance, and health insurance.

How long has Direct Auto Insurance been around?

Direct Auto was founded in 1991 and has been around for 32 years.

Who bought Direct Auto Insurance?

National General bought Direct Auto Insurance in 2016 through its affiliate Direct General Group.

Are Direct General and Direct Auto Insurance the same company?

They are not the same company, but Direct Auto is a part of the Direct General Group, which is owned by National General.

What factors affect Direct Auto auto insurance rates?

The cost of Direct Auto auto insurance depends on several factors, such as your driving record, the type of vehicle you own, your age and gender, your location, and the coverage options you choose. These factors help determine the risk profile and premium rate for your policy.

Can I customize my coverage with Direct Auto Auto Insurance?

Yes, Direct Auto Auto Insurance offers customizable coverage options. You can select the type and level of coverage that suits your needs, including adding additional features like roadside assistance or rental car reimbursement.

How do I file a claim with Direct Auto Auto Insurance?

To file a claim with Direct Auto Auto Insurance, you can contact their claims department through their website or by phone. They will guide you through the process, including documenting the incident, providing necessary information, and assisting with repairs or compensation.

Is Direct Auto Insurance the same as Allstate?

No, Direct Auto and Allstate Insurance are two separate companies.

Does Allstate own Direct Auto auto insurance?

No, Direct Auto is owned by National General.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Brad Larson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brad Larson has been in the insurance industry for over 16 years. He specializes in helping clients navigate the claims process, with a particular emphasis on coverage analysis. He received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Utah in Political Science. He also holds an Associate in Claims (AIC) and Associate in General Insurance (AINS) designations, as well as a Utah Property and Casual...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Michael Leotta

Insurance Operations Specialist

Michael earned a degree in Business Management degree with an insurance focus, which led to a successful 25-year career in insurance claims operations and support. He possesses a high-level of business acumen across multiple areas of the insurance industry. Over the course of his career, he served in multiple roles supporting claims operations including: Claims Specialist, Claims Trainer, Claim Au...

Insurance Operations Specialist

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Direct Auto Insurance

4.28 (25 reviews)
5
March 20, 2023

Lilzoyzom

[REDACTED NAME] helped quickly and efficiently! Very knowledgeable!

[REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED NAME] at Direct auto insurance Normandy blvd, Jacksonville Florida helped me to find a quote that worked for me quickly and efficiently! She was knowledgeable, easy to understand, and very friendly! Made the experience so much better than any of the other calls I made! Was extremely grateful for her help!
1
October 2, 2020

midsouthman

Direct Insuance -Check for add ons

Went into the Direct Insurance office on Elvis Presley in Memphis TN. Was in need of insurance and just the basics due to the cost and funds. I explained that all I wanted was the required amount and nothing else. The woman gave me a price. I accepted. 2 weeks later I get a email policy and start reading it. I then find out I am paying $32 a month for road side assistance that I was clear about I did not want. I went to another company and bought...
Went into the Direct Insurance office on Elvis Presley in Memphis TN. Was in need of insurance and just the basics due to the cost and funds. I explained that all I wanted was the required amount and nothing else. The woman gave me a price. I accepted. 2 weeks later I get a email policy and start reading it. I then find out I am paying $32 a month for road side assistance that I was clear about I did not want. I went to another company and bought a policy and cancelled the Direct policy. Now they bill me for $160! Not ever going to happen. Referred it to state commissioner office.
4
April 30, 2020

Flytalkin

Get that auto insurance

It was a pretty unexpected experience if I had to give my honest opinion. They were very kind and understanding to my lack of understanding concerning automotive insurance. That being said I’d highly recommend them to anyone.
5
April 27, 2020

blee85

Direct Auto

I absolutely love this company. They work with you to make sure you get the coverage you need and want. Prices are low
5
February 3, 2020

staffco09

Best Ins rates around

Direct is a great ins company, their rates are very cheap and much cheaper then other company, If your struggling to find inse at a great price check out direct ins,
3
January 11, 2020

Biazzzzoo

cheapest in town

not bad really, I thought they did the best to help out. was the cheapest in town. I think they couldve had a better place of business
4
December 20, 2019

rawdawg42034

So easy to work with and give a lot of leeway

Well, this is my second time to have auto insurance with Direct, the first being several years ago, and I have to say they are so drastically improved from them to now, it's unreal. I personally went to their local branch to inquire about pricing for insurance. I liked what I heard and I signed the agreement that day. And they are so easy to work with, if you can't get to the office you can just go online and make your payment and have a receipt...
Well, this is my second time to have auto insurance with Direct, the first being several years ago, and I have to say they are so drastically improved from them to now, it's unreal. I personally went to their local branch to inquire about pricing for insurance. I liked what I heard and I signed the agreement that day. And they are so easy to work with, if you can't get to the office you can just go online and make your payment and have a receipt emailed to you. I think they're awesome
5
December 18, 2019

tr_pe

What a surprise!

For the past 2 years, the monthly premium went down. Needless to say, we were all pleasantly surprised. Thank you, Direct!
2
September 10, 2019

sally32012

Bad Experience

Very bad experience. They are not responsible for anything nor are they cheap. I had an issue for roadside assistance which I paid for but not performed once I needed it.
5
September 9, 2019

arnoldjess1121

Great

Great company,great prices. Coverage is perfect. Treats you like family. Truly in it for the protect of you and your car,not the money. They also extend payments to prevent a lapse in insurance which is great.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption