Integon Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Integon auto insurance is a subsidiary of National General, the 15th-largest provider for personal auto insurance. Integon Insurance Company has 14,000 agents who underwrite various policies for National General. Customers of National General pay an average of $150 per month or $1,806 annually for auto insurance. Use discounts to lower your Integon auto insurance rates.

UPDATED: Sep 22, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates. He has also been featured on sites like UpJourney.

Full Bio →

Written by Mathew B. Sims
Editor-in-Chief Mathew B. Sims

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 22, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 22, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Sep 22, 2022Fact Checked
3.3
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Integon Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$1,933

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

High

The Bottom Line

Integon Auto Insurance: What’s the Bottom Line

Integon National Insurance reviews your risks like any other company, but you won’t get much information until you contact them for an auto insurance quote.

Is National General Insurance the same as The General? No. The General is a standalone company that doesn’t have any connection to National General. Try comparing rates when you get a chance.

You can find competitive rates from the best auto insurance companies easily right now. The best method for finding affordable auto insurance is to use our comparison tool to compare rates in your area.

Before purchasing your Integon auto insurance policy, enter your ZIP code into our FREE quote tool below to compare auto insurance quotes from multiple different providers near you.

Integon auto insurance is managed under its parent company, National General — formerly known as General Motors Acceptance Corporation (GMAC). Therefore, any Integon auto insurance you receive will come from National General.

If you buy Integon auto insurance, you’ll notice the company goes by many names, but all names connect back to National General. Each name represents a different company that will have different auto insurance rates — some may offer cheap auto insurance, but we’ll get to those details in a moment.

Continue reading our Integon National Insurance Company reviews to learn more about the Integon Insurance Company, Integon Insurance claims, Integon auto insurance rates, and Integon Insurance customer service.

Compare auto insurance rates outside of Integon auto insurance online by entering your ZIP code into our FREE quote tool above right now.

 

Is National General Insurance Company (Integon) a Good Choice?

What is the Integon auto insurance company?

What exactly is Integon insurance? Integon insurance goes by several names, such as Integon National, Integon Casualty Insurance, Integon Preferred Insurance, and Integon Specialty.

Integon Automobile Insurance, and all of the various names, are subsidiaries of National General Insurance, formerly known as GMAC. In other words, insurance agents under the Integon name underwrite the quotes and premiums for customers interested in purchasing insurance policies from the National General company.

National General changed its name from GMAC, or the General Motors Acceptance Corporation, in 2013. It was the 15th-largest underwriter of personal lines of insurance in the United States.

The National General Insurance umbrella began as Motors Insurance Company in 1939. It is the only insurance company that originated from a car company.

Who are the Integon auto insurance agents?

There are over 14,000 independent National General agents across the United States that underwrite for National General policyholders.

The agents do not work for National General, but they represent several different smaller Integon companies as independent agents.

The independent agents are local and available to talk to you at the Integon Insurance Company phone number or meet with you at your convenience in person. Integon auto insurance quotes are available through the agents as well.

Integon National Insurance’s phone number is 1-888-293-5108.

You can find an agent online by entering your ZIP code into the toolbox on the company’s website and determining the mile radius you’re willing to travel. Once the information is entered, a map comes up with all the possible agencies.

What are the Integon auto insurance ratings and reviews?

Is National General, and by association Integon auto insurance, a good company for consumers? Cheap rates are great, but if agents are unresponsive during the claim filing process or if a company is not financially reliable, you’d be better off looking elsewhere for coverages.

Fortunately, National General is currently rated an A- by A.M. Best and is considered to be a financially stable company. National General is a good company that will be able to close out any claims, even during an economic downturn. The same goes for its subsidiary, Integon General insurance company.

Customer service reviews are poor to decent when compared to other insurance providers. According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) complaint index, National General is worse than average, with a rating of 6.4.

However, the Better Business Bureau gives National General an A+ rating and accreditation. Out of 5 stars, the consumer ranking is a 2.98, and 190 complaints have been closed in the past 12 months.

These numbers are fairly good for an auto insurance provider. Overall, the Integon national insurance company rating is pretty good.

What are the Integon auto insurance company careers?

Job openings for National General can be found on the website. Resumes for job openings can also be submitted online.

Here’s a short description of the job types that may be available at Integon National General.

Integon Auto Insurance Careers Description
Job TypeDescription
Entry LevelThe foot in the door that prepares an entry-level employee for more responsibilities as they grow within National General.
ProfessionalWorking professionals work in-depth as National General develops more strategies and acquires more policyholders.
InternshipInterns learn practical tools of finance, sales, and other working experiences that will prepare them for the next step.
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Each position comes with a specific responsibility, which you can learn over time. Perhaps you’d like to become an independent agent for Integon auto insurance policies. Use each opportunity as a stepping stone to the next stage.

 

National General Insurance Company (Integon) Rates

What are the average Integon auto insurance rates?

Integon auto insurance is a subsidiary of National General Insurance, formerly known as GMAC or General Motors Acceptance Corporation.

National General relies on underwriters from the Integon Indemnity Insurance Company to assess the risk of insurance customers.

Any quotes you receive will therefore be underwritten by an Integon national auto insurance agent, but your rates will be for National General. How much can you expect to pay with this company? Find out in the table below.

As you can see, there are plenty of affordable Integon auto insurance policies available to customers. On average, customers pay $150 per month or $1,806 annually. However, use these rates as guidelines to help you estimate your potential annual premiums.

Auto insurance rates are based on many different variables besides just age. Other factors that affect auto insurance rates include where you live, your driving record, and even the kind of vehicle you drive.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

National General Insurance Company (Integon) Discounts Available

What are the Integon auto insurance policyholder discounts?

Under the name National General, Integon offers many different auto insurance discounts to its policyholders. Some discounts are for customer loyalty, others are for your driving habits or for installing anti-theft devices, lowering your risk as an insured client.

In the table below, take a look at all of the discounts advertised on the National General website.

Integon Auto Insurance Discounts
Auto Insurance Discount OfferedHow to Qualify for the Discount
Paid-in-full discountPay in full upfront to qualify.
Multi-vehicle discountInsure two or more vehicles to qualify.
Safe-driver discountsQualify by taking a defensive driving course (only available in some states)
RVs and autos policy discountSave up to 20%, only pay one deductible if your RV and vehicle are involved in the same accident.
Motorcycle discountsSafe-rider and multi-cycle discounts available.
Low mileage discountUse an electronic device to track your mileage to qualify.
Affinity discountsMembership discounts available to a variety of organizations.
Multi-policy discountBundle different policies for a "thank you" discount.
Paperless discountSwitch to electronic billing to qualify.
Anti-theft discountRecieve a discount for certain anti-theft devices.
Autopay discountSwitch to automatic payments to qualify.
Get Your Rates Quote Now

As you can see, the company provides multiple vehicle discounts and discounts to homeowners as well. Integon offers its policyholders discounts for good driving records, low mileage, and even paperless billing.

Having an anti-theft device in your vehicle will also warrant a discount. If you maintain an active vehicle recovery system, such as an OnStar subscription, your rates may be lowered as a result.

Lastly, if you have another GM account, like a credit card, Integon offers an additional discount on your policy.

National General Insurance Company (Integon) Coverage Options

What services does Integon auto insurance provide?

Integon underwrites multiple kinds of insurance policies for National General. The company sells home, auto, RV, motorcycle, small business insurance, and more.

According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), auto insurance is required in 49 states but 13 percent of American drivers are uninsured. While each state has its own unique laws regulating the specific auto insurance limits, at the very least, you’ll be able to buy a policy from the National General that easily meets your state’s standards.

Integon underwrites the following types of auto insurance coverage for National General clients:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: Covers the injury or loss to the other driver involved in an accident you are found at fault for.
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: Covers damage to the other person’s vehicle or property as the result of an accident where you are at fault.
  • Comprehensive Coverage: Covers damage to your vehicle relating to anything that is not a collision. Examples include weather damage, animal damage, vandalism, or auto theft. A deductible is associated with this kind of coverage.
  • Collision Coverage: Covers damage to your vehicle when involved in any collisions, regardless of who is at fault. Examples include hitting another vehicle, a tree, or a pole. A deductible is associated with this kind of coverage.
  • Medical Payments Coverage (MedPay): Covers the medical needs of you and the people in your vehicle when involved in an accident. It may also cover the costs of a funeral after a car accident.
  • Underinsured Motorist Coverage: Covers you if someone without insurance, or without adequate insurance, hurts you or damages your car.
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP): Covers medical expenses and losses that occur as a result of an automobile accident, including missed pay. The PIP coverage is valid no matter who caused the accident.

The most common auto insurance policies are all available through National General and underwritten by Integon auto insurance agents.

National General also offers commercial automobile insurance. Commercial automobile insurance covers company cars, trucks, and vans. Commercial insurance provides bodily and property damage coverage for limits up to $1 million.

Additional coverage options are available, including National General’s motor club, which provides roadside assistance.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates. He has also been featured on sites like UpJourney.

Full Bio →

Written by Mathew B. Sims
Editor-in-Chief Mathew B. Sims

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for National General Insurance Company (Integon)

3.26 (382 reviews)
1
October 8, 2022

Ivonarencibia

HORRIBLE INSURANCE

My mom had gotten this insurance my car was involved in a a hit and run accident and the bumper was stolen from the vehicle. They denied my claim due to them failing to ask my mom of the people that live at the residence and canceled the policy. They have horrible response time and don’t bother sending out an adjuster to see the car. I will be taking legal actions
1
July 18, 2022

New_Review_01

My experience with integron

Hi Everyone, Wanted to take the time in writing a formal review on this insurance. There was a situation with my auto insurance that made me cancel my policy with Integron. I paid about $137 for my new vehicle insurance and was probably paying for a whole 2 years ( about 3,288 total) with them until a homeless driver hit my vehicle. I was not at fault and the insurance company offered no help with getting my car taken care of.. had to pay deduc...
Hi Everyone, Wanted to take the time in writing a formal review on this insurance. There was a situation with my auto insurance that made me cancel my policy with Integron. I paid about $137 for my new vehicle insurance and was probably paying for a whole 2 years ( about 3,288 total) with them until a homeless driver hit my vehicle. I was not at fault and the insurance company offered no help with getting my car taken care of.. had to pay deductible and baisically full balance since the insurance company only offered to help with 114$ overall. It was very unbelievable and not only that, they didn't want to send anyone to look at the car but send pictures of car at surface level so they basically did not offer any accurate diagnosis when deciding how much they are supposed to help with fixing my account. PLEASE I BEG EVERYONE TO AVOID THIS INSURANCE. I will try my best to spread the word out across every platform because I son't anyone to go through this either. I just couldn't imagine if I had gotten in even a bigger accident, this insurance would try it's best to go against me.
1
January 25, 2022

Traveler_

STAY AWAY

STAY AWAY Don't use this company for any reason. After paying for years on issuance for my motorhome and never having a claim. A windstorm blew this windshield off and caused damaged to the roof which created a leak. They denied this claim and were extremely rude in the process. They want your money but when you need them, they are nowhere to be found. Criminals
1
December 7, 2021

venebar

They are irresponsible

It is a [REDACTED WORD] doesn't work, no costumer services, nobody answers your call, just a machine, and adjuster all the time has you phone turned off, they don't want to pay my car accident. Don't but any policy with them, never and ever Nooooo
1
November 19, 2021

Gary0007

Useless if Rental Needed

After waiting 17 days with a broken back from a car accident, was told there is still NO ETA on a car insurance adjuster to see car, and without the estimate there is NO RENTAL given. Can't get to doctor appointments! Insanely expensive HORRID car insurance!
1
October 13, 2021

Vikashni_

Worse experience

Worse experience ever!! Horrible!! I will not recommend them at all. I had my car hit and run claim and it took them 4 weeks to process the claim. No communication whenever I call no answer and after leaving a voicemail they never call back. They denied my claim cuz there specialist said that the car was moving when it got hit and I gave them all the proof that the car was parked in the parking lot. I even gave them a instant police report. My ca...
Worse experience ever!! Horrible!! I will not recommend them at all. I had my car hit and run claim and it took them 4 weeks to process the claim. No communication whenever I call no answer and after leaving a voicemail they never call back. They denied my claim cuz there specialist said that the car was moving when it got hit and I gave them all the proof that the car was parked in the parking lot. I even gave them a instant police report. My car has full coverage and still they are not fixing it. What’s the point of me paying them every month. So frustrating and stressful I will change my insurance company and will take legal action. I just hope this doesn’t happen to anyone else How can you tell the car was moving by looking at the picture and denie the claim they really have some dumb specialist that don’t now what they are doing. So mad 😡 I would give them zero stars. Please stay away from ngic
1
August 4, 2021

ATlaige92

AWFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE, LOOK ELSEWHERE!

THE WORST customer service experience I've ever had. DO NOT use this insurance company. My car was stolen and my adjuster refused to set me up with a rental stating "we don't cover that." Lies. I called my nearest car rental and they said they'd give me a great discounted deal if my insurance company would just give them a call. I had to do all the leg work myself. They constantly dodged my calls, barely responded to my emails. The only reason w...
THE WORST customer service experience I've ever had. DO NOT use this insurance company. My car was stolen and my adjuster refused to set me up with a rental stating "we don't cover that." Lies. I called my nearest car rental and they said they'd give me a great discounted deal if my insurance company would just give them a call. I had to do all the leg work myself. They constantly dodged my calls, barely responded to my emails. The only reason why I was somewhat okay was because my dad has a small used car dealership so one the vehicle was found he could do minor repairs. But it still reeked of weed on the inside when it was returned. All around bad. I even called the supervisor and left him a vm. Never heard from him. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.
1
July 19, 2021

Unhappy_camper

Worst company every stay away

I had gotten a quote and started a policy with national general for full coverage i was paying 156 a monthly second they tried taking money out my account a day earlier then wanted to charged me for NSF my agent at the zebra called them got it taking car of the third month they dont take the 156$ out of my account the try to take 205 and a day late at that and then tried to take 245 for NSF saying i didnt sign up for safe driving it was not requi...
I had gotten a quote and started a policy with national general for full coverage i was paying 156 a monthly second they tried taking money out my account a day earlier then wanted to charged me for NSF my agent at the zebra called them got it taking car of the third month they dont take the 156$ out of my account the try to take 205 and a day late at that and then tried to take 245 for NSF saying i didnt sign up for safe driving it was not required that i have this and i was quoted with that option even sent a payment schedule from the that says 156$ monthly they have now canceled me for none payment why should i pay more then what your print out said that on statement online and through. The mail worst company every. Scam artist period
1
July 1, 2021

Unsatisfied_Customer_L

Bad business. Acting in bad faith so as NOT to cover claims

Bad. Firstly, the claims rep was rude. I had damage to the front end of my car caused by some large object in the road (a dark road) A object that I could NOT see. So, they blamed me for the accident and said I'd be at fault! How am I getting an at fault accident when no other cars or parties were involved and I could not see whatever item was in the road? Secondly, they stated that I would need to pay a triple deductible because my policy had ...
Bad. Firstly, the claims rep was rude. I had damage to the front end of my car caused by some large object in the road (a dark road) A object that I could NOT see. So, they blamed me for the accident and said I'd be at fault! How am I getting an at fault accident when no other cars or parties were involved and I could not see whatever item was in the road? Secondly, they stated that I would need to pay a triple deductible because my policy had been reinstated within the last 60 or 90 days. Mind you, the payment to the policy was made less than 24 hours late. Just a way to overly charge a consumer who clearly is already struggling. Bad business practices and BAD FAITH! I have now cancelled my policy and gone elsewhere. Beware! the lower monthly payment comes at a great cost!!!
1
March 17, 2021

Maria_Ana_

Very Bad Company

Very bad company, avoid at all cost. My car was rear ended and they find loopholes and excuses not to fix my car. Very rude adjuster his name was [REDACTED NAME], very unprofessional and unethical. They just want to collect money, extremely difficult to deal with them. All I got from them is so much stress, I’m dropping them, time to look for a better insurance company.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://staging.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

stage