Universal Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Universal Auto Insurance Company has a B+ rating with A.M. Best and an A+ rating with BBB. Universal auto insurance is affiliated with AAA and sells auto insurance primarily in Georgia and North Carolina. Universal Auto Insurance reviews are often mixed in with reviews of AAA due the company's affiliation with the larger insurer, and Universal auto insurance quotes are offered through that company.

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022Fact Checked
2.4
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Universal Auto Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$800

A.M. Best rating:

B+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Universal Auto Insurance Company did well enough in the last few years to receive a B+ rating with A.M. Best and an A+ rating with BBB
  • Universal Auto Insurance Company operates its website through AAA’s web services

Cons

  • Universal Auto Insurance Company is available only in Georgia, some parts of South Carolina, and North Carolina
  • The website doesn’t list any resources that show the visitor how to receive a quote online

The Bottom Line

Universal Auto Insurance Company did well enough in the last few years to receive a B+ rating with A.M. Best and an A+ rating with BBB.

There’s not much a potential customer can find online, but if you’re interested in learning more, you can call the Universal Insurance Company phone number or meet with a Universal Auto Insurance Company agent in person.

Universal Auto Insurance Company is an auto insurance company that serves as a private passenger and commercial firm. They offer auto and motorcycle insurance.

Universal Auto Insurance Company also provides accessory, liability, collision, comprehensive, uninsured, and underinsured insurance coverages.

Universal Auto Insurance Company is available in Georgia, some parts of South Carolina, and North Carolina.

 

Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Rates

Let’s look at average auto insurance rates for Georgia and North Carolina. The table below will compare the average rates in Georgia, North Carolina, and nationwide.

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates by State
StateAverage Annual Liability Coverage RatesAverage Annual Collision Coverage RatesAverage Annual Comprehensive Coverage RatesAverage Annual Full Coverage Rates
Georgia$735$382$170$1,286
North Carolina$372$334$133$839
U.S.$611$363$160$1,134
Get Your Rates Quote Now

This data comes from the National Association Of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Coverage Options

Universal Auto Insurance’s basic policies for individuals vary from state to state. Business coverage is similar; different businesses will have different insurance requirements.

For example, a car dealership and an import/export business operating out of a dock would be looking for different types of coverage.

A business auto insurance policy for a car dealership requires general liability insurance, as well as the following:

  • Property damage liability
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Bodily injury liability
  • Multiple cars or fleet coverage
  • Worker’s compensation for policyholders
  • Medical Payment (Med Pay)

If the company is self-insured, it will require excess loss coverage. A car dealership will also require a huge comprehensive plan to cover weather conditions, theft, vandalism, and other incidents that may damage the inventory.

Frequently Asked Questions

#1 – Where can I find a Universal Auto Insurance agent in my area?

Whether you are looking for an agent for Universal Auto Insurance Company in Raleigh, NC, or in Atlanta, the main company contact number is your best bet. You may want to read some Universal Insurance agency reviews to decide which agent is best for you. There is no Universal Auto Insurance in Puerto Rico, at least not from this company.

#2 – Is AAA a good auto insurance company?

AAA has a lot of brand name recognition and is considered to be a solid company. They are among the largest insurance companies in some states, including California.

Is Universal Direct a good insurance company? Well, they have solid ratings and are backed by a good company, which gives them a good reputation.

The question of what makes a good insurance company depends on a lot of factors, including your needs and where you live. Is Auto-Owners a good insurance company? What about State Farm, or Geico?

You can look at reviews and ratings, but at the end of the day, your individual experience may vary.

#3 – Can Universal Auto Insurance Company bundle home insurance?

Based on what we’ve seen from Universal Auto Insurance Company, you will not be able to get home insurance through them. However, they are affiliated with AAA. They may be able to refer you to their parent company.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company

2.42 (85 reviews)
5
June 11, 2017

Yuliana

Best Insurance Ever

Last week I had an accident, hopefully everybody was ok. I had full coverage and they gave me the best costumer service. Thank you guys. 
5
June 9, 2017

Alex9753

Review Universal

Great Experience! I adore Universal, they have been a very good car insurance for my new Hyundai Tucson car.
4
May 26, 2017

ExzoOrozco

First big wreck! but it was easy. :)

Even though my car had over $8,000 in damages, my claim was handled swiftly and with very polite service. I can't think of a complaint of the whole process. I'm a patient person, but they exceeded the expectations of any person.
4
May 9, 2017

edleonstgo

Automotive Insurance Review

Its a company with many years in the market. Great service and quick response when you make a claim.
5
April 20, 2017

tee

insurance

great insurance for good price. Easy to apply and they take monthly payments. East to do business with.
4
March 29, 2017

Elsa Gibbons

Universal review

Please Let me if your Policy covers the rate of survival for family members and bank paying the balance of the Morgage.
5
May 20, 2016

Hedin Ray Mitchell

Universal review

I'm hoping this is the right place. I've been trying to all your money I think for an accident happened back in 2014. I think or January 2013, I can't quite remember, but anyhow, I will head down working with payments of $40 when I'm trying to do 50. I've been in the hospital and so I mean you're kind of struggling a little bit here or even worse than I was some email me back if this is the right place
1
July 2, 2015

Charity McNeely

Universal review

This is what it's like to get a bad review from me. Well deserved. If there were such a thing as negative stars, Universal Insurance Company would get -5 stars from me. ‪#‎UniversalInsuranceCompany‬ is THE WORST company I have ever had the frustration of dealing with, not only in the insurance field but in any field, anywhere, at any time. I would recommend them only to people who I despise, and only then to make sure they spend half of e...
This is what it's like to get a bad review from me. Well deserved. If there were such a thing as negative stars, Universal Insurance Company would get -5 stars from me. ‪#‎UniversalInsuranceCompany‬ is THE WORST company I have ever had the frustration of dealing with, not only in the insurance field but in any field, anywhere, at any time. I would recommend them only to people who I despise, and only then to make sure they spend half of each day in Universal Insurance Company's horrid automated hold line. I kept Universal for several years, without incident. Unfortunately, insurance is only useful when you DO have an incident. I was in an accident in May of this year which, by the other driver's admission and by the police report, was entirely not my fault. Since that time, Universal Insurance Company made several terrible mistakes, any one of which would have prompted me to find a new carrier. If you are interested in the details, I have, in my outrage, detailed them below. In Chronological order. Universal: 1) refused to help me with any information or legal advice about my car/claim/insurance adjuster 2) on every occasion kept me on hold for at least half an hour, even if I had a simple issue 3) took my deductible out of my settlement and send me a check without notifying me or having me agree to the process 4) lost my checking information which had been current and active for more than a year, instead reverting back to a closed account number, which almost resulted in a lapse in coverage as they did not call me and only sent me a notice by mail a few days prior to terminating my policy 5) raised my insurance rate after my accident (in the amount of $25 per month) after ASSURING me that it was NOT an at fault accident and would not change my premiums 6) after I canceled my policy and got new insurance through ‪#‎StateFarm‬(love those guys!) they sent me a bill for $125.00 with a notice that said it would be sent to a collection agency within 10 days 7) after the $125 bill sent me another for my increased insurance rate as if my policy is still in effect. 8)Today, stupidly, I called to try to tell the company, for their benefit more than mine, that I had canceled my policy and had paperwork from them proving it. Alas, I only briefly talked to an actual person who told me he would connect me in just a couple of minutes to someone and we could definitely sort it out. I spent 20-30 minutes on hold before giving up, for the very last time on this wretched company. May Universal Insurance Company at 770 Highland Oaks Drive Winston Salem, NC 27103, their incompetent staff, their awful, awful customer service, and that ugly letterhead burn in the fire of a thousand suns.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption