Safety Car Insurance Review 2022

Safety car insurance is a viable option for cheap auto insurance in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Maine.

UPDATED: Nov 9, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Nov 9, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Nov 9, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 9, 2022Fact Checked
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safety Car Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$0

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Low-cost insurance for teens and young adult drivers
  • Coverage options for classic and vintage cars
  • Discount options based on driving habits
  • Fewer customer complaints than expected for a company of its size
  • Upgrade options for auto and home insurance

Cons

  • Underwhelming customer service
  • No online purchasing options
  • Lack of availability in the U.S.
  • No options for online quotes

The Bottom Line

If you’re looking for car insurance and live in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, or Maine, you may want to consider the Safety Insurance Company.

Safety Insurance offers several options for car insurance coverage, and the company is known for offering affordable rates for coverage. Unfortunately, Safety does not have the best customer service ratings. Still, the company has exceptional ratings overall, and it may be a good fit for you and your family.

Before you make any final coverage decisions, it’s important to take your time and compare rates with quotes from other companies. Doing so will help you find the best fit and avoid paying too much for your car insurance coverage.

If you’re looking for cheap auto insurance rates online, you may want to consider the Safety Insurance Company. Safety Insurance offers car insurance options that are often much cheaper than the competitors. Unfortunately, Safety car insurance is only available in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Maine.

The Safety Insurance Company is known for offering cheap car insurance to drivers in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Maine. The company has several coverage options for its policyholders to choose from.

The most significant issue with Safety Insurance is its negative feedback concerning customer service interactions. Many Safety auto insurance customers have taken issue with how their claims have been handled. Because of that, the company does not have great ratings for its customer service or claims handling processes. 

Before you commit to any auto insurance company, you should find and compare auto insurance quotes online to get a better idea of how much you’ll spend on coverage. Doing so will help ensure you find affordable rates on the coverage you need rather than spending too much. 

Is Safety Insurance Company a Good Choice?

The Safety Insurance Company was founded in 1979 and is one of the leading property and casualty insurance providers in New Hampshire, Massachusetts, and Maine. Safety has several core values that impact how it does business.

The company’s core values include:

  • Service. Safety aims to provide excellent services to its policyholders. 
  • Profit. The company works to achieve a profit that allows it to grow and provide the necessary resources to achieve other objectives.
  • Growth. The company wants to limit its growth to ensure agents and policyholders get everything they need. 
  • People. Safety wants to help people share in its success, celebrate achievements, and help employees feel valued and appreciated.
  • Management. The company strives to provide helpful objectives and promote from within whenever possible. 
  • Citizenship. Safety takes its economic, intellectual, and social responsibilities seriously. 
  • Safety. The company provides information about driver safety and encourages people to take different driver skills development courses. 

Some of these may not seem like they impact car insurance, but the company believes its corporate values make small and large-scale differences for the good of its employees and policyholders.

Does Safety Insurance Company have good ratings and reviews?

Safety Insurance Company has an A+ (Excellent) financial strength rating with A.M. Best. Safety also has a stable outlook for future endeavors. Additionally, Safety has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB). Still, the company does have a one-star rating in terms of customer reviews.

Safety Insurance reviews suggest the company’s customer service needs some work. For example, policyholders complain about a long wait to speak with a representative, not receiving money promptly from a covered claim, and having a covered claim be denied. 

Before purchasing a policy with Safety Insurance, consider the Safety Insurance ratings with A.M. Best and BBB and read customer reviews. Doing so will help you better understand whether Safety is a good choice for you. 

Safety Insurance Company Rates

While there’s no way to know just how much you’ll pay with Safety for a car insurance policy, it’s a safe guess that the company’s rates will come in under other company rates in your area.

Safety auto insurance rates are lower than many other competitors. You may find that the company offers extremely affordable car insurance for you and your family. Still, it’s a good idea to find and compare car insurance rates from other companies in your area, too.

Comparing quotes from multiple companies will help you learn how much you can expect to pay for coverage. Additionally, comparing rates allows you to purchase the care insurance coverage you need without overpaying. 

Before you buy car insurance with Safety or any other company, it’s important to determine exactly what coverage you’re looking for. You may want to simply purchase your state’s minimum coverage. Or you may want to purchase additional coverage for added peace of mind.

How does the Safety Insurance Company determine rates?

You cannot know how much you will pay for car insurance until you get a Safety auto insurance quote. The company does not offer online quotes, so you’ll have to call and speak with an agent or representative to get more information. 

Quotes with Safety Insurance, just like with any other insurance company, will vary based on different factors.

Some of the most common factors insurance companies use to determine a person’s rates include:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • ZIP code
  • Marital status
  • Driving history
  • Credit history
  • Coverage types

While it may seem odd, each of the factors listed above is often used to determine your level of risk in terms of filing a car insurance claim.

Age

You will pay more for car insurance if you are a teen or young adult driver. In fact, teen drivers can pay up to five times as much for coverage as a 40-year-old driver with a clean driving record. 

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Age and Gender
Age and GenderAllstateFarmersGEICONationwideProgressiveState FarmNational Average
30 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$2,118 $1,925 $1,041 $1,667 $1,633 $1,234 $1,646
30 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$2,021 $1,843 $1,078 $1,519 $1,569 $1,122 $1,523
45 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$1,919 $1,595 $962$1,376 $1,261 $1,032 $1,411
45 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$1,941 $1,602 $958$1,355 $1,340 $1,032 $1,413
55 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$1,820 $1,513 $912$1,305 $1,196 $978$1,338
55 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$1,841 $1,519 $909$1,285 $1,271 $978$1,341
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Companies see younger individuals as more of a risk since they don’t have the same amount of experience behind the wheel. However, as you get older, you should find that you pay less for coverage, as long as you don’t cause any accidents.

But once you hit 65, your auto insurance rates may increase again. Some companies charge drivers 65 and up more for coverage because they may have slower response times or worse vision. Still, if you’ve been with your company for a while, you may not have to face higher premiums. 

Gender

Believe it or not, your gender could impact your car insurance rates. Some companies charge males more than females for the same types of coverage. Statistically, men tend to get into more accidents, speed more often, and file more auto insurance claims.

Certain states have outlawed charging someone more for coverage based on gender. These states include California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, North Carolina, and Pennsylvania. 

ZIP Code

Your ZIP code can also impact your car insurance rates. For example, if you live in a rural area with light traffic and fewer wrecks, you may benefit from your location by having lower-than-average car insurance rates in your state.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by State
StateAllstateGEICONationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersAverage
AK$1,667 $1,195 $807$1,223
AL$1,332 $1,099 $1,189 $1,388 $1,337 $972$1,370
AR$2,007 $1,120 $1,581 $1,620 $989$1,367 $1,416
AZ$2,226 $808$1,436 $1,039 $999$1,292 $1,352
CA$1,996 $1,553 $1,774
CO$2,054 $1,161 $1,324 $1,490 $1,168 $1,475
CT$2,421 $768$1,382 $1,641 $1,126 $1,030 $1,550
DC$2,976 $855$2,126 $1,420 $1,371 $1,750
DE$2,555 $1,243 $1,777 $1,115 $1,431 $1,019 $2,180
FL$2,263 $1,103 $1,272 $1,889 $1,223 $1,624
GA$2,035 $754$1,878 $1,417 $1,324 $1,778
HI$1,113
IA$1,006 $900$930$804$1,143 $1,049
ID$1,587 $708$1,018 $653$707$992
IL$2,172 $587$1,146 $1,103 $796$1,077 $1,153
IN$1,729 $785$1,198 $849$872$856$1,207
KS$1,973 $923$1,141 $1,575 $1,003 $1,071 $1,447
KY$988$2,277 $1,377 $1,212 $1,725 $1,610
LA$2,547 $1,739 $1,990 $1,537 $1,953
MA$1,342
MD$2,481 $1,671 $1,313 $1,493 $1,322 $1,656
ME$1,334 $454$1,166 $724$759$1,053
MI$5,017 $1,219 $3,184 $1,880 $2,585 $2,268 $3,193
MN$1,977 $1,118 $1,070 $828$1,732
MO$1,831 $1,112 $816$1,212 $1,051 $1,326
MS$1,822 $886$1,190 $1,487 $1,018 $1,092 $1,282
MT$1,903 $1,020 $1,093 $2,109 $870$1,392
NC$2,095 $851$1,367 $393$949$1,228 $1,129
ND$1,679 $749$949$1,364 $943$1,715
NE$1,545 $1,139 $952$1,175 $850$1,358
NH$1,585 $624$953$785$729$1,188
NJ$1,948 $917$1,154 $1,403 $1,679 $1,915
NM$1,958 $1,119 $1,186 $1,069 $855$1,300
NV$2,046 $1,361 $1,386 $1,018 $1,272 $1,122 $1,470
NY$1,820 $963$2,026 $1,188 $1,695 $2,159 $1,761
OH$1,483 $728$1,408 $1,051 $863$784$1,065
OK$1,668 $1,350 $1,362 $1,122 $1,577
OR$1,896 $1,155 $1,372 $959$926$1,197 $1,326
PA$1,829 $843$1,066 $1,834 $938$931$1,449
RI$2,333 $1,547 $2,351 $1,438 $939$1,275 $1,827
SC$1,650 $979$1,459 $1,294 $1,089 $1,422
SD$1,682 $706$943$1,298 $827$1,446
TN$1,777 $970$1,464 $1,141 $895$1,090 $1,200
TX$2,488 $1,303 $1,908 $1,493 $1,109 $1,745
UT$1,442 $906$1,154 $1,174 $1,269 $1,266
VA$1,277 $859$1,061 $754$785$947
VT$1,759 $469$954$2,233 $1,079 $1,289
WA$1,415 $922$866$746$858$1,042
WI$1,521 $766$2,797 $1,158 $721$1,265
WV$2,000 $1,030 $1,288 $1,362 $979$1,513
WY$1,918 $1,369 $1,017 $1,366
Get Your Rates Quote Now

But you could pay more for your coverage if you live in an area with more traffic, many car accidents, or a higher crime rate. You may need to speak with a Safety representative to learn more about the company’s use of ZIP codes in determining a person’s auto insurance rates. 

Marital Status

Married people may pay lower rates for coverage than single people, especially with certain companies. 

Married individuals are less likely to be in a car accident or file a claim. Because of this, companies may charge single people more for coverage. Still, Hawaii, Massachusetts, and Michigan do not allow companies to charge single people more for coverage. 

Driving History

You probably already know that your driving history can significantly impact your auto insurance rates. If you have a car accident or speeding ticket on your record, you can expect to pay higher-than-average rates for coverage.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$188$160
American Family$136$117
Farmers$173$139
GEICO$106$80
Liberty Mutual$212$173
Nationwide$137$115
Progressive$140$105
State Farm$96$86
Travelers$134$99
Average$147$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

If you have a DUI on your record, you will pay extremely high rates, and you may even have difficulty finding coverage.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$270$160
American Family$194$117
Farmers$192$139
GEICO$216$80
Liberty Mutual$313$173
Nationwide$234$115
Progressive$140$105
State Farm$112$86
Travelers$206$99
Average$209$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

People with clean driving records often enjoy lower coverage rates. Although your rates should be competitive if you don’t have anything on your driving record, you can still shop and compare car insurance rates with companies in your area to determine whether Safety offers the cheapest option. 

Credit History

You can expect to pay more for your car insurance if you have poor credit. Statistically, people with poor credit make more claims with car insurance companies. Because of this, many companies charge higher rates for people with bad credit scores.

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
American Family$2,432$1,635$1,386
Farmers$3,233$1,926$1,674
GEICO$1,781$1,197$984
Liberty Mutual$4,256$2,712$2,120
Nationwide$1,988$1,595$1,445
Progressive$2,471$1,655$1,310
State Farm$2,398$1,411$1,091
Travelers$2,323$1,534$1,287
Allstate$3,551$2,362$1,993
Average$2,715$1,781$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

One of the best ways to offset this is to improve your credit score. It could take a while to see the number increase, but as it does, you should be able to pay less for your car insurance coverage.

Coverage Types

Your car insurance rates will increase if you choose higher levels of coverage. Most states have a minimum amount of coverage you must carry to drive legally.

Average Minimum Monthly Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$61
American Family$44
Farmers$53
Geico$31
Liberty Mutual$68
Nationwide$44
Progressive$39
State Farm$33
Travelers$37
Average$45
Get Your Rates Quote Now

You can choose whether you’d like to carry any coverages in addition to your state’s minimum requirements. 

While adding coverages to your policy will cost more, it’s a good idea if you can afford to do so.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$160
American Family$117
Farmers$139
Geico$80
Liberty Mutual$173
Nationwide$115
Progressive$105
State Farm$86
Travelers$99
Average$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

State minimum requirements do not offer much protection. If you’re ever at fault in an accident, you could pay hundreds or even thousands of dollars out of pocket.  

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safety Insurance Company Discounts Available

Safety offers several discount options to its policyholders. The company boasts discount options that help customers save as much as 25% on their coverage.

Some of the company’s most popular discounts include:

  • Excellent driver discount. Save up to 10% on your car insurance if you go five years without a crash or incident.
  • Excellent driver plus discount. Save up to 24% on your car insurance if you go six years without a crash or incident.
  • Crash prevention training discount. If you take Safety’s crash prevention training course, you could save money on your insurance. 
  • Bundled policies discount. Save money by bundling your home and auto insurance policies.
  • Multiple policies discount. Get a discount on coverage when you purchase multiple policies for members in your household.
  • Good student discount. If your child is enrolled in school and keeps a certain GPA, they may be eligible for savings on car insurance coverage.
  • Student away at school discount. If your child is away at college, you may be able to get a discount on their coverage. 

In addition, Safety offers a telematics-based discount called Drive with Safety. This program allows individuals to save money on their coverage when they prove they drive safely and avoid doing things that could cause an accident. 

What is the Drive with Safety program? 

If you’re interested in saving money on your auto insurance premium, you may want to consider the Drive with Safety program. This program helps you save money when you prove you practice safe driving techniques on the road. 

The program requires that you download an app that will track your driving patterns and report them back to the company.

Some of the most common driving habits that companies track include:

  • Stop patterns
  • Start patterns
  • Acceleration patterns
  • Hard brake patterns
  • Driving time of day 
  • Distracted driving

If you prove to Safety that you’re a safe driver based on these habits, you’ll be able to save money on your insurance coverage. Using the telematics program can help you save 5% on your car insurance coverage.

Safety Insurance Company Coverage Options

Safety Insurance Company offers the standard types of auto insurance.

Some of the coverage options Safety Insurance Company offers include:

  • Bodily injury liability. Bodily injury liability helps pay for damages associated with a person’s injuries if you’re at fault in an accident and they have been harmed. Bodily injury can extend to multiple people if more than one person is hurt in an accident.
  • Property damage liability. Property damage liability helps pay for a person’s car repairs if you damage their vehicle in an accident. Property damage liability will also cover a person’s property, such as a fence or railing, if you damage it with your car.
  • Collision. Collision coverage helps to pay for damage to your vehicle if you were in an accident. While liability helps pay for other people’s vehicles, it does not help you pay for your own. Collision coverage will cover your vehicle regardless of who is at fault. 
  • Comprehensive. This coverage helps with damage to your vehicle if there is a non-accident incident, like inclement weather or vandalism. Comprehensive coverage will also cover if your car is stolen. 
  • Personal injury protection (PIP). PIP coverage pays for medical bills if you or a passenger in your vehicle is injured in an accident. PIP applies regardless of fault and may help pay for funeral expenses, lost wages, and childcare.
  • Medical payments (MedPay). MedPay is similar to PIP but doesn’t extend quite as far. With MedPay coverage, your accident-related medical bills will be covered.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. This coverage helps to cover your injuries or property damage caused by a hit-and-run driver or another driver with no insurance or insufficient insurance. Some states require uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage.
  • Roadside assistance. Safety’s roadside assistance coverage helps if you’re stranded and need fuel services, lockout services, or flat tire repair. Roadside assistance will also help if you need a tow.

In addition to the coverage options listed above, Safety Insurance offers two different packages that help policyholders stay protected: Safety Shield and Safety Shield Plus.

Safety Shield offers the following:

  • Guaranteed replacement cost
  • Supplemental towing and labor
  • Emergency travel expenses
  • Rental reimbursement coverage
  • Airbag mechanical failure coverage
  • Disappearing deductible for collision

In comparison, Safety Shield Plus offers:

  • Guaranteed replacement cost
  • Supplemental towing and labor
  • Emergency travel expenses
  • Rental reimbursement coverage
  • Airbag mechanical failure coverage
  • Disappearing deductible for collision
  • Accident forgiveness
  • Personal effects coverage
  • Pet insurance
  • Seat belt insurance
  • Bail bonds

You can purchase coverage with Safety in any combination to ensure that you’re safe behind the wheel. Speak with a Safety Insurance Company representative to better understand what coverage options might work best for you.

If you want to stick with your state’s minimum level of coverage, you can purchase a liability-only car insurance policy. Purchasing this type of policy will allow you to drive legally in your state while keeping your auto insurance rates low.

But many drivers prefer higher levels of coverage. You may want to go with a full coverage policy if you want additional coverage. Most companies refer to a combination of collision and comprehensive coverage as a full coverage policy.

You can purchase a full coverage policy with Safety. This type of policy will help if you’re in an accident and your automobile is damaged — even if you’re at fault in the accident. Additionally, full coverage will help pay for repairs if your car is damaged in an incident other than a car accident, like inclement weather or vandalism.

If you drive a car that has a lot of miles on it and that you don’t pay loans on, you may be okay to purchase a liability policy. But if your car is newer or if you are financing it, consider purchasing full coverage to make sure you’re protected regardless of what happens. 

Does Safety offer other kinds of insurance?

You can purchase additional insurance products with Safety, such as:

  • Boat insurance
  • Home insurance
  • Business insurance
  • Commercial auto insurance
  • Classic and vintage vehicle insurance
  • Dwelling fire insurance
  • Personal umbrella insurance
  • Commercial umbrella insurance

You can save money on your car insurance premiums by purchasing multiple policies with the company. Speak with a Safety representative to see how much you could save with a multiple-policy discount. 

If you’re considering purchasing insurance with Safety, regardless of the type of insurance, find and compare rates from other companies before making any final decisions. If you don’t compare quotes from multiple providers, you are more likely to pay more for coverage than you need to. 

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I get a car insurance quote from Safety?

Unfortunately, Safety does not offer car insurance quotes on the company website. So you will have to call and speak with a Safety agent or representative to learn more about how much you will pay for auto insurance with Safety. You can click “Find an Agent” on the Safety website to get the number of an agent near you.

 

Keep in mind that car insurance rates vary based on several factors. Once you get a quote from Safety, compare it to other companies to see if Safety offers the most affordable coverage in your area.

How can I file a car insurance claim with Safety?

If you need to file a claim with Safety, you will have to call the company or call your agent. You can visit the Safety website to find the appropriate phone numbers, but you cannot file a claim straight from the company website.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Safety Insurance Company

3.99 (144 reviews)
4
December 26, 2020

Steph6727

Safety is good

Have been with Safety for over 10 years. Always fair and reliable. Would recommend to anyone. Give them a shot.
4
October 18, 2020

Papa2012

Safety Insurance review

I have had this insurance company for over ten years for my vehicles. They offer low rates and multiple discounts . Safety insurance online is good place to get a good quote and decent coverage.
3
January 30, 2020

true12

general

My experience with this company has been mostly positive but you would think that being with them so long I would get extra perks sometimes - I do like my local business agent but I did have a situation that I felt they could have fought harder for me
5
January 27, 2020

Kathleen666

Low auto Insurance rates.

I've had Safety Insurance for well over 25years, for my car. I have never had a problem with them. I've gotten quotes from other company's but can 't find one that will bring my insurance lower than $565. a year. So I stay with them.
4
July 30, 2019

noshar

Good ezxperience overall

I have had good experiences with Safety overall. The coverage is good and the price is fair. They've helped me out through a few accidents and mishaps and I've never had a bad experience.
4
March 28, 2019

mopar

Claims

I have had insurance through this company for many years. I have only had 2 instances where I needed to file a report/claim. One thing I do not like is I had to bring the car to them, they did not come out to me to see the car/damage. Other than that the claim was settled to my satisfaction quickly.
1
March 26, 2019

dt05

Disrespectful, cancelled without notification

I had a terrible experience. My policy was cancelled for non-payment after I had made a payment. Nobody notified me of the cancellation by mail or other means. When I had gone on-line to make a payment I got an error message and could not make a payment. This was on a Saturday, so I could not call to fix the issue. When I called the following I found I had been cancelled, without being notified. I was told the notice was sent out, but I had not r...
I had a terrible experience. My policy was cancelled for non-payment after I had made a payment. Nobody notified me of the cancellation by mail or other means. When I had gone on-line to make a payment I got an error message and could not make a payment. This was on a Saturday, so I could not call to fix the issue. When I called the following I found I had been cancelled, without being notified. I was told the notice was sent out, but I had not received it. I questioned why I wasn't notified and the representative began arguing with me. I asked to speak to a manager and was put on hold...it has been over 20 minutes and I am still waiting. I am on the phone now with a new agency. Do not insure with this company!!!!!
4
January 9, 2019

Whitera637

Good company

Unlike many insurance co.pany they have a 12 month pay schedule which is great. I love how I don't need to upfront 20% just to make my policy active
1
January 1, 2019

Hennesseylaw1

Claim filed 6 months after alleged accident not investigated

I was notified that a claim was being made against my insurance. The allegation was an accident involving my daughter 6 months ago and that the person just put the claim in. I immediately contacted my claims adjuster demanding to know more but was told safety insurance policy prevents information about the accident being released. The only info was the claim was presented on 12/27/18 from an accident occurring on 7/1/18. This was a day we were ou...
I was notified that a claim was being made against my insurance. The allegation was an accident involving my daughter 6 months ago and that the person just put the claim in. I immediately contacted my claims adjuster demanding to know more but was told safety insurance policy prevents information about the accident being released. The only info was the claim was presented on 12/27/18 from an accident occurring on 7/1/18. This was a day we were out of the state. No other information was being released. I'm their client and they are refusing to inform me about this accident. I was provided an accident report form to fill out without any other information. Don't use Safety insurance. Overpriced without support for their own client.
5
December 20, 2018

barginbasement54

Good review of Safety insurance.

I wouldn't trade working with safety insurance for any other insurance regardless of what they had to offer. I've been with them for 27 + years. Whenever I've had a problem with anything from accidents to damage done because of really bad storms that knocked branches down and caused damage someone else having their vehicle physically hitting my husband as a pedestrian, they have always helped us with no questions asked. In one case the guy whose ...
I wouldn't trade working with safety insurance for any other insurance regardless of what they had to offer. I've been with them for 27 + years. Whenever I've had a problem with anything from accidents to damage done because of really bad storms that knocked branches down and caused damage someone else having their vehicle physically hitting my husband as a pedestrian, they have always helped us with no questions asked. In one case the guy whose car hit my husband actually told his insurance company that he hit a tree. [REDACTED NAME] helped us take care of the problem so their wouldn't be any issues with his insurance paying the bills so we would have bill collectors coming to us to pay the emergency room. I'm staying with safety insurance.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption