The Hartford Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Although The Hartford sells a variety of insurance products, it’s most famous for its AARP plans. AARP members can find special discounts and much more.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 2, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 2, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 2, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The Hartford

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$1,350

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • Free benefits for AARP members
  • Excellent customer satisfaction ratings
  • Low rates for older drivers

Cons

  • More than the usual number of customer complaints about auto policies
  • Higher rates for people with speeding tickets
  • Less affordable for teens and young drivers

The Bottom Line

Find the Right Car Insurance for Your Needs

While The Hartford sells insurance for all age groups, it excels at providing valuable coverage for older drivers. If you’re an AARP member, The Hartford might have the best coverage for your needs.

Although The Hartford offers great car insurance for older drivers, you should still shop around for alternatives. Make sure to compare quotes with as many companies as possible to find the best rates for your car.

Things to Remember

  • Although it’s well-known for selling AARP car insurance, The Hartford sells policies to all age groups
  • AARP members see extra discounts and unique benefits from The Hartford insurance policies
  • The Hartford struggles with claims handling, but most customers are satisfied with their service

While it might not be the first name you think of for car insurance, The Hartford insurance company has highly rated coverage plans that most customers enjoy. Most known for its AARP plans, drivers of any age might find affordable rates with this Connecticut-based insurance provider.

Whether you need full coverage to finance a car or your state’s minimum insurance to stay on budget, The Hartford has the options you need at affordable prices. While a variety of factors determine how much you’ll pay for your insurance, The Hartford rates are particularly low for older drivers.

The Hartford might have the best coverage options for you, especially if you’re an AARP member. Explore The Hartford’s car insurance options, then compare rates to find the best policy for your needs.

Is The Hartford a Good Choice?

Is The Hartford insurance good?

While The Hartford is an overall solid choice for car insurance, it’s better for older drivers.

The Hartford has a partnership with AARP and is the only official provider of insurance to its members. Due to this partnership, The Hartford offers special savings and perks for AARP members.

However, you don’t need to be an AARP member to get a good insurance policy from The Hartford. To decide if this is the right provider for you, look at The Hartford’s ratings, customer service reviews, and online tools.

The Hartford Insurance Ratings and Reviews

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) rates companies based on the number of complaints they receive compared to their size. The national average is 1.0 — anything lower means a company receives fewer than the typical number of complaints.

The Hartford has a score of 0.36, which is far below the national average. While it receives complaints about its claims handling, most customers are satisfied with its service.

Another popular third-party rating to look at is A.M. Best, which rates companies on their financial stability. The Hartford has an A+, which means it will have no problem paying any claim you might make.

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) gives ratings based on a company’s ability to resolve customer issues. The Hartford has an A+, but there are hundreds of complaints on the BBB site.

Third-party ratings are a great place to start when you’re looking for the best company, but they’re not your only resource. You should also look at customer reviews.

Customer reviews are mixed. Some customers enjoy the low rates and say representatives are helpful. Others are unsatisfied with how The Hartford handles claims and how often their rates increased.

The Hartford Customer Service

Although it struggles with some of its claims handling reviews, The Hartford excels in its customer service ratings.

Overall, customers report satisfaction with the service they receive from The Hartford. While there is some grief about claims servicing, most customers say they are happy with their settlements once the process is completed. They also report that The Hartford is supportive during car repairs, and that rental car reimbursement is easy to work with.

The Hartford has closed over a million car insurance claims, which it says dedicated, responsive representatives are responsible for. Although it doesn’t always live up to it, most customers say The Hartford lives up to its promise of friendly service.

The Hartford’s Online Tools

To keep up with today’s demands for convenience and speed, The Hartford offers a variety of online tools. These tools include the following:

  • Online quote calculator. Using your ZIP code, age, marital status, and other personal details, you can get a quick quote online.
  • Online claim filing. If you don’t want to speak with a representative, you can start and track claims online.
  • Online bill pay. After you create an account, you can manage your policy payments online.
  • Mobile app. Called Auto & Home at The Hartford, you can use the mobile app to access insurance cards, make payments, start a claim, and request roadside assistance.

It doesn’t match the variety of technological offerings of some of its competitors, but The Hartford covers the basics that most modern customers expect from their insurance.

The Hartford Rates

How much does The Hartford insurance cost?

The cost of your insurance depends on a variety of factors. While every company is different, most look at the following factors:

  • Age
  • Location
  • Gender
  • Marital status
  • Credit scores
  • Driving history
  • Make and model of your car

The Hartford’s rates are slightly more affected by age than the typical insurance company. While you might see affordable prices as a teen or young adult, The Hartford specializes in offering older adults the lowest prices possible.

Take a look below to see The Hartford’s average annual rates for full vs. minimum auto insurance coverage.


Keep in mind that AARP members will see much lower rates than nonmembers. In fact, The Hartford’s AARP rates are so affordable that it beats other larger providers like State Farm and Allstate.

However, The Hartford’s rates are usually affordable for any age group.

The Hartford Insurance Rates by Age

Age is important for all companies, but it’s especially crucial to The Hartford. While drivers older than 50 see the best rates, The Hartford does well for all age groups. Take a look at some of the discounts available to young drivers with The Hartford compared to other companies.

As you can see, older drivers benefit the most from The Hartford auto insurance. If you’re trying to find cheap insurance for teens, you should compare quotes with companies like Travelers, Progressive, and State Farm to find the best rates.

Let's look at a couple of groups in more details. Teenage drivers tend to have the highest car insurance rates because of their lack of experience. Here are The Hartford's average annual full coverage rates for 16- and 18-year-old drivers.

Once drivers hit age 55 they may see a slight bump in auto insurance rates.

Now let's look at how your driving record can affect auto insurance.

The Hartford Insurance Rates by Driving History

Although age is an important factor for The Hartford, it will also look at your driving history. You'll pay much more for your insurance if you have traffic violations, multiple accidents, or DUIs.

Here's a look at how having a DUI can affect your rates.

If you are pulled over for speeding and receive a ticket, you may also see your car insurance rates go up.

And finally, you are also likely to see an increase in your auto insurance rates if you are found at-fault in an auto accident.

The exact amount that your rates increase depends on other factors like your location and age, but you might see as much as a 50% increase after an incident. However, a traffic incident will only affect your insurance rates for about three years as long as you don’t have any other problems.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The Hartford Coverage Options

What types of insurance does The Hartford sell?

Most states require a specific amount of car insurance before you can drive, while having a loan or lease usually means you need full coverage. Whatever your needs are, The Hartford has the basics covered with the following options:

  • Liability. Liability insurance consists of property damage and bodily injury, which work together to pay for damage you cause after an accident.
  • Collision. You’ll need to add collision coverage to your policy if you want your car covered after an accident.
  • Comprehensive. Your policy won’t cover damage from fire, weather, animal contact, theft, or vandalism unless you have comprehensive insurance.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. Although you’re supposed to have insurance, not all drivers follow the law. If you’re involved in an accident where the at-fault driver doesn’t have enough coverage, uninsured motorist kicks in.
  • Medical payments. Having this coverage on your policy will help pay any medical expenses you have after an accident.
  • Personal injury protection. Personal injury protection helps pay medical expenses after an accident no matter who is at fault, and covers lost wages and funeral costs.

Medical payments and personal injury protection are not available in every state, so make sure to check with a representative. A representative can also help you determine the best options for your situation so you don’t pay for coverage you don’t need.

Additional Car Insurance from The Hartford

Most of The Hartford’s insurance add-ons are available to AARP members, but there are a few that nonmembers can purchase. They include the following:

  • Rental reimbursement. If you need a temporary vehicle because yours is being repaired after a covered incident, The Hartford will give you a daily allowance for a rental.
  • Full glass coverage. Purchasing this coverage ensures that your windshield, headlights, and mirrors will be repaired after an incident without paying a deductible.
  • Towing. Towing coverage will tow your car whenever it becomes disabled. While not as in-depth as roadside assistance, towing is an affordable option.
  • Umbrella. If you cause an accident and damages exceed your liability policy limitsyour liability insurance doesn’t cover all the bills, umbrella insurance takes over.
  • GAP coverage. If you total your vehicle while you owe more on a loan than your car is worth, GAP coverage will pay the difference.

While The Hartford has great options for additional coverage, it offers its best benefits to AARP members.

The Hartford’s Advantage Program

Aside from the basics, AARP members have access to a host of additional benefits that raise the value of any policy from The Hartford. These benefits include the following:

  • Lifetime renewability. As long as you pay your bills on time and have a valid driver’s license, The Hartford guarantees that you’ll be able to renew your car insurance.
  • 12-month rate protection. Most car insurance companies reevaluate your rates after six months, but rates for AARP members are locked for 12 months.
  • RecoverCare. If you find yourself struggling to perform daily activities after a car accident, The Hartford will reimburse you for the price of caretakers, dog walkers, and food preparation.
  • Lifetime repair assurance. As long as you use a mechanic approved by The Hartford, your policy guarantees repairs for as long as you own the car.
  • New car replacement. The Hartford will replace your vehicle without deducting value for depreciation if you total it within the first 15 months or 15,000 miles of ownership.
  • Roadside assistance. If you find yourself stranded on the side of the road, The Hartford’s roadside assistance can help with flat tires, dead batteries, fuel delivery, and tows.

You don’t need to fill out forms or jump through hoops to access these benefits. As long as you’re over 50 and an AARP member, you simply need to speak with a representative to enroll in the advantage plan.

The Hartford’s Advantage Plus Program

The Advantage Plus program is additional coverage you can purchase if you’re an AARP member. It offers the following benefits as a package:

  • Accident forgiveness. Your rates won’t increase after your first at-fault accident. Only drivers with five years of accident-free driving qualify.
  • Disappearing deductible. Every year you spend accident-free will lower your deductible until it reaches $0.
  • One deductible. You only need to pay one deductible if you need to file a single claim for multiple cars on the same policy. This also applies if you need to file a claim for home and auto at the same time.
  • Deductible waived. The Hartford will often waive your deductible if you’re found to be not at fault in a car accident.

As you can see, choosing The Hartford car insurance as an AARP member dramatically increases the value of your policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Still trying to figure out if The Hartford is a good fit for you? Learn more below.

Does The Hartford/AARP offer good car insurance?

While The Hartford offers solid car insurance for everyone, it’s especially suited for AARP members. Rates are usually a little lower than the national average for older drivers, and the added benefits make The Hartford stand out.

Is AARP car insurance cheap?

The amount you pay for insurance depends on a variety of factors, including your age, location, and credit score. AARP insurance from The Hartford is generally more affordable for older drivers than other companies, but the exact amount you’ll pay depends on your circumstances.

Are AARP insurance and The Hartford insurance the same?

While AARP insurance is managed by The Hartford, not all plans from The Hartford are AARP policies. The Hartford sells insurance for nonmembers, but rates are generally slightly higher than AARP prices.

Who can buy AARP car insurance?

You need to be an AARP member to buy car insurance. To be eligible for AARP membership, you need to be 50 years old. However, you don’t need to be an AARP member to buy policies from The Hartford.

What states does The Hartford sell car insurance in?

The Hartford sells car insurance in all 50 states and Washington D.C.

How do you get quotes from The Hartford?

Getting a quote from The Hartford is easy — you can get a quote online or by calling the customer service number.

How do you file claims with The Hartford?

To file a claim with The Hartford, you can fill out the online form, use the mobile app, or call the customer service line.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for The Hartford

4.13 (764 reviews)
5
January 11, 2021

lw1999

Black Ice Warning

It was z cold winter night and the streets were still wet from the rain earlier that day. I pulled up to a stop light that was red and pushed on my brake to stop when I hit a patch of black ice. I attempted to jump the curb to avoid hitting the car in front of me, but did not quite make it and that led to a fender bender. The damage was not severe, but bad enough for it to require that I contact my insurance company to have them pay the claim fro...
It was z cold winter night and the streets were still wet from the rain earlier that day. I pulled up to a stop light that was red and pushed on my brake to stop when I hit a patch of black ice. I attempted to jump the curb to avoid hitting the car in front of me, but did not quite make it and that led to a fender bender. The damage was not severe, but bad enough for it to require that I contact my insurance company to have them pay the claim from the driver that I hit. Once I gave them all the information about how it happened, the agent took it all from there and I was done. I was very satisifed and have never even considered swithching because it was all handle so professionally.
4
July 14, 2020

pearly

Better Deal

I pay less money through The Hartford insurance company than i would else where, i get all the good discounts and even the discounts through AARP.
5
March 26, 2020

MamaG2

A good relationship

I have been a customer of The Hartford for approximately 6 years now. I am very happy with their customer service and have not had any problems communicating with them. Their prices are competitive with other insurance carriers.
3
March 19, 2020

alyssa111

Hmm

The company is very on top of their work, sometimes to the point of annoyance, and has recently raised my rates even though I am a student who does not drive often, and has good grades, which typically results in a lowered rate. This is annoying for someone who does not even get their moneys worth of the price of insurance
5
March 1, 2020

posh52

good company

very good and low cost very efficient well established company to do business with, good reviews,low prices been around for many years a service you can count on never drops you like other companies out there that do and very fair prices
5
February 5, 2020

Cacl1950

The Hartford Insurance Company

This is a great company to do business. We have had insurance with them for years and never had a problem. They are quick to help you out if you have a problem with anything that happens. They had our windshield fixed in less than 24 hours several times for us.
5
January 31, 2020

liver

good customer service and wonderful experience

The Hartford is very professional and knowledge. We have has nothing but very good service, if we had questions regarding our policy, we have gotten honest answers and they always look over the policy to see if they can save us money.
5
August 20, 2019

Gospel63

wonderful company

This is a wonderful insurance company I have been with them for over 10 years and would not change they have always been there when I really needed them I rate them at 10
5
August 19, 2019

Billie16

An Honest Insurance Company

This company is very fair and honest. I have had one claim with them that was taken care of quickly. Their bills are always accurate and on time. They even take the money out of my checking account so I don't need to bother sending them a check every month. What impressed me the most, however, was that THEY notified me when my rates went down. I never would have noticed!
1
August 18, 2019

Snow55

Incident with The Hartford

Had insurance with them for 10 years with no accident, tickets or claims. Payed extra for full glass coverage Someone broke tha driver's side window on 5 cars parked in a row. Mine was one of them. Made the claim and got the window repaired. When my insurance renewal bill came, my rate had gone up by a large amount. When I called to see why, they said because I had an incident. They were referring to the window I explained that I thought that...
Had insurance with them for 10 years with no accident, tickets or claims. Payed extra for full glass coverage Someone broke tha driver's side window on 5 cars parked in a row. Mine was one of them. Made the claim and got the window repaired. When my insurance renewal bill came, my rate had gone up by a large amount. When I called to see why, they said because I had an incident. They were referring to the window I explained that I thought that's what the extra charge for full glass replacement was for, but was told that my insurance would be this new price regardless. Needless to say I cancelled them.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption